HorseTrailDirectory.com
Trail Riders Helping Trail Riders
Home    Riding Trails    Review Camp    My Reviews    Add/Edit Location    Photo Album     Web Links

Reviews for East Fork Stables  
(click on name for more information)

Jamestown, TN

Overall TRAIL RATING with 62 votes:
Overall CAMP RATING with 63 votes:

Enter your Trail and/or Campground Review 

Individual Reviews

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Rented a cabin within the campground with stall behind the cabin. The cabin was perfect, the stall were good. The trails are well maintained. The people at East Fork and in the local community were very friendly and helpful. Jamestown has everything you need with in a very short drive. This is our second stay at East Fork and we like it better every time we go. Our only complaint is we don't live closer. Looking forward to going back next year.
Reviewed by: L. Mitchell on 6/28/2016 12:46:49 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 6/11/2016 Hometown: Big Island, Va

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Love, love, love it here. Trails are amazing and well marked staff is great. Camping spots are crowded close together which I am not a fan of but who cares with trails and courtesy like you find here plus they have a horse playground, arena, great barn, and great security. I was concerned for years about the level of experience I'd need to ride these trails as I'd heard so much about riding the edge but that is one trail that you have to request to ride and prove you can ride. I've had double partial knee replacements and can say these are trails any intermediate rider can handle easily plus they are wide. Overlooks are amazing and if your horse is out of shape if stay off trail F as it is long pulls up hills and then long down. Not aggressive just long and hard pulls and no reason to do them if you don't prefer it. Plenty of others to ride and you see the same great stuff. We've made an annual adventure of it. Love it.
Reviewed by: Marion miller on 1/6/2016 12:16:56 AM
More reviews by Marion miller
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/2/2015 Hometown: slaughters, ky

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Just, OH WOW! We camped for a week at East Fork Stables and had a blast. You can choose the type of trail you want to ride, from easy to challenging and the overlooks were breathtaking. At the overlooks, there are high-lines to tie the horses up and most have picnic tables to enjoy a nice lunch. The stalls were clean and spacious. I had a stall with a defective snap and within a VERY short time, a new snap had replaced the old. Your first bag of shavings are complimentary and these people go out of their way to make sure you and your horse are comfortable. Garbage pickup right at curbside every day. Picket lines right behind the campsite for saddling convenience. There were at least 3 or 4 trailheads right out of camp. This is a for-sure, will come back to place. Oh, and EASY to get into with a big rig! That's important for those of us that like our creature comforts. Way to go East Fork! You are a STELLAR campground!
Reviewed by: brncntry on 9/26/2014 3:18:10 PM
More reviews by brncntry
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/8/2014 Hometown: Havana, FL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

A very friendly young lady was working the front desk and was helpful pointing out areas we didn't want to miss. A group of 3 of us rode all day today and loved the well marked trails. Lots of wide sandy trails, minimum mud and trails that would suit both beginners and those wanting to pull some hills. The waterfall and all the scenic overlooks are amazing. We are looking forward to riding at East Fork again in the spring.
Reviewed by: M Jett on 11/9/2013 8:53:59 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 11/9/2013 Hometown: McMinnville, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I ride at East Fork a lot and am always pleased with the trails and the staff. There is a variety of terrain depending on what you want to do that day and there are enough trails to ride something different for several days. Unlike other areas near/in Big South Fork, you don't have to ride the same trail every day to get to a different trail. The staff is always super nice and helpful and the grounds are always well maintained no matter if they are packed or only a few campers there! Can't wait for them to open York Gap up again!
Reviewed by: docsmom on 10/15/2013 9:09:22 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/5/2013 Hometown: Huntsville, al

