HorseTrailDirectory.com
Trail Riders Helping Trail Riders
Home    Riding Trails    Review Camp    My Reviews    Add/Edit Location    Photo Album     Web Links

Reviews for Eagle Ranch Resort  
(click on name for more information)

Collins, MO

Overall TRAIL RATING with 38 votes:
Overall CAMP RATING with 39 votes:

Enter your Trail and/or Campground Review 

Individual Reviews

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We have been to Eagle Ranch several times including before Jerry and Cheryl took over. The camp is always neat/clean and hosts are very welcoming. The main issue is limited miles of trails. Although they add cut backs there is only so much land available. Eagle Ranch is a great 2-3 day horse camp but for riding there is only about three full days. The camp with stalls is a bit pricey but for 2-3 day trip it is worth the price.
Reviewed by: ta on 7/24/2016 2:00:12 PM
More reviews by ta
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/10/2015 Hometown: St. Louis, Mo

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Just spent 4 days and it was awesome! Not sure why people give eagle ranch a bad rap. Yes it's different than it was with the previous owners but it's still a fabulous place to ride. Most places charge a trail fee, what's the big deal? Our group has always enjoyed the riding and Jerry and Cheryl have always been nice and accommodating. We've already made reservations for Halloween!!
Reviewed by: Lilshetland on 5/1/2016 10:46:06 PM
More reviews by Lilshetland
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 4/27/2016 Hometown: O'Fallon, Mo

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Campground was clean, but not shaded. You parked in the open. There is not water at your campsites. There are only three marked trails, one of which is a very easy trail. Did not run across any real water crossings, just a couple of streams. Staff was not very friendly. We had their Saturday night chicken meal for $12 and although the food was good and you received a nice size piece of chicken, you only received a tablespoon size serving of the sides. You had one to two small bites of each side. The dessert was a boxed cake with cool whip type of topping and a very small square serving. Very disappointed in the meal. Although the stalls were very well built, many of the horses in the camp were very unsettled in them. They are totally enclosed on three sides so the horses cannot see each other. The gate to the stalls for some of the barns have bars so the horses cannot hang their head out, so we heard many horses screaming all night and kicking the stalls trying to see their buddies. They seemed to be more nervous and stressed in these type of enclosed stalls. The up side was that it rained and the stalls stayed totally dry. Also, the stalls are cleaned for you, which was a great treat. The young men that cleaned the stalls were very nice.
Reviewed by: Dia on 5/24/2015 8:40:37 PM
More reviews by Dia
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/23/2015 Hometown: Raymondville, Mo

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Nice place to ride with marked trails and maps. We where here in the middle of the week so not too many others there. Could be crowed on weekends. Owners took care of us when we got there and supplied us with ice and firewood when needed.
Reviewed by: Willa W. on 6/11/2013 7:30:18 AM
More reviews by Willa W.
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 6/4/2013 Hometown: Slater, MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

First time staying at Eagle Ranch. Fantastic stay! The stalls are large and sturdy, campsites are level and spacious, and the owners are friendly and accommodating. We will be back for Labor Day.
Reviewed by: hornet on 5/27/2013 5:35:42 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/24/2013 Hometown: Hallsville, MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Holloween weekend was great at Eagle Ranch. Trail were great and the colors were great. Food was very good including the Friday night hot dogs. Jerry & Cheryl are doing a great job and for us we are thankful to have a great place so close to home. See you all in 2013.
Reviewed by: Rick on 11/2/2012 12:52:08 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/28/2012 Hometown: Lamar, MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This was our first time here and had a wonderful time with the Halloween ride at Eagle Ranch. The facilities were clean and the trails were well marked. The kids enjoyed the hay ride and looking for pumpkins on the trail. The steak dinner was fanastic and the band was very good too. We will be back again other than just for Halloween next year. Thanks to the camp owners for a great family time!
Reviewed by: Tom B. on 11/1/2012 10:10:14 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/27/2012 Hometown: Fort Scott, KS

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

What a great Halloween weekend at Eagle Ranch. Busy schedule, fun for everyone. Owners go out of way to make you feel welcome. But to the one who took the key out of the Ranger, SHAME on you, that wasn't just a prank, that was mean!
Reviewed by: Melvin on 10/29/2012 2:51:10 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/27/2012 Hometown: Weaubleau, MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

