HorseTrailDirectory.com
Trail Riders Helping Trail Riders
Home    Riding Trails    Review Camp    My Reviews    Add/Edit Location    Photo Album     Web Links

Reviews for Midwest Trail Ride  
(click on name for more information)

Norman , IN

Overall TRAIL RATING with 123 votes:
Overall CAMP RATING with 121 votes:

Enter your Trail and/or Campground Review 

Individual Reviews

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I can't say enough about Midwest!!! We camp with our horses several times a year and this is absolutely our go to. Kim, Jeff and the staff are wonderful. They are always willing to help. So easy to make a reservation on their website. Trails are very well maintained with varying degrees of difficulty. If you enjoy a break from cooking they have great food at the mess hall. Nice stalls for the horses. Cozy, clean cabins if you don't have a trailer with LQ. We have been coming to Midwest for 9 years now and LOVE it!!!
Reviewed by: Erin Durham on 11/24/2016 8:39:07 PM
More reviews by Erin Durham
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 11/6/2016 Hometown: Plainfield, IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Trails are well marked and we have a good trail map. Campground and hosts are super - stalls near sites and airy and clean. Dining hall is a plus for our big group and breakfasts are a very nice touch!
Reviewed by: Marti Caldwell on 11/23/2016 11:06:25 AM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 4/27/2016 Hometown: Milton, IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

one of my favorite places to stay. I travel all over the US and I always find myself pulling in someplace and saying - it's nice but it isn't Midwest.
Reviewed by: eunice51 on 11/23/2016 10:58:15 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/1/2016 Hometown: bunker hill , in

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Great accommodations for horses and riders. Clean bathroom and really nice Tack shop.
Reviewed by: K&KWalkers on 11/23/2016 10:38:10 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 11/4/2016 Hometown: VINCENNES, IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I LOVE Midwest Trail Rides! Their facility is the best anywhere near me & I love to go here when staying more than 1 day. Their overnight facility is the best with stalls for horses, water & electric hookup, bathhouse with showers & food available. I only wish they had internet available, even if just in the mess hall. Everything is 5 star!
Reviewed by: Lori Cucuz on 11/23/2016 9:07:22 AM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 9/24/2016 Hometown: Greenwood, IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Midwest Trail Ride has the best accomdations for a large group to go for a weekend campout even if you don't have a LQ Trailer there are cabins to rent. Stalls are great and well maintained. Couldn't ask for better Staff to welcome you. Jeff and Kim, the owners are great hosts, and Lisa is great on helping with the reservations and she is another great host, if you have any questions they are right there to help. They have a wonderful Tack shop anything you would need for your horse or camping equipment. Trails on Midwest Property are well maintained by Jeff and his Crew. You know it is very upsetting to me to see Trail Riders leave the Campground in pouring down rain and hit the trails, not only destroying the trails, but what damage they could do to their horse. It is one thing to be riding and get caught out in the rain, but to leave on a ride in a pouring down rain, come on people THINK what you are going to do to the Trails and to your horse. It comes down to "NO RESPECT FOR THE TRAIL SYSTEM OR THEIR HORSE". Hoosier Forest trail system is great, it is worth the Bridle Tag Fee to purchase a tag to Support the Trails we get to ride, such a small fee to pay to ride these wonderful trails. Well folks this will be the first place I go in the spring, coming off a ankle replacement this past year I will be ready to ride for sure and there is no better to start enjoying my Horse better than Midwest Trail Ride to see Jeff, Kim and Lisa for a wonderful weekend of camping with my horse. Happy Thanksgiving and Merry Christmas Jeff, Kim, and Lisa, also Happy New Year... See you in the Spring!!!!!!!!
Reviewed by: Jim Mayer on 11/23/2016 8:50:00 AM
More reviews by Jim Mayer
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 4/29/2016 Hometown: Butler, Ky

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We love the whole experience of equestrian trail riding at Midwest, from the super friendly owners and staff, the large, easy to park camping sites, convenience of the barns, very clean showers, well stocked camp store with all the needs for you and your horse, we just love it all. Trails are not difficult, they are usually nice and wide, riding through the national forest, you are always in the shade, and they well marked so no need to worry about getting lost. We really love how you just back your trailer right up by the barn, and your horses are right behind you, so close to keep an eye on when you are not riding. Great place, we go often.
Reviewed by: Arminh on 11/23/2016 8:05:40 AM
More reviews by Arminh
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 11/23/2016 Hometown: Gifford, IL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I have been going to this camp at least once for the last 9 years. This year I made it 3 times. We love it up there!!!! You do have to be careful once you cross into the Hoosier National Forest, as it isn't very well marked, but other than that it's an absolutely great place for everyone in the family!!!!!
Reviewed by: Jen Moore on 11/23/2016 8:00:20 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/21/2016 Hometown: Bethlehem, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

From the reservations with Elaine to my checkout time was excellent. Sites are large for parking, showers clean,meals wonderful, trails well maintained and marked, staff out of this world. Very helpful when i needed help. Stalls could use some additional leveling and lime, but that's all. I love the hand held gps the added to my phone so I can't get lost. I will be back several times a year to MTR an I live 5 hrs away in Shawnee National Forrest. ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️
Reviewed by: Jeanie on 11/23/2016 7:46:00 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/1/2016 Hometown: Elizabethtown, Il

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Everything was great & we've been there about 6 or 8 times. Never a problem. Good Church service on Sunday also.
Reviewed by: John Little on 11/23/2016 7:38:53 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 8/10/2016 Hometown: Greentown, IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Halloween weekend at Midwest is full of fun and activities. There is a Halloween costume contest with and without your horse, a haunted trail, music and more. Looking forward to next year.
Reviewed by: Suzie Davidson on 11/23/2016 6:52:27 AM
More reviews by Suzie Davidson
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/26/2016 Hometown: Lebanon, IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Reviewed by: mcombs534 on 11/23/2016 6:32:39 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/23/2016 Hometown: Salem, IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We had an amazing time staying at Midwest Trail Ride. The facility is well-maintained. Having the stalls right next to the campsite is a huge plus. Clean, hot showers. Well-stocked tack shop and very friendly staff. We will definitely be back!
Reviewed by: atrousda on 10/10/2016 2:36:57 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/8/2016 Hometown: Mokena, IL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Well maintained equestrian campground. Whether you are on an organized ride or open camping on your own, there is no shortage of trails. The Outpost store offers most anything you might need for yourself or your horse. A mecca for trail riders.
Reviewed by: Vaquera Ranchwear on 7/20/2016 5:02:56 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/21/2016 Hometown: Indpls, IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Jeff and Kim and staff do an awsome job making sure your stay is a great one. Nice to have a stall right behind your campsite. Campground restroom and showers are alway very clean.
Reviewed by: Doug VanVliet on 7/18/2016 9:27:31 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/3/2016 Hometown: Brookville, IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Love going to this campground. I have been there so many times, it's like going home. Very clean, well-kept campground and buildings. Jeff and Kim do a great job making everyone feel welcome. Love shopping at the MTR Outpost. Great trails to ride. Looking forward to Labor Day weekend.
Reviewed by: Suzie Davidson on 7/18/2016 3:54:26 PM
More reviews by Suzie Davidson
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/28/2016 Hometown: Lebanon, IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I can only give a review of their reservation system as we never made it to the facility and may never will go at this point. We tried to use their website reservation system and it was not acting right. I quickly followed up with a phone call in which no one answered the phone. I left a very detailed message on having trouble with the website and what site I wanted and what dates. I got a voicemail later that night stating they were very busy and they apologized and will try to get my reservation. I called back and no one answered. I called two mornings later finding out they rented the site I chose to someone else and they knew nothing of my voicemail and the person that took it wont be back for another two days. Just basically got a shrug off. So my advise. If you see a site you want, don't stop calling, don't let them "wait" to get back with you. Bug the heck out of them or your chosen site will be given up even though you are playing phone tag. It doesn't matter to them.
Reviewed by: veda962 on 6/26/2016 9:46:10 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 6/24/2016 Hometown: ,

