HorseTrailDirectory.com
Trail Riders Helping Trail Riders
Home    Riding Trails    Review Camp    My Reviews    Add/Edit Location    Photo Album     Web Links

Reviews for red hill horse camp  
(click on name for more information)

Mt. Vernon, Ky

Overall TRAIL RATING with 32 votes:
Overall CAMP RATING with 32 votes:

Enter your Trail and/or Campground Review 

Individual Reviews

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Spent the weekend at my home away from home. This is the best set up camp I have ever visited. The barn is located in the middle of the camp with the campsites surrounding the barn. Any where you are camped, you are close to your horse, Most campsites are close enough you can watch your horse from your campfire. Very shady, I don't even roll out my awning. Clean showers electric, water at every site,and sewer dump. The trails are hilly but Gene is improving many of them daily. I will definitely return every chance I get.
Reviewed by: carmiletta steele on 10/31/2016 10:57:40 AM
More reviews by carmiletta steele
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 10/28/2016 Hometown: Sandgap, Ky

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Just returned from Labor Day weekend at Red Hill horse camp. Gene and Roseland are great camp host. They always make you feel welcome and make sure you have everything you need. The stalls were clean and the campsite was in great shape when we arrived. Gene made sure all the trailers in our party were parked and taken care of. We always enjoy going to Red Hill. The trails were in pretty good shape. We did experience a few bees in spots but other then that it was a great weekend. If haven't checked out Red Hill Horse Camp, you should put it on your list. You will not be disappointed.
Reviewed by: masong on 9/7/2016 11:18:25 AM
More reviews by masong
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 9/3/2016 Hometown: Harrodsburg, Ky

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

First trip Red Hill and had a great time. Excellent camp and horse stalls and greatly enjoyed the trails. Only issue was the lack of consistent trail markings, but outside control of the camp. Will definitely return.
Reviewed by: Aubrey R. Henley on 9/6/2016 10:40:58 PM
More reviews by Aubrey R. Henley
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 9/2/2016 Hometown: Rineyville, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Red Hill is an excellent choice for camping! Gene is a gracious & friendly host who's priority is the comfort of his guests. Spacious campground with plenty of access to water and shaded sites. Immaculate bath houses. Stalls are level & roomy with access to plentiful sawdust for bedding. The trails provided challenges & beautiful views, & we were fortunate to get guided rides while we were there. You will enjoy your stay I assure you....we will def be going back!
Reviewed by: Sherri on 10/28/2015 2:47:38 PM
More reviews by Sherri
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/15/2015 Hometown: Winfield, WV

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

My family visits Red Hill several times a year. We have never been disappointed. Great Shady campground with all the amenities and hospitality is always there with Roz and Gene, the owners. It is becoming like going home. love it
Reviewed by: Darlene West on 10/20/2015 2:57:36 PM
More reviews by Darlene West
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/15/2015 Hometown: Williamstown, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Reviewed by: Carmiletta Steele on 7/30/2015 4:50:42 PM
More reviews by Carmiletta Steele
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 7/24/2015 Hometown: Sandgap, Ky