ACTHA ride this weekend. Awesome trails, great hosts, wonderful time. Definitely recommend it.
Reviewed by: AL on 8/26/2012 6:58:07 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 8/25/2012 Hometown: , MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Reviewed by: halina on 7/14/2012 8:21:11 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 7/7/2012 Hometown: reeds spring, MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Went back to Eagle Ranch a year after new owners took over. Camp was clean as was the stalls. The little voucher for a bottled water was sort of condensending to me and kinda embarrassing. Just do away with the water voucher... two bottles of water for the weekend isn't even worth tracking down the owner to redeem the voucher. Provided Firewood pile was small, but still free. The trails though need some serious maintenance. They are now very rutted and extremely rocky.... we ride all over MO (Big Creek, Big Piney etc) and these trails are by far the most unlevel and hard to ride rocky terrain. Trees need to be trimmed away from the trails too. Several folks in our large group got scratches and snags from the low hanging branches and side branches not being trimmed. So please remind me again what the trail use fee is for?!? The trails are not being maintained. Owner was courteous, however he did not thank us for our club's visit. Every camp we attend the owners thank the patrons for their business especially when a club attends. More new cabins are being built (very nice) and it appears that the the camp is being turned into more of a resort. Not a bad thing, just with more people staying with horses etc., the trails will need more maintenance and maybe some new trails to ride. We use to go to this camp at least 4-5 times over the summer, but with the rough trail conditions we will only attend during our club rides.
Reviewed by: Tammy on 7/5/2012 2:58:10 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/30/2012 Hometown: , KS

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Experienced the Chuck Wagon Races at Eagle Ranch, not worth the money we spent, over priced for an hour of races. Also was told by the owner to put out our campfire and go to bed! Never had anyone tell us to do that before, we like to sit and talk around the campfire as late as we want, we paid for the campsite didn't we, we werent loud or bothering anybody, we've never had a problem before. Also our kids werent allowed to sing karoke anymore, it was only for adults, and it was shut down around 10,isnt it supose to be fun? Too many rules at ER now for my taste. I heard we werent the only ones that the house mother got on to. Recently we have tried out J Bar S at Lowry City, they are real real nice and don't lay a bunch of Fee's and rules on you. Its a nice place to ride and camp too and they make you feel very welcome.
Reviewed by: Rick on 6/28/2012 8:50:38 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/22/2012 Hometown: , KS

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

What a great weekend, even tho it was hot, the campground and atmosphere couldn't be better. The chuck wagon races are very entertaining. Thanks Cheryl and Jerry for a great time. See ya soon.
Reviewed by: Rale on 6/25/2012 6:20:13 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/22/2012 Hometown: , MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

First time at Eagle Ranch, went to see their first Chuck Wagon Race. Great time, good riding, good dance. The whole group of us had a great weekend and we will be back
Reviewed by: Lindsey on 6/24/2012 6:27:21 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/23/2012 Hometown: Camdenton, MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

After my 1st trip to Eagle Ranch I would agree that some of the earlier posts are giving this place a bum rap. The facilities are among the best you will find anywhere. Stalls, bathhouse/restrooms are awesome. Campsites are nice but you might want to bring a folding table as there are no picnic tables. Nice cabins for those w/o LQ trailers. Trail map is great and trails are well marked but only in one direction, you must ride in the direction of the markers until you know the trails. Trails are limited but adequate for a weekend. Jerry was curteous, fees are reasonable with free ice and firewood. Will definitely go again.
Reviewed by: robert on 6/20/2012 6:47:35 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/16/2012 Hometown: houston, MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We have been to Eagle Ranch many times, but this was our first trip back after the change in ownership. I have no idea why people are blasting the place or not camping there. To us there was no difference in the camping experience and the trails were still great. Our trailer was cleaned as well as stalls, had plenty of ice, water, and firewood. The camp was clean and well taken care of. Jerry the owner was just a normal guy, maybe not a big talker but so what, he was friendly enough for us. Don't know that I ever had any more conversation with the previous owner. We go to ride and relax, not a big social event for us. If you are not going to Eagle Ranch because of a few bad posts, you are missing out. We have been to camps all over and seen the good, the bad and the ugly, Eagle Ranch is getting a bad rap, but like everyone else, that's just my opinion. We will be back this fall when the heat is gone.
Reviewed by: Steve on 6/17/2012 2:10:26 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 6/16/2012 Hometown: Edgerton, KS