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Truly one of the best places I have ever camped and ridden at, with highly maintained facilities and well marked and groomed trails. There is something for everyone, from beginners like me to the more advance riders✽ plus you can really tell that the owners care ❤️ I will most definitely be back P.S the showers here are wonderful
Reviewed by: LoriHughes on 5/18/2016 10:01:15 AM
Experience: Beginner Ride Date: 5/13/2016 Hometown: Oak Harbor , OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I am rather new to camping with my horse but with that being said. MTR provided such an awesome property and customer experience, it was stress-free and so enjoyable for me and my horse. To start off I accidentally made my reservation on the incorrect weekend and as soon as I realized my error called them and it was changed without any trouble. I found my campsite easy to access, clean, as well as the horse stall. The restrooms, shower stalls and mess hall were very well maintained. Of course, shopping is always fun and the Outpost has some nice items for the human and the horse. I had a great weekend staying here and have already made reservations for a few more weekends this year.
Reviewed by: Laurie Johnston on 5/7/2016 7:35:16 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 4/23/2016 Hometown: Plainfield, IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Midwest Trail Ride, home away from home. This is my favorite place to camp and ride. The campground is clean and well maintained. The covered stalls are right at your campsite so you have easy access to your horse. My horse is safe and comfortable and that means a lot to me. The staff is friendly and very helpful, if there is a problem Jeff or Kim take care of it asap. The trails are clean and well maintained and there is easy access to the Hoosier National Forest.
Reviewed by: Regina Keegan on 5/5/2016 12:01:47 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 4/20/2016 Hometown: Terre Haute, IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

A very well organized facility, clean, good stalls, helpful employees, safe.
Reviewed by: Sally De Long on 5/3/2016 8:47:45 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 4/20/2016 Hometown: paris, IL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This is one of our favorite places to camp with our horses. The facilities are top notch!
Reviewed by: Nina Hylton on 5/3/2016 8:16:35 PM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 4/23/2016 Hometown: Cory, IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Midwest is one of my favorite places to go and ride, and camp. The facility is well kept, the trails are great, and getting there is so easy, and the people are wonderful. I will be going back.
Reviewed by: Rhonda Helming on 5/3/2016 10:13:33 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 4/20/2016 Hometown: Celestine, IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Wonderful place to ride and camp. Owners are caring and helpful. The campground is very well maintained.
Reviewed by: Marilynkahl on 5/2/2016 9:05:52 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 4/20/2016 Hometown: Lucerne, IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Midwest Trail has excellent facilities that include water, electricity and stalls located close by, to be able to keep a close eye on your horse. Just in case you forget to pack any necessary items, they have a great store to go shopping. Since I ride alone quite frequently, Kim and Jeff have always made me feel safe to do so.
Reviewed by: Linda Riley on 5/2/2016 7:51:13 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 4/20/2016 Hometown: Westfield, IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I LOVE Midwest! I like the stalls so close to my site. Having my horse close so I can keep an eye on him is VERY important to me. I have stayed in the cabins and they are always clean and comfortable. Kim and Jeff are GREAT! The mess hall is a nice place to hang out when it rains, the shopping is good, the food is delicious. The showers are newly renovated and are clean and kept stocked with the necessities. The trails are well maintained and if you want to adventure farther away, you and your horse can be taken to other trail heads and dropped off to come back at your own pace. The staff will make suggestions and provide well marked maps, if you ask. Everyone is so willing to help and make your stay an enjoyable adventure.
Reviewed by: Barb Sheehan on 5/2/2016 7:38:46 PM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 4/20/2016 Hometown: Chrisman, IL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Camped at Midwest for 4 days and even its all the rain the trails were in great shape. The campground is always clean and well cared for. Kim and Jeff are very pleasant and easy to work with. My group had a horse that got sick and they went above and beyond to help them. Be camp host you could ask for.
Reviewed by: Rose Terwiske on 5/2/2016 6:31:45 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 4/22/2016 Hometown: Jasper , In

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I LOVE Midwest! I like the stalls so close to my site. Having my horse close so I can keep an eye on him is VERY important to me. I have stayed in the cabins and they are always clean and comfortable. Kim and Jeff are GREAT! The mess hall is a nice place to hang out when it rains, the shopping is good, the food is delicious. The showers are newly renovated and are clean and kept stocked with the necessities. The trails are well maintained and if you want to adventure farther away, you and your horse can be taken to other trail heads and dropped off to come back at your own pace. The staff will make suggestions and provide well marked maps, if you ask. Everyone is so willing to help and make your stay an enjoyable adventure.
Reviewed by: Pancake on 5/2/2016 5:09:20 PM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 4/20/2016 Hometown: Chrisman, IL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

My husband & I enjoy camping & riding at Midwest, the facilities such as bathroom showers have been renovated & has good hot water to enjoy after a day of riding. This time we had rain all day one day of our stay but the next day was beautiful & the trails were in good shape even after all the rain. The mess hall was open & has a good variety to chose from in the morning & all the dinner meals we have had were very good. Kim & Jeff are always there for anything u might need or want & do their best to get it for you. It's a great place to camp with our horses & we go several times a year & always recommend it & oh!, their tack shop is great too!
Reviewed by: Debbie Brown on 5/2/2016 4:54:50 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 4/23/2016 Hometown: Pittsboro, IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Very nice campgrounds. Always clean and well maintained. Excellent shopping at the Outpost. The mess hall serves good food and is a great place to hang out to play games, watch TV or movies on the big screen.
Reviewed by: Suzie Davidson on 5/2/2016 4:15:11 PM
More reviews by Suzie Davidson
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 4/20/2016 Hometown: Lebanon, IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Midwest Trailride is a great place, from the people to the facility on to the trails! One of my favorites! Just got back from Spring Fling, great weekend! Loved the entertainment that was a 10! Like not having to buy the meal package! Thanks for kicking off the trail ride season with a bang!!!
Reviewed by: Pamela Bowen on 4/21/2016 3:40:27 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 4/16/2016 Hometown: West Point, IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I can't say enough about Midwest Trail Ride!!!! Kim and Jeff are truly amazing hosts. Level electric/water sites. Secure stalls right at your campsite. Food in the mess hall is always amazing. Very clean shower house. Great shopping in the store. I have been camping here for 10 years and travel several times a year with my horses. I have yet to find a campground that compares! The trails are incredibly well maintained and always beautiful, no matter what time of the year. Thank you for all of the hard work at keeping Midwest great!!!
Reviewed by: Erin Durham on 2/1/2016 10:01:07 PM
More reviews by Erin Durham
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 10/1/2015 Hometown: Plainfield, IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Love going to Midwest, wish they would quit using any of the large stone, its hard on the horses feet, They have started using creekstone, which is so much better. You get very spoiled going to their.
Reviewed by: Linda Dison on 11/9/2015 1:21:04 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/17/2015 Hometown: Lebanon, IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We have a great time at the Fall 4 Day Fling at Midwest. The food was really great and the riding is terrific for both flat walking and gaited horses. Thanks for a great time!
Reviewed by: Sheri Knapp on 11/8/2015 8:02:24 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/14/2015 Hometown: Cincinnati , OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Love Midwest Trail !!! I've been camping and riding there for many years !!! Love the trails , the entertainment and have met many nice friends over the years !! Kim and Jeff are great people and have always been accomadating. I love to do their event rides or scheduled rides !!! They are always lots of fun !!!
Reviewed by: Kimsalay on 11/1/2015 8:52:49 PM
More reviews by Kimsalay
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 9/6/2015 Hometown: noblesville, i

