HorseTrailDirectory.com
Trail Riders Helping Trail Riders
Home    Riding Trails    Review Camp    My Reviews    Add/Edit Location    Photo Album     Web Links

Reviews for Pinecrest Campground and Cabins  
(click on name for more information)

Salem, mo

Overall TRAIL RATING with 15 votes:
Overall CAMP RATING with 15 votes:

Enter your Trail and/or Campground Review 

Individual Reviews

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

There are no enough good things to say about our stay at Pinecrest Campground. The hosts/Owners live on-site and are more than attentive to all your needs and requests. Ethan and Marie are very knowledgeable about local sites and attractions as well as great places to eat. The campground is meticulously kept and the new covered barns and stalls are absolutely gorgeous. Even though the temperatures were hot, our horses stayed cool and comfortable in the shaded barn with a beautiful breeze running through it. Great bathhouse with flushable toilet and all the hookups and amenities a campground can offer. The trails were fantastic and rocky as you would expect in Missouri. Shoes or other hoof protection on all fours is a must. There were many, many river crossings in the clear, rock bottomed river. We tend to be directionally challenged, especially on our first time visits but most of the trails were easy to identify and navigate. You will want to visit Susie Nichols Cabin, the old car and the man tree!! We will be uploading our tracks from View Ranger so others can follow the trails we took during our stay. The only downside at all to the trail was the itch weed we ran into. Two of our horses absolutely lost their minds forcing us to get off and rinse them in the river and lead them onto a wider trail to wait for the affects to subside. This is not unique to this area and not the first time we have run into itch weed and it certainly did not affect our trip. Ethan guided us on a kayak tour of the river which was a fantastic way to spend a hot afternoon. We also enjoyed a firework display at a neighbors which rivaled any high dollar show in a big city. Ethan was also kind enough to take us on a tour of the area on his UTV and show us some of the trails for our rides. We stayed during the week and had the entire camp to ourselves until the weekend rolled around. I would highly recommend staying during the week! You will get to know the owners well and experience much more than during a busy camping weekend. We rode for 5 days and averaged between 9-12 miles each day which suited us well. We travel a lot and have visited many places and this is definitely on the list for a return trip....maybe early spring or after a hard frost to avoid that darn itch weed!
Reviewed by: Stacy on 7/22/2016 11:40:38 AM
More reviews by Stacy
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 7/11/2016 Hometown: Palmyra, NE

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Our first time at Pinecrest and definitely won't be our last! Ethan and Marie are great hosts, make you feel like you've known them forever. We stayed in the cabin, very clean and close to shower house which is also very clean. Trails were awesome, loved all the river crossings! Going back 7/8,9,10/2016!
Reviewed by: Lilshetland on 7/2/2016 3:44:55 PM
More reviews by Lilshetland
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 6/10/2016 Hometown: O'Fallon, Mo

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This was our first visit to Pinecrest Campground and we loved it!!! We travel all spring,summer and fall trail riding. This is for sure one of our favorite camps/trails now. We cannot wait to visit again-:) Ethan and Marie are very nice folks and accommodating. Sites are large and well shaded. Facilities are clean and top notch. Trails were well marked and easy to follow. Yet still adventurous ! We made it to Big Creek one day and enjoyed their lunch. Tons of water and river crossings. Thank you Ethan and Marie for a great week! We are spreading the word!!! See you soon and take care! Phyllis
Reviewed by: phyllis on 9/30/2015 10:14:40 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 9/20/2015 Hometown: olathe,, ks

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This is a great campground. Ethan and Marie are great hosts. This was out first time riding these trails but not the last. We look forward to exploring the many miles of trails that run up and down the Current River, Creeks and Springs. This is a long story that I am not going to bore you with but let's just say we lost one of our horses. Ethan helped us search all afternoon for our horse with no luck. We needed to get on the other side of the river to continue our search. Ethan called a friend and was able to reach a land owner on the other side of the river so we could search there. We trailered two Polaris Razor All terrain vehicles to the other side of the river and continued our search there. It was getting late but before dark we found Skeeter. It was like finding a needle in a hay stack but with the great help of Ethan and Rod we made it happen. Will always appreciate the fantastic help offered by Ethan, Marie and Rod.
Reviewed by: Stew Cropper on 7/20/2015 5:49:19 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 7/17/2015 Hometown: Lake Quivira, KS