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Large shady camp sites. Clean and warm bath houses. Great trails with fabulous scenery. Owner, Gene a good man takes the time to visit every campsite and knows what his campers are doing. No complaints but a suggestion, I would like to see a cabin with private facilities for rent for those that don't have trailer with living quarters. Love. Red Hill Horse Camp not to mention it's close to home.
Reviewed by: Linda tipton on 11/24/2014 7:07:12 PM
More reviews by Linda tipton
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/26/2014 Hometown: Lancaster, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Traveled to Red Hill for 2 days in October on our way to TN. The camp was easy to find out of Livingston on a pretty, winding road. Fairly close to the interstate. The camp itself was very tidy and shady. The stalls were clean and bedded when we arrived there. Most of the camp sites are in amongst the trees. Gene was so friendly and helpful. He greeted us right away and took my husband through the camp on his cart to find a site. He rode around the camp often to check on everyone. He went over the trail map with me. The bathrooms were clean and tidy. The shower water was hot!! The trails were cleared well and gorgeous through these foothills. The markings were a bit hard to find, mostly on trees and were hidden by leaves etc. We rode out with a group of folks from Michigan and spent 6 hours on the trails and only covered a small portion of the trails. Will have to go back to see the rest and get onto the Sheltowee Trace.
Reviewed by: RachelV on 10/13/2013 1:48:00 PM
More reviews by RachelV
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/5/2013 Hometown: , OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Returned to Red Hill for the first time this year. Gene has improved the trail going out of camp. Rerouting one part and cleaned the rocks off another part. As usual the campground is great with so much shade we don't even put our awning out
Reviewed by: C. Steele on 6/29/2013 1:32:16 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/20/2013 Hometown: Sandgap, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Camped at Red Hill again this week. This is the third time this year, I am so lucky to live close. We were the only campers there as it was Mon. - Wed. but Gene checked on us twice and made sure everything was ok.Great Camp!
Reviewed by: C Steele on 8/22/2012 7:04:35 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 8/21/2012 Hometown: SandGap , KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Reviewed by: carmie on 8/3/2012 9:54:53 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 7/28/2012 Hometown: , KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Just returned from a couple of days at Red Hill. The camp ground couldnt be any better and Gene is building another barn. The trails are beautiful and Gene is making new ones all the time. Gene is a great host and tries to make everyone comfortable and happy. Keep up the great work Gene!
Reviewed by: Carmiletta Steele on 5/12/2012 6:29:37 PM
More reviews by Carmiletta Steele
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/10/2012 Hometown: SandGap , KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We just returned on Sunday from our first trip to Red Hill Horse camp. We had never ridden in the eastern part of KY before so we were unsure of what to expect but overall had a very nice trip. We arrived on a Wed afternoon and were the only ones at the camp grounds but the owner had laid out maps, and had our stalls and camp site ready. The stalls are clean and safe (10x10) with saw dust already in them and a free pile to add to if needed. The sites are level and shaded with water and electric available at each one. The only thing is to make sure you have plenty of hose and cord because the hook ups can be as far as 50’ at some sites. The bathhouse is very nice with two complete bath rooms for each men and women, and each one includes a toilet, sink, shower, and changing bench. The main office is complete with a lounge area and kitchen for serving meals during the organized rides and holiday weekends….. This however was not open during our visit but the owner was nice enough to give us a tour. The trials are marked well enough to not get lost, and the owner came by our camp site and highlighted a couple of routes for us to take. There are plenty of creek and water crossings and once you reach the forest area it is some very pretty ridding. However, I would not recommend this area for a beginner or for a young out of shape colt. Some of the inclines are long and require a little work to get around but nothing extreme. Overall… The campground is very nicely laid out and put together by a horse rider for horses, and the owner is in the process of building another stall barn now. The trails are nice but with only one trial head out of camp you do have to ride about 30 to 40 minutes (depending on your gait) to the forest and you will encounter a few steep inclines but all are passable with a little common sense. I would recommend a visit to Red Hill Horse camp as it was worth our 3.5 hour drive.
Reviewed by: Mike on 4/9/2012 2:07:02 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 4/4/2012 Hometown: Hartford, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Red Hill is one of the nicest horse camps around and you could not ask for a better host than Gene. We had 38 of our Washington County OHC Club attend this ride and everyone was delighted with the camp sites, horse stalls, washing facilities and the food was great. The trails are quite challenging, but the views are breathtaking from atop some of the peaks. The trails might be rocky at times, but you have many opportunities to wade your horse in the creeks, meander through the woods, and even ride to a little pub along one of the trails. We could not have asked for a more accomodating or hospitable host than Gene, what a great guy. I cannot say enough good things about the host or his wonderful camp! This was actually our 2nd year in a row here and we plan to go back again soon!
Reviewed by: Steve & Debbie Johnson on 3/1/2012 10:34:29 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/27/2010 Hometown: Fleming, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Camped at Red Hill 3 times this year. Twice when it was too hot to camp anywhere else. With the shaded campsites and shady trails along the creeks, it was enjoyable. The next time the camp was full, but Gene shifted things around and made room for us. Great hospitality, trails and campsites. I hope the weather lets me go again.
Reviewed by: Carmiletta steele on 11/19/2011 4:55:27 PM
More reviews by Carmiletta steele
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 8/15/2011 Hometown: Sandgap, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Excellent Campground and staff! Our group uses riding horses and team drawn wagons with draft horses. Some of the trails are not accessible to wagons, many are. It is a very good place to ride and visit. People there have been exceptionable including the other camper/riders. Again, the campground and facilities, staff and trails are very nice for our group!
Reviewed by: Greg on 10/10/2011 9:46:26 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 9/18/2011 Hometown: SADIEVILLE, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Best place to camp,ride, or visit. Gene is very nice and helpful. Great campground better trails. Can't wait to get back:)
Reviewed by: Alicia on 9/6/2011 6:05:22 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/28/2011 Hometown: Mannsville, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We are here now and won't be leaving for seven days! So far it's been a bit rainy but the campground, showerhouse and barn are top notch. Nice level shady sites. Even with all the rain over the last couple days the campsites are not sloppy. Having a great time. Come join us. Plenty of room.
Reviewed by: Chris, Aleta, Brett, Val, and the kids on 4/24/2011 2:32:55 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 4/24/2011 Hometown: Lavalette, Wv. , Select State