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Very nice facility with level parking, great shower house and nice stalls. The camp has direct access to the Hoosier National Forest and good access to the Deam Wilderness. The trails are well maintained and beautiful. Many of the trails are good for gaiting.
Reviewed by: Tim Scarbrough on 10/30/2015 7:04:51 PM
More reviews by Tim Scarbrough
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 9/20/2015 Hometown: ,

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

My sisters and I consider Mid West Trails the best vacation place ever. We can enjoy our best friends, the horses, in a safe, clean, fun environment on many levels. We can rent a clean comfy cabin or choose to stay in our trailers. We can bring or own food or eat delicous food prepared in the kitchen of the camp site. We can ride as short a trail or as long a trail as we would like. The activities such as Cowboy Church Retreat and the Derby festivities are like no other. The staff and the guests are kind, caring and so fun!! If you love the outdoors, love your horse and love a good time, you wil not be dissapointed!!! We have been here on many occasions, not just the date listed!!!
Reviewed by: karol Hoehn on 10/28/2015 10:48:46 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/28/2015 Hometown: Corydon, IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Great place to stay and ride. Trail system well marked with easy access to Hickory Ridge trails. Facilities clean, safe, and far exceeded expectations. First time staying overnight with my horse and had no worries or concerns. It was a great experience for the both of us.
Reviewed by: ldm on 10/28/2015 9:56:46 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/23/2015 Hometown: Springfield, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

An excellent campground that is kept clean and well-maintained. Parking a 4-horse trailer with LQ is never a problem. Lots of room on the sites. Love the trails, mess hall and shopping. Always have a good time when going there and look forward to going back often. Jeff and Kim have a very nice horse camp with amenities.
Reviewed by: Suzie Davidson on 10/27/2015 7:25:56 PM
More reviews by Suzie Davidson
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/25/2015 Hometown: Lebanon, IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I've been coming to Midwest for 5 years. I really like the convenience of carpooling horses and then using the cabin for sleeping . The facility is very clean, Kim & Jeff very friendly , whether organized ride on open they are there to help. The stalls are close and safe. The trails in Hoosier Natl' Forest are fabulous. If I had a negative it would be that you have to ride a ways to get to the Forest.
Reviewed by: CWagley on 10/27/2015 1:47:05 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 9/16/2015 Hometown: Edwardsburg, MI

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I have vacationed at MTR for 5 years and counting. Every year we have a great time. Kim and Jeff are great hosts. Clean facility, hot showers, good food, nice tack shop, safe stalls, and great trails and for a decent price. What more can a trail rider ask for?
Reviewed by: Annette on 10/27/2015 12:40:49 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/14/2015 Hometown: Boonville, IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Staff was very helpful planning our rides, accommodations were nice, trails were well maintained. My OTTB has been working on 6 mile local rides and I choose MTR for her first big weekend ride away from home. I like the safety of stalls, the choice of wide or narrow trails, and the well marked maps. She had a very successful 4 days of trails. We will be back again next year. And she is no longer a green trail horse, after days of 17 and 19 miles.
Reviewed by: Maggie Stack on 10/26/2015 11:31:42 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/23/2015 Hometown: Cedarville, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Outstanding facility with owners that truly care.
Reviewed by: Rileykl on 10/26/2015 7:08:03 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 9/26/2015 Hometown: Westfield, In

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I have ridden at Midwest Trail Ride for many years (I think 18 visits over the course of about 20 years) & I love this place! Trails are fun, food is great, stalls for horses hot showers for me are wonderful! And the owners, staff & other campers have been awesome.
Reviewed by: Peg Gormann on 10/26/2015 4:57:30 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/12/2015 Hometown: Berrien Springs, MI

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Great place to camp and ride. Jeff and Kim are very nice and will help make your stay enjoyable. The tack/gift shop always has some unique items that make excellent Christmas gifts. I've been coming to the organized rides for about 8 years and already have 2016 ride reserved. If you go, make sure to ride/trailer out to the other trail heads like Charles Deam Wilderness. Some of these trails are slightly more challenging to ride, but well maintained and definitely worth riding. All the trails are well marked and very pretty.
Reviewed by: Shawneetrailrider on 10/26/2015 2:09:22 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/11/2015 Hometown: Wadesville, IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We love Midwest Trail Ride. We love the fact that your horse's are stalled right behind or trailer or in very close proximity if you choose to rent a cabin. The stalls are spacious and comfortable for the horses. The campsites are easy to get your trailer into and are well kept. There are ample showers and bathroom facilities to accommodate their 180 lots. We have never had to wait in line for a shower. In addition, we have never experienced a cold shower even when they are all being used. The trails are fabulous, well groomed, with beautiful forest all around you. The gift/tack shop is well stocked and a pleasure to browse in. We also appreciated the wifi service. The staff is very friendly even accommodating my need to get an important business email out. We made our reservations for next year before we left. Our vacation cost minus gas to get there and back came to $141/person for a six night stay - this included our food for the week.
Reviewed by: Lisa Allen on 10/26/2015 11:51:57 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/18/2015 Hometown: Fountain City, IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

New life adventure for my husband and I .....Kim and Jeff made our initial plunge into trail ridding and horse ownership a great experience trails are great, cabins are clean and comfortable. Stalls are next to cabins so easy to care for horses. Last year we camped once... this year we were there 4 times... breakfast is great(especially when staying in cabins... nice to have someone else cook)... always found the staff caring and extremely polite...LOVE Cowboy Church... defiantly going back next season!!
Reviewed by: schlegelmilch on 10/26/2015 10:38:59 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/24/2015 Hometown: GALVESTON, IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I had a Stallion stall rented but had to move my horse as he was to Stallion like.
Reviewed by: Steve Myers on 10/26/2015 5:47:44 AM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 9/4/2015 Hometown: springport, IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I have ridden at Midwest for years and years and I also ride all over the US. Every campground I go to I compare to Midwest. Very few measure up. I love the staff, the facilities, the stalls being right next to your site and the trails
Reviewed by: eunice on 10/25/2015 1:20:45 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/1/2015 Hometown: bunker hill, in

