HorseTrailDirectory.com
Trail Riders Helping Trail Riders
Home    Riding Trails    Review Camp    My Reviews    Add/Edit Location    Photo Album     Web Links

Reviews for Falling Water Horse Camp  
(click on name for more information)

Ben Hur, AR

Overall TRAIL RATING with 26 votes:
Overall CAMP RATING with 25 votes:

Enter your Trail and/or Campground Review 

Individual Reviews

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Mary was nice to work with on the phone as it was my first time there and our first day there she rode with us to Box Canyon which is breath taking! Also we found a metal box at lunch which had a note pad to write in and you could add to the goodies in it. It was very entertaining! We rode on our own to Still,Whiskey Hollow, A frame House, Barn Hollow and by Glen's cabin. Sue Wimp led us on a trail to Bailey Falls, Bluff Trail, and to Purdy Holler. Bought a large map and that made the trails easy to find. Camp site had electric, water & was level. Shower house was clean and had 2 stalls. Covered barns were nice with water in walk way and manure pit at end of barn and they had a wheel barrow, rakes & shovels. The Falls were really running as it was flooding in Arkansas and the trails were not even muddy. Mary Lou, Iowa, Alice, Illinois joined me. Great Trip!
Reviewed by: Linda & Morris Dolph on 6/2/2017 12:46:11 AM
More reviews by Linda %26 Morris Dolph
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 4/29/2017 Hometown: Waterloo, IA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

My first time here, but not my last. Campsites are level, water and electric hook-ups. My shady spot backs to the creek. Large, clean, safe, covered, airy stalls. Dump station, but no water at dump station. Riding is challenging with steep hills, rocks, creek crossings. It is oh! so gorgeous! Falls, canyons, hollows, and so much water! Beautiful pools, falls, and lovely watercourses. Maps are furnished, trails are very well marked. Must see: Bailey Falls, Box Canyon, Purdy Holler. I recommend shoes or boots--it's very rocky. There is no fuel close to camp, so fuel up your truck before you get to camp. Well worth the trip.
Reviewed by: Beth Braznell on 4/16/2017 2:40:48 PM
More reviews by Beth Braznell
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 4/15/2017 Hometown: St. Louis, Mo

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We stayed just two nights, but we really wanted to stay longer. No tv or cell phone service, but they provide Wifi!! Great showers, sites with water and electric. Mary and Art run a great camp ground! loads of stalls and shavings is available.
Reviewed by: Anna zinkhon on 10/3/2016 6:38:00 PM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 9/28/2016 Hometown: Melbourne, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

The falls are beautiful especially when you have lots of water from recent rains. Campground is nice and bath house was very nice. I only have one complaint but its a pretty important issue. You can't reserve a certain spot and so you are up a creek if you have a larger rig or a slide and the camp is fairly full when you get there. You may not be able to negotiate one of the spots left. Have been there in the past when trails were not marked well but lots of work has been done and the markers were much improved this time. Maps available in office and were very helpful. Stalls are well maintained and covered which is a plus since we got showers every morning while there. Nice thing about it though is you can still ride it even after a decent rain. Fire rings at most sites were nice. Picnic tables at some as well too. Tons of trails to ride so you can stay for a good amount of time and not get bored.
Reviewed by: TexasEquineDiva on 4/22/2016 8:34:45 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 4/13/2016 Hometown: Weatherford, TX

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Fantastic camp, fantastic trails! Joe Garrison passed away, so Glen is running things solo...but Art and Mary help out. Nice big stalls...they have a 46 stall barn, plus another row of about 8 stalls. Clean camp and nice bathhouse. Only negative was that they just had one map for our big group of 25 folks...but the map was good and helped out a lot. Lots of water crossings and beautiful water falls. Trails are nice and generally well-marked. We will be going back.
Reviewed by: harmoncollege on 3/26/2016 12:21:59 AM
More reviews by harmoncollege
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 3/13/2016 Hometown: Coweta, OK

