HorseTrailDirectory.com
Trail Riders Helping Trail Riders

Reviews for Hocking Hills State Park / Three Reasons Farms
(click on name for more information)
Logan, OH

Overall TRAIL RATING with 15 votes:
Overall CAMP RATING with 15 votes:

Enter your Trail and/or Campground Review 

Individual Reviews

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

A group of us from South West Mi headed to Three Reasons the end of July for a week. This was my first (Not my last) time to Three Reasons. Camp is private and very relaxing after a great ride. Covered stalls (2each) for every electric site and a large pasture for the cabin if you rent it. They have 8 full service sites. They have rustic also which you would picket or use portables. Closest camp to Airplane Rock, 21 Horse Cave and The Squeeze. I rode out to Parachute and Goat trail as well. Definitely going back here. One week wasn't enough
Reviewed by: Tali Sorenson on 11/9/2017 12:08:36 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 8/1/2017 Hometown: South West , MI

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Electric and water at each site. No shade at site. Sites could be longer so I unhooked and it worked. Bathrooms and showers are ok. There's a hitching post at each site to saddle. (2) 12 X 12 covered stalls come with each site which are right across the road with pipe swing gates, water in the middle and close manure pits with wheelbarrows so it's very handy. Lyn has maps on her door and can explain trails very well. Riding is Great! I rode to Airplane Rock, Old Mans Cave, The Squeeze, Table Rock, Box Canyon, Water Falls, 21 Horse Cave, Artesian Well and Red Rock.You can drive to flea market, Old Man's Cave and several other things. Visitor Center is great and has a pencil sharpener collection. 715 miles for me as I first rode at Tanglewood Acres and was well worth the drive!!
Reviewed by: Linda & Morris Dolph on 9/11/2017 1:31:15 PM
More reviews by Linda %26 Morris Dolph
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 8/11/2017 Hometown: Waterloo, IA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

The campground is small (which I like). Stalls very close to your site, did find a few nail heads sticking out of one of our stalls so check them. Shower house was ok I only used it once. Someone had said there is a posting in bathhouse where to find maps and information about camp. Road going into camp was VERY narrow. Thankfully we never met anyone. We were there for 7 days never did see owner. There isn't a dump station. The trails were beautiful. Some breath taking sites and what we rode were easy. Had a couple rainy days and a horse got hurt so we didn't get to ride some trails toward Hocking horse camp. Hope to go back and ride the Goat trail. Happy Trails
Reviewed by: ShariJ on 6/3/2017 9:36:23 AM
More reviews by ShariJ
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/18/2017 Hometown: Brownstown, il

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Trails are well marked and rock and waterfall formations are the most beautiful I have ever seen in Ohio. Campground is small but electric and water are easy to hook up. Bathhouse is convenient. Barn with stalls are well build, safe and large plus right across from your campsite. Making reservations can take awhile for them to get back with you. Road into the camp is very narrow and two large trailers passing each other would be super tight squeeze.
Reviewed by: SashaW on 9/25/2016 1:25:22 PM
More reviews by SashaW
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/5/2016 Hometown: Mansfield, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We only stayed one night as we were at Cowboy Larry's and decided we would try Three Reasons and we are sure glad we did. Easy riding if that's what you want or you can do very challenging riding as well, the nice thing is that you can choose. Immediately when you get on the trail head you see such beautiful scenery and the sites don't take too long to get there. The trails are nice and manageable, some mud but nothing like Brown County after a rain. Love to go to the picnic site, they have wonderful tie-ups and you can walk down the path to see Airplane Rock. Our horses had boots on the front and barefoot on the back with no problem. Borium would be a plus if you are doing some challenging trails tho but not necessary for normal riding. The campsite is surrounded by woods but no trees on your site, that's ok, put out your awning - at least your horse is in a wonderful covered stall right across from you if it is hot or cold or rainy. Water & electricity are great. I Love the flat boulders at each campsite with the built in bonfire pits, no chairs needed unless you get too hot. Can't rate the shower house but hey, there's a shower and flush toilets. your camping, quit complaining. A 15 minute drive brings you into Logan where they have a wonderful LaCascada Mexican restaurant, arbys, Walmart, or drive to Old Man's Cave, a must see! You may have to be a little persistent to call & get a campsite right away but Lynn was great and we were in luck with less than a 24 hr. notice (mid-week)
Reviewed by: Lorri McConnell on 8/28/2015 6:41:34 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 8/26/2015 Hometown: Manchester, MI

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

fantastic campground and hosts. Trails are beginner to expert wonderful place if you haven't been there make it a must on your list.
Reviewed by: calamityjane on 6/15/2014 7:40:02 PM
More reviews by calamityjane
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 6/12/2014 Hometown: Londonderry, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

