HorseTrailDirectory.com
Trail Riders Helping Trail Riders

Home  Riding Trails   Photo Album  Add/Edit Locations  Web Links

Reviews for Slabtown Trail Rides 
(click on name for more information)

Roby , MO

Overall TRAIL RATING with 75 votes:
Overall CAMP RATING with 75 votes:

Enter your Trail and/or Campground Review 

Individual Reviews

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Nice clean campground with shaded level sites. Good stalls with bedding provided. Wonderful host, friendly and helpful, but no nitpicky rules. Don't miss the Saturday night fish fry! Trails are scenic and shaded. Challenging but not dangerous. North Loop has some of the best scenery in the state. Overall great place! We're already making plans to return.
Reviewed by: MacDaddy on 7/7/2014 6:33:58 PM
More reviews by MacDaddy
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 7/3/2014 Hometown: Central , MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

The trails were great, the scenery was beautiful. Greg, the camp owner went out of his way to make us feel welcome and to make sure our riding experience was the best. No complaints at all with stalls, water or electric hook ups. Greg provided excellent maps with detailed instructions which was hugely appreciated. The traditional Saturday night fish fry lived up to every review I've read on here. It was a very pleasant way to end our stay at Slabtown. We can't wait to go back.
Reviewed by: bonnie13 on 7/6/2014 12:49:03 PM
More reviews by bonnie13
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 7/3/2014 Hometown: Jerseyville , IL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Greg and his staff are great! Trails are well marked and scenic. Stalls are well built and centrally located. Bathroom/shower house is clean and well lit. There is even an entertainment house with tv(not that we watched any), music, and a pool table. We stayed in a cabin this visit, very clean. Air conditioned, refrigerator, comfortable beds. Would definitely highly recommend Slabtown trail rides!
Reviewed by: pat u on 6/30/2014 5:57:54 AM
More reviews by pat u
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/28/2014 Hometown: st louis , mo

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

WOW...we had a blast here! The trails were amazing, views 2nd to none. Scenic bluffs, rivers to play in, caves, pine trees, endless trails in the National Forest. Greg was unbelievably helpful, what a wonderful host. Poured down rain the day we got there and we had no problem riding the next day - trails drain well. Rates are very reasonable. We were planning our return trip before we left!
Reviewed by: Hubs on 6/26/2014 1:59:31 PM
More reviews by Hubs
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/23/2014 Hometown: O'Fallon , IL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Slabtown Trail Ride was AWESOME! First time there with a girlfriend and her horse and we had a wonderful time! Greg was a great host, he mapped out trails for us and we didn't get lost at all, even on 7000 acres! This is a huge achievement for me and my friend, we always get lost somehow. Greg was wonderful, his staff was wonderful, clean cabin, clean bathrooms. I just can't say enough about this wonderful place. We cannot wait to go back! Thanks Greg for providing such a beautiful place.
Reviewed by: DEBI on 6/26/2014 10:38:39 AM
More reviews by DEBI
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/23/2014 Hometown: Fairview Heights , il

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I was nervous when we first pulled it but quickly changed my mind. Cabin & founds were well kept and facilities were kept clean. Trails were nice. Very pleased.
Reviewed by: fatrider on 6/15/2014 10:04:30 PM
More reviews by fatrider
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 10/20/2013 Hometown: Troy, , mo

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Wonderful place to ride. The woods have beautiful dogwoods, oak, redbud and pine trees. The forest floor is not thick with brush and if you stay on the main trails they are very clear. The campgrounds are clean and well kept. The stalls were well built with a close water hydrant for filling water buckets. Greg and his staff were helpful in all aspects of our trip from mapping out trails, backing nails out of my horse's hoof when her shoe came off to providing us with a wonderful catfish meal on Saturday night. We are looking forward to returning for fall colors and especially riding in the spring when the dogwoods are in bloom. Just a note- If you have service thru AT &T my cell phone did not work, but it made for a wonderful stress free real camping experience, giving us time to meet new people, play cards and just enjoy visiting with each other. If you did need to make a call- Greg made that possible too.
Reviewed by: Jane Michele on 6/15/2014 9:42:10 PM
More reviews by Jane Michele
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/14/2014 Hometown: Lawrence , ks