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We have gone to Falling Waters Horse Camp several times with our group of 4H kids (ages 8 to 18). We all love it there! Great bathrooms, stalls, campsites! Beautiful! There are challenging trails and easier ones and you can always just ride the gravel road - almost no traffic and very pretty. The Garrisons are terrific. This is our FAVORITE campground!
Reviewed by: Lisa Marie on 8/8/2012 5:45:54 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/20/2010 Hometown: Dover, AR

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We have riden at many places in many states and Fallingwater ranks with the best. Joe and Sandy are GREAT! We will definetely return. Everything was perfect.
Reviewed by: Kevinbernard on 11/19/2011 10:12:00 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 11/1/2011 Hometown: Rayne, LA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Back for the 6th time. By far, the best horse camp in the state! Glenn and Joe, the brothers that own it, were reachable when needed and the camp was clean and well kept. The scenery was so beautiful I cannot describe it. The trees were turning for fall and I couldn't get enough pictures on the trails. Can't wait to return next spring. The waterfalls will be gorgeous!
Reviewed by: jguffey on 11/10/2011 2:32:49 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/19/2011 Hometown: Perryville, AR

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

One of the nicest horse camps I've seen- large spots, not too close together. Barn was brand new,bathrooms clean. Right on the creek. The trails are challenging, not for beginners, but fabulous scenery. I will go again.
Reviewed by: Rosalie on 9/2/2011 8:51:19 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/10/2011 Hometown: , MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Great trails , very nice people. They went out of their way to make it enjoyable even though we were in camp during the tornadoes. If you don't like riding here you are probably an arena rider and should stay indoors. Maps could be improved . Nobody had their hand out and the showers and campsites were very good. Incredible value for camping and stalls, paid twice as much in Black Mo. for not as nice riding.
Reviewed by: Steve Bevers on 5/6/2011 11:29:08 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 4/30/2011 Hometown: Menasha, WI

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

seems kinda funny the guy writing all the bad stuff about camp got arested for child support and also they found 4 of his horses dead from not feeding them
Reviewed by: mike on 12/8/2010 9:15:33 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 12/4/2010 Hometown: atkins, AR

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Great place to ride and camp. Some of the most spectacular scenery anywhere. Nice bathhouse with hot showers. The covered stalls are a nice improvement. I would recommend the camp very highly.
Reviewed by: Linda on 11/18/2010 1:33:14 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 11/6/2010 Hometown: dover, AR

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

great place to ride, fantastic accomodations. Great people to ride with.
Reviewed by: Shari Ricketts on 11/4/2010 8:35:51 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/2/2010 Hometown: Western Grobe, Ar, Select State

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I first met Joe and Glen in mid January 2005 and I visit Falling Water Horse Camp 3 to 5 times a year, October through May. I have been camping,hiking and paddling this area for 30 years, always camping in Nat'l Forest. I stopped backpacking and started riding my Foxtrotter a dozen years ago (she's a great upgrade!) From the beginning the Garrison's have been the best of hosts! I primitive camp at Falling Water and Glen always makes sure I have wood, etc. The bathroom/showers are CLEAN and HOT. The stalls are graded well and for the most part stay dry and now they have covered stalls available too. Well water is available with convenient spigots along the stalls and hookup campsites. Folks are always friendly in camp and Joe and Glen insure there is nothing going on but good riding and fun. I ride alone much of the time and appreciate that they make sure I have returned from my ride, it's nice to be checked on. This is a great place for women camping or riding alone to feel comfortable. These guys know every inch of the forest here and can lead you to some beatiful places. I have always been under the impression Joe will ride with a group if the group asks and his schedule allows. I also feel that it is a nice gesture to tip a person for their time. It is amazing how quickly Joe and Glen have built the improvements for this camp, but there is always work to be done! The best part of this area is the scenery and natural history. The trails are well marked with short and long rides available. This is the Ozark Mountains at their best! If you like the Ozarks you will love it here. These days the camp is busy so be sure and call ahead.
Reviewed by: Denise on 9/21/2010 2:51:55 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 4/5/2010 Hometown: Heber Springs, AR