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

One of my favorites!
Reviewed by: Julie Anthony on 7/5/2013 5:11:24 PM
More reviews by Julie Anthony
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 6/30/2013 Hometown: Morriston, FL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Stayed in Pearl Cabarn 5 days. Great cabin/clean/everything you need except food. Nice stalls. Trails were a little wet/they had lots of rain but dried out nicely. Nice trails, lots of riding. People really helpful. Nice little town. Great trip, we have found our new favorite vacation spot!! We will go back!!
Reviewed by: LORRIE on 6/11/2013 10:11:16 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/26/2013 Hometown: BIG ISLAND , VA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Camped and rode at EFS for 4 days this past week. Campground was clean, well kept, roomy. Stalls are great. We were in barn D, so it was a new one. Stalls are 10x10, which is a good size. Trails are well marked. Most we rode were easy to moderate. We rode one that was more challenging, and I heard from other riders that there were some challenging trails. Staff was helpful and friendly. We'll be back when the leaves are off the trees so we can see even more of the beautiful overlooks.
Reviewed by: pale dry pete on 6/9/2013 4:01:09 PM
More reviews by pale dry pete
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/8/2013 Hometown: southeastern , IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

ALL AROUND BEST FOR ALL KINDS OF TRAILS. GOT TO BE THE PRETTIEST BLUFFS EAST OF THE ROCKIES.....SITES AND STALLS AAAAAAAAA. BEEN THERE OVER AND OVER AND WILL GO BACK OVER AND OVER. GET THE MEAL PACKAGE WHEN THEY OFFER. WE WENT YEARS WITHOUT AND THIS TIME AT THE COWBOY AND INDIAN RIDE WE DID. AWSOME HOME COOKED. WE HAVE BEEN MISSING SOME VERY VERY GOOD AND ECONOMICAL FOOD. STONE MOUNTAIN BAND ON SATURDAY WAS GREAT. ALL AROUND BEST. LOVE IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!CAN'T SAY ENOUGH ABOUT THE AMOUNT OF TRAIL RIDING YOU WILL DO!!!!!!!!!!!
Reviewed by: J Crane on 5/21/2012 5:42:02 PM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 5/16/2012 Hometown: Blountville, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We used to be true EF campers, would not think of going else where.But EF has changed. Staff are not freindly or accomodating as they used to be.The bath houses are not maintained as they once were however the grass and the rest of the campgrounds are neat and clean. The new barn is nice with safe and secure stalls. We liked the trails well enough,but no new ones have been opened in years. Having the oppourunity to purchase food or not was a plus. Now it is our understanding you do not have the option. The partys at EF have all been nice and maybe, they could offer a party pass option with out the food for those campers that want to bring their own food. I also noticed that there are not many reviews for the 2012 season.
Reviewed by: Adcock on 5/21/2012 12:15:23 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/17/2012 Hometown: Smithville, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Have been riding East Fork since it opened. Always love it but the office staff is not friendly or welcoming.All the trails have been made beginner easy.Sure miss a little more difficulty. The campground and stalls are terrific and always have been.Just miss the friendly smiles and super fun trails of the past. a trails have been made
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 4/22/2012 3:23:45 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/6/2011 Hometown: , GA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Did not camp at East Fork - Rode the trail which are very nice. Beautiful overlooks. Will definately go back!
Reviewed by: X on 4/13/2012 8:38:37 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 4/7/2012 Hometown: Nesbit, MS, MS

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

would love to know why eastfork is closed till april
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 12/14/2011 1:42:45 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/5/2010 Hometown: , Select State