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We just returned from a delightful weekend at Slabtown. Greg is a wonderful, charming host. He is generous with his knowledge of the trails and the forest. Thanks to his instructions, we saw scenic overviews, gorgeous streams, the full moon rising from the horizon, and much more. The trails are like riding in Colorado, but without the elevation, lol. I would recommend shoes for your horse. Regarding the camping sites; I have never seen better. The restrooms and shower house were very clean, and stayed clean throughout the whole four days we were there. Greg has also built a meeting room where you can play pool, cards, watch the weather channel, sit with friends, or on Saturday nights, attend his famous Fish Fry and Hushpuppy dinner. I hear the fish fry is delicious! There are two other people at Slabtown who help make your stay perfect, and those two are Joe and Susan. They are both very hard workers and always have a smile. Joe was wonderful at keeping my stall clean and ready for my horse when we returned from a ride~~well worth the tip, especially when I was exhausted. An added benefit was that my horse didn't have to wait for me to get around to cleaning her stall! Susan was great at helping me with anything I needed. I really enjoyed talking with them, too. I could go on and on about how much we enjoyed the staff and trails, but the bottom line is we thoroughly loved our stay at Greg's Slabtown Trails. We can't wait to go back in the fall. That reminds me; I'd better call and make my reservations!
Reviewed by: Belinda on 6/15/2014 7:07:03 PM
More reviews by Belinda
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/14/2014 Hometown: Lawrence , KS

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Awesome time! Greg and his staff are the most accommodating folks around. Can't say enough good things about them. Trails are NOT marked as it is a National Forest. They were however very clear and we were given a map and found some beautiful sites. Can't wait to go back. Stalls were adequate. Bathrooms/showers were clean and well stocked. Very nice hall with AC/heat, pool table, darts, card table, TV, and a bar. Outstanding fish fry and pot luck dinner on Saturday nights.
Reviewed by: Edie Thomas on 6/5/2014 4:25:15 PM
More reviews by Edie Thomas
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/23/2014 Hometown: Wooldridge , mo

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Great host, Greg, always trys to make your camping and riding experience great. Great campsites and great stalls! One of our favorite placed to go.
Reviewed by: nsuregal on 6/2/2014 7:16:43 PM
More reviews by nsuregal
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/23/2014 Hometown: Ozark , mo

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Great facility and trails! Greg is wonderful host too! He makes sure we are comfortable, gives great trail advice and WOW to the fried fish! Thank you for making our vacation so relaxing. Feeding us after the cold rainy day was the tops! Great visiting with you as well. Looking forward to next time.
Reviewed by: BrendaShasta on 5/22/2014 6:52:21 AM
More reviews by BrendaShasta
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/15/2014 Hometown: Smithville , MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Always enjoy this place each and everytime I go there. Greg is the best and will help you in any way he can to make your stay an enjoyable one. We all know by now his fish fry and hush puppies are perfection!! It was just a group of girls on this March trip and Greg even surprised us with a homemade cake!!! Now is that hospitality or what? All the trails are nice and very scenic. If you haven't been to Slabtown, put it on your list. You will not be disappointed!!
Reviewed by: Grasshopper on 5/7/2014 5:13:41 AM
More reviews by Grasshopper
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 3/21/2014 Hometown: Troy , MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

First trip to Slab Town and we Loved it!! Greg is so nice and can cook catfish to perfection!!! Trails are great, a little long if your not prepared (4 hours is long for us) dogwoods were in full bloom and we found the rockie trail north of camp to be our favorite. we will be back for sure!! nice camp sights and stalls close to see your horses.we thought it was cool we could hear the big guns from fort wood!!
Reviewed by: June Mathis on 5/5/2014 11:17:07 AM
More reviews by June Mathis
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/3/2014 Hometown: Niangua , mo

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Traveled from Rhode Island to spend Easter weekend 2014, trail riding and camping at Slabtown with 15 friends! Love this place! Greg does an awesome job keeping up with the grounds, and the trails are top notch! Beautiful scenery, logged over 25 miles in the saddle at Slabtown, and never repeated the same trail! The shower house is super clean, and the dining hall/ rec room was a great place to hang out in. The Saturday night fish fry was awesome! A great time was had by all, and I'll be returning in the fall!
Reviewed by: Robin Lundgren on 4/22/2014 9:03:01 PM
More reviews by Robin Lundgren
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 4/18/2014 Hometown: Rhode Island , RI

