HorseTrailDirectory.com
Trail Riders Helping Trail Riders
Home    Riding Trails    Review Camp    My Reviews    Add/Edit Location    Photo Album     Web Links

Reviews for Brushy Creek Lodge & Resort-Mark Twain National Forest  
(click on name for more information)

Black, MO

Overall TRAIL RATING with 104 votes:
Overall CAMP RATING with 102 votes:

Enter your Trail and/or Campground Review 

Individual Reviews

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

First time to camp and ride at Brushy Creek. Camping area, shower house and stalls were well maintained and all the trails were well marked and open. The staff at Brushy Creek are very helpful and friendly. Diane provided excellent meals. It was a pleasant camping experience and I'm looking forward to returning, this defiantly is a 5 Star camp.
Reviewed by: KS Rider on 10/29/2016 8:09:16 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/22/2016 Hometown: Stilwell, KS

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Love this place! We go at least once, sometimes twice a year. Hospitality is second to none. The facilities are spotless, the cabins, shower house, John Wayne room are immaculate. And the restaurant has real home cooked food. We've never been disappointed. My brother doesn't eat red meat and Dianne always makes sure he has a chicken or fish option. In the heat of summer, taking a dip in Brushy Creek is so refreshing! Thanks for everything you do........Deb
Reviewed by: Lilshetland on 7/2/2016 4:05:03 PM
More reviews by Lilshetland
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 7/18/2015 Hometown: O'Fallon, Mo

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Top run camp. We stayed in a cabin. Super clean and comfortable. Camp hosts extra friendly and helpful. Stalls very nice and close enough to cabins. Trails were challenging at times but doable. Recommend shoes. Trails were some of the best I've ever seen. Well marked. Beautiful scenery. Can't wait to return. We rode 88.55 miles during our stay. Enjoyed every minute. Everything about this camp is top notch.
Reviewed by: anne pregler on 4/23/2016 10:28:14 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 4/17/2016 Hometown: dubuque, ia

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Fantastic customer service; great amenities; miles and miles of trails to roam. Very rocky terrain, lots of hills.
Reviewed by: MrsMosley on 4/7/2016 6:14:13 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 4/5/2016 Hometown: O'Fallon, IL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Attended pack clinic. Steve great, as I am a beginner at learning to pack. A lot of information presented. I was able to bring my own pack saddles to be evaluated. Tying knots was a challenge for me. Everyone very patient. Thanks to George for use of his horses. Food wonderful. Cabin great. A really good experiece! Thanks to all the staff.
Reviewed by: jean wrightfield on 2/13/2016 11:24:28 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 2/5/2016 Hometown: Winona, mo

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Just spent another great weekend at Brushy Creek.Staff are so helpful and cant do enough for you.Camping great,water and elec,covered stalls,free firewood.Trails are marked well and fun to ride!!!Always enjoy our weekends there!!
Reviewed by: Sharon T. on 10/12/2015 11:22:46 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/9/2015 Hometown: Troy, Mo

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Trails very good , rocky in places but that's the ozark mountains.friendly helpful people with the best showers and restrooms I've found.I've camped and ridden all over the Midwest and found brushy creek the best
Reviewed by: Kevin Dixon on 10/13/2014 12:31:52 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/10/2014 Hometown: horine, mo

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We had a small group of people and horses. Rented Cabin and stalls, Exceptional place to go and ride. Cabins were clean and well kept up. Stalls were safe and clean. Definitely looking forward to going back.
Reviewed by: Charlie Brown on 8/24/2014 12:02:21 PM
More reviews by Charlie Brown
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 7/25/2014 Hometown: Fairland, OK

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Fantastic place! Clean bath house and hot showers. The lodge food was great, and the people are friendly. Camp sites are easy to pull in or through. Plenty of free fire wood on site for your campfire. Stalls are excellent and there are shavings near by. Lots of good, well marked trails. Maps are provided, with GPS coordinates. We will definitely go back and recommend. Thanks for the hospitality!!
Reviewed by: Lynn Schwalbert on 5/25/2014 6:54:04 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/17/2014 Hometown: Desoto, MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Had a wonderful time at Brushy Creek, We had the whole place to ourselves, the trails were great and the weather cooperated, had a great ride for two days.
Reviewed by: horse crazy on 1/23/2014 2:06:45 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 1/18/2014 Hometown: Brighton , Il

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Another fantastic trip to brushy creek. I had some problems with my horse and Roger (trail guide and top notch cowboy) made sure I had a horse to ride and took great care of me (and my friends). What a gem!
Reviewed by: Carlenef on 10/4/2013 8:19:41 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/29/2013 Hometown: Moscow Mills, MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Camp hosts are great and the good is awesome!! Recommend to everyone.
Reviewed by: Michelle on 11/22/2012 6:10:46 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 11/22/2012 Hometown: Perryville , MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Stayed @ brushy creek over thanksgiving. The meals were fanatic, and the trail riding was great
Reviewed by: Rob on 11/22/2012 6:07:32 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 11/22/2012 Hometown: Eureka, MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Had the best time with my husband riding the trails. Cabin was so cozy and stall were great. George and Joann and their staff was vey kind and accommodating. Can't wait to return.
Reviewed by: Debora Brindley on 11/11/2012 12:25:55 PM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 11/3/2012 Hometown: Fairview heights, IL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

What a three day vacation. Spotless cabin, food was A++++, helpful information on what trails to take from Roger and Jo Ann. If yo havent been you need to go. When we come back I will probably hire Roger to take us one day on a ride. Trails were very well marked and easy to follow.
Reviewed by: Bill Nipper on 11/9/2012 4:36:55 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 11/9/2012 Hometown: Ewing, IL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Well maintained trails, clearly marked, beautiful scenery. Employees very friendly and willing to help in any way.
Reviewed by: Marian Nipper on 11/9/2012 4:32:08 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 11/9/2012 Hometown: Ewing, IL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We came for two nights to celebrate our anniversary. We stayed in one of the cabins, very nice. We also chose to eat our meals there & were VERY well fed. Homecooked meals catered to our likes. Staff friendly, fun to just chat with. We also chose to rent horses there & were provided two dependable fun to ride mounts. Thanks for the nice memories. Brian & Connie.
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 11/1/2012 11:18:26 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/23/2012 Hometown: , MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Outstanding facility. Top notch hospitality. Roger and Annette could not have been more accommodating. The place is clean, well maintained and comfortable. My friends and I will be back!
Reviewed by: Cmf on 10/29/2012 6:48:54 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/27/2012 Hometown: Moscow Mills, MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We spent the weekend at Brushy. The place and the people are above outstanding. The campground and stalls are very clean. Alot of improvements and upgrades have been done since I was here last. The barns are very well maintained and safe. The trails are marked very well, we were only lost once..our fault not theirs. I would say the trails are difficult to challenging. The scenery is like no other. Until next year.... :)
Reviewed by: GA on 10/28/2012 7:22:43 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/26/2012 Hometown: St. Clair, MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This was my second time horse camping. My friends and I had such a wonderful time at Brushy Creek. I stayed in one of the cabins and they stayed in a tent. The facility is first class and Annette and Brian are truly a delight. They were right there taking care of anything we needed. The trails were well marked and the scenery beautiful. Our meals were excellent with first class homemade desserts and always more than we could eat. I was impressed with how clean and well maintained everything was including the barns and the grounds. I would recommend this campground to anyone interested in horse camping. Most importantly, this was in my price range.
Reviewed by: Robin Mueller on 10/7/2012 2:12:49 PM
Experience: Beginner Ride Date: 10/1/2012 Hometown: Random Lake, WI

