HorseTrailDirectory.com
Trail Riders Helping Trail Riders
Home    Riding Trails    Review Camp    My Reviews    Add/Edit Location    Photo Album     Web Links

Reviews for End of the Trail Equine Campground  
(click on name for more information)

Ontario, Wi

Overall TRAIL RATING with 30 votes:
Overall CAMP RATING with 31 votes:

Enter your Trail and/or Campground Review 

Individual Reviews

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We stayed at the End of the Trail Campground over the fourth of the July. Campground was very very well maintained, Jan and her staff were so accommodating and extremely helpful - they provided rides in their big stock trailer to various drop points for the WildCat and Kickapoo trail systems - they were there whenever we needed them. The trails were great - all types of trails from wide, to narrow to rocky to sandy to pastures to forests to creek crossings, or river swimming. Great little bar to end at or stop for cocktails or lunch with great hitching posts. The shower house was great - was the old milking house/room - sites had electric, vault toilets were clean and super cute western décor. Office had fun souvenirs and a freezer full of schwan's ice cream treats!! Water conveniently located throughout the campgrounds in various locations, free firewood, high lines had nice horse shoes connected to it so you could evenly space your horses. Part of group stayed in the mobile home which was huge and very clean! The trails had fun views as well from look outs to rocks .....
Reviewed by: Reed2016 on 7/6/2016 1:02:08 PM
More reviews by Reed2016
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 7/4/2016 Hometown: Ellsworth, WI

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Best so far. Prefer the Kickapoo trails over Wild Cat trails. Camping facilities and hosts were great. Will plan another trip for sure!
Reviewed by: SaddleUp on 6/22/2015 12:34:20 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 6/19/2015 Hometown: Edina, MN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

After many years of camping here, we found our two visits in2014 to be significantly different from years past. It seems Jan and Moose are ready to retire. They seemed to be burnt out. I can't say that I blame them. I would not like having to put up with people camping in my back yard, dog doo doo that some people don't pick up, folks lunging their horses on your lawn (round pen is right there), people not calling to say they aren't going to make it, etc.. I love Jan and Moose. They showed us several years of good times and we were treated as royalty. Maybe, this year we will try expand our camping and try some other areas of the country. Shawnee here we come.
Reviewed by: Lynn Perkins on 1/15/2015 12:44:08 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/30/2014 Hometown: Prescott , Wi

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We are return customers to End of the Trail! The trails are great - such a variety of experiences. No mosquitoes!!!! Last summer was too hot to ride so we sat in the river and had a great afternoon just relaxing. The best part of staying here is the camp facilities and people. Moose and Jan are awesome. Enjoy talking, have a game of cards, or just sit and relax on the porch! This is the nicest campground I have been to. The bathrooms are clean, nice clean shower to use, free firewood, ice and ice cream available on site, I could go on and on.... We have two weekends reserved for this year and I can't wait!!
Reviewed by: Kate on 7/8/2013 11:39:34 AM
More reviews by Kate
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/6/2012 Hometown: Oshkosh, Wisconsin,

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Just got back from End of the Trail; spent a whole week there. Been to North Dakota, South Dakota and all over MN and this was one of my favorite trail riding trips! Jan and Moose are great hosts with great stories and tell you the best places to ride. They are willing to haul your horses so you have an opportunity to ride the trails you please. Nice bars to ride to take a break or have some lunch. You can find trails more challenging and some easier ones. The campground is awesome with water, wood, and electric hookups available at each site. Maps are provided for all trails and they have lots of "goodies". They also give you the opportunity to kayak down the Kickapoo- which is VERY scenic and fun (even though I could use a little Kayaking 101!) We had a group of 20-some campers and had an excellent time. Want to plan another trip right away for a fall ride. Some trails were muddy when we were there-but it makes it exciting! Get your ponies in shape for these trails. Thanks Jan and Moose for a wonderful time!
Reviewed by: Joni on 6/27/2013 8:25:19 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/21/2013 Hometown: Milaca , MN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Located between Wildcat and Kickapoo, this is the perfect place to ride. We had very little bugs and the riding was very scenic. But what made the trip the most enjoyable was the owners Jan and Moose. They make sure you are taken care of and that you enjoy your stay. Definitely going to return.
Reviewed by: Mendecott on 6/25/2013 7:09:58 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/15/2013 Hometown: Carlisle, IA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Love, love love this trail system. Jan and Moose from the End of the Trail campground are knowledgable about the trails and will steer you in the direction for the perfect ride. Convenient electricity and water at the sites. Hot showers are really appreciated! Having wood available for campers is really great, just one less thing you need to pack or try to purchase on the way. But, above all, the beauty of the trails and water crossings bring us back year after year.
Reviewed by: Lisa on 12/4/2012 7:08:24 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/1/2012 Hometown: wild rose, WI