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Had a wonderful time at SlabTown again during Easter weekend of 2014. Greg takes great pride in providing campers/horses with the things they might need. He prides himself in clean restroom, good tools for tending to stalls, and is very helpful in giving suggestions on trails to ride. The Saturday night fish fry is a HUGE hit and the remodeled dining hall is awesome! Can't wait to return to SlabTown, hopefully soon!
Reviewed by: losnolt on 4/22/2014 12:06:21 PM
More reviews by losnolt
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 4/19/2014 Hometown: Stover , MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Can't say ENOUGH POSITIVE about Slabtown Trailrides camp facilities and our host Greg Cook. It's so nice to see an owner take PRIDE in everything he does for his campers. SUPER CLEAN shower house! Stalls are close to sites and kept in great condition. Greg provides wheel barrels, shavings and hose for watering or bathing your horse after your ride. Our friends lost a shoe and he was able to help them get a farrier on short notice. Greg's Saturday night fish fry is one he has perfected; the fish was fantastic and the hush puppies were to die for! The spacious dining hall has comfortable seating for all with great music, card/game table and billiards! His cabins looked very clean, comfortable and tastefully decorated as well. Make sure to have Greg show you the "hidden sites" on the trail maps to make sure you don't miss any of the "must sees" on the trail. If you haven't been to Slabtown you need to put it on your list of regular horse camps!
Reviewed by: Lisa Poehner on 4/22/2014 9:42:43 AM
More reviews by Lisa Poehner
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 4/20/2014 Hometown: Sullivan , MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Great Easter weekend riding and camping at Slab Town. As always Greg did a fantastic fish fry and could not have asked for any better weather to ride and camp. Will be back again. Camp is always clean as are the horse stalls.
Reviewed by: Terry B. Reynolds on 4/20/2014 8:50:53 PM
More reviews by Terry B. Reynolds
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 4/19/2014 Hometown: Stover , MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Clean restrooms, clean community room, clean campground. Great riding and great fish fry. Everybody should treat their selves to a weekend here.
Reviewed by: Joe and Carol on 4/14/2014 7:47:09 PM
More reviews by Joe and Carol
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 4/12/2014 Hometown: Hume , MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

When you first pull into Slabtown you could be turned off by the junk laying around!! Go ahead and pull in because you will be glad you did. Greg is a very helpful host with a great fish fry and the trails are nice. The bathrooms are very clean with good hot showers. Stalls are average but the manure piles could be cleaned up. The rates are very reasonable so you can look past somethings. Overall we had a great time except the ticks!! Get some good bug spray...
Reviewed by: Sharon Rigdon on 4/14/2014 8:00:57 AM
More reviews by Sharon Rigdon
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 4/9/2014 Hometown: Jesup , Ia

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Spent another four days this Fall at Slabtown and as usual, had a wonderful time. This is our third trip and certainly won't be out last. We love the facilities and enjoyed the fish fry Saturday night. Greg again was very accommodating and informative on some new trails we hadn't tried. The Fall colors were "awesome" and the weather couldn't have been better. Can't wait to go back in the Spring.
Reviewed by: Sharon E. Baux on 11/1/2013 5:49:12 PM
More reviews by Sharon E. Baux
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/17/2013 Hometown: Lawrence, , KS

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Nice clean facilities. Nice stalls. Beautiful trails. Will be back!
Reviewed by: Carlene Mcclain Feco on 10/30/2013 2:49:35 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/24/2013 Hometown:   , MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This was my first time there, and the owner was very friendly, prices were great and the trails were great! I will recommend this to friends and I also plan on going back there!
Reviewed by: Cindy Elliott on 10/29/2013 4:27:42 PM
More reviews by Cindy Elliott
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/22/2013 Hometown: Warsaw, Missouri , MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Another AWESOME time at Slabtown! This place is the place to be. With the improvements to the dinning hall it was even more enjoyable. You can alway count on good music and great company. Greg supplied us with another great fish fry and he makes the BEST hushpuppies ever! I was able to vist even more trails this year than last year. The cove is so unbelievably beautiful, I could have easily stayed right there all day. I'm sure the balance rock hasn't gotten any taller but it seemed taller this year.(or maybe I'm shorter) The view from the top is breath taking. I look forward to visiting Slabtown and Greg again next year. Thanks Greg
Reviewed by: Vicky Maddox on 10/16/2013 2:58:05 PM
More reviews by Vicky Maddox
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 9/14/2013 Hometown: Calwood , MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Had a great time at Slabtown trail rides. Would love to stay for a week or more. It is not over priced an is quite place to chill out, The owner is friendly, an goes out of his way to help you an make your stay nice an comfortable. We love the fish fire/potluck. Thank You.
Reviewed by: hometown on 9/26/2013 6:26:22 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 7/6/2013 Hometown: mo. , MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Another great time at Slabtown. Only reason I'm giving the trails 4 stars is because of some of the washout on the Mark Twain side (right behind the campsite). Otherwise, the trails were all open and fun to ride!. Greg is a super host and the campsite was completely full and clean. The fish fry was another success but Greg's Hushpuppies are to die for!!!! It is definitely a place to put on your "bucket" list!!!
Reviewed by: LB on 9/16/2013 3:05:04 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/12/2013 Hometown:   , MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