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Hehe, I'm an expert. Anyway, expert or not, I ride a lot and I go to a lot of campgrounds/horse trail parks. I really like this place. I have been 3 times this year and plan to go back in July and October. The campground is always clean and well taken care of. They have wi-fi! I have an LQ trailer but some of my buddies don't so the cabins are an extra nice feature for those folks. The trails are well marked and provide a challenging ride for us experts (lol) and easier rides for those not looking for a thrill a minute ride. I like to ride out alone sometimes but often worry I will get lost--Eagle is my favorite place to ride alone--I can't get lost there and I know if I don't get back to camp someone will come find me!
Reviewed by: Chas Young on 5/30/2012 8:42:26 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 4/15/2012 Hometown: East Lynne, MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We were there Oct 7th weekend and had a great time. No issues. We forgot our power cord but they loaned us one, pretty nice. Great stalls!
Reviewed by: john on 11/24/2011 9:05:16 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/7/2011 Hometown: columbia, MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Eagle Ranch WAS the best trailriding facility up until this past year, you have to admit the attendance has dwindled down quite a bit from when the previous owner and crew were there. And the homey feeling is just not there anymore. Its all about management and personality! The new owner just doesnt have what it takes and thats the plain truth like it or not.
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 11/16/2011 11:50:14 PM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 10/30/2011 Hometown: , AR

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

ISN'T THIS SITE INTENDED FOR PEOPLE WHO ARE INTERESTED IN PASSING ON INFORMATION ABOUT GOOD CAMPING/EQUINE FACILITIES??? IT IS PAINFULLY OBVIOUS THAT SOMEONE IS MORE CAUGHT UP IN TRYING TO TRASH THE NEW OWNERS THAN OFFER INFORMATION ABOUT THE PLACE TO BENEFIT OTHER RIDERS. THIS SOUNDS LIKE A PERSONAL PROBLEM TO ME AND THIS WEBSITE IS NOT AN APPROPRIATE PLACE TO AIR YOUR COMPLAINTS. LET'S FACE IT, TIMES CHANGE, OWNERS CHANGE.........THOSE OF US WHO ARE ADULTS LEARN TO LIVE WITH IT AND ADAPT. I HAVE FOUND THE NEW OWNERS VERY FRIENDLY AND ACCOMODATING AND EAGLE RANCH IS STILL ONE OF THE BEST RIDING/CAMPING FACILITIES IN SOUTHWEST MISSOURI.
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 11/11/2011 3:19:19 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/29/2011 Hometown: , KS

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We're very upset!!! I have been going to Eagle Ranch since it first opened and I just can't do it anymore! Steve and Shawn are gone and they kept the place going, always so friendly and nice. Steve bent over backwards to make you feel wanted and at home, and Shawn was a jack of all trades and a great ranch hand who was so good with people and the horses, he was even a farrier and horse trainer. I overheard the new RUDE OWNER get on to him for shoeing a horse one day, and said he didn't want him shoeing on his time.! I always got my horses shod while there, he was very good and reasonable, in what I observed over this past season the new owner Jerry "just doesn't get it:! He really needed his good ranch hand but let him go thinking he and his wife could run the place!!! WHAT A JOKE!!! Did you see how bad Halloween weekend was? It was the slowest ever in 6 years!! All because of the new owners attitudes!! They can barely ride horses and hardly know the trails, Shawn knew every trail out there and just how long it took to ride it, they made a big mistake letting him go, he was the only one there worth talking to with any kind of personality because Jerry sure doesnt have one. Talk about puting nails in your coffin! Leting that hand go was the stupidist thing they could have ever done and did do! The ranch has sure suffered because of that one stupid action. I have even witnessed Jerry treat Shawn rudely when he still comes out to ride and visit with us old campers, I myself wanted to punch him out for the way he treats him when he comes. I agree with you unhappy campers, we are going elsewhere and telling anyone we know to do the same. We are not going to support Eagle Ranch's rude owners anymore and they have gotten the last from this ole boy too! If anybody has Shawns phone number I sure would like to have it, I need my horses shod and I would like to say hello to him, because he was sure a nice fellow that got the SHAFT! I heard he had to move up north to get a job. Now they have replaced Shawn with a woman !!!!!! and thats even more of a joke!!!, HUMMM will be interesting to see how they fair through the winter and I doubt very seriously that they will have very much business next season with the amount of people he has ran off. Eagle Ranch is not what it use to be and never will be as long as Jerry has it. Hope he realizes it soon and puts it back up on the market and someone with some brains and horse sense gets it, they sure couldnt do any worse.
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 11/10/2011 10:52:28 PM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 10/29/2011 Hometown: , Lenexa, KS