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Been going to EFS for around 12 years.Been a lot of other places, but EFS is simply the best. Gen. Mgr Phil Hopson & his entire staff are always extremly courteous & helpful. Camp sites are great & they have any type trail you could wish for. A little pricey, but remember the old saying, "you get what you pay for.
Reviewed by: Earl & Linda on 11/22/2011 12:41:54 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/13/2011 Hometown: Knoxville, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This was our 3rd trip to East Fork in the past year. We really like the campground - it is well maintained, clean and most spots are shady. The trails are great - they range from easy to agreesive and the office provides a map that is really handy. We haven't had any complaints - it's our favorite place to camp and ride.
Reviewed by: Alex & Tammy on 5/30/2011 1:16:11 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/30/2011 Hometown: Springfield, TN, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Jan & Lakota from Greenville Sc just got back from East Fork Stables in James Town Tenn for the Derby Ride. It was absolutely beautiful! They have several barns, Lot's of great camping spaces, delicious food,friendly people and trails that will make you think you have entered the Enchanted Forest . The trails are VERY clearly marked & well maintained .A variety of riding,from easy, moderate to challenging. They also have a large riding arena, round pin, and Extreme Cowboy obsticals to practice on . I can not wait to return !
Reviewed by: Jan on 5/13/2011 7:36:02 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/5/2011 Hometown: Greenville , SC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Eastfork used to be THE PLACE! Many changes since I was last there. It is not as friendly or as organized as it use to be. Trails have been watered down to where they are not very challenging for riders that like more than a wagon trail. It is all business in the office now, not welcoming like it use to be. Wish I had not gone and could remember the way it was when Ms. Bobby was on the front porch waiting for us to come in and get started on a wonderful riding trip. Need to work on maps some also. Still nice place BUT nothing like it use to be! Barns and campground nice.
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 11/1/2010 11:06:46 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/10/2010 Hometown: Toney, AL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

A lot has changed since we were at Eastfork last. Some of the trails were changed and made too easy. We like to trail ride so riding three abreast down a "trail" isn't our kind of riding. If you can get there in a car, "why ride"? However, had a wonderful time anyway and really enjoyed York Gap but had to ride five miles in the sun to get to the trail head. Great place but really did enjoy it more the way it used to be. Camp sites are the best and stalls are really nice. Map could use an update or two. All in all considered we had a good time and I'm sure we'll go back again, someday.
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 10/13/2010 11:19:11 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/10/2010 Hometown: , Select State