The trails are very scenic with many pines to ride through. We stayed in one of the cabins which are secluded and very nice. The owner is as good of a host as you will ever find.
Reviewed by: Leonard Wolter on 8/5/2013 6:58:45 AM
More reviews by Leonard Wolter
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 8/3/2013 Hometown: St. Louis , MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Slabtown is a wonderful campground with great trails. The owner/operator is great. The Saturday night fish fries are a nice treat.
Reviewed by: DSmith on 7/18/2013 3:03:07 PM
More reviews by DSmith
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 7/4/2013 Hometown: Moberly , Mo

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Greg made us feel like we had known him for years and this was our first trip to Slabtown. The camp ground and shower house was the cleanest I've been to in years. The Saturday evening fish fry was great----We cannot wait to return!!!!
Reviewed by: Sheryl Jurgensmeyer on 7/8/2013 11:48:49 AM
More reviews by Sheryl Jurgensmeyer
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 7/5/2013 Hometown: jefferson City , MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

The owner was most gracious and helpful. He checked in with us each day, offered advice and directions for our daily rides, and sought answers to any questions if he did not readily have an answer. The campground was clean, the stalls in good shape, and the shower house was very clean.....important for all the gals for sure. The entire family grandparents, parents, and children enjoyed the week at Slabtown Trail Rides. We were sorry to have to leave before the Saturday night fish fry......maybe next time!
Reviewed by: Hoosier Horse Rider on 7/8/2013 10:33:55 AM
More reviews by Hoosier Horse Rider
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 7/1/2013 Hometown: Owensville , IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This was our first trip to Slabtown. Greg was a great host and really knows the trails and sights. He's got good trail maps and sits down with you to tell you how to get to the different sights. And the Saturday night Fish Fry was awesome!!!
Reviewed by: Jerry and Robin Bartley on 5/31/2013 4:07:20 PM
More reviews by Jerry and Robin Bartley
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/25/2013 Hometown: Winfield , MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This was our second time at Slabtown. My husband and I met his sister from Salem, Missouri for a four day ride the week before Memorial Day. I have to say that Greg is the best host, always accommodating and the best fish cook I know. Trails are excellent, campground very well kept and the stalls well built for the comfort of the horse. We will definitely go back in the Fall and bring our friends.
Reviewed by: Sharon Baux on 5/23/2013 5:13:49 PM
More reviews by Sharon Baux
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/17/2013 Hometown: Lawrence, , KS

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

The Halloween Ride was fantastic. The owner had nice door prizes to go along with the complimentary fish fry (bring a covered dish). As on my last stay there, the campground was clean, quiet and relaxing. With the leaves off of the trees, you can better see the beautiful rock formations along the trail. What a beautiful place to ride.
Reviewed by: Barbara on 11/6/2012 2:35:36 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/29/2012 Hometown: Crocker , MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Nice campground with forest background & 2 easy roads In & out. Water & electric at each site. Need to level some sites. Good trail map that Greg explains. Nice covered stalls right across from camp site. More room than most. Sawdust, wheel barrow & several manure pits. Water hydrant & hose at each barn. Greg greeted us with fish & homemade fries after our first ride!
Reviewed by: Linda & Morris Dolph on 10/24/2012 11:22:46 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/10/2012 Hometown: Waterloo , IA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Overall we enjoyed our stay here. The cabins were clean and affordable, stalls safe, trails marked well. The owner was very nice and checked to see if we had everything we needed. The campground area does need to be cleaned up a bit. There were a few areas where some old equipment and such were laying around in heaps. Stalls were in convenient spots but they need another manure/shaving spot near the stalls by the cabins. The gates on the fronts of them have to be taken off completely to put your horse in or take them out, that wasn't fun. There were a few rowdy campers running around between probably 8:00 and 9:30 p.m. screaming and making alot of noise through camp. Nobody ever checked our Coggins, maybe it was just an over sight.
Reviewed by: Kelly Tippett on 10/16/2012 9:22:46 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/22/2012 Hometown: House Springs , MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I rate Slabtown Camp the best for many reasons. I felt right at home without all the everyday stress. Greg made us feel as if we were family. We had so many trails to ride and the views we seen were breath taking. I will go back. After a ride all day we got to relax and enjoy the rec room, a place where we got to meet other campers. I have never felt so welcome in any other camp that I have ever been to. The Saturday night fish fry that Greg has was way more than I would have expected. Greg really puts his all into this campground to make it the best. Keep up that great work and I look forward to seeing you again.
Reviewed by: Vicky on 10/9/2012 1:49:36 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/16/2012 Hometown: Calwood , MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