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We are done with Eagle Ranch. Never will they receive another dime of my money. Rude rude rude. have to agree anyone that was there before knows the difference in how you are treated. Hope he can keep on getting the new comers as I am another frequent customer who will not be back.
Reviewed by: De De on 11/9/2011 1:34:23 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/29/2011 Hometown: , MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Well once again Jerry showed his butt this weekend, he is so scared somebody is going to steal something from him, or sneak into the ranch and he not get their money. He actually had a baracade set up goin out into primitive camping. Can you believe it? Had a board baracade across the drive way and a tent set up to catch anyone going back there. He also had someone set up by the bathrooms to catch you as you came in on saturday night, and he asked us "what our purpose was there?. We thought we were entering fort knox! We had heard he was going to get extra security because he didnt want anyone sneaking in, but just couldnt believe it when we saw it. Steve never worried about people stealing from him and he never had a problem with it, this guy is paranoid, he has every thing he can lock, locked up, Steve never locked up anything and again never had a problem with it. The kind of people that go to Eagle Ranch are not thieves and most are well to do people and they dont have to steal Jerrys piddly little crap. This was his last big weekend, lets see how good he does from now on, only new campers are happy and have had the wool pulled over their eyes because he was on very good behavior for the church groups that rode there recently but we know how he really is, and he demonstrates it every week! We and our friends are just sick that he has the ranch and not Steve, it was so warm, fun and friendly, we always felt like family, we would go just to see Steve and the young couple that worked for him and we always had our horses shod while there, sort of a kill two birds with one stone. Nobody wants to jump in their rig and go see this guy, and from the person that he called and hung up on about the Halloween ride, YES!! thats how he REALLY is, its his true RUDE personality, he showed you, to the rest of you who were singing his praises, I believe you were from the church groups and he put on a different face for you. A very uncompasionate person, and his wife just goes along with it. We dont know who comes up with the stupid ideas, him or her, She needs to keep his butt the at house and away from the ranch before he puts them in the poor house. Everybody we talk to wants the ranch back the way it use to be with the old owner and crew at the helm. Lets keep hoping!!!!!
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 11/1/2011 7:23:44 PM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 10/29/2011 Hometown: , Select State

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Rick Said: "lots of us liked the unlimited free firewood/water/ice but do you get that at other horse camps..NO!" Well other camps don't charge a $10 trail use fee either in addition to campground and stall fees. The RV sites are as high now as some horse camps that provide both electric and water at the site. The intent for the trail use fee by Steve (original owner) was to pay for the "Free" water, firewood, and stall cleaning help. Now the prices have increased and the trail use fee is still in place, but no longer unlimited bottled water and firewood are provided to the customer. Not disputing the place is not good for a weekend of easy riding, but the truth needs to be stated about the "no longer free" items while the trail use fee is still being charged.
Reviewed by: Long Time ER Customer on 10/28/2011 2:10:54 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/28/2011 Hometown: , KS