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

great memorial day weekend great facilities great well marked trails doesnt get a lot better than this
Reviewed by: chris and brenda on 9/10/2010 7:11:52 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/28/2010 Hometown: Cross Plains, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We spent labor day weekend at East Fork Stables and had a great time. The trails were excellent, with some wide and easy and others narrow and steep. A good mix for all level rider. The scenery was beautiful. The kids and I followed the trail down to the bottom of the water fall. Great hike for all. The only negative was that the markings for the trails were initially a littel confusing, but after riding a few times we were easily able to orient ourselves on the trails. We stayed in a cabin with 3 of our kids and everyone enjoyed the stay. Great hospitality and excellent meal at the campsite on Saturday night. We will definitely return!! It was worth the 3 hour drive.
Reviewed by: Aubrey on 9/9/2010 9:46:44 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 9/4/2010 Hometown: Rineyville, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Oh how we love East Fork!! We have ridden at many different places and East Fork by far tops them all. I can't wait until next Memorial Day so we can go back. The campgrounds, the barns, the hospitality---everything is TOP NOTCH!!! If you have not been to East Fork, you have to go!
Reviewed by: Stacy on 6/13/2010 8:59:22 PM
More reviews by Stacy
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/26/2010 Hometown: Orland, IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Five stars to you all the way Eastfork. We love everything about you.
Reviewed by: Sherry on 5/3/2010 11:16:58 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 4/29/2010 Hometown: Sparta, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We ride East Fork often and we have the trails!
Reviewed by: Betsy Blackstock on 1/14/2010 7:47:27 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 11/28/2009 Hometown: Knoxville, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Reviewed by: charles on 1/14/2010 4:58:13 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 9/7/2009 Hometown: montgomery, AL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We have been to East Fork Stables many times, usually about twice per year. This trip was in conjunction with the TQHA ride. Again and again we are always treated very well and really don't want to leave. The camping and trails are among the best anywhere and when East Fork Stables does up the food, well it would be tough to beat prime rib dinner and full counrty breakfasts. The staff is always at the top of their game to make it the best experience possible.
Reviewed by: Mike on 10/5/2009 12:23:00 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/3/2009 Hometown: Columbus, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This was my first visit to East Fork Stables, and I was very impressed with their entire operation. The employees are very friendly and helpful. At check-in, when we were given copies of the trail maps, the girl in the office marked off one section of trail that was closed, and told us not to go on another trail due to recent heavy rains. All trails were well-marked and well-maintained, with some beautiful overlooks and places to stop along the way (many of which provide tie lines, picnic tables, trash cans. Shower house was always kept clean, shower heads were in good working order with plenty of water pressure and warm water. Coin-operated washers and dryers were very convenient. We were there for the SHOBA weekend, where breakfast and dinner were served as well as entertainment on Saturday evening. Though it rained a little every day that we were there, it was still a wonderful experience and I would not hesitate to go back!
Reviewed by: Audrey on 10/5/2009 12:06:41 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 9/20/2009 Hometown: Cincinnati, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We have been trailriding out of different campgrounds for over 15 years and consider East Fork to be one of the best. We try to include East Fork three to four times a year in our trips. The barns, trails, mapping system, campsites and staff are tops. I know my horse is comfortable and is not cramped up in a small stall. I always consider stall sizes when choosing a campground. They have beautiful trails for all levels of riders. They have one of the easiest to follow mapping systems that I have seen for trailriding. The campground is one of the best maintained with everything you could need. Their very friendly staff always makes sure that our stay is a happy one. Also, we love getting in on their organized rides. Nothing like having someone else cook you a great breakfast, lunch and dinner while you ride all day.
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 8/27/2009 1:10:51 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 8/1/2009 Hometown: , TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Wow! We had a great time at East Fork Stables! We have camped and ridden our horses all over the midwest and have even been to the Black Hills in South Dakota...but our new favorite place is East Fork! The staff is very nice, helpful, and friendly. The stalls are great...and the watering system on the stalls is second to none! The campground is well maintained and offers everything from primitive to class A camping. The shower house in the class A section is air-conditioned and has a washer & dryer! Every day we went out we found ourselves loving the trails. There is enough riding for a week and the trails vary from easy to difficult so there is a lot of good riding for all levels of experience. We also visited many of the local restaurants and found that most of them close up early except on the weekends. We also took a day and visited several other campgrounds in the area. We were glad that we were staying at East Fork...as their facilities were far superior to any of the other campgrounds we visited.
Reviewed by: Pete Jackson on 8/16/2009 12:40:54 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 8/13/2009 Hometown: Wadsworth, IL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Wonderful trails with lots of overlooks. Trails for all level riders. Can't wait to go back. More expensive than other campgrounds though.
Reviewed by: donna aka 5.5 on 8/3/2009 7:31:59 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/1/2008 Hometown: pendleton, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Great staff and trails. The only complaint I have is that they seem to me to be overcharging. I.E. They charge you to camp, charge for your horses, then charge a fee for you to use their trails (per rider). I think the trail use ought to be free if you are paying for the campsite and the horse fees. Just my thought. Also we visited on a Luau Ride...great, but we had a non-rider with us and although we paid the extra fee for food and entertainment he missed out on the lunches because they were on the trails...food should have been provided for the non-riders at the campground because they paid for it also. Great place if you are not on a budget. My family may have to start looking elsewhere because unfortunately we are.
Reviewed by: Frances Wooden on 7/27/2009 8:42:47 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 4/1/2008 Hometown: Pikeville, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