For all you folks who have not been to Slabtown, you really need to go and check it out. The small campground in great, The owner is super nice and accomodating and the trails are spectacular...Definitely a place to put on your "hit" list of riding.... I don't think you will be disappointed. I'll be back for sure!!
Reviewed by:   on 10/8/2012 2:35:21 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/28/2012 Hometown:   , Select State

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Great campsite and awesome trails. Greg is a great host and goes out of his way to make sure everything is perfect.
Reviewed by: Chris on 10/7/2012 7:24:36 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/1/2012 Hometown: Columbia , MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Wow! What an awesome time! 4 friends and I were at Greg's campground for a whole week and it was the best time I've ever had on a weeklong trailride!! Greg was THE BEST - goin' out of his way for us. He would even pick up things in town if we needed something. The trails, the views, the gameroom, the stalls, the campsites, everything was absolutely wonderful! We will be back!!
Reviewed by: Liz on 10/6/2012 7:28:58 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 9/16/2012 Hometown: Fulton , MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

My first camping trip to Slabtown Trail Rides was fantastic. The shower house is clean, the overall campground is clean, nice stalls, good camp spots. The owner is very nice and accomodating. The price is right and the trails are like riding close to heaven. I will be back!!
Reviewed by: Barbara on 8/26/2012 8:23:02 PM
More reviews by Barbara
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 8/25/2012 Hometown: Crocker , MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Just got back from a wonderful stay at Slabtown. Love the camp and trails there. Greg has expanded the camp and added a 'recreation room' since we'd been there, plus some new sites and barns. The bathrooms were clean as usual and the covered stalls are great. This camp has the best water and water pressure than anywhere else we stay. If you're looking for a comfortable camp...this one is it.
Reviewed by: Eric & Sandy on 5/25/2012 11:59:15 AM
More reviews by Eric & Sandy
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/25/2012 Hometown: Clarksburg , MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Visited Slabtown for the first time this past weekend. Loved the trails! Greg Cook, the Slabtown owner, could not have been nicer and more helpful. So nice to have an owner like that. Facilities were nice and clean. It's a small horse camp which makes it really nice for everyone. Greg has two cabins, I stayed in the larger cabin and it was great. Restrooms clean and close to all. Fish fry on Saturday night was amazing. I'll be back for sure. Very much like Shawnee without the long drive.
Reviewed by: Renie Tuffli on 5/21/2012 5:05:03 AM
More reviews by Renie Tuffli
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/18/2012 Hometown: Labadie , MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This is a place I go back to year after year. Trails are wonderful, Greg even gave us his cell phone to call him if we got lost. Fish Fry was outstanding along with the fries and hushpuppies. Another fantastic weekend. Thanks Greg!!
Reviewed by: LB on 5/21/2012 3:39:50 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/18/2012 Hometown: Troy , MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Great trails, great campgrounds with clean bathrooms, clean showers and a clean community room, and a caring host. We had an electrical problem with our trailer, Greg call an electrican and he fixed the trailer on Sunday. Last year a horse threw a shoe and Greg had a farrier who is on call come and replace the shoe. Thanks Greg for a great weekend.
Reviewed by: Joe & Carol on 5/6/2012 4:00:09 PM
More reviews by Joe & Carol
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/5/2012 Hometown: Hume , MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This was our first trip to Missouri. We enjoyed our stay at Slabtown. The trails were scenic, the footing was good. The campground is well taken care of, with clean bathrooms and showers. Stalls are nice with plenty of shavings available. Water pressure is great. The host was very helpful and accomodating. A trip to the Roby cafe for the breakfast special is well worth the trip also!
Reviewed by: RR on 3/28/2012 7:40:42 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 3/2/2012 Hometown: Brooklyn , WI

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I travel the Nation to many horse camps each year, every year and this one is one of the nicest. The riding is outstanding and it is hosted by one of the kindest people you will ever meet. Greg goes out of his way for people. There is something for everyone here from rolling hills to pretty good climbs. The Saturday night fish fry/potluck is a "must attend" weekly event. Come hungry, leave happy! A great time was had by all!
Reviewed by: Debra Racheter on 3/21/2012 12:52:40 PM
More reviews by Debra Racheter
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/30/2011 Hometown: Lowry City , AR