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Brushy Creek Campground and facilities are very good here. The staff is very helpful and friendly. The trails are laid out well, but the footing is TERRIBLE for horses. Our horses are shod and we've ridden them all over Central and Eastern KY and TN and in the Appalacians and the Smokey Mountains. But the rocks here are a real problem. The trails are strewn with softball-sized rocks with sharp edges on them. Very difficult terrain. Would recommend padding your horse before attempting these trails.
Reviewed by: L M M on 9/26/2012 10:42:01 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 9/26/2012 Hometown: , KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

First a little “full disclosure”; we were introduced to camping with horses and riding foxtrotters at Brushy Creek. Our riding club, Ozark Ridge Riders, has been coming to Brushy Creek every Memorial Day and Labor Day weekend for at least as long as we have been members (about 9 years). It’s hard to be objective about Brushy Creek; could be called our “second home” on the trail and we consider the owners and the staff our horse-riding family. In recent years we have had the opportunity to visit a lot of horse camps with trails throughout the country from Florida to South Dakota. Brushy Creek continues to be our favorite spot in Missouri and we think most travelers would place it in the top five in the country. Our recent trip on Labor Day Weekend reinforced our grade of “Excellent”. It rained four of our five days but we still had a great time. Because the trails are rocky, drain well and are maintained by Brushy Creek, we were still able to ride between the rain drops a couple of hours each day. Some of our members do not have living quarters trailers but Brushy Creek has some wonderful cabins. The Cabin group had some friends who did not have horses but Brushy Creek has some of the best rental string horses you will find (even for grandchildren). Meals are optional which is helpful for those on a budget or new to camping; but also nice for those tired of cooking. Normally we would sit around the fire and tell lies but with the rain we retreated a few times to their mulit-purpose “John Wayne” room in the lodge for TV, ping pong, sofa sitting, nap taking, potluck dinner and of course horse stories. The facilities for horses and people are clean and safe. The owners, George and JoAnn Becker, and their team, Johnnie, Diane, Susie and Roger are all horse people; always ready to help you become a better rider or maybe find that perfect horse. Both of our horses, Banjo & Dusty, came from their companion business, Valley Springs Foxtrotters in the same beautiful Ozark Mountain valley as Brushy Creek. Whether you are new to horses and camping or a saddle bum who would be just as happy wet and dirty as long as you are riding, we recommend our “second home on the trail”.
Reviewed by: Bob & Cindy Fauser on 9/24/2012 10:03:14 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/2/2012 Hometown: Colona, IL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Had a Great time with a lot of great folks over Memorial Day weekend. The campsite in the lower level are wonderful in the hot weather. Trails were a little brushy but there was someone weed-whacking to clear them up.
Reviewed by: LB on 6/6/2012 4:03:48 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/25/2012 Hometown: Troy, MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

A fantastic camp ground. Plenty of room between sites, very nice stalls, and the trails have had a lot of work spent on them to clean up the storm damage caused three years ago. We will definitely be returning.
Reviewed by: Robert on 5/31/2012 6:08:04 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/25/2012 Hometown: Hallsville, MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I attended the Best Of America By Horseback Grand Tour 2011 and the events were back to back and extremely well organized and so much fun. This is the second time I've been there and both times I was treated like royalty! The staff at Brushy Creek Lodge made sure I had access to photograph all the riders during the 4 days I was there and from everyone that camped and rode that I talked with they all had a GREAT time. Thanks to everyone at Brushy Creek Lodge & Resort for making this hoof-less person feel so much like a part of the actual ride! Looking forward to coming back with or without a horse of my own!
Reviewed by: Dawn on 12/13/2011 6:32:33 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/7/2011 Hometown: Marshfield, MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I cannot say enough positive things about our experience at Brushy Creek Resort.The hosts/managers Jan and Dionisio went above and beyond their job duties to make our group feel welcomed and comfortable.The trails were at times challenging and steep but very well maintained,glad I had easy boots for my horse,they were a necessity on the very rocky trail surfaces.The Campground and lodge facilities are immaculate and cutely decorated giving you that "Western Adventure" feeling.The meals in the lodge were tasty and generously proportioned.A great time was had by all,we will definatly keep Brushy Creek on our list of riding destinations each year !
Reviewed by: Sue Aamot/Hiddenbrook Peruvians on 4/4/2011 7:30:56 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 3/25/2011 Hometown: Cambridge, MN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Had an absolute great time! Thoroughly enjoyed our first visit. The trail ride was amazing! Will leave with many unforgettable memories, but most of all, we leave with new friends, Danicio and Jan, our incredible hosts! We look forward to seeing them again!
Reviewed by: Woody on 3/31/2011 7:18:53 PM
Experience: Beginner Ride Date: 3/27/2011 Hometown: Zimmerman, MN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

we had a very fabulous time even if the weather was not perfect. We can not say enough about the hospitality and freindliness that Danisio and Jan showed us, we will be returning to see them.
Reviewed by: Tammy on 3/31/2011 6:14:25 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 3/25/2011 Hometown: Zimmerman, MN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Our family had a great vacation at Brushy Creek! Although it was early in the season, we had really nice rides through the many trails. Hiking was good as well. The staff were friendly and knowledgeable. The cabin was comfortable and the food was wonderful. Our kids really liked having the ping pong, pool tables, and TV in the evenings. I hope to get back again next year.
Reviewed by: Pat and John Shapley on 3/25/2011 8:38:21 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 3/23/2011 Hometown: Urbana, IL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

really nice camp. well marked trails. you can go forever on the ozark trail. ran into a few nice mountain bike folks.
Reviewed by: walkers on 3/25/2011 8:59:51 AM
More reviews by walkers
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 4/15/2010 Hometown: sunbury, Select State