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Gene's Thanksgiving ride was great! The weather wasn't perfect but everthing else was. Gene and Roz are great hosts. The food was great(all you can eat home cooking} They have a large dining hall to "hang out "in when the weather delays the ride, but as soon as the sun popped out, we grabbed our saddles and took off. Can't say enough about this camp except be sure you try it out in 2011
Reviewed by: C.S on 1/8/2011 7:03:32 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 11/26/2010 Hometown: Sandgap, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

A great place to ride. The campground was roomy, secluded, shaded and convenient to water/elec. A great place to camp. The campground was one of the best. Large, secluded sites in the trees, convenient to elec.& water. Large, safe stalls. Nice owner who was very hospitable. Good trail maps. The trails were a bit rocky but to be expected There was a good variety of trails. The colors were fantastic mid-Oct.
Reviewed by: Judy on 10/29/2010 7:24:18 AM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 10/20/2010 Hometown: , MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

You won't find nicer and more accomodating folks than these. Their hospitality is unmatched.
Reviewed by: Karen on 6/30/2010 5:51:26 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 3/15/2010 Hometown: Louisville, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We spent 5 days at Red Hill. VERY nice camp. Most sites are wooded-- level and big enough for big rigs. Nice stalls and shavings furnished. Sleeping Cabin being worked on now - Loved the trails-- rocky and hilly in spots. Gene treated us wonderfully and we will be back soon- along with our friends
Reviewed by: Claudia Q on 6/14/2010 12:19:02 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/8/2010 Hometown: Henryville, IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Red Hill Horse Camp is wonderful. Gene and his family make you feel right at home. The trails are awesome. We hope to come back soon. Can not say enough nice things about this camp.
Reviewed by: Donna on 5/17/2010 5:08:54 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/14/2010 Hometown: Sunbury, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