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Our group just spent 3 days at Slabtown and it was great. Greg is a great host and very easy to get along with. The trails where great and Greg was more than helpfull to get us on the trails we wanted to travel. Fish fry was very good. We will be going back.
Reviewed by: Terry Reynolds on 10/30/2011 8:13:27 PM
More reviews by Terry Reynolds
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/30/2011 Hometown: Stover , MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Wonderful place to ride. Trails are clear of brush and easy to follow. Campsite and very clean and the owner Greg, is always very accomodating....The Saturday night fish fries are very tasty and it's a great time to meet everyone!! Highly recommend.
Reviewed by: LB on 10/20/2011 3:12:43 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/17/2011 Hometown: Troy , MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Another fantastic weekend at Slabtown. Great, level campsites that are close to the stalls. Excellent trails with varying terrain. Love the scenery - woods to rock walls to creek beds, just gorgeous. Greg, the owner, is such a great host. His fish fry is second to none and this past weekend he even fixed a plumbing leak in my trailer!!! Wow, now that is great service. Thanks Greg for having such an awesome place to camp and ride!
Reviewed by: CP on 10/17/2011 7:27:38 AM
More reviews by CP
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/14/2011 Hometown: O'Fallon , MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Unexpectedly ended up at Slabtown again and of course, it was a great time. Greg continues to improve the campground. New stalls, another cabin and the heavy gates were replaced with light ones. Good Job Greg!! Love the trails and even having to get to some of the trails due to a trail closer was not a problem at all. This is a great place to ride for any level rider!! You are sure to have a great time at Slabtown!!
Reviewed by: Lori Burroughs on 10/3/2011 7:46:52 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/30/2011 Hometown: Troy , MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

just returned from a rainy weekend at Slabtown - riding was good in spite of the rain - lots of gravel roads to ride and the trails were not muddy- very scenic - campground is small and comfortable with a clean warm bathhouse - the gameroom is a great place to pass the time while waiting for rain to stop - Greg is the best host - very helpful and friendly = the sat nite fishfry is the BEST! Slabtown is a great place to spend time with your favorite horse and horse friends
Reviewed by: K L on 9/21/2011 1:56:13 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 9/17/2011 Hometown: Dittmer , MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Very nice facility. clean and well kept. Nice large stalls . Trails are challenging without being dangerous, views are spectacular. Could be a little bettermarked in some areas.
Reviewed by: Michele on 8/12/2011 6:57:33 PM
More reviews by Michele
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 8/11/2011 Hometown: Braymer , MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Anyone that knows me and the group I ride with knows we really enjoy this facility. It amazes me each time we go that Greg is able to keep the place looking so nice, clean and inviting. You can see the improvements he makes and that he truly appreciates his customers and their comments. He has added 2 new barns to the premise by some sites that were further away from the main barn. He has added an enclosed room that has come in handy many many days and nights with the crazy cold weather this spring to this hot hot summer. The trails are always nice and shaded. We have been able to find water along the trails to water the horses even in this really dry hot summer. The views along some of the trails are some of the best in the state.
Reviewed by: Jill on 8/11/2011 8:17:46 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 8/6/2011 Hometown: Holts Summit , MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

even though was pretty warm we had a good time most all the trails are shaded campsite and stalls were clean greg was very accomadating
Reviewed by: klaw on 7/17/2011 11:46:55 AM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 7/14/2011 Hometown:   , MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

What can I say, another great weekend at Slabtown. This campground is always clean with nice sites and stalls. The new clubhouse addition is great with a flat screen, a pool table and just a place for camper to hang out and talk 'horse and riding'. The bathhouse/restrooms are alwasy clean. Greg continues to accomodate everyone by offering to help pull your camper in, lift your stall door, level your trailer, etc. so that his campers have an enjoyable stay. He took a few of us on a new trail and it was very scenic. If you are looking for a private place to kick back at, Slabtown is the place. I know I will be back and look forward to more changes as Greg is always trying to improve the place and really listens to what his campers suggest to make their experience a more pleasurable one...
Reviewed by: Lori Burroughs on 5/23/2011 4:56:36 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/20/2011 Hometown: Troy , MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Excellent place to camp and ride. I've been going to Slabtown for about 3 yrs and love the trails! The camp sites are very roomy and close to the horse stalls. The bath house and new clubhouse building are always very well kept and the pool table and fireplace are great to have available. Greg, the owner, goes out of his way to ensure everyone has a good time. He has taken us on some great rides. I highly recommend checking Slabtown out.
Reviewed by: Colette on 5/22/2011 8:59:27 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/21/2011 Hometown: O'Fallon , MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