our group of women (no men, no kids getaway) have been going to East Fork for 4 or 5 years now and like most visitors, we always have a wonderful time. Rain or shine. We especially like to go when they have the organized rides (we don't ride with them) but we thoroughly enjoy the FOOD! It is always the best. The staff is extremely helpful and attentive and we always thought it was because we were their favorite campers... Come to find out, they treat everyone that special. A small blow to our egos but we can live with it. The parties and entertainment are always a great time. We have gotten turned around a few times on the trail but a phone call to the office will put you back on course. We have tried several other areas in the past few years and have finally decided not to waste any more weekends. Just go to East Fork! Thanks guys, we love y'all.
Reviewed by: Bev on 7/21/2009 4:15:10 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 1/5/2009 Hometown: Smithville, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Very nice campground. I have rental horses available for this trail riding location. All of my horses are well mannered and bomb proof. Please call or email for information. 931-565-3321
Reviewed by: Earl Webb on 6/3/2009 2:15:23 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/1/2009 Hometown: Minor Hill, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We loved it and can't wait to go back. The weather can change very quickly in the fall and spring and is pretty cold in the winter. The campsites are shaded and semi private, you don't feel cramp with too many people by you. The staff was very friendly. This was our first experience camping and horseback riding and we loved it. The stalls were also large and very clean.
Reviewed by: Renee on 5/1/2009 6:28:14 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/25/2008 Hometown: Dalton, GA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Very nice campground. Employees were very helpful. We were able to borrow their camp trailer to take horses to other trail heads. Bath house was very clean. I loved the stalls in the main barn and so did our horses! Very large and thick bedding. Perfect after a 12 hour ride in the trailer. Beautiful trails and not too difficult for younger horses and beginner riders.
Reviewed by: Lindsey on 2/19/2009 2:25:53 PM
Experience: Beginner Ride Date: 10/16/2008 Hometown: , WV

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Campground is very nice and easy to get in and out of. There are plenty of different sites to chose from. Their barn is in wonderful condition with plenty of space. the people their are more than friendly, and are their more than happy to help you with whatever you made need. the price is more than reasonable considering the sites,staff,barn,and trails. there trails are easy to read and have beautiful overlooks at the top of the mountains. Cant wait to go back next year; we will go back many times.
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 2/2/2009 7:02:38 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/7/2008 Hometown: lyman, SC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

ABSOLUTELY the best place I've ever ridden. Camp is very nice, barn is super and the trail's are wonderful. The people are the best you will find anywhere. Made us feel right at home everytime we have gone and we have been there many times. I would recommend East Fork to anyone with trail experience looking for a good ride. I hope I live to go back many times.
Reviewed by: Terry Butterworth on 11/30/2008 8:35:41 AM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 1/1/2004 Hometown: Oxford, AL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We love East Fork, we have been going there every year for about 6 years. The owners have really made this a wonderful place to go. Great stalls and camp sites. Love the hospitality. Can't wait to go back!
Reviewed by: Stacy on 10/4/2008 9:21:16 PM
More reviews by Stacy
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/1/2008 Hometown: Orland, IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

The campground is very nice. Level sites and full hook-ups. The bath house was very clean and had a washer and dryer. The trails are well marked and vary in difficulty. The barn had big stalls and water supply at the stall. We went to a few of the other Big South Fork campgrounds in the area to see what they had to offer. None of them were as nice as East Fork. Coming from I-75 South easy roads for big rigs. Wal-mart and resturants six miles away in Jamestown.
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 7/20/2008 2:33:20 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 7/10/2008 Hometown: Batavia, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We were at east fork in 2000 and we had a great time at east fork. the trails were set up for what you wanted. the trails were marked good and if wanted agressive or jentle ,it wasw there for you. they have menny senic over looks where you can see the valleys below. a great place for a great time.
Reviewed by: ann petersen on 6/14/2008 7:31:18 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 1/1/2004 Hometown: la porte, IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

East Fork has the best trails. The campground and cabins are lovely. This is my favorite place.
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 4/10/2008 6:58:22 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 1/2/2008 Hometown: , Select State