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

The obstacle course at the camprground was AWESOME and we enjoyed bathing/swimming our horses in the creek that runs along the back side of the campground. The staff is very friendly and accomodating and they permitted us to utilize their facilities in the lodge so our entire group could have "movie night" on the big screen television. The "strong straight winds" caused a HUGE amount of damage to the trails. I realize everyone has their own definition of "good riding" and it's not my intention to "bash" this facility. I appreciate fellow trail riders offering their experiences of places we are considering and think other do too. Luckily we had a great group of riders who were able to roll with the punches and shift gears away from the trail riding experience we were all eagerly anticipating and just focused on the opportunity to expose our horses to the obstacle course and enjoy each others company. Because of this, we had a great time but we plan our trips to ride new and beautiful trails, not ride around the obstacle course so we will not make this 12+ hour trip again. However, one of the couples in our group that we met up to ride with on this trip are from Illinois and they ride here all the time and love it. As I said, it's all in what you like. The first frustration that we experienced was when we realized that the directions we printed from their website is severly "misleading" and added an additional 2 hours to our trip needlessly as we drove around in circles in 93 degree weather. Luckily we were able to flag down a local who was willing to lead us to the campground. He told us that all of the street names in the town had changed the year prior but obviously the campground hadn't updated their directions. We alerted the staff at the restaurant of the error but we haven't confirmed whether the necessary corrections have been made. The "trails" (and I use that term very loosely) were HIGHLY disappointing. The only riding available was in the beating down sun on a "trail" until you get into an area so thick with brush that you couldn't get through. To make matters worse, the bees were out in full force. We found ourselves in some pretty sticky situations on three separate occasions/"trails" that would suddently dead end with no way to get out except back through the area where we just came through and we knew that we had unfortunately stirred up angry hornets. The box stalls are nice but way too small. Three of the eight horses we had with us repeatedly pushed boards loose (and we repeatedly renailed them) with their hips by merely trying to turn around (consequently creating potential leg injuries from the nails that were then exposed inside their stalls). The campground is nice but was infested with flies to the point that we had no option but to eat inside our trailers or go to town and buy mesh screen to wrap around our awnings.
Reviewed by: Kim Blake on 3/18/2011 10:22:22 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 9/1/2010 Hometown: Carrollton, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We've been riding trails in the Missouri and Arkansas Ozark mountains for over 20 years - our recent experience camping at Brushy Creek was among the best camping and trail riding experience we have ever had. Despite the devastation from the May, 2009 wind storm, the trails are open and the Beckers are to be commended for the hard work they have done to create such a pleasant and enjoyable camping and riding experience for their guests after such a devastating storm. We rode every day, 6 to over 20 miles a day. These trails are well marked, easy to ride, and despite the downed trees these are still beautiful rides. Our camp site was spacious, the barns allow for ample space for the horses and are easily accessible. We found the staff to be more than helpful and everyone there, including George and JoAnn Becker, worked hard to make sure every guest was well cared for. We were so impressed by the people, the campground and the trails we now plan to go back every year and add this location to our annual trip to Big Creek for the National Fox Trotter Trail Rides. I can't imagine anyone not having a good experience at Brushy Creek! Thank you all for a wonderful trail riding and camping experience.
Reviewed by: Coy & Sara Bartlett on 10/24/2010 12:25:54 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/22/2010 Hometown: Fayetteville, AR

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I hate to be a contrarian but this place did NOT live up to expectations. We arrived early evening; our stalls were not cleaned out; we had 6 horses and wanted them next to each other; we were told, "just find an empty stall"; anyone who knows horses knows this is not a good idea. The staff was very very accomodating, I must say and the lodge/meals very nice; the campground was "close quarters" and maybe it was the clientel that weekend; I mean, I was told to keep my dog on a leash, which I did at all times, but then others let their roam as well as their goat that they brought; not a fun time fending off a goat/dog fight while trying to muck a stall. the trails we rode were not exceptional at all; rode the ozark trail; lots of fallen/dead trees; nothing scenic at all; maybe we just hit it wrong but I tell you this: the country/rural roads of Missouri are the WORST I have ever seen; not room for error hauling a big rig as they do not have any shoulder whatsoever. sorry to say, I will avoid Missouri on our next trip.
Reviewed by: trailer tom on 10/11/2010 5:14:42 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 9/15/2010 Hometown: Jamestown, VA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

From the moment we arrived, I felt like family. Whatever we needed, was gladly provided. Our cabin was clean and homey, the food excellent and plenty of it. As we flew in, we rode Brushy Creek's horses, I chose a lovely little gelding "Traveler", and he turned out to be a brave, sure footed, and safe horse. Our guide, Nikki, was excellent, and a lot of fun. She made our rides seem just like three girlfriends out for a afternoon adventure. We were there for 5 days and didn't want to leave. We learned a lot about Missouri Foxtrotters, met some wonderful people, and can't wait to go back. Five stars just don't seem to be enough.
Reviewed by: Mona on 9/11/2010 7:16:13 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 8/31/2010 Hometown: Schuyler Falls, NY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We are repeat visitors, just going for the delicious, abundant food is well worth the fees. The staff are most accommadating, make you feel like you are the most important guest there. The whole ranch is clean and well groomed, the cabins comfortable and im-maculate. The barn is easily accessible to the cabins. Can't wait to go back!
Reviewed by: Mary Ann Schultz on 9/7/2010 9:51:12 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/2/2010 Hometown: High Hill, MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Great lodge, great cabin, great people, great horses, great trails, great food, great hospitality, a super great guide, and a great vacation!!!!! I'm planning my next trip!! You've got to go check out this place. They also sell Missouri Fox Trotters....I'm going to get one of these horses from this place!!!!!!
Reviewed by: Kate Downs on 9/6/2010 3:23:02 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/2/2010 Hometown: Morrsionville, NY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We went to Brushy Creek to drop off a horse for a refresher month. She had not been ridden in 18 months. While there, went on 2, 2 hour trail rides on their horses. Have a disability with my right leg and had not ridden since it happened, 18 months ago. Craig picked a perfect horse for me. She stood so patiently while 4 people helped me mount. The rides were awesome - and what can I say about Craig?? Not enough, that's for sure. We were saddened to find out this was his last regular weekend there. The cabin was clean and cosy and the meals were so good!! Can't wait to go back and ride my mare there. The entire staff is wonderful and so very accommodating. I cannot heap enough praise on this facility and its staff!!
Reviewed by: Viviane on 8/10/2010 9:56:57 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 7/30/2010 Hometown: Cleburne, TX