The owner is very nice as well as the campgrounds. This is a place where you can ride all year long. The new building really came in handy when it was cold and raining when we were there. The trails are nice all year round. I would recommend this campground to everyone i know and can't wait to go back. The facilites are very well maintained and you can see improvements everytime i go.
Reviewed by: PPW on 5/19/2011 7:49:33 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/13/2011 Hometown: Central , MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

First time to Slabtown even though I am from Rolla and seem to have ridden all around it at Piney and other various places. Owner is very friendly and has put a ton of work into the camp he loves having everybody there and does his best to make sure everyone has what they need. Very relaxed place to camp and ride there are maps to follow and you can always find a friendly face to tag along with. I will def be getting a group together and going back
Reviewed by: Dana on 5/16/2011 6:45:23 AM
More reviews by Dana
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 5/13/2011 Hometown: Rolla , MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Wonderful facilities. The host goes out of his way to help you with things you may hvae forgotten as well as parking your rig. Lots of riding with nice trails and good maps. Has a nice room to use to get out of the weather and chat with fellow trailriders.
Reviewed by: D Girl on 5/2/2011 11:43:23 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 4/30/2011 Hometown:   , MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Another great trip to Slabtown. Campsites and stalls are great. Greg, the owner, is constantly upgrading the place and goes out of his way to make your stay pleasant. Trails are good with lots to see. We have been here many times and always see something new.
Reviewed by: Don & Debbie on 4/26/2011 6:15:02 PM
More reviews by Don & Debbie
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 4/22/2011 Hometown: Roby , MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We just got back from our first trip to Slabtown. Really great facility! Stalls were clean. Campsites had gravel pads and plenty of room. The bath house was very nice, clean, and warm. There is a new room with TV, pool table, tables and chairs and a wood stove. Since the first night was cold and rainy we made good use of this room. Really nice to have somewhere to get in out of the weather. The owner, Greg, was very nice and quite accomodating. Even with the rain the trails were in great shape, and the forest was beautiful with the dogwoods in bloom. Some trails might be challenging for beginners but overall very fun to ride on.
Reviewed by: Jan on 4/23/2011 12:53:13 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 4/15/2011 Hometown: Jamesport , MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

My first camp and trailride of the season and I cam back to Slabtown. Fantastic as usual Greg! Wonderful bathhouse and constantly upgrading the place.
Reviewed by: Shelly on 2/18/2011 7:18:45 PM
More reviews by Shelly
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 2/18/2011 Hometown: Success , MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Great campground and owner - Greg really goes out of his way. Adding more stalls and he now has a cabin on the property -- we will be going back for sure
Reviewed by: ClaudiaQ on 9/30/2010 11:15:21 AM
More reviews by ClaudiaQ
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/23/2010 Hometown: Henryville , IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Another great time at Slabtown. Like always, the owner is very accomodating, even helps with parking, etc. Trails are very nice and the new maps are great. You are sure to have a Great time camping at Slabtown.
Reviewed by: Lori Burroughs on 9/27/2010 8:32:25 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/24/2010 Hometown: Troy , MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Just got back from Slabtown and am going back this weekend. Greg the owner is very helpful, friendly and just absolutely goes way out of his way to make your stay as good as it can be. Campground is very nice and the trails are awesome. You can see the ruins of old farms, Balance Rock and waterfalls. We had a wonderful time and I can't wait to take my friends to ride there.
Reviewed by: Sandy on 8/30/2010 8:34:54 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 8/30/2010 Hometown:   , MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

You really should come to this campground and ride these trails. We really enjoyed our stay. We love riding in the Mark Twain National Forest and from this campground you can see some trails you haven't seen before! Stalls were great, bathrooms are very nice, clean and well kept. Pads for the trailers are spacious and you have a 'yard' with a very nice picnic table. Greg, the owner, couldn't be more accommdating. Fish fry on Saturday night that is awesome! :) Can't wait to go back.
Reviewed by: Sandy & Eric on 6/27/2010 7:36:46 PM
More reviews by Sandy & Eric
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 6/24/2010 Hometown: Clarksburg , MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We had our second trip to Slabtown over Memorial Day weekend. Was not dissappointed. Was just as nice if not better than our first trip. Greg does a great job keeping the stalls,grounds and bathrooms up. He goes out of his way to make sure you are satisfied. He is a pleasure to talk with in the evenings and fun to ride with. His fish fry is the best we have ever had. Cant wait to get back!!! The trails are really nice to ride. The trails offer a lot of shade which is great for Missouri summer riding. The Big Piney is close enough to drive down to as is paddy creek for the kids and adults to cool off in after a day of riding.
Reviewed by: Jill on 6/10/2010 12:23:27 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/29/2010 Hometown:   , MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Awesome campground and camp host! Owner goes out of his way to make sure you have a good time and enjoyable trip. Trails are nicely kept and offer excitement for all riders. New shower house and very nice stalls. This is a destination you will want to check out. Our expectations were more than met having never been to this campground or trails. Greg and his family made us feel at home.
Reviewed by: Tanya on 4/19/2010 4:04:46 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 4/16/2010 Hometown: Ashland , MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This is such a great place to ride. The trails are awesome and Greg is such a nice owner. On Saturday we caught up with him and friends on the trail and rode with them them, about 1/2 way through, my friend's horse threw a shoe. So Greg called a friend to meet us up at Roby Lake..He came with us, went and got his stock trailer and got her horse back safely without getting stone bruised!! Now that is service. On Saturday, everyone brings a dish and Greg fries up the fish and fries. Best fish I have ever had!!! This place is small with no dining hall but it has some of the best trails in Missouri and the Owner is super nice and very accomodating.....I higly suggest checking out Slabtown-you won't be disappointed!!!! PS-I dare you to climb Balanced Rock....I did!!!!!
Reviewed by: Lori Burroughs on 4/19/2010 5:20:51 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 4/15/2010 Hometown: Troy , MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