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Had a super to time at Eagle ranch fun place for all ages! The staff and owners treated us really good and gave us tips on where to ride. The trails can be easy to hard depending where you go. Enjoyed the lake trail with the family. They have electric sites and small cabins very nice grounds it was our first time and our impression was very good. Our steak dinner was very good and we enjoyed the music and dancing. Thanks for the great weekend Jerry and Cheryl! Keep up the good work! The place is a great weekend get away.
Reviewed by: Cowpoke101 on 10/28/2011 10:51:02 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/22/2011 Hometown: Clintonville, MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

visited Eagle Ranch three times this year and headed back for Halloween weekend. Jerry and Cheryl are doing a great job running the place. I know lots of us liked the unlimited free firewood/water/ice but do you get that at other horse camps..NO! We visit a few places and no one gives out firewood/water/clean stalls. Jerry and Cheryl have always been helpful and once YOU visit with them they are very good folks. My wife said something to Jerry that a hose was spraying water out around stalls. Within a few minutes he was back with new hoses for that barn. Plus the couple camping with us said that a shower head was not working in ladies shower. Was fix when she went back the next day. Jerry and Cheryl both said thanks for letting them know. I read some of the problems folks report but most looks like those folks would have problems any place they go! Keep up the good work. Oh yes we have booked dates for 2012!!!
Reviewed by: rick on 10/25/2011 6:46:12 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/14/2011 Hometown: Lamar, MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We had the best weekend of riding & camping at Eagle Ranch. Although a long drive, it was well worth the time. The trails are well taken care of and well marked. The facilities for your horses are excellent, and the steak dinner is superb.
Reviewed by: Robin on 10/18/2011 8:36:58 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/15/2011 Hometown: St. Louis, MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I must say that I haven't been back to ER since the new owners took over and we WERE going to attend the Halloween ride. The new RUDE owner called last night to see if we were going to be attending the Halloween Ride - Two weeks a head of time!! I started to explain that I wasn't sure I would be attending since my horse has minor injury, and before I could say that I would call back at the end of the week (one week before the ride) he said "I guess you are not coming and I'll mark you off the list" and then he hung up. Needless to say I don't need to see for myself how rude the new owner is.... his phone call pretty much summed it up!!!! Money grubber owner. It's not like the camp is not packed with people for this ride and it has never had a problem in the past filling up. We will go to J Bar S, Pomme De Ridge, Berry Bend, Huckleberry Stables, or Ponderosa. All of those places are within similar travel distance and have better trails and appreciative camp hosts.
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 10/18/2011 11:07:11 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/17/2011 Hometown: , MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

It is plain to see that only the new campers are happy with ER. We've been going for 3yrs and always felt at home and treated like family, but now its like we are a burden, all the new people wants is your money and he then ignores you the rest of the time, drives right by you when you are obviously in need of help and goes on by. Not a people person in anyway and doesnt know how to treat people at all. We feel like were not wanted, the last owner came to our campsite and visited with us often. Not that homey feeling anymore, after Halloween we wont be going back and have encouraged all our friends to do the same, there are other camps to go to. we really miss the past owner and his people he had working for him, they were all so friendly and nice. Think what you want new comers, but not the same. Take it from an old timer! Although the new owner has been told plenty of times about his rudeness by several campers, maybe he is trying to change his ways. Really hate it that he has the ranch when it was so good before.
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 10/15/2011 8:56:02 PM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 9/30/2011 Hometown: Hayes, KS

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I must say double thumbs to eagle ranch this past weekend! We had a great time,met the new owners and they where very nice, went out of their way to make sure we had everything. The stall boys did a great job and made us feel at home. Pam who works for Eagle Ranch is very nice also, the whole group did a great job at making our group feel at home. The trails were easy to hard, make sure you have the right shoe for the rocks. Make sure you pack a snack for the trails and stop by the lake, very peaceful. They do offer ice and fire wood at the camp and a very nice steak dinner, I enjoyed the night off from cooking. The place is kid friendly and great for groups. I know if you ask you can get a private tour with Pam and Cheryl if call in advance. The Ranch is just great for a getaway weekend with the horses and family. You will be amazed on the clean bathrooms and the way the grounds are kept, the ranch puts great work in keeping up the area. Looking forward to next year already, keep the good work up.
Reviewed by: KickenKowGirl on 10/12/2011 7:37:34 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/9/2011 Hometown: Lee's Summit, MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Neat place with many trails and very nice stalls and electric area. We have a big rig and it takes big area for my wife to turn the thing ! LOL We had a blast and we loved the place, we are not to big on roughing it so we loved the stalls and we enjoyed the steak dinner I wish we could get a lunch cooked too! LOL I hate to cook! Just ride and eat! The lake was a neat area and moon rock was cool. The owners took care of us and was helpful on getting us in the grove of Eagle Ranch. The place is great and can't wait to go back next year or I should say Halloween weekend if the wife can get off in time. You won't be disappointed when you come it will be a topnotch weekend. If you have a problem just ask big Jerry he will make it right or his wife. Classy place not your hillbilly ranch ride.
Reviewed by: Qtr horse one on 10/11/2011 7:05:43 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 9/24/2011 Hometown: , KS

