HorseTrailDirectory.com
Trail Riders Helping Trail Riders

Reviews for Long C Trails
(click on name for more information)
Westmoreland, TN

Overall TRAIL RATING with 22 votes:
Overall CAMP RATING with 22 votes:

Enter your Trail and/or Campground Review 

Individual Reviews

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I really enjoyed my time at The Long C. This is a wonderful camp that is very well ran. The owners seem to genuinely care for the visitors and go the extra mile to see that our visit was enjoyable. I was treated to birthday sweets. The trails are great. I especially enjoyed the creek riding. We can't wait to bring our kids back for a weekend adventure.
Reviewed by: Preacher on 3/26/2018 11:36:26 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: Hometown: MAMMOTH CAVE, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We traveled to Long C trails in September 2017 unfortunately same week that left over hurricane Irma traveled through... despite the weather we thoroughly enjoyed our week here. The trails are EXTREMELY well marked, you cannot get lost! The trails are gorgeous, traversing hills and valleys, through fields, and along lazy rivers. The trails are quite challenging and rugged in places. They are primitive for the most part in the woods. The field trails are some farm roads. The camp is clean, well organized, and extremely well maintained. Dogs are welcome. The owners - Jack and Jean - are friendly and helpful. They have a small store with t shirts. They have ice and hay for sale. There are stalls if you so desire or you can keep horse are the site in the woods. Some sites have electricity and water. WiFi is set up to reach all areas of the campground. It is close to Mammoth Cave and we traveled there to visit the Caves one rainy day. There is a Food Lion in Scottsville about 30 min away. There are cows on some of the trails and you do ride close to them. We will definitely be back! They have an area for day riders to park as well.
Reviewed by: RachelV on 9/13/2017 6:40:03 PM
More reviews by RachelV
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/12/2017 Hometown: Chardon, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This was our second trip to Long C Trails. We were scheduled to go to Land Between the Lakes but due to the Government shutdown, that was cancelled. We met our friends from Indiana there and had a great time despite the weather. We loved the trails and riding among the cattle. Opening the gates wasn't a problem for any of us. The staff at Long C was very cordial and accommodating to us when we arrived. Especially the Barn Manager Christin. She was great! We will be back to ride and camp there again soon!
Reviewed by: Suzanne on 11/1/2013 12:53:21 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/15/2013 Hometown: Leoma, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Back from another trip to Long C and this is one of the better camp grounds we visit during hot weather. The sites around the office are almost all in full shade which is very nice to have on a hot afternoon. We rode early each morning to avoid the heat of mid-afternoon and if you ride on the creek side of camp there is plenty of water to be found. However, the back side is more challenging and has less water during the dry times of the year. Since our tie-outs were in the shade all afternoon we were able to leave the horses at the trailer until we moved them to the barn stalls for the nights. We enjoy coming to Long C and I would recommend trying it if you enjoy single file riding and a family atmosphere campground.
Reviewed by: Mike on 7/2/2012 12:41:40 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/23/2012 Hometown: Hartford, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Nice campground with nice hitching rails on your site (or stalls are available). Camp hosts were friendly and helpful. Trails were pretty and well maintained, with lots of creek crossings. We really enjoyed swimming with our horses in the swimming hole. The trails are well marked and have good maps. There are several gates to go through, but most can be opened/closed on horseback and provide a good training opportunity. There is barbed wire near the trail in some places to watch out for.
Reviewed by: Kirrily & Tyler on 6/20/2012 5:06:34 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 6/16/2012 Hometown: Crestwood, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I would have given the camp a higher rating, but I have never seen so many dogs running loose in one place, with dog crap everywhere, but especially around the office/bath house/restaurant. Dogs begging in the outdoor restaurant, even the neighbor's dogs. I'm a dog lover and have 2 of my own, but this was too much. Also too many men hanging around the office smoking (p.u.)The trails were okay, but a lot of gaits to open and close, and most were the type where you have to get off of your horse to open and close them. I'm glad I went, but will probably not go back.
Reviewed by: Julie S. on 5/10/2012 4:08:09 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/9/2012 Hometown: Athens, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Great trails for anyone. Easy to challenging. Lots of woods and hills,some challenging hills and some flat ground. Plenty of water to water horses and some deep enough to swim your horse. Great fun. Beautiful scenery (almost like the Smokey Mts, nice folks and clean campground. Great for the whole family. We have been several times and it is always a joy and thrill.
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 10/17/2011 9:16:34 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/15/2011 Hometown: White House, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Just returned from our second trip to Long C and it was another great time. Jack and the crew at Long C have done a lot of work to the trails and now have new maps and all the trials are numbered... You really can't get lost here... The camp ground is nice with new 30 amp plugs and water at each site, and the shade is very nice. The shower house was very nice and clean with 3 shower stalls. We got stalls in the front barn this time and the stalls were clean and big enough for my 16 hd QH with sawdust already in the stall. There is food served on the weekends that include a fish fry on Friday night and Breakfast in the mornings. There is also a Church service on Sunday morning. I would encourage you to give Long C a try and enjoy some really nice riding.
Reviewed by: Mike on 10/16/2011 5:57:02 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/14/2011 Hometown: Hartford, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

if you can count you can follow these trails. a little on the rugged side.hard to find.narrow road to get there.i liked it.will go back.
Reviewed by: walker on 10/12/2011 11:26:04 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/1/2011 Hometown: sunbury, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