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

It was really hot while we were there so didn't do as much riding as we'd like. What trails we did ride were good and well marked. The cabin was nice and close to where the horses were stalled. Great food. Nice people too........thank you Craig for taking care of our horse who had a loose shoe and re-set it after you were done for the day. We definitely look forward to coming back when the weather is a little cooler.
Reviewed by: Jackie & Willard on 7/1/2010 6:52:53 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/22/2010 Hometown: Peculiar, MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Have ridden extensively throughout Wisconsin, western Illinois, and through the Black Hills of South Dakota; however, my recent trip to Brushy Creek Resort was by far the best overall horse camp experiences I have ever had! From the time we were greeted at lodge door by Craig until we were loading up to go home we were treated as if we were the only campers at the resort. The trails are rocky (to be expected - it's the Ozarks), beautiful, well-marked, and many have water crossing so you may let your equine friend take a drink. The staff is just the best - the owners are so welcoming. Bobbi and Craig are unbelievably friendly and so, so well-versed in all aspects of horsemanship. If you go make sure you take some time and have Dave Mitchell take some photos of you and your horse in this beautiful piece of God's country. So thanks to JoAnn, George, Jess, Suzi, Jodi, Johnny, Bobbi, and especially Cowboy Craig for a most memorable week. Happy Trails - From a 2010 Trail Buster
Reviewed by: Melinda on 6/19/2010 6:22:51 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/14/2010 Hometown: Stevens Point, WI

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

again ....this place is beyond words ....wish i could go back today...does anyone know how to reach tim/amy ...thanks
Reviewed by: tracy on 6/7/2010 5:35:22 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/9/2010 Hometown: louisville, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

WOW...this place is AMAZING! This is my second time visiting Brushy Creek and is a place I miss the moment I leave. The staff is phenomenal...well above and beyond our expectations. Our horse threw a shoe and Craig, the new trail manager, was there within two hours to replace with no charge...we practically had to force our small token of appreciation! We had a new horse with sore muscles and no bute....not a problem, Joanne, the owner, went up to her barn to get us some...all with a smile. We left articles of clothing...no worries....the staff found them and are sending them my way! We are always looking to learn more about horseback riding and the care of our horses...the staff provides all the information we needed...so for anyone who may be a bit intimidated on taking their horses camping for the first time, this is the place for you! Trails are very clearly marked, maps are available, and the staff are happy to help you navigate through. I just cannot say enough about this place...we are headed back in two weeks to try out one of their foxtrotters on the trail....world class facility with the nicest, most accommodating people in the world. LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this place!
Reviewed by: Nicole on 6/2/2010 8:20:21 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/30/2010 Hometown: Wildwood, MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Just returned from a great weekend camping trip and ACTHA CTC and Brushy Creek. The camp ground was immaculate, the trails endless, the staff always available and knowledgeable, and very friendly. Can't wait to take my family on a return visit! Oh, if we could all have a horse playground / challenge course like theirs! A truly great horse / trail ride destination!
Reviewed by: Lorri Rothert on 5/26/2010 8:43:08 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/22/2010 Hometown: Jackson, MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

First timer to Brushy Creek, I was so impressed and had such a wonderful time! There is not a bad word I can say, it was all so wonderful! People are amazing, facility and grounds immaculate, food great! I felt like I was in horsey playland. Thanks BC for a great weekend and I will be back and telling everyone I know to come see you! Thanks Amy for your hospitality, sorry to hear you are leaving, you made us feel right at home!! Let us know where you are going so we can come visit there too!
Reviewed by: Mary Mann on 5/25/2010 8:55:15 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/22/2010 Hometown: Oak Ridge , MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

we had the most incredible riding experience of our life at Brushy Creek. It completely exceeded our expectations !!! Our cabin was homey and immaculate. It overlooked our wonderful stalls. The trails were incredible. Tim was unbelieveable as we took a challenge course lesson and with his guidance had our saddlebreds who are new to the whole trail thing doing all the obstacles. Amy has more attention to detail and making one feel at home than anyone we have ever met. Her meals were incredible . We want to go back tomorrow !!! Best horse vacation ever !!!! The streams were crystal clear and we still dream of riding through them. What a piece of paradise!!!!! Thank you for the wonderful memories.
Reviewed by: tracy on 5/24/2010 9:42:06 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/8/2010 Hometown: louisville, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

My friends and I went to Brushy Creek to the annual spring trail ride, George and Joann showed us around the campground and the amazing challenge course they have their! We were absolutely impressed!!! The trails were awesome too! Great time, great folks - We will definitely be back SOON!!!
Reviewed by: Sandy on 5/18/2010 2:01:45 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 4/17/2010 Hometown: , MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This was our second year to visit and yet again I couldn't say enough wonderful things about BC. Trails are awesome and very well marked. Camp is very clean and neat. We however were very saddened by the news that Tim and Amy are leaving. I can't imagine those shoes to fill. To bad Joann and George have not realized what a huge loss they will have by letting them go. We travel all over the Midwest and always have looked forward to visiting BC for the great folks....Tim and Amy. Tim's knowledge of horses and training/teaching abilities is certainly one of the best around. Good Luck and best wishes to both of you. (also Bob!) You will be missed. Please keep us posted on where you will be.
Reviewed by: Jesie Jeserich on 5/13/2010 8:32:24 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 4/23/2010 Hometown: DeSoto, KS

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Just spent another week with the team of Brushy Creek,what a wonderful time. The campground and shower room were clean and kept up. The trails are great and our host Tim and Amy as always went above what is expected from a host, Bob we missed not seeing you this go round and are saddened that Amy and Tim will not be there any more, I hope the new manager is able to fill their foot steps, reguardless it just won't be the same. George and Joann, like most people, i don't think you know what you have until its gone, but i think this is one time you should of looked deeper, iam sure the talents of Tim, Amy and Bob will be appreciated where they are going. Good luck you three, and thank you for seeing that we always had a good time while at Brushy Creek.
Reviewed by: Mary on 5/10/2010 9:12:06 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/9/2010 Hometown: Panama, IL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Another trip to Brushy and it was wonderful!!! Several times I needed help and Tim/Bob came over and helped me fix the problem.....What a great group of Folks. Amy is the best too!!! Everything is always so clean and the trails are looking good.....Definitely my favorite place to ride.........
Reviewed by: Lori Burroughs on 4/19/2010 5:13:25 AM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 4/1/2010 Hometown: Troy, MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Although the Mark Twain National Forest was hit hard with straight line winds in 2009, the people at Brushy Creek did a fabulous job cleaning up the trails. Most of the trails are single track, sandy with some rock. The horses get a great workout up and down the hills, but there are a few other trails on some old logging roads that are wide and flat. The facilities at Brushy Creek are awesome...people SO friendly and willing to help, the food is great and a ton of it for those who opt for the meal plan. The stalls are nice and they provide everything you need except for buckets. Amy and Tim could not be more accommodating...we stayed in one of the cabins and they were clean, comfortable and came with all your linens. Loved it so much we booked are next stay over Memorial Day weekend! Almost forgot...it rained most of the week and the trails do not get muddy because of the sand...we were pleasantly surprised.
Reviewed by: Nicole on 3/16/2010 12:55:53 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 3/14/2010 Hometown: Wildwood, MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We have rode many places in Missouri, Kansas, Arkansas and Colorado. This is by far one of our favorite places. Great trails, camping facilities and amenities. Our favorite folks were Tim and Amy! They treat everyone as if you were one of their closet friends and focused solely on pleasing:-) Joan and George, the owners, should count their blessing for having them there!
Reviewed by: Jessie Jeserich on 12/10/2009 8:26:50 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/24/2009 Hometown: Olathe, KS

