HorseTrailDirectory.com
Trail Riders Helping Trail Riders
Home    Riding Trails    Review Camp    My Reviews    Add/Edit Location    Photo Album     Web Links

Reviews for DbarK Horse Camp  
(click on name for more information)

Mammoth Cave, KY

Overall TRAIL RATING with 62 votes:
Overall CAMP RATING with 60 votes:

Enter your Trail and/or Campground Review 

Individual Reviews

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Mammoth Cave Horse Camp was beyond any expectation I could have imagined. The trails were beautiful, the campground was amazing, we loved having stalls for the horses, and the staff was beyond accommodating. We were treated like family from the moment we arrived. My friends and I will most definitely be coming back and would recommend this place to any and all horse lovers.
Reviewed by: rla66006 on 4/25/2016 7:25:37 PM
More reviews by rla66006
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 4/20/2016 Hometown: Loogootee, IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Great facility, safe 10x10 stalls, wash racks, sawdust provided (I save $12 to $18 per stall not needing to bring my bagged shavings), very helpful staff, well planned campsites, good food and quick access to challenging trails. I will definitely be back! This camp is a great value and safe for big rigs and good horses.
Reviewed by: Rsh on 5/25/2015 3:24:37 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/22/2015 Hometown: goshen, oh

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

The campground had all the bells and whistles. Very friendly and accommodating. Trails are marked well. Only thing about the trails is that you have to back track because they are so long. We did a trail on Saturday which was about 23 miles and since we wanted to see everything and not back track it took us about 8 hours of course we are on stock horses too and not gaited horses. Beautiful scenery!!! I would go back in a heart beat.
Reviewed by: Tcrist on 5/7/2015 3:23:55 AM
More reviews by Tcrist
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/1/2015 Hometown: Liberty, IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Exceptional horse camp, stalls and very friendly staff. Look forward to our next visit. The trails were well marked and scenery was beautiful. Thanks to Kevin and crew for the personal attention.
Reviewed by: Aubrey R Henley on 4/15/2015 5:24:48 PM
More reviews by Aubrey R Henley
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 4/11/2015 Hometown: Rineyville, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Campground was very clean, stalls were great, sawdust available, camp sites were spacious and clean with fire ring w/ grill top and very nice picnic tables for each sit. The campground is well set up and easy to get in and out of. I have a pretty big rig and had no problems. Hospitality was top notch. One of the best campgrounds I have been to with or with out my horse. On my list of places to go back to. The riding arena is plenty big with a very good surface to work your horse on. There is a 60' round pen also inside the riding arena. There are also obstacles to work your acquaint your horse with for those doing competitive trail riding. I would have given the trails a 5 star, however First Creek trail was pretty bad and the edge of the trail gave way, one of the horses went down (not mine). This Trail starts out pretty easy but turns into very difficult and hard to maneuver. I would consider this trail expert level for that reason. The rest of the trails were awesome and enjoyable to ride with places to even hitch up your horses and sit a spell for lunch. There even a trash bin for you to throw away your trash. So there is absolutely no reason to see trash on trail. Have to say it was one of the best places I have stayed at and will be back! My hats off to the staff. Your awesome!
Reviewed by: Promenades on 11/1/2014 6:55:12 AM
More reviews by Promenades
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/24/2014 Hometown: Falconer, NY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

i have gone to the d bar k two times now and loved my trips you couldn't find nicer people and there is always someone there if you need any thing and they never bother you they let you do you own thing the trials are very nice and Debbie and Ernest make you feel like you have just came to visit family they are so hospitable they make you feel like old fiends the minute you pull in its a small quite place. first trip there was when the government was shut down and he told us that we ran the risk of being kicked out of the park and he let us ride on the backside of his property where there is the most amazing sand cave you will ever see we didn't even care or miss the park i recommend this place to any one that wants to get away for a nice quite weekend and not deal with up tight people
Reviewed by: jessica on 5/7/2014 12:41:28 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 4/24/2014 Hometown: finchville ky, ky