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Well the weather was perfect,the trails was awesome,the facilities was great, the new owners treated us like family very nice, Jerry gave us a helping hand with the wood! (Thanks) we really love the area and enjoy the lake! Very nice and easy to get to and great stalls! Loved our cabin and really thought we was in the hills of arkansas . We love the camp fire and the pavilion area with a great steak dinner! Our child had a wonderful time and remarked how clean the bathroom was everyday. Jerry and Cheryl keep the good work up! God has blessed you with a great gift of Eagle Ranch and you are doing a awesome JOB!!!! Looking forward to next year and years to come, thanks for building memories for your customers.
Reviewed by: Cowpony on 10/11/2011 6:06:18 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/1/2011 Hometown: , MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We had heard good and bad reviews so we were going to give it try. WOW we was surprised the Grounds were nice and love the stall boys made me feel pamperd! The trails were easy to hard but mainly on the tougher side but I chose the harder ones. The nice surprise was the steak dinner loved the mushroom sauce! We met the owners found out they were new this year and very nice, they are doing a great job and I hope to come back next year. This is a neat little gem in SW mo so don't pass it up keep up the great work Eagle Ranch!
Reviewed by: Tophorse on 10/11/2011 5:14:55 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/9/2011 Hometown: Lee's summit, MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Still not happy with the way the new owner of Eagle Ranch treats you. We feel like outsiders instead of guests. Not a warm fuzzy feeling at all when you go to Eagle Ranch. We saw somebody get hurt today and he didnt even act like he cared, didnt even go check to see if they were alright. We are going elsewhere and tell all our friends to do the same.
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 10/9/2011 5:44:43 PM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 9/30/2011 Hometown: , KS

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

The campground and showerhouse were very clean. The kids enjoyed fishing in the lake while we went horseback riding. The Saturday night steak dinner was very good along with the band they had playing after the dinner. There were more trails than we could ride on for one weekend. Most of the trails go through the woods up and down the hills. There were a few trails that were flat around the hay fields to ride on for a nice easy going ride. We all had a great time and will be back again next month.
Reviewed by: ghost rider on 9/29/2011 12:17:54 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/24/2011 Hometown: , MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We really had a great time at Eagle Ranch. Everything was very clean. The trails were excellent. We will be returning soon.
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 9/28/2011 6:37:47 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 8/14/2011 Hometown: , MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Thought we would give Eagle Ranch one last chance since we had a booking from last year. We were very unhappy with our treatment by the new owners from Iowa. Very rude, and seem to be afraid your going to cheat them if you unload your horses from a hot trailer after several hours of driving before checking in at the office, they will be right after you and bawl you out. All my people are not going back and going else where. We noticed that the young couple that was always there were gone too, and they were alway so nice and friendly. Nothing to go back for in my opinion. Eagle Ranch is goin down the tubes.
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 9/5/2011 9:55:34 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/4/2011 Hometown: , KS