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This was our first visit to Pinecrest Campground and will not be our last. Ethan and Marie run an excellent operation. They were very attentive to all their guests but not to the point of being intrusive. This party of riders has been all over the USA and feel it equals or exceeds many others we have stayed at. Sites were found to be spacious and well shaded. Facilities (shower/toilet) were first rate. One member of our party no longer rides but tags along and Ethan took her out on some of the nearby trails on his Gator so she could see what she was missing. Trails were well marked and easy to follow; however, regardless how experienced some folks think they are can still manage to find their sense of direction challenged. Ethan goes the extra mile and ensures that all are back safe and sound. Stalls we used were covered and safe. We will return this July and be recommending this site to all we meet. Super location and exceeded expectations.
Reviewed by: Glenn Thompson on 5/30/2015 12:13:04 PM
More reviews by Glenn Thompson
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/18/2015 Hometown: Vienna, Il

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Well marked and maintained trails. Nice campground and facilities. Ethan and family are wonderful hosts and are working diligently on upgrades. Highly recommend.
Reviewed by: MacDaddy on 5/14/2015 1:17:28 PM
More reviews by MacDaddy
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/8/2015 Hometown: Central, MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We stayed there last fall under the new managment. They very helpful and have really improved the sites. They are working very hard to make it comfortable for their guests. We had a great time and am really looking forward to going back. Of course the trails there are wonderful along the Current River. If you haven't tried this camp you should!! Highly recommend it!!
Reviewed by: Sandy Williams on 2/1/2015 11:41:17 AM
More reviews by Sandy Williams
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 9/22/2014 Hometown: Clarksburg , MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Pinecrest is under new management. The new owners are working very hard to provide a fantastic camping and riding experience in the beautiful Ozarks of Missouri. Their personal touch to insure campers feel right at home, directions to trails, and just overall fantastic customer service. The Halloween ride was their first and it was a grand time with games, hay ride, dinner. Pinecrest is in good hands :)
Reviewed by: Lori Gilmore on 10/27/2014 3:03:00 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/26/2014 Hometown: Holts Summit, MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We have stayed at Pine Crest a couple of times this year under the new management. They are doing an amazing job of upgrading a campground. The trails are great. The campground is coming along very nicely. Each visit you can see more and more what this family is doing. They enjoy their work and take creature comfort very serious. Cant wait until our next visit.
Reviewed by: jtrailgirl on 10/27/2014 1:36:09 PM
More reviews by jtrailgirl
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/23/2014 Hometown: Columbia, MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We stayed at Pinecrest Campground before but this year was the best time we have ever had here. The new owners have upgraded the whole campground including new stalls. This is by far now the best campground we have stayed at for camping with our horses. We found the trails to be easy to follow. You will not be disappointed staying at this campground.
Reviewed by: John Cooper on 10/27/2014 11:38:26 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/28/2014 Hometown: Silex, Mo

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Had a great time. We have been here before but this was our first time with the new owners. They are doing an awesome job of updating. Highly recommend staying here. Very friendly.Great everything.
Reviewed by: Steve Hecker on 10/12/2014 3:38:13 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/2/2014 Hometown: Camdenton, MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We had a chance to enjoy the campground and the trails with our friends and thoroughly enjoyed our visit. Ethan and Marie made us all feel like family members instead of guests. The new pens are fabulous. We found water and electric available for our trailers and had gorgeous weather in the Ozark hills. Never before have I experienced a "movie night" while on a weekend trail ride - the oversized theater did John Wayne true justice in the Cowboys. Thanks again Tuttle family -you are on the right track with a great facility. See you again soon!
Reviewed by: Kathy Jaeger on 9/22/2014 7:35:41 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 9/20/2014 Hometown: edgar springs, mo

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Labor Day weekend at Pine Crest was the best. Ethan and family went above and beyond. they did a hog roast. Everyone had a great time.
Reviewed by: Carol Lay on 9/6/2014 8:38:01 PM
More reviews by Carol Lay
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/1/2014 Hometown: Salem, MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

For those campers looking for a clean,well kept campground with lots of shade for you and your horse,please visit Pine Crest, you will not be disappointed. The new owners have and are going above and beyound to make your visit a good one. We have been here several times and plan to return. Ethan and his family have made great improvements to this camp ground and have wonderful plans for further improvement, can't say i have seen a family work so hard at keeping their campers happy. It has been a pleasure and very enjoyable camping experience, so for those of you out there looking for that clean camping area with good trails, don't wait, go and visit Pine Creast. Ethan, Maria and Family thank you so much for making our stay enjoyable. Mary, Art and Christopher Moore
Reviewed by: mary moore on 8/3/2014 2:32:51 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 7/28/2014 Hometown: walshville, il

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Pine Crest is under new management, and they are very nice folks. They have great plans for the camp. We have stayed 3 weekends in a row and loved it. Had a great time with some old and new friends. Will be back in a couple of weeks and may stay for a week over Labor Day.
Reviewed by: Carol Lay on 7/29/2014 12:34:30 PM
More reviews by Carol Lay
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/30/2014 Hometown: Salem, MO