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

My 16 year old daughter and I camped with our friends from Timberland Ranch (Sauk Village, IL) and stayed in the cabins which were cozy and very accommodating! We rode the trails over the weekend and found them to be well maintained, well marked, and just the right level of a challenge. The other campers were respectful and very friendly to our group. Every person I met, whether camper or employee of the campground, was kind and helpful. I could barely tear myself away from all of the equine goodies in the store. I got all of my Christmas shopping done for me horse loving friends. The breakfast buffet looked delicious, but we had brought a lot of food with us, so I didn't actually eat there. Coffee was great though! I can't wait to go back again!!!
Reviewed by: Karendahlsmith on 10/25/2015 11:49:54 AM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 9/25/2015 Hometown: Chicago, IL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We love going to Midwest. We have gone there for 10 years and spend several weeks a year there. They have some great activities if you go during their organized rides. Having food available part of the week makes camping easier for me, no cooking, just riding. Try out the creek. Please go and ride there and enjoy the fun.
Reviewed by: Carolyn Hovious on 10/25/2015 8:48:57 AM
More reviews by Carolyn Hovious
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/30/2015 Hometown: Martinsville, IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Wonderful hosts, great facility. A nice trail system accessible without paying HNF fees, but also easy to access HNF trails. A great destination in the hot summer months - electricity and shower facilities! Airy covered stalls, maybe a little small for big horses.
Reviewed by: Marti on 10/25/2015 8:45:27 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 8/1/2015 Hometown: Milton, IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Friendly, clean, great trails, good breakfast, great track store. Wonderful staff.
Reviewed by: Joe Kahl on 10/25/2015 8:03:28 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/20/2015 Hometown: Lucerne, IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We go to Midwest several times a yr. We occasionally go other places as well, but have found Midwest to be the one we like the best. Camp is laid out very well, covered stalls, great trails, friendly helpful staff. Great owners, Kim and Jeff are super, helpful, and make you feel like family. You will find a variety of trails here, easy to moderate, depending on where you go. Trails lead through the Hoosier National forest and Deam Wilderness, so scenery is super. Love the clean bathrooms, tack store, and all the fun events planned on the weekends. Thanks for a great place to go.
Reviewed by: arminh on 10/25/2015 7:58:07 AM
More reviews by arminh
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/1/2015 Hometown: Gifford, IL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Midwest has always been our favorite place to camp and ride. Since Kim and Jeff became owners it has been better each and every year. They always treat us like family. The camp site is always clean and well maintained. The trails are well maintained as well. Our kids grew up riding at Midwest, now our 3rd generation of our family will do the same. This is a very safe environment for our grandkids. Fun shows to do, good food, clean showers and restrooms. I've traveled around the country and Midwest is our pick! Thank you Kim n Jeff for always making our stay at Midwest special.
Reviewed by: Billy Rose on 10/24/2015 9:37:35 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/15/2015 Hometown: Indianapolis , IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Usually camp there about 21 nights a summer. Great sites. Easy access. All the amenities-water, electric, stalls, hay. Just fits our style of camping and riding plus close to home.
Reviewed by: Sharon Tice on 10/24/2015 8:48:41 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/21/2015 Hometown: Princeton, IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Another fabulous week spent on the trail at Midwest Trail Ride. The trails and campground were in great shape. If you haven't visited Midwest Trail Ride you are missing both a wonderful camping experience and awesome trails. Make your reservations for spring now!
Reviewed by: gahleslie on 10/24/2015 7:39:17 PM
More reviews by gahleslie
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/11/2015 Hometown: Peru, IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This probably the best run campground I have ever been in. The place is clean, staff is always working on something, and they are very helpful. The trails are nice but not too challenging for a young horse. Great place to get them comfortable with the sights and sounds of a campground without worrying about poor footing or really complicated trails.
Reviewed by: Tim T. on 10/24/2015 7:19:35 PM
More reviews by Tim T.
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/28/2015 Hometown: La Porte, IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Best in the midwest..We have camped and rode the trails annually since 2006 the staff has always been pleasant and very professional The facilities can't be beat. Stalls, camp sites and store and always clean and well kept and stocked. The riding is superb.
Reviewed by: xpdunit1 on 10/24/2015 7:09:37 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/6/2015 Hometown: Washington Court House , Oh

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We have camped at Midwest for years and love the easy access to trails. The sites are easy to manage any size trailer, with the stalls just feet away to enjoy your horses while you camp. They even deliver firewood to your site! Restrooms are always clean and tidy. And they offer a discount in July and Aug. for camping!!
Reviewed by: haberfaul on 7/28/2015 8:00:37 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/30/2015 Hometown: harrison , oh

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Very nice campground with level campsites. Electricity & water on each site, covered stalls for horses very close to campsite. Nice mess hall, clean showers, & great store for shopping, supplies, tack & clothing with reasonable prices. All personnel extremely nice & helpful. Nice trails into the Hoosier National Forest. A very nice place to camp & plenty of riding. We frequent MTR as often as we can!
Reviewed by: Nancy Meyers on 5/31/2015 4:52:52 AM
More reviews by Nancy Meyers
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/13/2015 Hometown: Clayton, IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

It is peaceful. The trails are taken care of. The stalls are nice. Nice showers and bathrooms. Jeff and Kim are friendly and do what they can to make your stay enjoyable.
Reviewed by: Gina G on 5/29/2015 5:59:39 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/18/2015 Hometown: Bargersville, IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Midwest is the best campground around the area. The Hosts are very nice Jeff and Kim couldn't be any nicer. Lisa Crull is a very nice person also, whenever I call or cancel a reservation they are so helpful in accomodating me anytime. When my Dad came with me a few years ago they treated him like he was part of their family. The Campground is very nice and the trails are awesome. Couldn't ask for a better place to ride and to meet such friendly people. Kim, Jeff and Lisa really make you feel very welcome. Hope to go again this year as soon as I get done with Hay. Happy trails everyone
Reviewed by: Jim Mayer on 5/29/2015 4:43:28 PM
More reviews by Jim Mayer
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/1/2015 Hometown: Butler, Ky

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Very nice and clean campground. Very good stalls for boarding the horses. Shower house was very clean and the food was great, more than you could eat. Kim and Jeff are great hosts/owners and try very hard to make you feel special. Lisa was very helpful and between her and Kim they took extra effort to help my wife fit her horse with new boots. We stayed during an organized ride over Labor Day of last year and during our stay we booked our anniversary with them in February 14th of this year. Jeff and Kim set up a cabin and got the heat on before we arrived and were very accommodating during our stay. In my opinion you could not find a more hospitable place to camp with your horses.
Reviewed by: CowboyWayne7767 on 5/29/2015 4:10:02 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 2/14/2015 Hometown: Goshen, In

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Go alone or with a group an easy place to ride with comfort. Organized rides a lot of fun and entertaining!
Reviewed by: Cheryl Webster on 5/29/2015 3:06:13 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 9/6/2014 Hometown: Blackhawk, in