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We rode here in may right after THE BIG STORM and returned for another week in sept. and one in oct. I would like to give a big thanks to the BACKCOUNTY HOSEMEN/WOMEN that helped clear the trails from all the storm damage! KUDOS TO YOU ALL!!! It is just amazing how much destruction can occur from one punch of mother nature. On a positive note dead fall is gone, new growth is rising and there are many more obortunities for NATURAL TRAIL OBSTACLES!!! As we have found in years past:the facilities clean,the food is great and the STAFF IS EXCEPTIONAL. My only negative is that i wish it were more affordable so we could go more OFTEN!! The gaited clinic by Johnny and his wife was very helpfull to us also.
Reviewed by: toni on 11/14/2009 4:24:33 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/10/2009 Hometown: eolia, MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Why haven't I ridden here before?? I have been in Shawnee,Big South Fork, all over the Midwest, the Nebraska sandhills and Wyoming. This ranks as my favorite new place. The facilities were clean and very well maintained. Amy, Tim & Bob went out of their ways to make our stay comfortable. The trails were excellent and amazing especially considering the storms in May 2009. The staff of Brushy Creek deserves a great deal of praise for literally rescuing miles and miles of horse trails. I am going back!
Reviewed by: Linda Rudolphi on 11/12/2009 7:26:29 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 11/4/2009 Hometown: Wendelin, IL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Although I am experience rider, this was the first time my horse and I rode through streams and up and down hills with switchbacks. I had an AMAZING week with friends who were great trail guides and navigators. We learned a TON. Bob, Tim and Amy made our stay perfect. They took great care of us, were very attentive and made sure all of our questions were answered. The cabin was clean, the cabin barn for my horse convenient (although the stall was a tight fit for him) and Amy's home cooking was really good. The forest devastation and flood damage made a couple of trails more tricky that most times, but we managed no problem, the maps and trail markers were good. Bob was our guide on our last day and he is a hoot! I can't wait to come back, thank you for everything.
Reviewed by: Holly Kemmis on 11/12/2009 10:34:33 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 11/3/2009 Hometown: Plymouth, WI

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Even with all the devastation Brushy endured this year, it's still a fantastic place to go..I've said this before and will keep on saying it...Amy, Tim and Bob are the friendliest and most accomodating folks around. The place is always spot on clean and great camping sites. There are plenty of trails to ride. If you have never visited Brushy Creek and you are a trail rider, you are definitely missing out.....If you have, you know what I'm talking about and I'm sure you have or will be back....This place is a top knotch horse camping resort....
Reviewed by: Lori Burroughs on 11/10/2009 4:46:14 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 11/6/2009 Hometown: Troy, MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I have been to Brushy several times and every time I like it more. I really enjoy Tim, Amy, and Bob and alway feel like I am family. Can't say enought but you have to go and participate in one of Bob and Tim's clinic. AWESOME!!!! My sister and I will continue to go back to Brushy Creek every year as long as the same ole gang is running it! See you in 2010 and we can't wait!!! Chris McQueen and Barb Schuette from Fl.
Reviewed by: Chris McQueen on 11/8/2009 3:26:41 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 11/6/2009 Hometown: Washington, MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Two friends and I stayed two nights and LOVED it...too many trails to do in a two day period, and we didn't get to the hot tub nor the equine obstacle course!!!! We are going back!!! For all that is offered the prices are great... Thank you Amy and Tim
Reviewed by: Kelly G on 10/19/2009 8:44:26 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/17/2009 Hometown: Taneyville, MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

What a great place! This was our second visit, and it was better than the first. The staff is outstanding. We felt like we were among old friends the minute we walked in the office door. The trails are well marked and the trail map has GPS coordinates that make it impossible to get lost. We have added this place to our "Favorite Places" list.
Reviewed by: Dennis on 10/9/2009 3:45:28 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/1/2009 Hometown: Fordland, MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Our group, 3 men and 2 boys (11 & 12 years old) went to Brushy Creek for the weekend and did the overnight trail ride. We were greeted by Tim & Amy and immediately felt very welcome. Stayed in the tipi the first night, very cool. The boys had a great time playing billiards in the recreational room, and we sure appreciated the lack of video games that eat quarters like horses eat hay. Woke up to a great country breakfast and Amy's cheerful personality which comes with standard her great table service. Went riding the next 2 days and camped overnight at their back-country camp. While we've been on horses before (mostly 1 and 2 hour trailrides), we aren't considered intermediate riders so we could still use some coaching. Our wrangler Bob did a great job in helping us out in that regard, I now consider myself intermediate level. He took great care of us all along the trail and in camp, he's got camp cooking down to a science. Bob was also great company while we were sitting around the fire, we now consider him our friend. When we got back to the ranch Amy immediately prepared our lunch and we felt free to lounge ther all day instead of being rushed to check out and settle the bill. Also, it was nice to have a hot shower in a very clean bathroom. We normally do an annual trip to go trail riding. We were so thoroughly impressed with the service, cleanliness, and value that Brushy Creek gave us that we're coming back, and much more than once a year. I sure hope they don't change anything and keep the same folks running the place.
Reviewed by: Chris on 9/14/2009 10:15:45 AM
Experience: Beginner Ride Date: 9/10/2009 Hometown: St. Louis, MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

05/25/09 BC is by far the best camp ground we have been to. The trails are well marked, and clean. The storm did leave a mess, but to see how the staff worked to open trails was great,(other places just tell you trails are closed d/t storm, to bad they didn't tell us before we got there)the stalls,food, are great, we have reservations for Oct. but will be back before then. I still plan to reschedule a clinic for my daughter and I, Thanks so much Amy and Tim and see ya soon.
Reviewed by: Art, Mary,Kristin and Christopher on 7/24/2009 3:19:03 AM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 1/1/2004 Hometown: Walshville, IL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We were at Brushy Creek for over a week and had a great time. They went above and beyond to help us. Can't say enough about the staff. The food was GREAT! The riding was Great!! Can't wait to go back!
Reviewed by: Carol on 7/17/2009 1:06:23 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 7/3/2009 Hometown: Grand Haven, MI