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We went to East Fork in Nov 2006. We were not pleased at all. the campgrounds were unlevel. When you stepped out of your trailer you had to be careful or you might roll down the hill. Also the same with the back of the trailers. They were built up so high. The barn was to far from the campsites, and the people told us that we could use trailers to go to Big South Fork and ride, but when the day came, they could not help us. They only gave us 1 trailer, so some of our group decided no to ride. The people were not very friendly when asked questions. The trails were ok, but we found that the trails at Big South Fork were much better. We went back in 2007 and stayed at True West and that was a great place.
Reviewed by: Chris on 2/20/2008 12:40:08 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 11/1/2006 Hometown: Delta City, MS

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We had the chance to ride the beautiful trails at East Fork, the campground is great and the staff is wonderful.
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 11/24/2007 7:39:16 AM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 11/16/2007 Hometown: , TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Trails are okay. Campground is over-rated I think. You make reservations, but aren't guaranteed to even get a stall, even though you paid for one. The prices have gone up twice in the past 2 years. One gets the feeling all these folks are interested in is getting you to buy property from them. I'll be riding at Big South Fork from now on and leave East Fork to the land speculators.
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 4/5/2007 1:09:10 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/1/2006 Hometown: , KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This is a nice open facility with many amenities. The camping is good and the barn is pretty nice. The trails are nice, but could use some better mapping for their guests. It is difficult to determine distance. Some of the terrain is rough, but some is very nice. The Big South Fork area is a must see and has some beautiful backdrops. You can take a short trailer ride to some other trail heads for a change of pace if staying for several days.
Reviewed by: Patty Beaty on 2/24/2007 5:41:06 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 12/5/2006 Hometown: Loudon, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

After a long and hard battle trying to find a facility who would accommodate a Trail ride to benefit St. Jude Childrens Research Hospital Phil, the manager and Sandy a co-worker agreed. I might add that while I was a repeat customer in the past I was not know by name.However, the hospitality shown to me was impeccable. Before the event they were always willing to accomodate my every wish and on the day of the ride, auction, and dinner they were incredible. East Fork Stables is beautiful the people who manage it are friendly and the senic trails are well marked and breathtaking. The small group whom attended the auction and dinner helped to raise a total of $10600.00 for St. Jude. If you have ever had a child who has been sick then you can appreciate what raising this much money for the children and the doctors and nurses who are so committed to saving their lives ment to me. I owe it to everyone who so graciously helped and especially to East Fork Stables for their awesome team of equine individuals. Thanks East Fork!!!!!!!
Reviewed by: Christy on 12/3/2006 8:16:29 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/14/2006 Hometown: Paradise, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Reserved specific campsite with full hookup and panel to keep horse nearby. Didn't get site wanted and reserved. Horse was in barn 1/2mi from camp. Camp site not level and waste hookup had to run uphill. Hired guide to ride advanced trails, got up at daylight to get ready. Guide didn't show and about 9am was finally told she called in sick. I just packed up and left in dusgust. One trail did go on was nearly impassable due to wet and bog. Should have been closed. Otherwise, views I saw were spectacular, trails well marked and map accurate. If they had done what agreed to, would have been a nice ride. Have to think hard if I will drive 450 miles back or go to many other facilities nearby.
Reviewed by: Al Smith on 7/29/2006 7:24:45 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 7/28/2006 Hometown: Elba, AL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Spent our vacation at East Fork last year and was amazed with all the "sights". Anywhere you see a place to tie line your horse, please do so, get off and look around because there will be something spectacular to see. Favorite for the teenagers was riding their horses out on the Base of the Rock, even the horses enjoyed the overlooks. We rode a different trail everyday and still didn't get to see it all. Excellent staff, great campground, beautiful overlooks. We will definitely be back....WARNING!! Once you visit all others pale in comparison...
Reviewed by: Pam on 5/4/2006 2:18:04 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/28/2005 Hometown: Depauw, IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Very nice campgrounds. Cabins to rent. Stalls available for horses. Something for everyone- from easy trails to very difficult. We will go back!
Reviewed by: cq on 11/13/2005 1:42:24 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/18/2005 Hometown: , IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This place has it all! Accomodating staff, good quality food, live entertaiment and an AWESOME trail system. We made our next reservations during check out.
Reviewed by: leslie coyle on 9/30/2005 2:50:01 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/21/2005 Hometown: gaffney , SC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Great time even if the weather was awful! Just part of it. Great trails, food, barn, campgrounds, and people runing the place are wonderful! Want to go back this summer w/o a ride going on, just to camp, ride and relax.
Reviewed by: Wanda on 5/2/2005 2:55:33 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 4/22/2005 Hometown: , AL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Paradise lost. Everything you can dream about from the easiest to the most difficult, this place offers it all. Breath taking overlooks, well marked trails by the sign boards and great campground, stalls, water electric...When you've been here - you've been to it all.
Reviewed by: Bill and Laurie on 11/7/2004 7:50:33 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/3/2004 Hometown: Dyer, IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