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I dont know about them being rude hosts, glen is very nice, but joe is somewhat temperamental just look over it but a good farrier.everyone has different interests in horse breeds kind of like there is white people, black people,yello people and red people imagine that.the camp has a nice setting with rv/electric or primative along side the creek with a well with backup creek water that feeds a clean bath house a water for cooking and of coarse water for our horses and it does have more than 1 picnic table and they are heavy duty. I will agree that the trails need to be remarked you probably could get lost i know could maybe we should bring gps/compass next time but the winter before last they with many others had extensive damage with an ice storm and oak bores blocking some of the trails.i have been there 5 or 6 times i guess , there is alot of beautiful sites up there probably one of the prettiest areas in the ozarks.one eye opener for me is that there are just a very few cowboys in arkansas like there is in the 17 western states but i am not one of them and that includes experts and horse traders. I am just a pleasure rider that loves messing with the american mustangs.If interested there is another horse camp just south of the f.w.h.c.that is a work in progress that is run by john collins and barry mcelfish called cowboy up horse trails. the trails are marked and bring your fishing pole you maybe able to fish in the pond next to camp. happy trails.
Reviewed by: wesley p. on 8/27/2010 12:35:34 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 8/5/2010 Hometown: hector, AR

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Glen and Joe run a relaxed, clean, great campground!! The new covered stall barn is so nice, and well built. The trails and scenery is remarkable! There are plenty of hills,woods (cool in the summer),water-crossings, waterfalls, swimmin holes, and don't miss "Pedestal Rock". I love it all...
Reviewed by: calamityj on 8/16/2010 4:29:51 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 7/5/2010 Hometown: Ava, MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Great place to ride & camp.Great shower house, very clean with lots of hot water [don't know what the other people are talking about]Great covered stalls well worth the extra $5.You will not find friendlier hosts.They never charge for guiding but are not always able to go with you.There are more waterfalls here than anywhere we've ridden.be sure & bring your camera
Reviewed by: Ted Spears on 6/13/2010 2:07:28 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 6/12/2010 Hometown: Dogpatch, AR

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Dont know what the 2 last people that posted are talking about there are maps and a nice shower house plenty of camping never heard of paying for a guide Joe rides everyday for free lots of primitve camping or regular campsites covered pens trails are now well marked some terain is rugged over 100 miles of trails one for sure is to twin falls about 25 miles these people dont know what they are talking about
Reviewed by: Mike on 4/12/2010 10:49:53 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 4/11/2010 Hometown: Atkins, AR

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Rude mouthy guest, and even ruder on site farrier. Trails all marked alike and no maps, easy to get lost. There is no restraunt. Bath room has very little hot water 3 min till shower was cold. Trails are very steep and dangerous. No camping spots unless you have an RV or wanna sleep on rocks. Every thing cost more and more money, Guid cost, thats why no maps, Stables cost, thats why no highlines or tie outs. Only for Rudes people with Rvs that like cold showers and dont ride their horses or dont care if their horse breaks a leg. Absolutly awfull. will never go again!
Reviewed by: Stacey on 4/2/2010 7:14:02 AM
Experience: Beginner Ride Date: 3/31/2010 Hometown: Clarksville, AR