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

OMG Jan & Moose are AWESOME!!!! We have just gotten back from a 4 day stay at End of the Trail, we are already making plans to go back next year and for a longer stay, 4 days is not long enough to see everything. Along with riding you can canoe to give the horses a break, it was a blast also. If you need picked up at a point they will come get you, if you want dropped off at a point they will take you. From End of the Trail you can ride both Kickapoo and Wildcat, there is a small ride to get to both places but it is well worth it! Both very nice places to ride, Wildcat had more of the wider trails but very nice and both places are very well marked, both places have some butt kicking hill clims too. You can not go wrong staying and riding here.
Reviewed by: Fredericksen on 9/4/2012 8:47:47 AM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 8/30/2012 Hometown: Casey, IA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Awesome place, awesome trails. My favorite place to ride in Wisconsin. Moose and Jan are great hosts, and very helpful. They loaned me an RV cord when mine wouldn't work, Moose was welding on someone's trailer to get her safely back on the road while we were there! He loaded us up and hauled us to the other end of the Kickapoo reserve. When we got as far as the bar and called for a ride back, he was there in less than 10 minutes. There are plenty of trails and the scenery is beautiful. I have ridden here many times over the last several years. And another bonus, in all that time, I've noticed the bugs are never as bad here as they are at other trails I ride at.
Reviewed by: G8d Rider on 8/15/2012 3:45:52 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 8/10/2012 Hometown: Brooklyn, WI

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This is truly an awesome camp to come home to. Moose and Jan are the best. They are always there if you need anything! You gotta go just to see the outhouses. They are works of art! It's a beautiful setting right between the Kickapoo and Wild Cat Mountain. The ride over to WCM is along the road for 1.7 miles. The reserve trail is just a short ride down the road, over the bridge, and you're on the trail. The trails are beautiful. It is best if you and your horse are conditioned some! We are looking forward to going back again!
Reviewed by: Cathy Stern on 7/19/2012 8:29:50 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 7/13/2012 Hometown: Fredonia, WI

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We visited EOTT 3 times this year and my 9yr. keeps asking when are going again. Jan & Moose are a wonderful. One hot June day we had a water fight, 3 families partaking, what a blast, everyone was laughing & having a good time. J&M told us the next day to go down to bridge 5 and sit a spell in the Kickapoo to cool off. It ended up we were there all day long sitting in the Kickapoo on lawn chairs and swimming. Moose showed up to check on us and to make sure we were having fun. If you get an afternoon to go kayaking, its a must. Leave camp and go to Ontario (10 min. away) and rent a canoe or kayak. It is the most incredible scenery and fun we had as a family. I had never kayaked before, so if I can do it anyone can. If your having a late night bonfire & a good time, you bet J&M will join ya. All of the Kickapoo Reserve is beautiful, and the Rockton Bar is great, with good food and you tie your horses out back to several hitching posts. To get to Kickapoo or Wildcat you road ride just a little (beautiful scenery) or if you choose Moose will hall you & your horses, for just a donation. You can have him drop off/ ride home or come and pick/up. M&J go out of there way to help and make it a pleasure to come there. We rode in Sept./Oct. also, beautiful country, nothing like us flatlanders are used too. Happy trails to Moose & Jan, your the best, you've given us many happy memories in just 2yrs. Thank you.
Reviewed by: Lori McNamer on 11/19/2011 11:42:09 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/8/2011 Hometown: Pecatonica, IL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I based my reservation on the reviews that I read here and I am so glad I did. What wonderful people Jan and Moose are. We had great chats about horses and the trails that they know so well. We got in early before our spot was ready and was able to park and stall our horses while waiting. It was nice to have both outdoor pens as well as tie lines. Our spot was perfect with afternoon shade and space to spread out. The addition on the office was great for sitting around in and chatting and eating ice cream. A must. We did WildCat only as we were limited on time. Some road travel but few cars and the scenery was still great. Do the yellow loop when dry. It was fun. We did the red loop in the rain since it has more rock and sand. What a great loop with lots to see. We did the red again early in the morning due to the heat of the day taking it to the group camp and then going back on the green short cut. That was a really neat trail. Watch the heat of the day as some riders had horses that got sick. Take care of your horses at all cost. There is a nice trail across the street from camp that is private and a good workout for the horses to start with. Jan will tell you how to get there. They even put in a picinic area at the top of the steep hill. We were so impressed that we cancelled our trip to another WI park just so we could go back next month. One thing, going up the End of the Trail drive, stick it into 4 Wheel high. I did not and just made it to the top. I will know better next time.
Reviewed by: Tammy on 7/18/2011 11:11:30 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 7/14/2011 Hometown: Oxford Junction, IA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Jan and Moose are awesome. They are the best camp hosts ever! They do everything in their power to make sure that you have a good time. I absolutely can not say enough good things about Jan and Moose or their site. Having so many places to ride is awesome and the trails are so much fun! LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this place! I guess that is why I keep going back.
Reviewed by: Lynn Perkins on 7/15/2011 5:58:26 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 6/25/2011 Hometown: Prescott, WI