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Horrible campground.The campground was not level. It appeared to be made out of someones back yard...The electrical outlets would not even accomadate a microwave in one of the trailers and the slide out would not work in another....The free shavings were not covered and soaking wet from the rain. We drove 3 1/2 hours to ride...this was during the government shut down. We called ahead and were old by campground owner that "they had been riding in there all week and it was fine. Come on up...One family in our party was stopped by a park ranger and asked where they were going..they were told if the rode in the park they would receive a ticket and have to appear in court. The ranger also informed him that all campground owners had been advised of this...Once we arrived at the campground we were told once again we could ride...Outright lie!!!! We have made our first and last trip there. Bathrooms were nasty...BEWARE of this campground..we could not get out of there fast enough......
Reviewed by: jayjay on 10/11/2013 9:24:30 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/6/2013 Hometown: Mt Juliet, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Had a great time, Ernst & Debbie made us feel right home.. Very nice stalls and campsite, ready to go again!!!!
Reviewed by: Liz Williams on 9/29/2012 1:12:25 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/27/2012 Hometown: West Frankfort, IL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

D Bar K is one of the best camps that I have been to. I have traveled throughout the US and Debbie and Ernest are great owners. They are always helpful and the "potluck" dinners are great. The only drawback is very little shade, but the tack shop has a nice shady porch to sit on. The trees are growing taller each year.
Reviewed by: Leigh on 9/26/2012 12:24:14 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 8/20/2012 Hometown: Louisa, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

D Bar K is a great place to stay while at Mammoth Cave Horse trails. Ernest and Debbie are the nicest people. Campgrounds are well maintained. Restrooms are private and clean. You never feel like a stranger while you are there. They treat you like family. Trails are great. Well marked and maintained. Range from easy to difficult. I will be back.
Reviewed by: Kelli on 9/25/2012 3:00:45 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/21/2012 Hometown: Lexington, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

The trails from D-Bar-K vary from easy to more difficult. The main Mammoth Cave trail is groomed and a very pleasant ride. Restrooms are clean, stalls are decent (however they are on a slight slope so pick a level area in case of rain.) Water and electric right at the site. There are hydrants near the stalls for cooling down and filling up. Forks, wheelbarrows, and bedding provided. There is no shade in the campground. Wooded private trails run directly out of camp (be sure to get permission) but a bit of road riding is required to reach the Mammoth Cave trails. This is a small, pleasant operation and you're close to your horses. WiFi. Covered picnic area (tables and grills.) Tack store. We were air conditioning big rigs and had no trouble with the electric.
Reviewed by: Jasper on 7/9/2012 4:53:16 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/15/2012 Hometown: Janesville, WI

