HorseTrailDirectory.com
Trail Riders Helping Trail Riders
Home    Riding Trails    Review Camp    My Reviews    Add/Edit Location    Photo Album     Web Links

Reviews for Ocala National Forest  
(click on name for more information)

Ocala, FL

Overall TRAIL RATING with 5 votes:
Enter your Trail and/or Campground Review 

Individual Reviews

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

The trails were a major disappointment. Overused, deep sand with extremely dense closed in trails. We didn't find anything to be excited about once on the trails even though we rode for 3 hours, limited wild life sightings and deforestization happening everywhere. We do not plan on returning.
Reviewed by: JJC on 11/19/2012 10:30:46 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 11/17/2012 Hometown: Dade City, FL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I live in riding distance from the Ocala national forest and have been riding back there sense i was old enough to ride there are very good trails. There are lots of good spots to run and swim But around the ponds you do have to watch for glass. And depending on the time on year you have to watch for rainbows
Reviewed by: Bekka on 10/28/2006 11:01:31 AM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 10/28/2006 Hometown: Lynn, FL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Our gate open's up to the Ocala National Forest. It is a great place to ride. With all the rain we had with the hurricanes and this summer, a lot of the ponds now offer water for the horses. I recommend a GPS (and good batteries), it is easy to get turned around while riding. I also recommend a hat and bug spray for both horse and rider.
Reviewed by: Dana Bosanquet on 6/25/2005 10:38:57 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/29/2005 Hometown: Umatilla, FL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Our property adjoins this forest, it's where we live. Julie is right on in her description.There are 420,000acres to this forest, you can just wander around anywhere. Some areas are much nicer than others. Very little horse water, NO human water on trail.
Reviewed by: CarolP on 7/26/2004 2:13:44 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 7/26/2004 Hometown: Ocklawaha, FL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Enough trails to keep you busy for days and days. The trails are marked, but the loops are 20 miles or more, so it's easy to get lost if you want to do a shorter ride. A GPS is helpful. Hazards include hunters in trucks (out of season), "rainbow people" and a few trashy areas.
Reviewed by: JulieS on 4/8/2003 6:17:21 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 1/1/2002 Hometown: Englewood, TN