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We always feel welcome there. Safe fun environment. Lovely host. Always helpful with any issue way have. Love the trails. Covered stalls are great to have and secure. And fully supplied store for tack and apparel! We always have so much fun there! Great food!
Reviewed by: Rhonda Brown on 5/29/2015 1:36:36 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/1/2015 Hometown: Indianapolis , IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I want to brag on this place... My first time there my brakes went out on me going thru the hills and curves, being 3 hours from home i wondered what i was going to do... Jeff assured me he would find someone to fix my brakes while i enjoyed the rest of the time there riding assuring me they would be put on before i needed to leave.. Sure enough.. New brakes were on my truck when it was time to go home.. What other campground owner would have done that for you? This is the friendliest, cleanliness campground around... Jeff and Kim go above and beyond to make your stay the best that you can have... Trails are well marked,horse stalls are awesome, food is great, nice bathroom facilities... Awesome tack store.... À#1 for me wish it was closer for me to go more frequently.
Reviewed by: cowgirls on 5/29/2015 1:36:06 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/11/2014 Hometown: albion, il

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We have rode several horse camps as this is the best. It is great riding, clean, friendly staff, and the owners are very dedicated to your satisfaction. They have a very nice western/tack shop and they also serve a wonderful breakfast at the Rusty Spur, and schedule dinners. Plus they have Cowboy Church on Sunday.
Reviewed by: Marilyn Kahl on 5/29/2015 12:58:27 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/29/2015 Hometown: Lucerne, , IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Midwest Trail Rides is wonderful! Have been going for years. Clean, friendly-- owners Kim and Jeff are the best!! They make you feel like family! Trails are great. You can ride for as many hours as you wish. Well marked and vary in difficulty and scenery.
Reviewed by: Charlene Marsh on 5/29/2015 12:32:44 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/24/2015 Hometown: Gifford, IL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We love going to Midwest. We always enjoy ourselves. The campground is clean, the trails are awesome and we always meet new people. The staff is very friendly. The store has allot of nice things to buy while you are visiting also. We try to make it down there at least a couple times during the riding season.
Reviewed by: Regina Smith on 5/29/2015 11:44:14 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 8/22/2014 Hometown: Dundee, mi

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I have been riding at Midwest Trail Rides for about 9 years. Jeff and Kim bought Midwest about two years ago and have made some changes, all good. The food is excellent and the trails are a lot of fun. There are 100's of miles to ride and Jeff and Kim and there staff are available if you need them. The facilities are very clean and on weekends they have entertainment. I will be going back again. Made a lot of friends from all over the Midwest.
Reviewed by: kay bolinger on 5/29/2015 11:43:36 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/3/2014 Hometown: Elwood, IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This is the perfect place to camp and ride. The campground is clean ,and facility is well maintained. Kim and Jeff, and staff, are so friendly and helpful. Your site is spacious, and stalls are right behind your site. This weekend was a scheduled ride, so meals, a live band, clinicians, and trail obstacle competition were all inclusive. Even private lessons were available at a reasonable cost with Mr. Lane. The trails are well kept, and marked. A great place to camp and ride.
Reviewed by: Onvetta Herrin on 5/29/2015 10:37:15 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/22/2015 Hometown: Coatesville, In

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Midwest is one of my favorite campgrounds. The campground is very clean and well maintained. The staff is friendly. The trails are well marked. Overall, a very easy place to go.
Reviewed by: susanr on 5/29/2015 9:53:28 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 4/23/2015 Hometown: burlington, ky

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

My husband and I went to Midwest Trail Ride over the memorial day holiday. The campground was great. The food in the dining hall was awesome! The facilities were better than any other campground I have stayed at. The trail were nice and very well marked. We had an absolute blast and look forward to returning time and time again. We will be bringing all our saddle club friends with us.
Reviewed by: Chrystal Price on 5/29/2015 8:36:02 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/23/2015 Hometown: Henderson, ky

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I reviewed this campground back in the fall of 2012. I believe that MTR was experiencing some staffing challenges at the time and I was left feeling a bit dissatisfied with customer service. But I am thrilled to review now and say that those problems seem be resolved and customer service was great on my last several visits. Whether it is calling to make a reservation, checking in, or just visiting the store during your stay you will find all staff ready and eager to help you. The friendly atmosphere certainly enhances the whole experience. The camp is always clean and ready when you check in. The trails of course are my favorite part. You can ride as long or short as you want and enjoy the sights and sounds of nature. Thanks to Kim and Jeff for working so hard to create an experience that is enjoyable and relaxing. And for being committed to customer service! This campground has become my favorite place to escape a high pressure job and ride the beautiful trails of Southern Indiana.
Reviewed by: gahleslie on 5/29/2015 8:14:01 AM
More reviews by gahleslie
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 4/26/2015 Hometown: Peru, IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Very easy in and out for the trailers and the stalls are close behind campsite. They provide sawdust at no extra charge. Very good meals on the weekends. My husband is handicapped and the shower room and cafe is easy access for him on his mobility scooter, as is the grounds. Trails vary from easy to more difficult. Supply store in case you forgot something or you want to purchase something for you or your horse. Good water pressure at camp sites and good amps. For the LQs.
Reviewed by: Ida Noel on 5/29/2015 7:44:30 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/19/2014 Hometown: North Lawrence, Oh

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We try to go to Midwest at least twice a year. The staff are friendly and knowledgeable of the trails and will recommend trails to fit your level of experience. The showers are clean and plenty of hot water. The Rusty Spur is open for breakfast weekend mornings. We have never had a bad trip to Midwest. The stalls are right behind you so you can keep an eye on your horses at all times. The campsite is always clean and well cared for. I can't say enough good about this place. In fact we are going there again today for a long weekend.
Reviewed by: Bob Peterson on 5/29/2015 6:08:05 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/24/2014 Hometown: Demossville, Ky

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We have not been here for a few years due to personal issues but have been there sometimes twice a year. Mid West is a relaxing and enjoyable place to camp and ride, The staff is very friendly. Hope to get back soon.
Reviewed by: David Shook on 5/29/2015 5:47:13 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/29/2015 Hometown: West Farmington, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

LOVED Midwest. The trails were beautiful. We saw different wildlife every day we were out there. It's also very nice to be able to go into the Hoosier National Forest from the trails. Good food in their kitchen too! Can't wait to go back!
Reviewed by: Morgan lang on 5/29/2015 5:22:00 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 4/7/2015 Hometown: Morocco, IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Love going to Midwest, great facilities, great people, love the mess hall, stalls, and how nice everything is kept. Trails are great, some nice and wide for gaiting, some a little more rugged, but not bad at all.
Reviewed by: Armin H on 5/29/2015 4:19:20 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/22/2015 Hometown: Gifford, IL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We have visited Midwest Trail Rides several times and have always had a WONDERFUL experience there. The trails are very well maintained, the campground is 2nd to none and they have an amazing tack shop. We love that the horses are stalled and that the stalls are directly attached to the campsites. Midwest is our FAVORITE place to camp and ride!
Reviewed by: lisarnold on 5/29/2015 3:40:45 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 4/24/2015 Hometown: Falmouth, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