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

The trails are nice and well marked. The camp has a great map that they give you. The camp staff will help you mark out a ride. I can't say enough about the staff!! They made us feel like Kings and Queens. I have never ever been to a place were the staff was as nice and helpful as at Brushy Creek!!
Reviewed by: Deb on 7/17/2009 6:14:24 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 7/3/2009 Hometown: hudsonville , MI

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This place is WONDERFUL! There was a terrible wind storm 2 months ago and the amount of work they have done on PUBLIC land so that riders can get back on the trails is incredible - and a testiment to how hard they work to make sure your stay is exceptional. Showers / restrooms were very clean. Food was good. Cabins nice. We will be back!! The staff is FABULOUS!!!
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 6/16/2009 8:45:00 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/13/2009 Hometown: , Select State

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Just returned from Brushy Creek. Had a great time. The "big storm" did do some damage to the trails, but clean up efforts have been going strong. Many miles of trails are open and ready to ride! We rode some of the shorter loops around camp (had kids with us), and had a great time. It was amazing to see what damage the wind can do, and even more amazing to see how much chainsawing had been done. As always the campground was great, and the hospitality of Tim, Amy, and Bob...outstanding. Bonus...the weather was excellent.
Reviewed by: P.Chor on 6/10/2009 10:13:08 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/8/2009 Hometown: St. Louis, MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We were unfortunate to be there during very bad wind storms that blew through the area putting out electricity and destroying trails by downed trees. We were very fortunate to have been at Brushy Creek during this because of the treatment we received. The camp management did their best to make us campers safe and secure, warm and fed. Once again, we will return.
Reviewed by: Denise Reynolds on 5/27/2009 10:40:00 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/8/2009 Hometown: Alton, IL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I have camped at Brushy Creek several times in the past and have always had a great time there. The food is great. The camp grounds are clean with mostly level campsites. The stalls are well maintained, safe and comfortable for your horses. The trails are now well marked and beautiful, especially in spring when the dogwood and wildflowers are in bloom. This April I attended my first Clinic at Brushy Creek and throughly enjoyed the experience. Johnnie Miller and his wife are excellent instructors and gave each of us lots of individual attention. It was well worth the price of admission
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 5/8/2009 12:47:04 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 4/24/2009 Hometown: , MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

What can I say that I haven't already said, this is one great place to ride!!! The trails are well marked and the obstacle course is fantastic. Amy, Tim and Bob are the nicest folks around and always go out of their way to make your stay the best it can be. I've been going to Brushy for years and will continue to do so.....Highly recommend.
Reviewed by: Lori Burroughs on 4/29/2009 8:27:37 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 4/24/2009 Hometown: Troy, MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

WOW! What a nice campground! And you cannot find nicer hosts and wrangler. Amy and Tim are terrific. Trails are well marked; you can't get lost. My only tiny complaint would be that there isn't more "destination riding." It's mostly woodland trails, altho they're interesting trails, with a few challenging sections. The ride to Sutton Bluff is long but worth it. Restaurant is clean and friendly, with good food and a very nice salad bar. On Saturday late afternoon they hooked up the half-Percheron team, and because we were begging, took us for a ride around the campground. The obstacle course is outstanding, a great place to spend some time training your horse. All in all, a place we'd return to, and because we're still exploring all our riding options, we don't say that often.
Reviewed by: cherri on 4/27/2009 7:32:24 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 4/22/2009 Hometown: southern, IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Just returned from a three day stay at Brushy Creek. Had a great time! Stayed in a nice clean cabin overlooking the stalls. It's nice to look out and see your horse. The trails are outstanding well marked and now with GPS coordinates it's easy to keep track of your location. Amy, Tim and Bob make you feel like family. Great food and a nice rec room. Can't wait for my next trip.
Reviewed by: Don on 4/10/2009 10:19:06 AM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 1/1/2004 Hometown: St.Louis, MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I have been to Brushy Creek several times over the past three years. It is my favorite place to ride. The trails are great and they are well marked. Their map is the most complete that I have found anywhere in the state. The map now has GPS coordinates for all waypoints on the trails (hard to get lost if you have a GPS). The staff (Tim, Amy & Bob) are extremely helpful and will do most anything to make your trip complete. I plan on going there 5 or 6 times this year. I stay in a cabin and they are very clean. The food is great and they have a large rec room behind the restaurant.
Reviewed by: Vic on 4/6/2009 10:15:25 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 4/3/2009 Hometown: St.. Louis, MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We have ridden at BC for several years now. We have stayed in cabins, tent camped, and camped in our rig. Each and every trip has created memories to last a lifetime. The trails are excellent, the barns and pens for the horses are very good, and the support, encouragement, and attentiveness to detail offered by Tim, Amy, and Bob are outstanding. Our kids love this place also, and never want to leave. The trails cover a lot of terrain, of all different types. Would recommend shoes, at least front. The scenery is beautiful, and the trails are well maintained. Also, if you have a chance, sign up for one of the clinics. Tim is a great teacher, and can present the information in a way that works for you and your horse. Enjoy!
Reviewed by: Paula Chor on 3/31/2009 8:13:09 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 3/28/2009 Hometown: St. Louis, Missouri, MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Wonderful camp, wonderful trails, and wonderful staff!!! I can't wait to go back!
Reviewed by: Sara on 3/13/2009 1:20:54 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 11/9/2008 Hometown: Ashland, MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Very nice campground Trails were a good mix fo very easy to moderate Hada great time the weather was perfect Will go back for sure
Reviewed by: Dave on 2/18/2009 2:00:14 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/15/2008 Hometown: WestPoint, IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

tooo!!! much gravel road You can drive to most senic areas without killing your horse on vary sharp rocks .You will lame a horse in one day ride.Be carefull (shoe all 4 and pad )or just go there and get drunk.Take a rank horse there Mr.brock is scared of his own shadow(so called trainer).I really have never seen him train a horse seriously!!RIDE YOUR HORSE everyday,that is the best training best of riding oh! Amy cooks great bread
Reviewed by: taking knife out of back on 2/2/2009 3:46:17 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 6/10/2006 Hometown: martinsville, IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Really enjoyed our stay here. Our hosts were so accomodating. The campsite was just awesome! We have ridden for years and this is the first time we chose one day to hang around in camp and just kick back. The site was so pretty and shaded, we just couldn't resist the urge to vegetate, plus our mules enjoyed the down time, too. The obstacle course was a hoot! Did well with everything on the course, but those mule eating milk jugs! Got'em everytime! The meals at the resturant were delicious. This campground is second to none. Didn't ride all the trails, but needed shoes on the ones we did. Definitely will go back in "09".
Reviewed by: John & Barb on 1/24/2009 12:59:12 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 9/8/2009 Hometown: Minier, IL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