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Went to Eagle Ranch this weekend and only 4 trailers there, never in 5 years has the ranch been that slow. The new owner thinks its the hot weather, but the truth is its him, and his dry solom rude personality, he has the personality of a dead man! He makes more people mad than you can imagine and they dont come back and they tell all their friends not to come back, there are other places to go. He even ran off Shawn and Kendra that had been there 5 years and worked with the previous owner Steve Chappel, said he didnt need them thought he could run it himself, and that was the only thing keeping the place together. Cant believe that someone that stupid could get ahold of the place with no horse experience and destroy it in less than a year! Its sure to go under and be back up for sale again soon. WHAT A SHAME! He should have kept Shawn, he was a big part of Eagle Ranch and he let it go.
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 9/2/2011 11:31:43 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 8/27/2011 Hometown: , MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Wow was totally amazed at the lack of business on our recent trip to ER. This place used to be packed almost every weekend. Just not the same with Kendra and Shaun gone. Shaun was great help and the go to person and kendra did a wonderful job on the phones and checking you in. Owner seems to be on the rude side as well. Will be a while before we think about going back to ER. With the rates and the changes the place just isnt what it used to be.
Reviewed by: rider on 8/9/2011 6:40:41 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 8/6/2011 Hometown: , KS

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I frequent ER several times a year and have enjoyed the camping, free firewood, and trails in the past. However, the last several times I have been including Halloween Weekend reminded me of a mini-Eminence. Lots of drunk riders at all hours of the day and night, large gallon size open whiskey containers at the dance, not to mention drunk riders trying to get into the Pavillion where people were dancing and the band was playing!! Kids and some adults who should know better running the horses through camp created a dangerous situation for young horses or children. It has become a free for all for whatever anyone wants to do. Someone is going to get hurt if campground rules are not in place AND enforced. Yes, we have adult beverages at camp, but not while on our horses and by no means do we ride up to the band on horseback where crowds of people including children are standing. While I'm for everyone having a good time, a few safety rules would be appreciated: No horses at the pavillion, no horses running through camp-period!, and dogs kept on leashes. I don't think these simple rules are out of line.
Reviewed by: Frequent Customer on 11/1/2010 10:20:43 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/30/2010 Hometown: , Select State

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This is a 5 star equestrian facility. They have trails for all levels of riding and have an "easy" route for any difficult areas on the trails. The campground is spacious, and big rig friendly.
Reviewed by: Debbie Murry on 10/25/2010 8:05:17 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/23/2010 Hometown: Spring Hill, KS

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Awsome place to ride. Staff very friendly and always willing to make your stay better. They clean your trailer out when you first arrive, and clean the stalls while you ride. Been there 3 times this year and going back next week.
Reviewed by: Raymond on 10/14/2010 11:37:52 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/23/2010 Hometown: Kingston, MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Beautiful, beautiful place. Easy to access, easy to get around in the campground even with a long trailer, stalls are really nice and the management could not have been nicer. Firewood is delivered every day to your fire ring, your trailer is cleaned when you arrive and your stall is cleaned when you ride out. Our saddle club when there this year and everyone loved it. Will definately go back.
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 9/30/2009 12:31:22 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 9/20/2009 Hometown: California, MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We had a good time,trails are awesome,nice friendly people running the place definitly will go back
Reviewed by: Abe on 9/22/2009 7:02:48 PM
Experience: Beginner Ride Date: 8/6/2009 Hometown: knob noster, MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Our first visit was on Memorial weekend last year, we did primative camping and then returned in July/08 and camped electric. We absolutely LOVE this place. The Hosts and the staff are the kindest around, and by far the cleanest and nicest camp going. Was not over crowded and the Trails were great. We have been trying to go this year, but every weekend is booked.... Word must be getting out..
Reviewed by: Susan & Richard Mayer on 5/12/2009 9:55:51 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/30/2008 Hometown: Washburn, , MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

The Cleanest & Best Run Campground We've ever Been Too! Friendly Staff, Clean Trails & Well Marked. And Boy What A Dinner. We WILL Be Going Back!!
Reviewed by: JW Yewell on 4/27/2009 3:31:36 PM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 1/1/2004 Hometown: Deepwater, MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Trails were awesome and clearly marked. From beginer to advanced trails. I liked all the water crossings and felt it was farily senic. Staff was extremely accomidating. They clean your trailer when you arrive and your stalls when you go for a ride. Free fire wood, botteled water and ice!! NICEST shower house I have ever been in. I perfer a more private campsite and a picnic table at the site would have been nice. The covered stalls were suitable and clean. I would go again but would do it off season so it would not be crowded.
Reviewed by: Edie Thomas on 3/31/2009 1:35:34 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 3/26/2009 Hometown: Columbia, MO