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We came to Kentucky for a 6 day trail riding vacation. We stayed at D Bar K and had a wonderful time. The trails at Mammoth Cave are wonderful. We bought the Trails Illustrated Map and that was the best and most accurate map. The trails are pretty well marked and maintained. We did get quite a few tick bites while there in September. We stayed in the Bunk House and were quite comfortable. Ernest and Debbie and the other riders we met while there were so friendly and helpful to us. The campground is out in the open with little shade but we enjoyed our time chatting with Ernest on his shady porch!! There are not many places to eat nearby and it is a dry county so BYOB!! We will go back again - but not during tick season!
Reviewed by: Rachel V. on 9/30/2010 7:33:53 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/10/2010 Hometown: Chardon , OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Just returned from our 3rd trip to DbarK. Beautiful well marked trails with plenty of riding. Camp is clean and convenient. Nice facilities.
Reviewed by: Susan on 10/12/2009 11:45:14 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/2/2009 Hometown: Burlington, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Our group is looking forward to a great ride this Labor Day Weekend. Why stay anywhere else when you can stay at D bar K. Debbie and Ernest are great people and very accomodating. They have the perfect set up for horse and rider. Trails are fabulous.
Reviewed by: Allie on 9/1/2009 6:55:59 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/1/2009 Hometown: Fern Creek, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I went to D Bar K for the All Cowgirl Weekend and had a GREAT time! Debbie and Ernest were very friendly and helpful. There is no shade at the campsites and even though I prefer some shade I wasn't there to sit around my trailer, I was there to ride. I did not experience ANY of the negative things people have written on this site about D Bar K. I enjoyed the Cowgirl Weekend so much I went back for the Thanksgiving ride and took my husband and some other trail riding friends with me.
Reviewed by: Jacci on 3/5/2009 8:44:43 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/21/2008 Hometown: , TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Well i'm 12 and the last year we went for 3 days to ride.The people were really polite ans helpful,the trails were pretty easy -some of the trails were a little rough on the older horses-.We weren't big fans of dogs being aloud to run free because they chased our horses. But overall none of the horses/people were hurt.The campgrounds were clean and there was alot of room.And one last thing is everyone saying this place is "haunted" is full of it.
Reviewed by: Halie on 1/27/2009 9:14:22 AM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 1/1/2004 Hometown: , KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We enjoyed staying at D Bar K Campground near Mammoth Cave KY. The owners were nice and we were satisfied with the shower house and stalls as well. The trails were well marked and not difficult. The McCoy Hollow Trail was the prettiest but some might find it a little challenging. We thought it was the best trail. You have to take a long ride to get to it but it was worth it. There was a good little restaurant we ate at just down the road from camp with a great breakfast bar and good fish for dinner.
Reviewed by: Terry & Loretta Wheeler on 12/7/2008 8:18:32 AM
Experience: Beginner Ride Date: 10/24/2008 Hometown: Southern IL, IL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We really enjoyed this campground and the trails. We stayed 6 days and had plenty of riding. This place is very friendly and accomidating. Everyone there had the same feelings, that it is nice to have the owners on the grounds. That is rare. We will definately make this one of our favorites. The trails are well marked and are challenging enough and they also have some that are fairly easy but yet very beautiful.
Reviewed by: Virginia on 10/13/2008 7:31:57 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/1/2008 Hometown: , WV

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I have been here with friends and family, we all agree it is a very nice place to stay and ride. I have come to know Debie and Ernest and they are very likeable people and are always there.
Reviewed by: Danny on 9/14/2008 5:15:45 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/13/2008 Hometown: , KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

My group didn't get to come with us so we came alone and had some beautiful riding, gracious hosts and a clean very effecient run campground. Everything was well thought out here. We will go back soon with our friends. Thanks for a good weekend
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 8/25/2008 9:18:19 AM
Experience: Beginner Ride Date: 8/21/2008 Hometown: , Select State

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I am seroiusly tired of people making up stories that aren't true. I was there this weekend and can't imagine anyone being scared there. This is a very nice campground and someone is trying to hurt these people by making up stories. This is ridiculous
Reviewed by: Barb on 8/21/2008 11:06:24 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 8/9/2008 Hometown: , KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Excellent campground. Stayed during the "All Cowgirl" weekend. We (our group of 6) especially enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere and the campfire singing. Wonderful hot showers (would like to see a couple more). Food was delicious.
Reviewed by: D. Daniels on 8/5/2008 9:35:28 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 6/22/2008 Hometown: Smiths Grove, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

THIS PLACE IS NOT GOOD I MEAN I JUST DONT LIKE IT ........ SO I WOULD SAY THAT KAMP HAS A CURSE ON THE KOZOLES!!!! I GOT SERIOSLEY SCARED!!!!!!!!!!????????????
Reviewed by: ISABELLA KOZOLE on 8/4/2008 9:12:24 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 8/9/2008 Hometown: MICHIGAN, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I came to the cowgirl weekend and had sooooo much fun.Good food, clean campground, private restrooms and showers.Staff always willing to help you if you need it.I really hope Debbie has this several times a year. Great Idea!!
Reviewed by: Michelle on 8/3/2008 9:04:40 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/22/2008 Hometown: , TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This campground sure makes you feel at home. The riding is good the camping is good and I can't imagine wanting anymore than this. My child rode his first trail ride and loved it. Family oriented yet I feel they would make any group feel welcome. We will return.
Reviewed by: Tonya on 7/29/2008 6:55:34 PM
Experience: Beginner Ride Date: 7/25/2008 Hometown: Seymour, IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I came by muself to this campground just to check it out and found it to be a nice campground. Debbie rode with me since I was alone. Sites are pull thru and easy, stalls are great. Better than most. restrooms are clean. This will be one of my favorites and it is close to home Love it!!
Reviewed by: Carly on 7/25/2008 6:56:03 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 7/19/2008 Hometown: Lebanon, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Our visit here was very good. Love their facilities, stalls are 8 x 10 and plenty large. well buildt and are never in the sun. Convenience goes a long way with me. No carrying buckets of water. Plenty of stall forks and wheel barrows. Very well planned out.
Reviewed by: Elaine on 7/20/2008 11:51:20 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 7/15/2008 Hometown: Henderson, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I went to the all cowgirl weekend. This was their first organized ride. They did a great job!! I didn't go hungry and all the food was home cooked.Everything was clean.They worked very hard to make things right, I can't wait until the next one.I'm sure it will get better and better
Reviewed by: Diane on 7/16/2008 3:26:36 PM
More reviews by Diane
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 1/1/2004 Hometown: , TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Thanks so much for a great 4th. As usual you all were great. We are so spoiled we hate to go anywhere else.Trails are great too. I can't imagine anyone wouldn't love this place.
Reviewed by: Teresa on 7/13/2008 6:34:28 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 7/4/2008 Hometown: Brandenburg, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

