HorseTrailDirectory.com
Trail Riders Helping Trail Riders
Home    Riding Trails    Review Camp    My Reviews    Add/Edit Location    Photo Album     Web Links

Reviews for Hay Creek Ranch, Northern Black Hills  
(click on name for more information)

Nemo, SD

Overall TRAIL RATING with 10 votes:
Overall CAMP RATING with 10 votes:

Enter your Trail and/or Campground Review 

Individual Reviews

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Our family has ridden all over & around Missouri, Hay Creek was our1st horse camp trip over 500 miles and well worth the trip. Dou is great host and his guided rides are wonderful. Doug took us on the Elk creek, Mikes Rock and misty meadow rides, Each ride has beautiful amazing views. We went out on our won each evening and saw many deer and several elk. There are no ticks! And we saw no snakes. Weather is great with low humidity. The federal land can be confusing as there are numerous dirt roads, log roads and trails – all unmarked. If you have ridden much you will be able to find key landmarks and ride out on your own. There are many dirt trails but enough rocks that you will want shoes or easy boots for your horse. We really love Hay Creek
Reviewed by: ta on 7/24/2016 1:24:01 PM
More reviews by ta
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 7/12/2016 Hometown: St. Louis, Mo

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

The owner is very friendly and helpful. However, the only access to this camp is 4.5 miles of one lane gravel road. No horse trails are marked and it is easy to get lost. Camp is adequate, horse corrals can get quite muddy.
Reviewed by: Md on 8/17/2013 9:18:53 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 8/9/2013 Hometown: Southern ky, Ky

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

The country is beautiful and Doug is very friendly but the trail maps are difficult to read and the trails are not marked at all. It's easy to get lost. You need a guide to ride the first time you visit. Doug normally does this but he was busy haying while we were there and we were left to our own devices. Make sure you have someone to guide you if it's your first time here.
Reviewed by: Carrie Quatsoe on 7/31/2013 1:46:31 PM
More reviews by Carrie Quatsoe
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 7/23/2013 Hometown: Green Bay, WI

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

My husband and I have been there 5 yrs in a row & the hospitality never waviers. Owners Doug and Jodi not only show appreciation for your business - by the time you leave - you feel like family. After a long drive in; he's right there with his tractor to clean your trailer out, direct you into your trailer site, help set-up horses, etc. In the morning; he's making rounds ensuring everyone is comfortable. This is not his job, this is his dream - and it shows. And the horse knowledge he has! But he'll never offer advice - you have to ask. If you have never visited - do so! You won't regret it!
Reviewed by: Cheryl Klemmetsen on 7/28/2012 6:21:10 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 9/11/2011 Hometown: Brainerd, MN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

all u read hear is a pure understatment as doug and jody were the perfect hosts on our first ride my dog got lost as my wife just started riding 2 months pryor to our trip to hay creek ranch my dog got lost and i had to go look for him doug and all the people there helped my wife for the hole ride scenery was the best riding was great stayed for the hole week rode every day see u next year
Reviewed by: richard travis on 7/7/2012 11:26:12 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/13/2012 Hometown: new bostyon, MI

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Being from North Carolina, South Dakota was a different kind of ride, which is why I drove 1300+ miles to ride. Hay Creek Ranch was recommended by my Farrier as he and his wife (my Vet) rode there in 2009. Everything they told me was true, the riding was GREAT, our host (Doug and Jody) were most hospitable and the campground was everything they told me. Great place to vacation and ride, also, see Mount Rushmore and visit Custer and Deadwood.
Reviewed by: Peggy Giddens on 10/17/2010 3:39:55 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 8/21/2010 Hometown: Murphy, NC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

My Girl Friends and I stayed for four nights in cabin J and we have not a single complaint, except we which we could have stayed longer. Doug the owner was the best!! He was there when we arrived and brought his tractor over to help clean out our trailer, let me tell you four big AQHA's in a trailer for 13 hrs, it needed a tractor bucket. Doug was always available to lead us out on trails, or help with a training issue. I would recommend this campground to anyone who enjoys riding in the back country. The cabins and shower rooms are very clean. The horse pens were very spacious, water was close w/a hose so we did not have to carry it. We purchased our hay from Doug and our horse loved it, the bales were large and very good quality. We plan to return again next year.
Reviewed by: cchorseingirl on 9/26/2009 2:38:52 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 8/26/2009 Hometown: Center City, MN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

The facility was lovely and spotless with lots of hot water in the showers and a space heater for those cooler mornings. The campsites are lovely and the hospitality is BAR NONE. These folks had a way of making my husband and I feel like family which you don't get in a lot of places.
Reviewed by: Brenda K on 6/24/2009 2:24:57 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/1/2009 Hometown: Saskatoon, OT

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Riding was beautiful in the Black Hills. There was no need for shoes in the National Forest that borders the campground. Doug, the owner of Hay Creek Campground took us out on trails which was wonderful since he knew interesting places to ride. We crossed some creeks and rode up and down the hills. He was very helpful and welcoming at the campground always making sure we had what we needed and he knows horses. He had excellent hay for sale, was willing to make one large corral if our horses wanted to be together and water was close to the corrals for drinking and washing. There is plenty of room at the campground for your trailer.
Reviewed by: wendy kuzma on 8/21/2008 7:31:05 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 7/17/2008 Hometown: lodi, WI

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Excellent, very clean facility. Trails aren't obviously marked, but camp host provides a map.
Reviewed by: Karla on 6/30/2008 5:13:48 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/6/2008 Hometown: Pukwana, SD, Select State

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Reviewed by: Anonymous on 1/3/2008 12:09:26 PM
Experience: Beginner Ride Date: 1/1/2000 Hometown: , IA