There are only 8 sites however, the owner let us stay in a primitive area she normally doesn't allow campers because we were coming all the way from Michigan. Our sites didn't open till Sunday afternoon. The sites although reserved, are on a first come first serve basis. They are all right in a row and there are no trees. Loved having water and electric and really liked how the stalls were done-no horse could nose to nose with any other horse. I would have like to have a more park-like atmosphere but for the locations to the attractions, there was no place else I would want to stay. Just a few minutes from Airplane Rock. The ride to 21 Horse cave, repelling area and Old Man's cave was further but still not as far as if we would have stayed in another campground. We only saw the owner when we pulled in and not again. My husband said the shower head sprayed all over so he showered in our camper after that. It was funny because there is a black horse that wanders the place not tied up. We were always looking to see where black horse was today. The riding is absolutely stunning! I would never camp here in the dead of summer but for when we went it was great!
Reviewed by: Tami Vroma on 10/8/2013 8:14:01 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 9/28/2013 Hometown: Allendale, MI

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Arrived on Friday to find that we just picked out any site that was available. We never had anyone come to the campground area to check on us, check us in (which we were already paid) or anything. Never did meet anyone that worked there or the owners. Several water spickets at the barns did not work so we moved our horses to the ones that did, also several campsites did not have working water. The grass was not mowed either at the sites. Did like the hitching posts at each site, those are very nice. You had to find some string or rope to latch the gates on the stalls. The stalls were roomy but there was no bedding at all in the stalls upon arrival. There was a sign at the bath house that shavings were available at the store in Logan which was about 10 miles away. Also there was 1 wheelbarrow for all 16 sites and no pitchforks or shovels. Thank goodness we had one in our truck. The bath-house was ok but definitely not as nice as some we have been in. Loved that the trails are right there close to camp. Wish the trails were marked better and maybe some maps for the riders.
Reviewed by: K Haynes on 7/31/2012 6:36:52 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 7/31/2012 Hometown: Princeton, WV

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I've been to Hocking Hills many times, with and without horses, but this was (by far) the best place I've horse-camped with. Nice, clean, well-maintained campground with roomy stalls and water readily available for each section of stalls. The campsites are a comfortable size without feeling like you're "on top of" your neighbor, and with metal hitching rails so you can walk your horse over and groom/tack closer to your trailer. A wheelbarrow was available to clean your stall, and manure pits were easy to get to. You may want to consider bringing a chain or extra lead rope to latch the stall gates. Each site also had a picnic table and fire pit, some fire pits had a grill as well - I loved the big square stone block "benches" by the fire pits! The cabins looked clean and comfortable, with a large front porch. The bathroom/shower house was clean. Owner was friendly - didn't see much of her because she was around and about doing her own work on the farm, but we never really needed help with anything during our stay. Hocking is absolutely gorgeous to ride. No matter what angle or direction you look, it's beautiful and Three Reasons makes it easy to ride to some of the best scenery in the park. The trails were in good shape; a few spots were a bit muddy in low-lying areas by the streams, but nothing extraordinary. I love the "goat trail" that runs along the box canyons; they'll make you appreciate having a sure-footed and confident horse, but it's worth the ride! The horse trails are a great way to see parts of the park that most on-foot tourists never visit.
Reviewed by: Audrey on 4/24/2012 2:45:12 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 4/6/2012 Hometown: Cincinnati, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This was the second time I Stayed at Three Reasons and I just love it. You are so close to everything. It only takes 15 minutes to ride to airplane rock! Nice stalls, very clean bath and shower house. The only reason I gave the camground a 4 is I wish there was some shade.
Reviewed by: Heidi on 7/19/2011 9:30:34 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 7/15/2011 Hometown: Greenfield, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

After reading many reviews of all of the campgrounds I decided to try Three Reasons. Am glad that I did. Having elec. & water hookups was great, liked my horses having stalls and I enjoyed the bath house. We rode right off the campground property onto a trail head. Trails were beautiful, but could be challenging in places (which I enjoyed, but my friend was a bit nervous about). I will say that with all the rain that the area has had this spring the trails were better than I expected. Yes, they were wet and muddy in many places, but the mud was not exceptionally deep. 3-5" of mud I can handle - 1' and more is just not fun or safe. There were a lot of trees down but we did meet fellows on the trail that were walking with chain saws trying to get many of them open. As for all the people that complain about the price Three Reasons charges all I can say is that it takes money to build and maintain the facilities they have. And as we were two woman I felt substantially safer there than I would have at the free state campground. I do intend to go back to Hocking Hills and Three Reasons.
Reviewed by: Annie on 6/20/2011 3:43:51 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 6/14/2011 Hometown: , PA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