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

rude, misleading, disorganized. Trails are all mraked same color, no maps available, so unfamilure riders must pay for a guide or guess their way around the trails. Pavilion where? it dont exist. Restraunt, simpy not there. campsites unless you have a fancy trailer with living quarters expect to pitch a tent on top of gumballs and manure, bring a rake. Theres no fire rings only one picnic table, and showers only have about 2minutes of warm water, and smell like they pump it straight from the creek. Also would advise those with mountain bred horses to avoid the onsite farrier, he despises small, crossbred horses that outperform his Garrison Quarter Horses. Definatly recomend ear plugs if you dont want to hear highsociety wannabes bad mouth the horses and the people that didnt arive in fancy trucks pulling cromeplated motorhomes. If your rich, can aford to pay a guide, and like poking fun of poor folks this is the camp for you. If your a poor boy with a good horse, these trails are on Nat.Forest land, criss cross the public highway, and are availabe to anybody. Bring a compass or a great sence of direction, and expect mountain goat type unmaintained trails. Also the miles are grossly exaggerated, Most 8 mile loops can easily be ridden in 2 hours. On my horse thats about 5 miles rough terrain, and alot of picture taking and goofing off. Ill ride the trails again. Scenory is awsome. Waterfalls everywhere. The Rude people, and lack of primitive camp sites will keep me away from Garrisons Horse camp for a great long while. My recomendations, go 1 mile past horse camp pitch a tent on Nat. Forest land, wash up in the same creek Garrison pumps his water from, and be carefull not to show up the High society horses. Best trails are just off pubic county road, just after low water crossing head west lots of great trails, or just before onelane bridge head north and west. Awsome box canyon. Good trails if you like rugged beauty. Camp not worth the $11 fee.
Reviewed by: James Bowden on 4/2/2010 5:40:36 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 4/1/2010 Hometown: Atkins , AR

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Always a pleasure to be at Falling Water. Joe & Glen Garrison are super owners and hosts. Bath house of cedar is the best any place you can find. Trails are great and challenging, but very muddy this trip because of the rain. Beautiful with many waterfalls. It's the best!!!!!
Reviewed by: jguffey on 10/20/2009 4:10:39 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/12/2009 Hometown: Perryville, AR

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This has for many years been one of the greatest camping and riding experience for my entire family. The scenery is breathtaking the camping is fantastic and the trails can be as challenging or easy for any level of rider. Lots of water, mountains, foliage changes with the seasons. Year round camping and trails. Safe for single women to stay. A very friendly and clean experience.
Reviewed by: Valerie Carleton on 8/20/2009 11:35:22 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 8/1/2009 Hometown: Bentonville, , AR

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

HAD A WONDERFUL TIME AT YOUR CAMP AND LOOKING FORWARD TO COMING BACK. YA'LL WERE VERY GENEROUS IN BRINGING WOOD FOR OUR CAMP FIRES. IT WAS GREAT. THE BATHROOMS WERE NICE AND CLEAN AND SO WARM ON THE COOL NIGHTS. WE WILL SEE YOU IN OCTOBER.
Reviewed by: JIMMIE ANN CARTER on 4/20/2009 7:15:47 PM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 1/1/2004 Hometown: ASHDOWN, AR

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

great place to camp and ride in north arkansas
Reviewed by: wes prestrridge on 4/7/2009 1:52:06 PM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 1/1/2004 Hometown: hector, AR

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I just love this place. The owners are more than accomadating and are wonderful people. The trail are marked fairly well and the sites and waterfalls are simply beautiful. The campground is located right on the creek which makes it really nice and relaxing. With a big swimming hole right down the road with a waterfall at the top.
Reviewed by: Leah P on 2/8/2009 8:05:13 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 1/1/2004 Hometown: Houston, , AR

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Stayed Memorial Day weekend. Beautiful, well-marked trails with waterfalls and rocks. Super nice people. Clean restroom with showers--nice camp. Great ride!!!! Can't wait to go back---it's the best!
Reviewed by: Jan on 9/3/2008 2:42:54 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/24/2008 Hometown: Perryville, AR

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

nicest place and people you'll ever meet
Reviewed by: Mike and Sandra Wallace on 5/11/2008 10:49:39 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/10/2008 Hometown: Atkins, AR