The trails are scenic and not too rocky and varied in difficulty. The campground is well laid out and the cabins are clean and comfortable. The staff is helpful and friendly. Bathrooms and showers are clean. Food is great. The horse stalls are close to your campsite or cabin. You can ride some of the trails and be picked up and brought back to camp.
Reviewed by: Bsheehan on 5/28/2015 11:31:14 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 4/23/2015 Hometown: Chrisman, IL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Midwest Trail Ride and Outpost store has a great staff and wonderful owners. Always feel welcome and safe there. Lots of trails. Everything you need right there. Great food , tack, supplies, clothes and boots. Trails well marked and taken care of. Water, electric and covered stalls right at your site. Love it there.
Reviewed by: Teresa Williams on 5/28/2015 8:32:51 PM
More reviews by Teresa Williams
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/21/2015 Hometown: russiaville, in

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

The Memorial Day Camping Weekend was my first visit to MTR. It was wonderful! Kim and Jeff are attentive, caring hosts. The food was delicious. The campground is spotless and manicured. I live in NC and ride often in the Pisgah National Forest and GSMNP. The trails in the Hoosier National Forest are every bit as pretty as here and the trails are safer (you don't have to worry about falling off the side of a mountain). There are hills, creek crossings, and ridge trails through hardwood canopy. Planning on going back next year. It was awesome!
Reviewed by: Faith on 5/26/2015 3:45:53 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/21/2015 Hometown: Tryon, NC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

First rate campground! Clean, well maintained, staff very courteous, owners welcoming and cheerful. Love this place and the trails, can't wait for spring so we can go back again!
Reviewed by: R1der1 on 2/16/2015 11:34:42 AM
More reviews by R1der1
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/10/2014 Hometown: leavenworth, in

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

loved it! loved it! we attended the fall week ride. this is a well run week. fellowship, entertainment, and fooood!!!!! the best of all the week rides I have attended so far. trails are marked well. the owners, kim & jeff, do a wonderful job with hospitality. their staff is helpful and cheerful. it was a wonderful week and I will be back!
Reviewed by: lindsay on 10/15/2013 6:57:59 PM
More reviews by lindsay
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 9/28/2013 Hometown: Charleston, SC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

When we arrived the girl working the counter was EXTREMELY rude giving people a hard time about making reservations for the group is apparently a terrible thing to do they can't figure out how to split the sites up for payment when back in the office next day same girl there ask her about the weather forecast again had a terrible attitude just very rude towards several others I spoke with while there good place to ride if they get rid of the attitudes
Reviewed by: donkey on 6/12/2013 6:54:23 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/9/2013 Hometown: boston, ky

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We showed up on a scheduled twh trail ride. We pulled in they couldn't find our name under the entry books and then, after 40 mins they found it. Mess hall is a great plus. However beware of owner!!!! She made in. Very clear she did not like dogs during her intro. Long story short we had a confrontation. With our neighbors due to them walking their horses directly under our awning and threw our site they called management down and when they got there the owner got in my face and told me I needed to learn how to ge along with people.... My 10 lb york is then jumped on her leg and the owner hit her.... It then escaladed quickly to us getting kicked out at midnight. Trails are super short you have to ride 5 miles to get to anything really wooded. Not worth the price or drive!
Reviewed by: rbarber on 6/3/2013 4:33:17 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/24/2013 Hometown: springport , in

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Facility is first class: Mess Hall, clean Shower rooms, Tack & Apparel store, Covered box stalls right where you park your trailer so you can keep an eye on your horses while you sit at your campfire. Free bedding.
Reviewed by: RanchChief on 5/5/2013 4:16:47 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 9/23/2012 Hometown: Columbus, IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

The trails were great, as always. However the customer service seems to be steadily declining. I probably will not go back. I prefer to spend my money at places that seem happy to have you there and care about your experience.
Reviewed by: Leslie Bever on 10/24/2012 6:23:35 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/20/2012 Hometown: Kokomo, IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

My first trail ride and I really enjoyed it. Great place to go. Most people I talked to go there every year.
Reviewed by: Jason g on 11/29/2011 3:57:33 PM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 9/20/2011 Hometown: Coatesville, IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Great campground. Jeff and Kim are great hosts. They go above and beyond when help is needed. Trails well marked.
Reviewed by: Andrea Fackler on 10/23/2011 4:04:24 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/3/2011 Hometown: Custer, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Great place to ride and camp !!
Reviewed by: missy on 9/5/2011 6:44:32 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 9/5/2011 Hometown: pendleton, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Wonderful camping facility for horses and riders. The grounds are clean, mowed, and well-maintained. The staff members are friendly and helpful. The horse stalls are kept in good shape, and I like the fact that they are lit for those "quick checks" at night. Manure pits are emptied often and shavings pits are stocked often, with wheelbarrows available. Shower house was well-lit and clean, with plenty of stalls. The camp store stocks a lot of great stuff, from saddles and tack to gifts and clothing, plus items you may have forgotten at home. We were there during an "open camping" week so we didn't make use of the mess hall, but I've heard the food is good. The trails are easy enough for kids and novice riders and well-marked. Even with some heavy rains, most of the ground dried quickly with just occasional muddy sections. Ideal for gaited horses and stock breeds alike, there is room to "move out" with enough variety of hills and flat areas to keep things interesting. There aren't many points of interest (like overlooks, cliffs, waterfalls, etc) but there are places to stop, tie the horses and take a lunch break. All in all, the trails are very pretty. With "you are here" signs posted frequently and maps available in the store, it would be almost impossible to get lost in the Hoosier National Forest. I would recommend MTR if you're looking for a clean, well-run horse campground to visit.
Reviewed by: Audrey on 6/20/2011 11:26:45 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 6/14/2011 Hometown: Cincinnati, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We love this place and have been going for years. They have wonderful lighted stalls so you can easily keep an eye on your horses. The electric/water sites are great, right in front of the stalls; they have showers, restrooms, dining hall and tack shop. They also have cabins & bunk houses for rent and non-elec/water campsites. The staff and owners are always friendly and eager to please. We love their trails (so do our horses) and also riding in the Hoosier National Forest. This is hard to beat and worth the drive.
Reviewed by: Westernbabe on 10/2/2010 12:39:54 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/30/2010 Hometown: Oxford, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I have been going to MTR for 6 years now, we have met friends for life. The facility is second to none. Workers are super friendly and they have a store for all your needs. Prices are usual for a tack store. Entertainment every night is great, food could not be better!!! Trails are breathtaking and easy to ride on.
Reviewed by: Debbie on 9/2/2010 5:24:43 AM
More reviews by Debbie
Experience: Beginner Ride Date: 10/15/2009 Hometown: Rolling Prairie, IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I always have a great time at Midwest with friends and family. The staff there are friendly and helpful, going that extra effort to make your camping experience a pleasurable one. It is always nice to have a stall to put your horse in, and clean shavings are plentiful and provided free to all campers. The cabins are clean and handy for groups, the A/C is welcomed in the heat of summer as well. Meals are fantasic, staff friendly and helpful,Stalls clean and strudy, and the trails are great.Will keep going back.
Reviewed by: Onvetta on 7/21/2010 4:38:34 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/17/2010 Hometown: Coatesville, IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Forest service trails so they maintained at or above standards. Campground clean, well kept, friendly people. This is their business so they work at it, as well as all their hired help.
Reviewed by: NR on 6/12/2010 7:29:27 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 6/10/2010 Hometown: , IL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