My husband and I have been going to Brushy Creek since 1996 when we purchased our first horse from adjoining Valley Springs Foxtrotters. We've been to South Dakota, Tennessee, Oklahoma, Nebraska, Kansas, Illinois and many places in Missouri. This is the only place we return to each year. The facilities and camping are unmatched. The personal care that is given by all the staff at Brushy Creek and Valley Springs will never be beat. The expertely maintained and marked trails surpass other trails. Trails for any age or experienced rider. Their lodge and lodging are of superior quality. Food in the restruant is excellent and the camp sites are outstanding. The stalls are large enough for big horses and are well taken care of. Brushy Creek will provide you an outstanding vacation with quality care for you and your horse all in the beatiful Mark Twain National Forest. Organized trail ride or on your own, don't miss this experience.
Reviewed by: The Huffmier's on 1/16/2009 9:20:59 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/2/2008 Hometown: Hoyt, KS

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

5th visit in two years;WE had a fantastic girls weekend! obstacle course was tooo coool!Tim,Amy & Bob were exceptional hosts (as usual).Cabin was very clean, food was great,just cant wait till weather thaws some so we can go back!!!!!!!!!!!
Reviewed by: toni kennedy on 12/28/2008 12:30:07 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/1/2008 Hometown: eolia, MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This was our second stay at Brushy Creek. It is such a wonderful place that we are planning on going back soon. We even purchased a couple of thier well broke Missouri Foxtrotter horses. A great place with great people.
Reviewed by: J & J on 11/11/2008 10:45:22 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 11/4/2008 Hometown: Augusta, KS

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We had a great time and great rides. The trails are marked and cleaned up nicely. We had good meals when we ordered them. Stalls are really nice for the horses and campground is clean. Friends liked the cabins too.
Reviewed by: PW on 11/8/2008 3:18:35 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 9/21/2008 Hometown: Troy, IL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I fell in LOVE with this place! We rode 3 days and I did not see one piece of litter on the trails. Tim, Amy, and Bob go above and beyond to be helpful and they were delightful hosts. Detailed maps are provided and the trails are well-cleared, marked and numbered. Food was really good, cabin was clean and comfortable (especially the instant hot water in the shower!), stalls with sawdust were very good, and the whole atmosphere made me think I was in a remote area in the mountains! Gee, I guess I really was! All the women I was with agreed that we would be back next summer. Brushy Creek is at the top of our list.
Reviewed by: Christy on 11/4/2008 5:13:16 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/17/2008 Hometown: Bethalto, IL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Great riding, food, stalls, facilities! The new obstacle course was a fantastic idea. Brushy is one of those places you can go to again and again and it's consistently an excellent experience.
Reviewed by: Colette on 11/2/2008 10:32:57 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/24/2008 Hometown: St. Charles, MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

HEAVEN ON EARTH!!!!!!!!! Wonderful place, very well maintained trails, clean facilities, exceptional people!! We were sad when our stay was over. Hats off to you Tim, Amy and Bob!! We will definitely be back year after year. Best horse vacation ever!! They say, if you take advantage of the meals, that lunch is on your own. Trust me, you won't have to worry about lunch, because the awesome breakfasts they provide will hold you until dinner. Very, very good food! Do yourself a favor and book a vacation on horseback at brushy creek, you won't be sorry!!
Reviewed by: Sam Roberts on 11/2/2008 10:04:33 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/1/2008 Hometown: Holden, MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

What a lovely place! Can hardly wait to return in 09! Clean cabins, nice stalls, good food and excellently maintained trails. Thumbs up to Tim, Amy and Bob for making our stay a 10+
Reviewed by: Susan Blystone on 10/27/2008 5:08:08 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/22/2008 Hometown: Kingsville, MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

What can I say that I haven't already said....I love this place. It was yet another great weekend at Brushy Creek. Great weather and Amy/Tim/Bob are the best.....I will be coming to Brushy for years to come....Wonderful facility and the folks running it can't be any nicer!!
Reviewed by: Lori Burroughs on 10/27/2008 11:54:55 AM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 1/1/2004 Hometown: Troy, MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We had a wonderful time. Everyone was friendly and helpful to the max. The food was absolutely fresh and delicious. The cabin was clean and comfortable. The grounds and stalls were well kept. The trail maps were accurate with the trail markers.
Reviewed by: Denise J. Reynolds on 10/20/2008 11:07:36 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/18/2004 Hometown: Alton, IL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Brushy Creek is our favorite place to trail ride and camp. We've come at least twice a year for several years with our saddle club and several more times a year this year on our own. It just gets better. We appreciate the nice stalls, the clean bathrooms, and the comfortable lodge as well as the shady level campsites. Tim and Bob keep the trails in great shape and also are very helpful in matching riders with appropriate mounts - for a ride or for purchase. If you get the opportunity, take one of Tim's clinics or go through the challenge course. Good stuff! And Amy is a joy to work with at the lodge.
Reviewed by: Cindy Fauser on 10/6/2008 8:21:49 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/3/2008 Hometown: Eureka, MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

10/02/08 to 10/05/2008: Again, this is the BEST place to go. There a many trails to ride, the scenary is great and the staff is fantastic. Amy, Tim and Bob make sure you have a great time and go out of their way to accomodate your every need. As always, I HIGHLY recommend Brushy. As far as I'm concerned it's the best horse-riding resort in Missouri.....I tried some new places this year but NONE compare to Brushy Creek.....
Reviewed by: Lori Burroughs on 10/6/2008 6:07:18 AM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 1/1/2004 Hometown: Troy, MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

One of the nicest camp grounds and best kept and marked trails we have rode on. Amy and Tim were great hosts. Tim went above and beyond to help us whenever needed and to also show us horses for sale when we requested and to help with horse "problems" when we asked. His skills as a trainer are exceptional. I would highly recommend the campsite and also Tim as a trainer.
Reviewed by: Ann on 9/27/2008 7:19:26 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/19/2008 Hometown: Menasha, WI

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

WONDERFUL! WONDERFUL! We did not want to leave!! Our hosts Tim, Amy & Bob were the greatest and not only do they keep their facilities clean and user friendly they maintain the trails wonderfully and go over and above to insure your stay is enjoyable. The trails were well marked and a real pleasure to ride. Our group even booked a wagon ride and Bob (& girls, Dolly & Pearl) made it interesting, informative and FUN! We will return again and again!!
Reviewed by: Cindy Cook on 9/27/2008 6:48:17 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/22/2008 Hometown: Butler, MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Brushy Creek was very delightful. The staff are outstanding and are very willing to make your vacation very enjoyable. The cabins and camp sites were very clean and nice. Our meals, breakfast and dinner were great. The trails are marked well and are plenty of exciting and beautiful place to explore. We had alot of fun playing on the obstacle course and playing in the creek. The barn for our horses were clean and nice. Our stay was a very enjoyable experience and we would highly recomend Brushy Creek. We are already planning on speading a full week on our next vacation.
Reviewed by: Kathy Scribner on 9/25/2008 6:44:06 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/21/2008 Hometown: Kingsville, MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Reviewed by: Anonymous on 9/21/2008 7:37:41 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 8/28/2008 Hometown: , MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I have been to equestrian campgrounds in Illinois, Kentucky and others in Missouri; Brushy Creek rates at the top in my book. The trails are extremely well-marked, and the excellent map has a number system which makes it easy to tell where you are. The campground and facilities are clean, the campers it attracts are well-mannered (no loud parties until wee hours), and you have a choice of road-riding through the woods or taking the more challenging trails in the woods. They have put together a 15-plus obstacle course that is great fun and extremely good training for any inexperienced horse or rider. Great place!
Reviewed by: Deborah Barnes on 9/15/2008 12:43:36 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/10/2008 Hometown: Tallula, IL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

