HorseTrailDirectory.com
Trail Riders Helping Trail Riders

Home  Riding Trails   Photo Album  Add/Edit Locations  Web Links

Reviews for Rafter D Racnh 
(click on name for more information)

Mt Pleasant , AR

Overall TRAIL RATING with 11 votes:
Overall CAMP RATING with 11 votes:

Enter your Trail and/or Campground Review 

Individual Reviews

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Mike and his wife are great hosts. The trails are nice and a good place to get your horse in shape. There is also a arena to use. Plenty of corrals for your horses and room for a large rig. Not far out of Batesville if you decide to go to town for supper or a movie.
Reviewed by: Kimisue Hipp on 8/31/2014 1:56:36 PM
More reviews by Kimisue Hipp
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 8/1/2014 Hometown: Cave City , Ar

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Mike and Dale (Rawhide) are two of the nicest people you will meet. Rafter D camp sites were well-maintained, very accessible, shady, and complete with horse corrals, water and electrical hook-ups. They also have a very clean bath house with showers if you don't have those features in your own trailer. The trails are all hand cut and excellently groomed. There are short trails for short rides, and longer trails for longer rides, and all trails are well marked. My husband and I would highly recommend you visit Rafter D Ranch if you are in Mount Pleasant, AR. We had a wonderful experience there and are looking forward to going back in the fall when the leaves are changing colors, and the weather is a bit cooler. Thanks Mike and Dale for such a wonderful trail riding experience.
Reviewed by: Ulanda Forbess on 7/22/2012 1:33:50 PM
More reviews by Ulanda Forbess
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 7/16/2012 Hometown: Sanger , TX

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We love this place the owners Mike and his ranch hand dale, Rawhide as he's known are great people and very friendly and helpful. We try to go out and ride almost weekly. Very reasonably priced trails are suitable for children. Love the scenery and the people. We consider them all friends
Reviewed by: Todd Christensen on 6/19/2012 8:12:07 AM
More reviews by Todd Christensen
Experience: Beginner Ride Date: 6/14/2012 Hometown: onia , AR

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Went on a day ride to Rafter D and had a great time,trails are so pleasant and pretty,mostly shaded,you come out into some open fields but are back in the woods again shortly,great overall place,we really like it there.
Reviewed by: Don and Sharmon on 6/3/2012 6:20:12 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/2/2012 Hometown: Harrisburg , AR

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

First time to visit,and,we hope that it won't be the last! wonderful camp,great hosts,the barn and his/hers separate bathhouses are very clean and nice.We loved it,were so excited to find a place that is within distance for a day ride when the days get long,for us! Mike has made a great place for trail riders!
Reviewed by: Don & Sharmon on 12/3/2011 9:18:36 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 11/25/2011 Hometown: Harrisburg , AR

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We had a fantastic experience here. The hosts were very welcoming, the facilities were immaculate (bathrooms and showers, dance hall). A large arena is also available. Horses stay in 10x10 (approx) pens. We were greeted with a campfire in a very large fire ring, and next morning gathered around for coffee cooked over the fire. A couple of friends stayed in the "cowboy cabin" and really enjoyed the view and accomodation. The trail terrain varied from wooded to open hillsides with beautiful vistas; multiple creeks or ponds for horses to drink enroute. All the trails are handcut and very well maintained. The footing was good. A working cattle ranch with loads of appeal.Our kids had a great time here watching the birds at the feeders, fishing in the ponds, and playing in the small stream that meanders by the campfire. Will visit again.
Reviewed by: Margaret Ellis on 4/17/2011 9:30:08 PM
More reviews by Margaret Ellis
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 4/16/2011 Hometown: Scott , AR

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

There were 13 of us from the Cowboy Church of Ellis County, Texas who visited Rafter D Ranch. We had an AWESOME time and will make this an annual trip. The camping, pens, arena, trails, barn for group meetings and shower facilities were all excellent. Mike has the complete package for camping with your friends and horses. There are 3 trails that are very well maintained and marked. The Red trail is about 6 miles long and has many hills. A good starting trail for your horse to warm up. The Blue trail is the most scenic and is about 8 miles. The Yellow trail is 14 miles with plans to expand and has lots of overlooks, seasonal creek crossings and zig zagging up and down the mountains. On Sunday morning Mike lead us with his own Cowboy Church service and played his guitar and sang. What a special treat! There are nightly campfires with plenty of singing. Other activities nearby include visiting Mountain View on Friday and Saturday nights for the Ching-a-ling, where the locals gather to pick, string and sing and there are lots of quaint shops to browse through and a pretty good mexican restaurant. Nearby is also Mt. Pleasant where you can eat at the Blue Bird Cafe and they provide good cheap meals. For the best hamburger and onion rings, visit the Country Store in Cushman just a couple miles north. Our group also went fishing in the White River in Guion with Gus Sanchez, area resident and fishing guide, as our guide and we caught plenty of trout. Thanks Mike for an awesome time. I can't say enough good things about our trip there. You really live up to your slogan, "Come as a stranger, leave as a friend." We look forward to bringing more and more friends year after year.
Reviewed by: Marsha Wright on 9/15/2009 2:52:58 PM
More reviews by Marsha Wright
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/5/2009 Hometown: Waxahachie , TX

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This was such a nice ride. There are several trails. The veiws are awsome. The owner is very helpful and good with all the people. I hope many people get to visit this trai ride and camp site. The campsites are real nice with a nice area for the horses to be in. He has a nice building for music and eating or just sharing time together. Very Clean restrooms and a shower. You will not be dissappointed. We all are looking forward to going there many times :)
Reviewed by: Marilyn Thompson on 9/14/2009 7:22:12 PM
More reviews by Marilyn Thompson
Experience: Beginner Ride Date: 9/7/2009 Hometown: Oxford, Arkansas , AR

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

good people nice trails great barn come see 4 your self,
Reviewed by: theresa on 6/17/2009 10:47:24 AM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 1/1/2004 Hometown: mt.pleasant , AR

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Enjoyed the entire experience. The hosts are very nice. The trails are new, facility is new.
Reviewed by: Joy Fisher on 5/11/2009 5:53:05 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/1/2008 Hometown: Jonesboro , AR

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This place is a very clean and fun place to camp and ride nice view...you should try it.
Reviewed by: Cheyenne Malloy on 6/2/2008 9:02:25 PM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 1/1/2004 Hometown: Mt. Pleasant , AR