3 Reasons has 8 elec/water spots. Nice flat spots with hitching post and 2 large covered stalls per site. Bathroom/shower is located underneath of the cabin. It has been very rainy and all sites were dry. This place is pricey but worth it. Hocking hill trails are for more advanced riders. With all the rain, the trails were very very wet and muddy in some places. I loved all the scenic areas to view. I will go again when the weather is dryer next time.
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 5/30/2011 12:21:16 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/21/2011 Hometown: , OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

My husband and I stayed here last year and thought it was very nice. The horses had good-sized covered stalls with water right by them for filling buckets. Our horse trailer was parked right across from them and there was a hitching post beween us for tacking them up. The campground is small which keeps it quiet and peaceful and it was full when we were there. The trail that goes to the cave that you can ride your horse into but all the other trails you have to ride a ways to. The trails can be challenging at times, but they are fun and beautiful. They have a very nice bathroom/shower house on the campground that was clean and well-kept. We stayed at the primitive campground, and even though it's closer to most of the trails, I will Three Reasons from now on.
Reviewed by: Blair on 4/17/2011 7:58:06 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/1/2010 Hometown: North Judson, IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We love this campground and Lynn is incredibly friendly and accomodating. In fact, we love it here so much that we've made it an annual ride with 6 - 8 couples who travel in from several different states. We all have so many wonderful memories from our rides through the gorgeous trails here and are all eagerly awaiting our visit this year! You won't be disappointed!!
Reviewed by: Kim Blake on 3/21/2011 10:25:06 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/15/2009 Hometown: Carrollton, Select State

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Called four times to make reservations. Had to leave message. never got a return call. On the 5th call I asked to please call back, I need to set up vacation at work. Got a call back right away. But the Woman was VERY RUDE & NASTY to me. Telling me that it was people like me is the reason she was closed for business. Being closed was a lie which I found out from the local people, I do not tolerate being lied to . DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS PLACE TO ANYONE
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 7/19/2010 8:21:32 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 6/15/2008 Hometown: , OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Campground is nice and the stalls are large enough you could put 2 in a stall. The trails are great. Views are unbeatable.
Reviewed by: Outlaw lady 3 on 5/1/2010 11:31:44 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 4/17/2010 Hometown: Otway, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We stayed at 3 Reasons for 2 nights in their cabin next to the campground. It was air conditioned. The horses had a 2 acre pasture to themselves but not much shade in the pasture. The cabin was neat and clean. It had a fully stocked kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, and stove. The campground is small and quiet. The stalls were roomy and water was readily available. The trails were well marked and the Ohio Horseman's Council map was easier to use than the State printed map. The trails were varied from low grades to steep narrow twisting through the rock formations. Some of the places we could ride to we unbelievably beautiful. Caves were accessible on horseback and some we could ride right in. We rode 2 days and only covered about a third of the park. Most of the trails were dry and hard packed. Soil was loamy to some rocky areas. Not many water crossings or water for the horses in the areas we rode. Insects were not too bad but when we came across horseflies they were big! I would strongly recommend this park for intermediate riders and above. There were some areas as we went off the Orange trail up toward parachute rock that were treacherous. There were both out and back rides as well as loops.
Reviewed by: RachelV on 8/18/2009 7:25:42 PM
More reviews by RachelV
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 8/15/2009 Hometown: Chardon, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

There was awesome scenery with plenty of trail rides. We've gone to this campsite 2 or 3 years in a row now and we still haven't seen all of the sites. The campground was just as good. It had electricity, water, nice stalls, and it was all very peacefull because it isn't huge. The cabin is very nice also. There are two bedrooms, a pull out bed on the couch, a bathroom w/ a shower, and a kitchen stocked w/ all of the pots, pans, and utensils you'll need. The tv in there has awesome westerns movies alongside it and even cable. We didn't think we would use it, but it was really nice on the day when we got rained out and had nothing else to do. I am definately looking forward to going back this year.
Reviewed by: Jill on 5/1/2009 5:07:30 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 7/8/2009 Hometown: Fort Recovery, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

enjoyed the very senic trails and had a 9yr. and 6yr. old along with this being only their second trail ride. They had time of their life and handled the white and part of the orange trail quite well. Stayed at three reasons which had very nic accomadations with water and electric at each site and nice stalls for the horses. The people complaining about the price increase must not go camping much to realize the cost at most campgrounds that don't evan have accomadations for horses let a lone water access at each stall. Come on folks do you still pay $1.89 for gas. Electric and water cost money. Some say they will stay for free at state campsites but take a generator is that gas free. Go ahead stay for free and get what you get for free (nothing). Not electric not water at your campsite and horsesite all ya don't forget about those free horse stalls you get. Last I checked it cost money to build barns and wood price is not what it use to be. Don't forget the nice gravel pads and driveways that are not mud everytime it rains. So go ahead and stay for free that just makes more room for us at a very well maintained and quiet horse camp.
Reviewed by: james on 9/23/2008 10:41:10 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 1/1/2004 Hometown: ashville, OH