HorseTrailDirectory.com
Trail Riders Helping Trail Riders

Reviews for Shelton's Big Flat Getaway
(click on name for more information)
Big Flat, AR

Overall TRAIL RATING with 14 votes:
Overall CAMP RATING with 14 votes:

Enter your Trail and/or Campground Review 

Individual Reviews

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We went with friends just to stay over the weekend without horses- this is a top rate camp.we stayed at the duplex cabin and the view was so pretty from this back part of the camp.shawn and his wife are great people! We can't wait to go back.its a ways to town ( MT View) but the peace and quiet are worth the drive,not to mention the super clean and nice cabin!
Reviewed by: Sharmon and Don on 6/12/2017 7:36:39 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/19/2017 Hometown: Harrisburg, AR

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

The camping is average with campsites next to each other. The cabins are comfortable and the new one on top of the hill is fantastic. The horse accommodations are average. Bring shavings or be prepared to buy some as some of the stalls have cement floors. The riding is fun and varied. The trails are not marked so bring a GPS to get around or hire a guide. Some areas are steep and tricky riding. I would return here to explore more of the hundreds of miles of horse trail.
Reviewed by: Carrie Quatsoe on 6/14/2016 3:46:41 PM
More reviews by Carrie Quatsoe
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/15/2016 Hometown: Green Bay, WI

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Lots of beautiful rugged trails! Saw Bubbling Springs, Magic Pine, Bluffs & narrow ledges, Hole in Chimney, Feed Plots, Cave & beautiful HorseShoe Falls! Rode on a very long ridge with bluff on your left and drop off on your right that came out to a ledge above Big Creek River that was a great view & picnic area! Rode with Shelly's knowledge of the trails for 2 days, on my own 2 days and trailered to Leatherwood with Gina & Rita who were fun to ride with! Shawn has a trailer that you can use for free! Electric & water at all campsites. Top campsites have a large gathering campfire site with benches & firewood that overlooks mountains and lower campsite also has a great gathering area around fire pit and 2 really nice barns. Also a nice deck to lounge on in front of the bathroom & laundry building. They have a map but need a few natural land markings on trails to help locate where you are at. A GPS would be helpful here! Would go back. Around 600 miles for us. Shawn checked in on us morning & night and was an excellent Host!!!!
Reviewed by: Linda & Morris Dolph on 11/14/2015 10:45:15 AM
More reviews by Linda %26 Morris Dolph
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/6/2015 Hometown: Waterloo, IA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Shawn Shelton and family are great camp hosts. Trails are easy to rugged with some that you would need to be an expert rider and have a sure footed horse. Beautiful scenery. Horses are stalled in a very nice barn. Facilities are keep very clean. Shawn comes by everyday, morning and night, to check on campers to be sure that nothing is needed. His guide, Shelley, is wonderful! We enjoyed ourselves so much that we are planning to make another visit in November.
Reviewed by: david neal on 5/31/2014 4:38:18 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: Hometown: Henderson, TX

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Had a blast!! Shaun is very accommodating and just the nicest person, really enjoyed meeting him. We stayed in the camp area, the spots are level with hookups and the bath house is very nice...they even have a washer/dryer! Barn has large covered stalls and for $6 you can have shavings in your stall. We had friends stay in the cabin and it's awesome, next time may just haul the horses up and stay in the cabin. The trails are challenging and you will definitely need a guide, but they are absolutely beautiful. Had a great time...definitely will be coming back!
Reviewed by: Holly Barrett on 4/18/2013 2:28:40 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 4/13/2013 Hometown: Little Rock, AR

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

What an awesome campground and beautiful Arkansas Mountain country!! Campground owner, Shawn, is top notch and very helpful! Rode approx. 170 miles in 10 days and still have more trails to ride....can't wait to go back & hit the trails with our new friend Shelley.
Reviewed by: Cindy on 2/1/2013 8:24:15 PM
More reviews by Cindy
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 1/17/2013 Hometown: , MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We've been going here for 10 years. Used both farm house and new cabin. Both are superb. Hosts are top notch! There is now a lovely bathhouse for those staying in their trailer. Trails are amazing, leaves you in awe of the abilities of your horse! Horses should be shod or have 4 boots. If you do all day rides horses will need to be in good shape as there are many very steep trails, and an infinite amount of trails. If you don't use a guide, then you will likely need a GPS or at very least a compass. We stayed for a week this year and left when a rainy front came in. I would move there to ride if my grandkids weren't living so close to me.
Reviewed by: Deb Dietz on 11/17/2011 6:46:53 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 11/9/2011 Hometown: Lena, IL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Very entertaining to read the reviews. Some people doesn't have a clue how to relax and enjoy themselves. I have never seen anyone left behind. If it isn't your cup o' tea. Stay at home on the couch. Don't ruin it for anyone else. I admit, it isn't for sissy's. THe complainers probably need to stay at Camp Robinson all the time.
Reviewed by: Shari Ricketts on 11/4/2010 8:53:02 AM
Experience: Beginner Ride Date: 4/10/2009 Hometown: Western Grobe, Ar, Select State

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Guide rode very fast, left some riders so far behind they couldn't see others in group. Had us turn around on narrow, steep path, dangerous & very inconsiderate. Will not ride with her again. Scenery is beautiful. Campground has no bathrooms except in cabin so unless you have shower & toliet your out of luck. Did have water & electricity at campsite. Nice stalls for horses. We don't plan to go back due to experience on trail.
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 9/21/2009 2:13:33 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 9/19/2009 Hometown: , AR

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This is a very good place to ride from. The only thing is, to have a guide. I prefer Helen Elsner. Shelley Bean is good also.
Reviewed by: Shari on 7/14/2008 10:16:09 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 3/5/2005 Hometown: Western Grove,, AR

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Reviewed by: Anonymous on 5/8/2008 12:10:57 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 1/1/2004 Hometown: , Select State

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This was our first trip to Arkansas. We had friends who had stayed here previously and RAVED about it. Shelton's Big Flat Getaway was so peaceful and the location is perfect for riding in the surrounding area whether you ride out from the camp or if you trailer out to other areas. Shawn and Kim Shelton are wonderful hosts. They live nearby and stop by every day to make sure everything is OK (make sure you didn't get lost and didn't make it back to camp before it's dark) and to make sure you don't need anything. They can recommend a guide or places to eat or sightsee. The all-inclusive cabin is the best one we've ever rented...it even includes a washer and dryer! We've ridden in AZ, MT, WY, KY, IL (including several camps in the Shawnee), WI and IA. There are LQ trailer sites (2 in 2007) w/ electric and water and two covered horse barns (one new in 2007). I cannot say enough about this place.
Reviewed by: J & C Douglas on 8/2/2007 10:48:37 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/14/2007 Hometown: , IL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Peacefull setting. Excellent horse barn and accommodations. Direct access to National Forest and Buffalo National River without trailering. Owner can arrange for competent guide.
Reviewed by: Tom Young on 5/21/2007 6:37:48 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 4/12/2007 Hometown: Magnolia, MS

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

The people at Shelton's Big Flat getaway was great. The cabin was fantastic. Everything you would need and then some, was there. All you need to bring was food. The trails was great. Our guide was Fantastic. (Helen Elsner) I would recommend a quide.
Reviewed by: Shari Ricketts on 2/7/2005 12:20:48 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/22/2004 Hometown: Western Grove, AR