If you are a "day" rider, don't try to go here when they have an organized ride going on. We did, and where told in no uncertain terms told not to ride on the trail they would be riding on...this after paying $10 a head to ride there! Nice scenery, but why pay when Big South Fork is so close and the trails are free!!! and even prettier.
Reviewed by: Julie S. on 5/26/2004 8:58:13 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/3/2000 Hometown: , TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Excellent Trails. Take a lunch and sit on huge rocks or pinic tables with a fantastic view of rock bluffs and overlooks. Great People. Good Barns and campsites. Private owned. No Park Rangers. 3 GeoCaching Routes--a new game which gives horseback riding a new challenge.
Reviewed by: Larry Anderson on 12/30/2003 9:52:45 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: Hometown: Knoxville, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I love East Fork for many reasons. First and foremost it is for the people that operate it. Everytime I go, I feel like I have come home to a family reunion! They remember your name and do everything in their power to see that you have a good time. The horse facilities are great too! As for the trails, they are pretty well marked and usually in good shape regardless of how much it has rained. They have some of the prettiest creek crossings with thick walls of mountain laurel around them. What a peaceful place.
Reviewed by: Prisi on 12/9/2003 11:09:33 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/25/2003 Hometown: Gallatin, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

One of the things I like most about East Fork is the number of overlooks alongside the trails. There are several trails that have been graded for use by carts, which are good trails for less experienced riders. There are also some very tough trails.
Reviewed by: Jo on 9/16/2003 10:18:29 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 9/4/2003 Hometown: Sunbury, Select State

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

East Fork is excellent. We drove almost 10 hours to go to East Fork and it was very well worth it. The trails were excellent. We truly enjoyed the campground and stables. We highly recommend trail riding at East Fork.
Reviewed by: Stacy on 7/15/2003 2:18:24 PM
More reviews by Stacy
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/29/2003 Hometown: Orland, IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We love The camping (full hookup) and the trails. We go to East Fork at least three times a year. You could not ask for better people than the ones that run East Fork.
Reviewed by: Elaine on 7/6/2003 12:20:59 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/30/2003 Hometown: Harrison, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Nice campground with your choice of primitive or hook-ups for your trailer. Tie out your horses or use one of the barns. Trails are well marked and mapped, and vary from easy to difficult. Very helpful staff. Be sure and bring your coggins test.
Reviewed by: Julie S. on 2/24/2003 1:05:25 PM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 2/24/2003 Hometown: Englewood, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating:  nbsp;Not Rated

Girls trip the last weekend of Sept --had a ball! Staff is so accomodating and accessable ! "Fast" & "Slow" groups organized or you can go out on your own. Trails very well marked if you have no sense of direction (me!)
Reviewed by: Pam on 1/6/2003 11:26:51 PM
Experience: Ride Date: Hometown: Franklin, TN