My first time and I was very pleased. The owners make sure you have a great stay. The scenary is gorgeous!! The trails are very nice. I would highly receommend as I don't think you would be disappointed.
Reviewed by: Lori Burroughs on 10/26/2009 4:10:48 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/18/2009 Hometown: Troy , MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

My time at Slabtown and was very impressed. Owner is very friendly and goes out of his way to ensure you have a nice visit. He willingly shows you the great, scenic views and has done a remarkable job with the campgroungs. The trails are great. I will be back taht's for sure. Highly recommend checking Slabtown out-if you do, it will become one of your favorite trailriding place!!!
Reviewed by: Lori Burroughs on 9/29/2009 9:11:46 AM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 9/18/2009 Hometown: Troy , MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Dear Lawabiding citizen. I don't appreciate you calling anyone an idiot. We have stayed there twice and have had a very enjoyable time. Greg, the owner, is one of the best campground host we have ever met. He goes out of his way to your stay comfortable. As far as the riding goes, he is not making new trails. You really should not bash anyone unless you have true facts.
Reviewed by: Ricco on 4/17/2009 5:04:37 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 4/11/2009 Hometown:   , MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Dear "Law biding Citizen". If you don't know what your talking about, please keep you your comments to yourself. No one from this camp ground is making new trails. In fact, there are many trails in the area that are on the maps, but can not be found for lack of use.
Reviewed by: Bob on 4/12/2009 5:06:58 PM
More reviews by Bob
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 1/1/2004 Hometown: Bloomsdale, MO , MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Great campground and camp owner. Each time we go we see new improvements to this new campground. The trails are good and numerous. We loved camping here and consider it one of our favorites. Greg, the owner, is a great guide and will show you many trails.
Reviewed by: Ron on 4/12/2009 2:19:52 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 4/11/2009 Hometown:   ,  

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

great trails great host nice facility's we took green horses on the trails had a nice time with all four horses easy tails to endure would take our show horses there for the week end easy riding
Reviewed by:   on 3/14/2009 2:52:15 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 1/1/2004 Hometown:   , Select State

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

do not use this trail ride. these people are cutting new trails through the national forest and should be arrested. they are defacing trail signs and defacing forest property. anyone who enters the roby lake south loop should be aware that new trails have been illegally made and should be aware that the map the ranger district provides in no longer correct because of these idiots! the mark twian national forest is protected for all of the public to use and should never be tampered with. these people are endangering hikers and trail riders lives. anyone who finds signs missing and new trails cut should report such details to the nearest ranger station.
Reviewed by: Hiker on 3/8/2009 11:17:42 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 3/7/2008 Hometown: law biding citizen! , MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

A great new campground! Level shady sites with water and elec. at each site. Sturdy stalls. Clean, roomy shower house and bathrooms. Wonderful trails with access to Paddy Creek Wilderness trails. Sawdust available for stalls. Friendly, accommodating owner.
Reviewed by: Judy on 8/12/2008 1:44:34 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 8/10/2008 Hometown: Novinger , MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Very nice campground with shaded & level sites. Trails are nice and good for any level of rider. Picnic tables, and fire rings at each site. Also concrete leveling blocks at each site to level your trailer. This is a new campground and the owner has really went out of his way to provide what you need for an enjoyable stay.
Reviewed by: Debbie on 8/11/2008 10:29:07 AM
More reviews by Debbie
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 8/7/2008 Hometown:   , MO