All I have to say about Midwest is, it's awsome! The trails are very clean, and so is the campsite. I love having stalls and fresh bedding for the horses, and I love how well kept the camp is. The bathrooms are very clean, unlike many of the ones I've seen at other campsites. The trails are great for endurance riding and just a relaxing ride. They are very solid, and aren't very hard at all. The other thing that i loved anout midwest is that they also had a training feild. The feild had different trail obstacles, barrels, and a small ring for lunging! One thing I would like to warn every one about is the gift shop. You will need to bring a lot of money with you, because you are garenteed to find something in there that you want!(and they're not cheap) I will be going back to midwest in 1 week, and can't wait! Whether your a beginner or an expert, Midwest would be perfect for you. If you live a while away from it and are concerned about driving that far, then please do. It is well worth it!!
Reviewed by: Ally on 5/25/2010 3:42:50 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/16/2009 Hometown: Floyd County, IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I have been going to Midwest for several years now, and it just keeps getting better each year. Its fantastic to have a stall to put my horse in, and the shavings are free, so I can bed him down nicely. The campground is clean and sites are spacious. The meals are very delicious and plentiful. Its also nice to go to the large mess hall for the live band and dancing(not that I can actually dance).I enjoy the trails, and the maps are accurate, which is another pleasant surprise. The personnal at Midwest are friendly and helpful. I have gotten on a first name basis with all of them, and they are like friends now. The "Outpost" has just about anything you could need for a weekend, from the forgotten hay bag to a rain slicker. Plan on several rides there this year, including the "Story" ride.
Reviewed by: Onvetta on 3/30/2010 3:51:40 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/2/2009 Hometown: Coatesville, IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Very nice campground but can be very muddy in front of the barns. Super nice tack store- did some Christmas shopping while there. On larger weekends there is food served in dining hall even if not organized ride which is very good. The trails are extremely easy - very wide, not very rocky, hardly even a stick to step over. Great place to go for a relaxing long weekend, but probably not enough trails for a full week. We normally ride at least 18-22 miles/ day and we usually go here for long weekends only.
Reviewed by: Lora on 11/24/2009 6:06:47 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/22/2009 Hometown: New Salisbury , IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Excellent facilities, staff, food and trails.
Reviewed by: Mike on 9/16/2009 11:36:22 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 9/5/2009 Hometown: Columbus, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Compared to similar places I've been in Tennessee, Kentucky, and Illinois, I'd say this is one of the cleanest and most complete campgrounds available. Horses stay in covered stalls at your campsite. You can build your campfire where you choose (not inside a steel ring that blocks the heat and view). Electric and Water at each site. Restaurant puts out great food for breakfast and dinner, and will pack a lunch for you. There's a wood stove in the dining hall, for those cold rainy nights when you don't feel like sittin around your campfire. The 2-story tack store has a good selection of tack and clothing. Sometimes (not always) the firewood is a little wet, so bring some good kindling and firestarter. Several sites have shade trees. There is a round pen and a dozen 4-person cabins. There are a couple creeks running past camp for the horse that won't drink tap water on the road. The three main trails leading out of camp are well maintained, wide, and firm without gravel or rock. In wet weather, there will be occasional muddy areas but it is easy to walk around. Within the first hour of riding you'll be in the middle of the Hoosier National Forest trail network with plenty of variety to fill your day. They even have an all day 1-way ride to Story Indiana where there is a great bed-n-breakfast place with full service restaurant and bar. Vertical elevation from ridge to holler is 300 to 500 feet. A few miles north of camp is a wilderness area (no vehicles allowed) which borders an extremely large lake.
Reviewed by: Bryan on 9/8/2009 7:27:35 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 4/24/2009 Hometown: Columbus, IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I had so much fun down there I can't wait to come back. The trail are nice and you can't get lost. I love the creeks and the hills. We stay in the cabin and loved it. Nice people and nice place I loved the stall and having sawdust for the horse to rested in. Plan on coming back in 09
Reviewed by: Angela on 3/29/2009 4:46:29 PM
Experience: Beginner Ride Date: 6/16/2008 Hometown: addison, MI

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Overall I had such an awesome time I booked again for this year prior to leaving last year. Trail Positives, nicely maintained, host offered trailer rides to other parts of Hoosier for a small fee - Trail negatives, had to travel the same trails to get to other trails, trail fees. Food - this was by far the best food I've experienced on any organized trail ride. Labeling this as an "Organized Ride" can be deceiving since there are no organized trail rides, only meals and entertainment. Entertainment could have been a bit better. Stalls are on the small side but still adequate and covered (thats a plus). Sites are relatively close to each other, no shade to be had but if you have an awning that's really no concern. Clean and tidy restrooms/showers. Extra's such as a fun obstacle course. Everyone I met was just so very very friendly, be it employee to guests. I enjoyed the size of this camp ground. Plan on coming to the singles ride in April and returning on the organized ride in mid-October.
Reviewed by: tocky11 on 1/25/2009 12:13:16 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/19/2008 Hometown: Wayne, IL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Excellent! Everyone there was so friendly and helpful -they treated you as though you were old friends. Stalls were great, camping facilities were great, trails were well-maintained and marked. Beautiful weather, lots of open space for riding around the facility, and easy access to HNF trails (also beautiful). Lots of ups and downs on HNF's trails - take Advil for your knees if you stayin two-point! :-)
Reviewed by: Cameron on 8/18/2008 10:13:14 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 8/16/2008 Hometown: Troy, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Stayed in the bunkhouse, was clean, had electric so we brought our own heat in Oct. & restrooms were close by, as was round pen. They have been having great bands on Sat and karoke on Fridays, we had a blast! It is pricey, but no other place has compared to this and the food was awesome! So nice not to have to cook & clean up. The trails were great, can't wait to go back with others who are ready to do the longer rides though. Only downside is the water isn't always very warm. The camp staff are very friendly and willing to help even going as far as to provide special little deserts for some of the kids, though the items weren't on the menu. Yep, great place.
Reviewed by: Wenhorse on 2/27/2008 5:47:28 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/22/2007 Hometown: Seymour, IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This use to be a nice place to go. We rented a bunkhouse that leaked and smelled moldy. Our light was also burnt out. When we informed them they did not seem to care. We did return the next year and I had a family emergency. My husband called 3 times and I never got the message (I stayed in a cabin this time and a friend tried to stay in the bunkhouses but could not stand the smell). There is a place for you to retreve messages and I never got it (my father went into the hospital and did pass away!). I was even going to give them one more chance but after talking to them about this and the attitude decided there are other places to go.
Reviewed by: Jane on 1/20/2008 3:12:50 PM
More reviews by Jane
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/1/2006 Hometown: Yoder, IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