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Jan and Mooose both are what you would envision for horse camp owners/host with their personalities and dedication to the campers and their horses. They are so knowledgable and caring that it is hard to believe you might have just met them. Most pleasant stay, perfect camping, and and access to the most enjoyable riding to be had in the area.
Reviewed by: Karen Best on 8/26/2010 9:19:09 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 7/4/2010 Hometown: Rochester, MN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

End of the Trail is the best, and Jan & Moose are the Very Best. We look forward to camping there every summer. Jan & Moose treat you like family. They usually ask where you are headed each time you head out, because they truly care about their campers and like to have an idea of where you might be in case of bad weather or seems like its getting late & you could have run into trouble. The campground is always impeccably kept. Ice cream and "porch time" are an absolute must. Jan & Moose always keep us posted on the weather; even had us camp in the barn one time years ago when we were tenting it and weather was bad. The trails are great. They go from easy to as challenging as you like & scenery is beautiful. The ride to Rockton Bar for lunch is always a highlight for our families - hitching posts for the horses right outside. Jan & Moose at End of The Trail Campground is what keeps us returning again & again.
Reviewed by: Karen on 7/19/2010 3:44:18 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 7/18/2010 Hometown: Prairie du Chien, WI

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Went on the new trail to the Rockton bar - it was a wonderful ride. Jan & Moose are wonderful. We're going back tonight 7-22-09, rain is forcast for the weekend, but there is always plenty of fun to be had at End of the Trail Campground, so if we can't ride it will still be a great time. On hot days, the Kickapoo is a fun to canoe - or just go down to the river and sit. Ice Cream, Ice and clean facilities are always available.
Reviewed by: Kris/Tim on 7/22/2009 10:25:07 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/28/2009 Hometown: Spring Green, WI

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We can't say enough about this place -- the owners, Jan & Moose Tassler, are fantastic. You won't find any people more accomodating, friendly, and knowledgeable about the trails, weather, local vets, other attractions, etc. End of the Trail is clean and exceptionally well maintained. There is easy access to the trails at Wildcat Mountain State Park and the Kickapoo Reserve, or Moose will transport you (and pick you up if needed) to various trail heads. Riding in the beautiful Wisconsin hills is as good as it gets -- lots of variety from open fields to major hills,valleys, and woods! You won't be disappointed in this trip, and like many who camp at End of the Trail, you will definately want to come back!
Reviewed by: Brian & Phylis Dalldorf on 7/21/2009 9:56:06 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 7/18/2009 Hometown: Clinton, IA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Jan and Moose are the best camp hosts you will ever find, ice cream and ice are two comforts that are very much appreciated in July. We plan an annual girl’s trip there every year and I am looking forward to the 2009 trip next week. The trails are awesome, when wet are very challenging, but Jan and Moose always know where the bad spots are and warn you. You also will have your own personal weather person as Moose watches closely and let you know if bad weather or rain is headed our way. And when they thought our day ride, when they trailered us to the other end of Kickapoo, was taking too long…..here comes Jan out looking for us. You will not go wrong camping here, the nicest people in the world will take care of you!
Reviewed by: Donna Danielson on 7/2/2009 3:58:44 PM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 1/1/2004 Hometown: Ellsworth, WI

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Frequent visitors, the most challenging trails and absolutely the most accomodating hosts you will find. Best place in Wisconsin to ride and camp....
Reviewed by: Skinner on 6/8/2009 8:42:10 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/23/2009 Hometown: Waupaca, WI

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I WOULD recommend this campground & trails for beginner riders & horses. The trails are so varied in terrain, it gives both horse and rider an opprotunity to increase their trail saavy. The scenery is beautiful and changes with every mile. Jan & Moose are the BEST! The hauled our horses for us so we could ride the entire Kickapoo. Also they took very good care of our boys. They took them up the river so they could kayak back down & took them to the bike trail up the road to ride back to camp also. Moose even fixed my son's bike when the handlebars fell off. Very willing to make your stay enjoyable.
Reviewed by: Verona K on 5/8/2008 6:00:19 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/4/2007 Hometown: Brandon, MN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We've camped alot of places but this is by far the best. Close to home, Moose & Jan are wonderful. We have 3 reservation for this year and will probably pick up more time permitting. If you're looking for a new place to horse camp, this is it. Everyone we ride with love the trails.
Reviewed by: Kris on 4/24/2008 10:59:19 AM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 1/1/2004 Hometown: Spring Green, WI