The worst time every. These people know nothing about camping. Maybe they do, they just keep everything dirty and nasty like using the facilities outdoor. I will never go back!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Reviewed by: Mark and Sarah on 7/2/2008 2:04:39 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/25/2008 Hometown: , IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

My group came here over Memorial Day. This campground is wonderful. The trails are great. We had so much fun. Friendly, clean and well kept.If your at Mammoth Cave, this is the place to be.
Reviewed by: Jacklyn on 5/26/2008 6:23:29 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/23/2008 Hometown: St. Louis, MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I liked the campground. It has hook-ups and picnic tables. It is a new campground, so no shade. Nice barn but stalls a little small. Very nice hosts. The trails were in bad shape due to heavy rains in winter and spring. Muddy, washed out and rocky, with several downed trees. Trails are in dire need of maintenance, but very nice seenery.
Reviewed by: Julie Slack on 5/22/2008 12:06:29 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/4/2008 Hometown: Englewood, , TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

i CAME TO RIDE ON THE 11 OF APRIL-THIS IS THE WORST CAMP I HAVE EVER BEEN TO!!!!!!!
Reviewed by: BETH on 5/21/2008 8:19:40 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 1/1/2004 Hometown: , KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Our group had a great time last weekend at D Bar K. Very clean--very nice owners- Trails are well marked and stalls are very nice- We will go back
Reviewed by: Claudia Q on 5/8/2008 9:37:52 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/2/2008 Hometown: Henryville, IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

My group and I spent several days with Debbie and Ernest. We all agreed they have to be the friendliest camp owners we've ever me. The campground is nice and neat. The trails are wonderful. It's beautiful down here.
Reviewed by: Tammy on 4/28/2008 3:10:10 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 4/23/2008 Hometown: Lafayette, IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I go to this campground everytime I come to Mammoth Cave It is very easy to get into, good facilities. The owners are always there and ready to help if you need it. The riding is always great
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 4/24/2008 5:00:04 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 4/11/2008 Hometown: , Select State

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Campground is nice with pull thru spots, nice hot showers, and nice stalls for the horses. Trails are extensive enough for good riding. Will be going again.
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 4/24/2008 10:35:30 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 4/18/2008 Hometown: , Select State

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I just spent a week with the D BAR K crew. We had a very good time. Trails are great!! Camping was great and we will be back. Restrooms are awesome.Private, clean and with a shower with tons of hot water.Debbie and Ernest are very gracious hosts.
Reviewed by: Cindy on 4/23/2008 6:56:29 AM
More reviews by Cindy
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 4/18/2008 Hometown: Mansfield, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