The trails are great for either beginners or the more advanced rider, depends on the trail you choose. The camp ground is clean, the showers are being taken care of better this year. The food has somewhat improved over last year. I think the organizied rides are over priced compared to other places I've been but O well. I keep going back. The staff is always helpful and nice. I do have one complaint,the manure dumps are so far apart and wheelbarrels are never to be found. I love going because I've made so many new friends and I enjoy meeting them time and time again. I have plans to go in the spring of 08 to the singles ride. It gets a little wild but it's fun. I've been 2 other springs before and labor Day and Memorial Day. Must be OKAY or I wouldn't keep returning.
Reviewed by: Judy on 11/3/2007 9:32:18 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 8/31/2007 Hometown: Louisville, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I've been going to Midwest for over 7 years and been through 2 owners and it is now at it's best. There are only a couple of bad things being the water is hot 60% of the time in the showers and the price keeps going up more every year. The store is beautiful and they try to make you good deals on tack. They have just about everything you need to camping and riding. I use to go about 3 times a year but now I can only go once a year. When I started my daughter was 5 and she was free and I only had to pay about $75 for a 4 day camp trip (meals were not as good but were sufficiant). We would rent a bunkhouse for $25 for the entire stay not $20 per night (Cabins are now $45 per night) and have a great time. We ride stocl horses so we haven't been to far into the HNF but the trails at Midwest are nice enough to ride a couple of days on. Ghost towns trail is so much better now! I will still be going once a year!
Reviewed by: Shellie on 10/29/2007 6:23:15 PM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 10/29/2007 Hometown: Camby, IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Trails are easy- great for kids. Scenic. Store is great. Campgrounds are big, open, right next to stall. A horse next to ours kicked one of the boards into our stall, but we just nailed it back in. Pavilion is nice.
Reviewed by: Julie on 10/1/2007 10:33:07 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/1/2007 Hometown: , KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Cute cabins, nice to have horse stalls, especially when raining, friendly staff, nice store, good food and entertainment. Will definitly go back soon!!
Reviewed by: sweetie's mamma on 7/10/2007 6:53:26 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/24/2007 Hometown: , IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

The Midwest Trail Ride campground is terrific. Their website is very self-explanatory and all ammentities were as promised. Food is plentiful and hearty (main courses, sides/veggies, salad bar, beverage bar)! Shower facilities are clean, campground layout is big and open, cabins clean/functional, covered stalls (with shavings, wheelbarrows, dump stations) are conveniently located. I highly recommend this as a place to ride. The staff are friendly, hardworking and eager to offer assistance. We'll go back!
Reviewed by: MGR on 5/30/2007 10:42:49 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/30/2007 Hometown: Chicago, IL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

The Midwest Trail Ride campground is terrific. Their website is very self-explanatory and all ammentities were as promised. Food is plentiful and hearty (main courses, sides/veggies, salad bar, beverage bar)! Shower facilities are clean, campground layout is big and open, cabins clean/functional, covered stalls (with shavings, wheelbarrows, dump stations) are conveniently located. I highly recommend this as a place to ride. The staff are friendly, hardworking and eager to offer assistance. We'll go back!
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 5/30/2007 10:42:04 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/30/2007 Hometown: N. IL, IL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I have ridden at the midwest's fall ride for 6 years. I enjoy the people on the ride we have made some really good friends. The trails are easy and well maintained. The food is always good. The shower house is spotless. They do a great job. The only down side is that the price goes up every year.
Reviewed by: L. Otte on 3/13/2007 7:17:54 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/1/2006 Hometown: Kaukauna, WI

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Great private campground. You can buy daily bridle tags to enter the state forest or stay on the campground's trails w/o bridle tag. You can also buy a yearly bridle tag. Note that you need a separate bridle tag for state/national forests in Indiana. Trails were easy and well taken care of. Map is easy to follow. Campground workers even went out on the trail to contain bees on a private trail. Shop is nice, as is cafeteria. Definitely plenty of room in the campsites and the stalls are nice. We saw a horse rub the boards loose between stalls, because the horse was in a stall with the boards on the outside and he had a problem.
Reviewed by: JK on 1/6/2007 11:43:09 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 9/1/2006 Hometown: A-town, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Great trails! Beautiful scenery and easy to get around. Had a lot of fun on my Walker because we could see a lot more of the trails at a better/faster pace than on my QH. Campground is very nice and clean. Most of the Horse stalls are brand new since they rebuilt them this past spring after a bad storm went through. Plenty of room for larger horse trailers. The deluxe log cabins are nice if you don't have a trailer with a living quarters, but it is just enough room to sleep, and not much more. Two sets of bunk beds with twin mattresses to sleep four adults. Small bit of room inside for "stuff" and there is a small front porch. I have gone here many times and will continue to go here for a great riding experience!!!
Reviewed by: Kimberly on 9/13/2006 9:51:54 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 6/15/2006 Hometown: Mulberry, IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I've been to MTR on several occasions and have loved every minute! The campgrounds are clean as are the cabins & showerhouse. The stalls aren't huge but plenty big enough for a horse to lie down in. The Mess Hall is open on weekends and the food is very good and prices are very reasonable. The only downside is the one trail to the HNF trails but that one trail is beautiful. The MTR staff members are friendly pleasant and helpful. I'll stay there every chance I get!
Reviewed by: Karen on 7/26/2006 2:58:30 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 7/24/2006 Hometown: Paoli, IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Trails are ok, noithing to write home about. Camping area very nice, plus they have a super horseman's store for supplies. I've been there several times and I will return.
Reviewed by: Missy on 7/17/2006 9:20:37 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 4/15/2006 Hometown: Pendleton, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Linda has a very good thing with this set-up, the campgroung is very user friendly for those of us with big rigs(40ft trailers and up), and the food and hospitality is second to none! for a real treat go on a scheduled ride weekend the people you meet will be friends for LIFE !!
Reviewed by: Mark&Regina Smith on 3/17/2006 11:21:38 AM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 3/17/2006 Hometown: Dundee, MI

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

VERY NICE PLACE TO RIDE AND HANG OUT FOR A FEW DAYS. CLEAN SHOWER HOUSE AND VERY NICE STORE. THE PEOPLE DO THEIR BEST TO MAKE YOU COMFORTABLE AND YOUR STAY ENJOYABLE.
Reviewed by: R ICK on 6/8/2005 12:56:40 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 6/1/2005 Hometown: , OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I have been here twice all the way from MI, it is a nice place, great food, well marked trails, clean campground. However the bulk of the trails are actually on the Hoosier National Forest, you have to retrace your trail when you leave and return by about 45 minutes, if you wish to get out for a longer ride. There is no other route back and only a few other ways to go that offer only about an hours worth of riding.
Reviewed by: K.VanHaitsma on 3/16/2005 2:10:29 PM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 3/16/2005 Hometown: Rockford MI, MI

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

The trails are medium in difficulty, with good maps. You have to ride the same trail out for about 40 minutes. The facilities were great. Personnel very friendly and helpful. Lots of showers, nice store, good food, and always have coffee on. Stalls are small, but very adequate.
Reviewed by: Kim on 1/29/2005 5:34:44 PM
More reviews by Kim
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 9/12/2004 Hometown: Hubbard Lake, MI

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Top-notch facilities, stalls right at sites! Excellent food and service, coffee/beverages available round-the-clock. New store, very nice! Trails great for advanced/novice riders alike. Beautiful scenery, wooded trails with lots of rolling hills.
Reviewed by: Molly Kidner on 10/23/2004 9:11:56 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 9/23/2004 Hometown: Muskegon, MI