My Saddle Club the Ozark Ridge Riders have gone here Memorial day weekend and Labor day weekend for several years. My Favorite place in Missouri. The trails are beautiful and well marked. Tim and Amy are the nicest and most accomodating people. Bob and Tim are great trail guides and very entertaining. The facilities are well kept and clean, great barn(water and shavings close by) and showers. The lodge is a great place to sit back and relax or watch tv plus the hot tub is wonderful. I have been here 4 times this year. Carolyn Rush-Surgant, President - Ozark Ridge Riders (ORR)
Reviewed by: Carolyn Rush-Surgant on 9/3/2008 5:47:46 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 8/29/2008 Hometown: Wildwood, MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Our gang rode brushey creek Back in 1999 It was in october about 12th or 15th The resturant was very new, and the place was a neat operation. I got a lot of good photos. All in all i would say it is one of the better places I have ridden. I can't think anything bad about b.c. Lt is A good place to go and i Had a great time there.
Reviewed by: Ron Kieszkowski on 7/22/2008 9:30:10 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 1/1/2004 Hometown: Michigan city , ID

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

A great place to take your horses,lots of trails to ride and great camp sites. I had a good time and will go back again.
Reviewed by: Darrell on 6/29/2008 6:11:56 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/15/2008 Hometown: Villa Ridge, MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We stayed in the cabins. They were very clean; complete with bathroom, refridgerator, and microwave. We also enjoyed our meals at the restaurant; which I would definitely do again. Awesome, home cooked food. Multiple beautiful trails; all well marked. Just a beautiful, hospitable place. Would go again; maybe in cooler weather! All bath houses around the campground were very clean also.
Reviewed by: Mendy on 6/11/2008 9:39:06 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/6/2008 Hometown: Willard , MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This was our first visit, and what an experience! The staff all went out of their way to make our stay excellent! We stayed in a tepee, and really enjoyed it. All of the facilities are top notch, including the bathrooms/showers! We cooked out on our own, but the dining room is beautiful, and our next stay we'll be enjoying the meals being cooked for us. We checked out the cabins, and they are really nice, too! The trails are marked, and easy to follow.
Reviewed by: Tammy on 4/28/2008 8:55:50 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/27/2007 Hometown: Lenzburg, IL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Back again for the 3rd times this year and the only dissapointment was the weather. Instead of enjoying the cool Fall weather in October, it was Summer-like with 90 degree temps. It's still our favoriate place to be on horseback. If you haven't checked this Resort out, I highly recommend that you do so, you are missing so much!!
Reviewed by: Lori Burroughs on 10/8/2007 10:27:42 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/8/2007 Hometown: Troy, MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Host and hostess are very nice people and go out of their way to make visitors feel comfortable. Trails are well maintained, maps are easy to follow, campground is clean and FAMILY FRIENDLY unlike Riversege!!!!!!!
Reviewed by: Toni Kennedy on 8/21/2007 2:22:20 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 8/21/2007 Hometown: Eolia, MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Brushy creek is a great place to go, the staff is wonderful, I will take my family back very soon.
Reviewed by: Susan on 6/27/2007 3:10:41 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/23/2007 Hometown: Stilwell, KS

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Very nice campground very well run. A 3 generation ride and all enjoyed the camp and the trails.
Reviewed by: Bill on 6/26/2007 7:56:31 PM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 6/26/2007 Hometown: Morgantown, IA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Reviewed by: Bill on 6/26/2007 7:49:34 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 6/26/2007 Hometown: Morgantown, IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Again, another 5-star nomination. What can I say, this place it the best....Once you visit, you are hooked and will be back. Amy, Tim and Bob are wonderful folks and will do anything they can to make your trip pleasurable and memorable...It's a place I will continue to visit several + times a year (and I can't say that for every place I've been to)....Highly recommended!!!!
Reviewed by: Lori Burroughs on 6/6/2007 7:06:52 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/18/2007 Hometown: Troy, MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Brushy Creek Resort is a wonderful place for both horse and rider. The staff go out of their way to help you and the facility is so clean....It's my favorite horse get-a-way... It's a place you must visit!!
Reviewed by: Lori Burroughs on 6/6/2007 6:59:42 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 4/1/5399 Hometown: Troy, MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Reviewed by: Anonymous on 1/7/2007 10:56:39 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 1/7/2007 Hometown: , Select State

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Our second trip was not a disappointment. The new caretakers, Tim and Amy are the nicest, most accomadating folks you will want to meet...They are willing to go out of their way to make your stay a memorable one. The trailguide, Bob, really makes the ride enjoyable and is always upbeat and happy. What can I say, we LOVE this place and booked another weekend in the Spring before we left!! The stalls are not only clean but offer easy access to water and shavings!! The lodge itself is AAA clean and again, the food could not be any better!!! You definitely will not go away hungry!! I will say the new trail maps are much easier to follow but would recommend hiring the trailguide for a Great experience!! If you want miles and miles of trails, a clean place to stay and Great Staff and food, Brushy Creek is the place for you....
Reviewed by: Tim and Lori Burroughs on 10/25/2006 7:31:39 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/20/2006 Hometown: Troy, MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Grounds were in great condition, people were great and lots of trails. We (our horses)were not prepared for the rocky trails but everything worked out. Thanks again Tim for renting us some good horses and taking us on a great ride.
Reviewed by: Wayne Jordan on 10/4/2006 7:03:55 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/1/2006 Hometown: Moweaqua, IL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This place is great!! The folks running it are extremely nice and work hard to make your stay enjoyable!! The food at the lodge is great and I would recommend including breakfast and dinner with your stay. The campsites are nice and close to the stalls. The cabins are rooming and clean. There are a lot of trails and the scenary is awesome!! Our first visit was in April and we reserved a weekend in October before we left since we enjoyed our stay so much!!!!
Reviewed by: Lori Burroughs on 9/11/2006 8:43:34 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 4/28/2006 Hometown: Troy, MO