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

End of the trail campground has been the most accomodating and kept up & clean one I've ever been to. I absolutely love that they always have ice & ice cream available for those long rides & hot days. Moose & Jan seem to help you out with whatever they can. In fact when we stayed out there last (our 2nd time) time, we were on our way back from the Wildcat Mtn at dusk when all of a sudden the clouds rolled in & the sky opened up and it was POURING down rain and here came Jan & Moose looking for us and ready to give us & our horses a ride back. Not many hosts would have even noticed we weren't back yet. Hats off to them!! The trails are as hard or easy as you want and are a wonderful work-out for your horse!! The scenery is a plus too. Just be careful to not over-do it and have your horse tie-up. We have our reservations for 08. We also take our kids (6&9)to the Wildcat and they have a blast. Pretty safe for kids if you have good & well broke horses for them. We shoe & pad the front feet for the more tenderfooted horses. There is gravel type rocks on the trails. I'd recommend this campground & trails for most anyone. Happy Trails!!
Reviewed by: Susan on 4/10/2008 1:51:13 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/25/2007 Hometown: Lake Park, MN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

i would not recommend the trails for beginner riders and horses. We had a horse go down on one of the washed out, muddy hills. Some of the gullies are VERY STEEP and need very experienced horses to handle it. For the more experienced riders its quite the adrenaline rush, but watch out. We camped in the fall, when it rained a lot and ther trees were in full bloom. Therefore the trails were very dark and the trails were slop. The horses sure had a workout though. The individual paddocks you can use a a good convience if your horses arent well standing next to a trailor. The trails are not marked very well at all, but the scenery is amazing.
Reviewed by: Katelyn on 4/9/2008 7:44:48 AM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 1/1/2004 Hometown: Kewaskum, WI

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I love this part of WI. The scenery is beautiful!! I plan to ride there again. The trails are easy to more difficult. The camp ground is very clean and well kept. Have good breaks for the driveway!!
Reviewed by: M. Paumen on 2/19/2008 2:17:47 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 9/20/2007 Hometown: Maple Lake, MN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

this is a very well kept campground. i had a bast there last summer in 2007. jan and moose are ver nice. clean bathrooms. clean showers. nice trails. my favorite memory there .... was when we all went swim'in in the river !!! makes me smile everytime i think of it. every horse camper.. needs to check out there campground... im glad i did !!! may the sun shine on your trails !!!
Reviewed by: renee (sunshinefarc) on 1/6/2008 9:44:22 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 8/12/2007 Hometown: lannon, WI

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Many of our saddle club members have become regulars at Moose & Jan's. Moose and Jan go out of their way to accomodate us. Some of our stays have been more memorable than others! They are wonderful hosts and they their campground is one of the nicest we've stayed at. We love to spend 4th of July in Ontario and then again in the fall to take in the wonderful colors on both the Wild Cat and Kickapoo trails. Make sure you put "End of the Trail" as one of your next camping spots.
Reviewed by: Lori Elhorn on 2/12/2007 6:30:37 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 2/12/2007 Hometown: Hammond, WI

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Jan and Moose have the best place!!! They make you feel at home. Don't miss the late afternoon chats on the office porch! The campgrounds are convenient and clean with electric. Water close to every site and a round pen to share. They even have ice cream, ice and hay!!!Cute shower house and outhouses. Moose gladly trailers you to any trails that are too far to ride to. There is a great day ride to a bar and grill. You couldn't ask for better scenery, better company or a nicer place. Great trails and fun for all. We are going back!! It is worth the long trip.
Reviewed by: Chris Hall on 10/24/2006 9:04:50 AM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 10/24/2006 Hometown: Watseka, IL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

WOW!! What a fun place. Great hosts,clean and relaxing. It was a great place to meet new horsey friends. Plan on going back again this year and telling others to come along.
Reviewed by: Rose Brunclik on 1/8/2005 8:55:12 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 8/20/2004 Hometown: Birchwood , WI

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Jan and Moose run and excellent campground. We have already rebooked. We rode bothe Wildcat and Kickapoo reserve and it was awesome.
Reviewed by: Riley's on 9/27/2004 2:24:58 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/25/2004 Hometown: Edgerton, WI., Select State

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This is a beautifully kept campground and the trails can go from easy to challenging. The scenery is beautiful and the hospitality is great. Can't wait to go back again.
Reviewed by: Tam Kelm and Steve Hamrick on 9/6/2004 7:26:09 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 9/6/2004 Hometown: Princeton, IL