To the Long C Crew, We would like to thank Jack and the Long C crew. The riding was great and the accomidation excellent. I would recommend Long C to anybody,and plan on as many return visits as possible. Again thank you for taking the time to make us feel welcome and the hard work u do on the trails and campgrounds.Till we meet again.
Reviewed by: Jackie@Wesley Gore on 5/14/2011 5:28:36 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/7/2010 Hometown: Lexington, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Excellent riding experience. Everyone is friendly. Highly recommend to all trail riders.
Reviewed by: Randell on 4/3/2011 2:07:26 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/22/2010 Hometown: Lafayette, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We just returned from our first trip to Long C and I must say that the staff goes out of their way to make sure you have the best stay they can. The camp grounds are clean and the sites are nice. The stalls were clean and shavings were provided. We also ate several meals and food was good and very reasonable. The trails were well marked and the staff made sure to go over the map with us when we arrived. I will have to say that some of the trails are not for beginners but there is plenty of riding for all. I will be returning to Long C again would recommend you visit. Long C has a very nice church service every Sunday morning and they make sure to make you feel welcome. This is definetly a family campground with a great atmosphere. They even have a play ground for the kids and had a band on Sat night. Also... one of our party had truck problems and they did everything they could to help us get the truck fixed and on our way home. In closing, you realy need to check out the river crossing and swiming hole... Beautiful..
Reviewed by: Mike on 10/17/2010 7:06:43 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/16/2010 Hometown: Hartford, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

the trails were very well marked they u bring your dogs on the trail, alot of creeks on the trails. the bathhouses were excellent.people are nice.campgrounds competely shaded
Reviewed by: stephanie and carly on 10/10/2010 5:37:09 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/6/2010 Hometown: nashville, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

My husband & I use Long C to strength train for NATRC rides. We love it and it's close to home. Lots of water, steep incline/declines and lots of wooded trails. There are alot of gates, but we use them as training opportunities. The challenges are perfect for us, but most of the trails may not be suited for beginners, timid riders or green horses. Shorter trails and an easy to get to swimming hole are great for those listed above.
Reviewed by: Heather on 9/19/2010 3:03:29 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 9/6/2010 Hometown: Springfield, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Our stay at long c was really nice, the stalls were clean,( bring your own water & feed buckets)The staff was excellent, and everyone was friendly and laid back. they had a live band sat. night. As far a the riding, the trails were absolutely beautiful!! there are cattle and a few gates and i rode a 2year old, never been trail rode like that and no bad experiences, so i say long c rocks!
Reviewed by: katie reed on 7/5/2010 12:12:12 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 7/2/2010 Hometown: mt.pleasant, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

First I have to say that I was disappointed with the overall experience. The trail are very narrow, very rocky, fairly marked. Campground is layed out weird, stayed in the rustic cabin, it was ok, but no electric. BIG complaints 1. Riding fees are additional to your cabin rental fee. This was not mentioned over the phone. For 2 days and 2 riders, add $44 I was peaved, Also cattle are roaming all around the cabin area? Will go to Bandy , Circle E or LBL, never go back there.
Reviewed by: Dana on 9/9/2009 7:06:05 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/5/2009 Hometown: Dickson,, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Very nice campground. I have rental horses available for this trail riding location. All of my horses are well mannered and bomb proof. Please call or email for information. 931-565-3321
Reviewed by: Earl Webb on 6/3/2009 2:19:59 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/9/2009 Hometown: Minor Hill, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We've been riding at Long C Trails since it opened and love it. The trails are clean and clear. The owners are friendly and the atmosphere is family oriented. We recommend it to all our friends.
Reviewed by: Brenda on 2/3/2009 10:33:27 AM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 1/1/2004 Hometown: Lafayette, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Long C trails is one of the best trails I have ridden on. Long C has some of the best scenery in the state of Tennesse. It has some of the nicest folks in the country. I think Long C is the best.
Reviewed by: Bradley Borth on 11/30/2008 3:32:52 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 1/1/2004 Hometown: Scottsville, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

There were 6 of us that spent 4 days at Long C both in the Primative cabin and fully contained campsite. We rode, camped, relaxed, visited with new friends, ate and just refueled our over worked bodies. At Church on Sunday the minister along with the beauty of God's earth gave my daughter the calling to be baptized at the Long C river. A few weeks later on the 28th we returned and after Church the family along with other new friends rode the horses to the river where Katrina got baptized. After she got dried off in the bath house we rode the horses for 3 hrs. and had a most wonderful day. We highly recomend Long C Trails to everyone.
Reviewed by: Carol on 11/13/2008 7:06:53 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/28/2008 Hometown: Lynchburg, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We've been riding here since they opened. We live only 15 from Long C Trails. Good Christian facility for families. We love it!!
Reviewed by: Randy & Brenda Lowe on 4/29/2005 3:54:43 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 4/23/2005 Hometown: Lafayette, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Very nice trails and campground. The staff is friendly and helpful. I loved cowboy church on Sunday morning!! I am looking forward to going back in the fall.
Reviewed by: Andrea Johnson on 6/29/2004 9:11:39 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/12/2004 Hometown: Fayetteville, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Love to move there. Staff is unbelievably helpful. Bathhouse is clean. Wonderful environment for children,women,and dogs. I go alone (with dogs) and always feel safe. Trails can be as hard or as easy as you want them to be. Wonerful creek, never far from some source of water for your horse even in hot dry weather. Have been to East Fork and Natchez Trace and Long C Trails is by far the best and most likely only place I will camp at in the future.
Reviewed by: Sheila Coffman on 5/4/2004 5:42:28 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 4/12/2004 Hometown: Sewanee, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Super River Crossing! Friendly staff, very clean bath house!
Reviewed by: Luke on 12/9/2003 11:15:12 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/28/2002 Hometown: Fairburn, GA