D BAR K You all are great. We came last year and loved it and this year is no different except you just keep improving everything. It's obvious you want to have a nice place.
Reviewed by: Liz on 4/15/2008 2:06:05 PM
More reviews by Liz
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 4/4/2008 Hometown: Pikeville, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I believe everyone has their opinions. I did not like it here. I will not come back. I had to see it for myself too. I did not pay attention to what others said that it was a dirty place and I am sorry I did not listen!!!!!!!!! To each his own.
Reviewed by: Beth on 4/9/2008 9:32:57 AM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 1/1/2004 Hometown: , OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I've ridden Mammoth Cave for years so the trails just keep getting better and I was very glad to see a new campground in the area. We felt very welcome from the beginning and loved it. It's close to home for me and I'll still get to camp regardless of the price of fuel. If you haven't been there yet, give it a try
Reviewed by: Sissy on 4/1/2008 3:35:05 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 3/24/2008 Hometown: Glasgow, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We had a great weekend Very nice people who own the place Very well kept and the trails were great in spite of all the rain this year. We will be back
Reviewed by: Casey on 3/31/2008 1:23:15 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 3/23/2008 Hometown: Morehead, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I read these reviews before I visited the campground and decided to try for myself.This is a very nice campground better than most. Clean friendly and most accomodating. I am an avid trail rider and ride all over the country. This place is NICE NICE NICE. I will go back. The trails are great too. Well marked and a very beautiful forest. Can't wait to come back in the fall. I wrote this review because I agree with the other person who said she didn't like people who abuse these sites. People rely on them and miss out on some nice places to camp.
Reviewed by: Pat on 3/23/2008 1:03:10 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 3/21/2008 Hometown: Colorado Springs, CO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

If you want to have a good time never ever come to the D bar K Horse CAmp. Go to Mammoth CAve and camp it is really great there.
Reviewed by: T. Hernandez on 2/27/2008 1:59:18 PM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 1/1/2004 Hometown: , KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

WHATS GREAT ABOUT GETTING INFORMATION IS THAT IT PREVENTS PEOPLE WHO LOVE TO RIDE AND HAVE ONLY A SHORT TIME TO SPEND ENJOYING THEIR TIME OUT THE MISTAKE OF GOING TO A PLACE THAT IS NASTY. WHY WASTE TIME WHEN YOU CAN GO TO A GREAT PLACE. THIS IS NOT A DECENT PLACE
Reviewed by: TOM AND DEB on 2/8/2008 2:14:19 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 1/1/2004 Hometown: , KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

It's a shame that folks are abusing the system when it comes to reviewing trails and campgrounds, but that's apparently what is taking place here. I spoke to the owner of D Bar K, and the campground is NOT closing and there is NO litigation in progress. It appears that someone with ill will towards this place (a nearby rival campground perhaps?) has published a bunch of bogus reviews.
Reviewed by: Anita on 2/6/2008 1:01:24 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 2/6/2008 Hometown: , IL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I HAVE JUST HEARD THAT DbarK HORSE CAMP IS CLOSING!!!!! IT SEEMS THE OWNERS ARE BEING SUED AND THEY HAVE NO INSURANCE TO COVER THEM. THIS MEANS MAYBE WITH DIFFERENT OWNERS THIS CAMP COULD BE GREAT. I WILL THEN RETURN BECAUSE IT IS A GOOD PLACE TO RIDE.
Reviewed by: TOM on 1/17/2008 2:43:29 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 1/10/2008 Hometown: , IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Must have been a bad time to visit. The way it look from others it is like that all the time. Heed this Warning!!! I am not the only one.
Reviewed by: Cathy on 12/16/2007 10:02:25 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 11/23/2007 Hometown: Coxes Creek, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

People jump out and scare your horse so that the horse throws you. People are just mean here.
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 12/16/2007 10:00:27 PM
Experience: Beginner Ride Date: 12/16/2007 Hometown: , Select State

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Not Good!!!
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 12/16/2007 9:59:21 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 12/16/2007 Hometown: , Select State

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Nasty place to go!!!!!
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 12/16/2007 9:58:31 PM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 12/16/2007 Hometown: , Select State