THE BEST !!!!!!! EVERYTHING, EVERYBODY. GENE KNOWS WHAT HE IS DOING AND HE IS DOING IT RIGHT. GOING BACK VERY SOON
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 7/20/2009 3:28:32 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 7/4/2009 Hometown: , OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I can't say enough about the camping , the trails, the horse stalls and Gene, what a great guy. It's a wonderful place .I can't waite to go back. I have been to alot of places and Red Hill Horse camp is on the top of the list.
Reviewed by: Tami Orsini on 6/7/2009 9:13:35 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/22/2009 Hometown: Erie, PA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I visited Camp Hill from May 21, 2009 through May 30,2009 with a group of friends from Pennsylvania. We had a fabulous stay. Gene, the camp host and owner, made every effort to make our Red Hill experience enjoyable - and he was very successful in that effort! - We will definately be making plans for a return visit. The campgound is inviting and accomodating. Our horses had nice stalls with plenty of fresh sawdust provided. The trails are beautiful - some are a bit rocky and there are steep hills as well, but not anything a trusted trail horse can't handle. If you're looking for a nice, relaxing horse camping vacation, I would highly recommend Red Hill Horse Camp.
Reviewed by: Beth Chapman on 6/5/2009 9:51:29 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 1/1/2004 Hometown: Cambridge Springs, PA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We just returned from our 10 day trip to Red Hill Horse Camp. We can't say enough about our stay there. We have traveled to many different horse camps and Red Hill is one of the best. The camp is wooded and peaceful and the sites and horse accommodations are amongst the best we've seen! The owner Gene greeted us and tended promptly to all of our needs. He also took the time to lead us on some spectacular trail rides and narrated along the way as well. The forest and the scenery are some of the prettiest we've seen. The trails are challenging but also very safely passable and the trail map is easy to follow. We met lots of nice people and we are already planning our next visit. Well done Gene on creating the perfect camp setting for both horse and rider!! Happy trails, Buddy & Lisa Carr
Reviewed by: Buddy & Lisa Carr on 6/2/2009 1:12:34 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/21/2009 Hometown: Lake City, PA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This is a horse camp set up by someone that knows horses and camping. The campsites are great shady ,and plenty of room. The stalls are clean and safe with a free pile of sawdust. The trails are in the woods ,and are well marked. Lots of hills and beautiful scenery.Gene is a great host.
Reviewed by: C Steele on 1/31/2009 9:55:37 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/20/2008 Hometown: Sandgap, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I can't say enough good things about this camp. Sure the road to the camp may be small and curvy, sure the bath house may be small in some standards. All this was fine with me and gave me no concern for me or my horses.I could have not had a warmer welcome or nicer treatment from Gene. Our campsite was wonderful, the stalls were safe and in good repair. I am not sure how this campground could improve. The trails were beautiful with wooded trails views, rocks formation, breath taking overlooks, you had it all within a short ride from the campground. Some of the trails weren't marked well but anyone with a sense of direction would have no problem. Next time we are planning a longer stay. Thanks Gene.
Reviewed by: Alicia&Stephen on 10/23/2008 11:57:22 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/20/2008 Hometown: Mannsville, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This is a really neat place- rustic but with all of the amentities! Gene was a great host. They are building more showers so there will be more than one for each gender, and they will be nice! They cater to alot of groups and will cook meals for you if you want them to. The stalls were decent and there were some free shavings available. The trails were pretty good-- my only complaint was that for most of the best trails you have to start out the same way every time, but that wasn't a big problem. Some of the trails had a lot of trash along them which was disappointing. People need to heed the "pack it in pack it out" motto!! There were alot of neat places to ride to tho, and it was very scenic. The 4 1/2 mile road to get to the campground is quite narrow, and altho it was fine with our big rig ( 40' LQ trailer) it was a little scary when other drivers came zipping around the corners, and there is no shoulder. Just take it slowly and carefully-- but it's worth the trip!
Reviewed by: Kristi on 8/7/2008 7:23:54 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 6/30/2008 Hometown: , OR

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Can't say enough about this campground and the trail...they were super!!!Gene, the owner is awesome. He made sure we got settled in and got us a map of the trail and even highlighted some that were super for a shorter ride. It was a hot weekend..but campsites were in the shade...and the horses had stalls and were happy in them. Other campers were friendly and even rode with us on sunday to show us the trail. Again...super place...super trail...super owner....We will be back Gene..see you i a few weeks.
Reviewed by: Sharon on 8/13/2007 6:00:10 AM
More reviews by Sharon
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 8/10/2007 Hometown: Erlanger, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

LIKE IT. TRAILS ARE GOOD, WHICH MEANS NARROW, ROCKY AND ROUGH. I HAVEN'T SEEN ANYTHING ROUGH THERE. #13 AND #29 TRAILS ARE THE BEST. "ROUGHEST" AND THEY ARE NOT BAD. I'M USED TO MORE THAN THAT, HERE IN EASTERN KY. RAINBOW ROCK IS NEAT!! AND THE OVERLOOK IS COOL. GENE IS A NICE GUY. FACILITY IS VERY GOOD. REAL NICE STALLS OR PLENTY OF PICKET AREA. NICE SHELTER FOR GROUP MEETINGS AND THE BATHOUSE IS DOABLE. IT WOULD BE NICE IF THERE WAS MORE THAN ONE PER GENDER BUT IT WORKS OUT WITHOUT MUCH WAIT. TAIL MAP IS NOT ON SCALE, BUT TRAILS ARE MAKED WITH #'S. I FOUND IT EASY TO FOLLOW. NOT ALL TRAILS THERE ARE MARKED, BUT FOLLOW THE MARKED ONES YOU'LL HAVE NO PROBLEM. PLANNING ON GOING BACK SOON. I'VE ALREADY MADE TWO TRIPS.
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 6/22/2007 6:53:17 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 3/30/2007 Hometown: EASTERN, KY, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We found the campground very nice and the owner friendly. Sites are level for big rigs and stabling excellent. Long hill approach to campground needs good engine under the hood if you're carring a big load. Trails excellent.
Reviewed by: A & L on 1/7/2007 4:00:37 PM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 1/7/2007 Hometown: Harrodsburg, KY