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Everyone knows the double J is a much better park. They aleast have shade and dogs do not run around. They go out of their way to make you feel at home. It is so cozy and everyone that camps there is very nice. I love the owners. The DbarK is nasty.
Reviewed by: Donna on 12/16/2007 9:53:47 PM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 12/16/2007 Hometown: Coxes Creek, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I stayed at this camp during ThanksGiving and I am not sure where you were at but this camp is terrible. The breakfast would have been good if the grills and utinsils were clean. The bath room was terrible. The smell!!!! Take it from me DON'T GO HERE!!!
Reviewed by: John on 12/14/2007 3:15:37 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 11/23/2007 Hometown: , IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I visited this camp in the fall, around September. I loved the trails but the horse camp was not clean. It had no shade at all. I don't like dogs around my horse because it spooks the horses. There were dogs running every where eating off tables. I won't go back. The trails were great and Mammoth Cave is a great place to camp.
Reviewed by: Sarah on 12/14/2007 3:09:09 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 9/15/2007 Hometown: , MS

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I camped there over Thanksgiving and was more than happy with everything at this campground.The owners make you feel like they've known you forever. The breakfast was great. I sure didn't have to worry about my horse in the great stalls they have. Clean bathroomsand showers. We won't go anywhere else at Mammoth Cave but D bar K!!
Reviewed by: Nancy on 11/25/2007 4:00:35 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 11/23/2007 Hometown: , IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I've stayed at D Bar K several times this year and not once did I experience anything like what some of the others here have described. The owners of this camp are by far the most accomidating horsecamp folks I've met in a long while. They willingly do whatever it takes to make you feel at home. The breakfast that is served is wonderful. I'd have to say that who ever dealt with "Carol and Mike"???? (whoever that is) and had flies in thier food certainly was not at D Bar K. This camp is close to the trails, they have bunk rooms for those who don't have trailers to stay in, the bathrooms are heated and clean, they have a nice selection of tack for sale, and there is coffee ready every morning when you get up. If you expect more than that then you should probably stay at home.
Reviewed by: Cindy on 11/20/2007 12:59:50 PM
More reviews by Cindy
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 11/17/2007 Hometown: Coxs Creek, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Campground was well kept. Bathrooms were heated and kept clean. Very nice stalls with hay racks and bucket hangers. Owners really made you feel welcome. Free hot coffee and a well prepared breakfast that was very filling and for $4.00 you can't beat it. Certainly a welcome addition to the Mammoth Cave area. Also there is a full service resturant about one mile from camp that has great food for those that want a break from cooking. Ten riders in our group and we all agree this is as nice a camp as you will find.
Reviewed by: Bobby on 11/18/2007 6:34:27 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 11/18/2007 Hometown: Versailles, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I had a terrible weekend at this camp. It was dirty and dogs were running everywhere eating off the tables. I will never come back to this camp. I did find a camp a few miles down the road that looks great. The ride was beautiful not the camp. April
Reviewed by: April on 10/29/2007 2:32:17 PM
More reviews by April
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 10/29/2007 Hometown: , IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Whatch out the breakfact they want you to buy is tainted. It has dead flies in the biscuits and mouse droppings. Steve
Reviewed by: steve on 10/27/2007 11:32:09 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/27/2007 Hometown: Louisville, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

NOT FOR KIDS. CAROL AND MIKE NOT TOO CLEAN EITHER. GREAT RIDE YOU CAN PARK AT THE PARK AND IT WOULD BE BETTER FOR YOUR RIDE THAN THIS CAMP GROUND
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 10/26/2007 7:52:07 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/26/2007 Hometown: , KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Too many drunks and the owners made campers pay for food and enterainment for their opening Donna
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 10/26/2007 7:47:17 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/26/2007 Hometown: , Select State

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Reviewed by: Anonymous on 10/26/2007 7:42:41 AM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 10/26/2007 Hometown: , Select State

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I found D bar K to be a wonderful place to camp and ride. John just must have been there in between cleanings because it was always clean while we were there. As for the owners I couldn't ask for a more welcome time. I think it's great there.
Reviewed by: Cathy on 10/25/2007 1:32:57 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/13/2007 Hometown: Louisville, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

The trails were beautiful but the camp ground was not up to par. Owners would argue in front of the campers and rest rooms were dirty. The bed sheets in the bunk house were dirty. Dogs running loose everywhere and eating off tables.
Reviewed by: JOHN on 10/24/2007 10:56:07 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/24/2007 Hometown: , IN