HorseTrailDirectory.com
Trail Riders Helping Trail Riders
Home    Riding Trails    Review Camp    My Reviews    Add/Edit Location    Photo Album     Web Links

Reviews for Big South Fork - A 5-Star Campground - Timber Ridge  
(click on name for more information)

Jamestown, TN

Overall TRAIL RATING with 74 votes:
Overall CAMP RATING with 73 votes:

Enter your Trail and/or Campground Review 

Individual Reviews

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Timber Ridge is one of my favorite places to camp and ride when we go to Big South Fork. We have stayed four times since April 2016 and enjoy the hospitality from Dee, Anthony, Sean, Jerry, Pat and the others who are so very willing to help with anything they can. Our trip this past weekend included a Thanksgiving dinner with all of the sides at no additional cost. This summer we attended both Poker Run rides and enjoyed all of the fun that came along with that. The obstacle course is always fun and the trails into Big South Fork are across the street from camp. Several scenic overlooks, dens/caves and the trails are well kept. When you camp at Timber Ridge you also have access to several miles of trails behind the campground with waterfalls and overlooks. Be sure to ask for a key to have access to the additional trails on the private side to see the beautiful lake.
Reviewed by: TammySelvidge on 11/28/2016 2:42:19 PM
More reviews by TammySelvidge
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 11/26/2016 Hometown: Cleveland, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Timber Ridge is a nice campground pretty good trails but I recommend while you are there to lock your trailors before going out to ride while I was there several things and some cash came up missing from my trailor. The trails are beautiful and scenic they are a must see. But from now on when I camp it wont be at Timber Ridge
Reviewed by: Jody Morris on 11/2/2016 7:29:25 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 9/15/2016 Hometown: Athens , Va

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Timber Ridge is a must visit campground in the Big South Fork area. The grounds looked like a resort with manicured lawns and beautiful landscaping. The stalls are a 4 out of 5 stars as they have started to develop worn spots in the middle...this is not unexpected with lots of use and easily fixed. I can't say enough about Sean and the great customer service he provided. He made sure to let us know he is living on the property and available 24 hours if we needed anything! Dee smoked chicken Saturday night and it was great! There were even leftovers for sandwiches on Sunday. It was so nice to see new t-shirts for sale and lots of horsey items for sale too. The poker ride was lots of fun and who wouldn't want to win a new saddle?! I want to tell all my friends about the campground but I don't want to tell them because they will book up all the sites and not leave room for me! LOL!!! This is not a party campground like some in the area, there is lots of socializing with other campers at the common area or playing corn hole in the evening. The obstacle course is great fun and the many trails that are easily accessible from camp make this a place you don't want to miss.
Reviewed by: trailriders on 7/4/2016 8:24:36 PM
More reviews by trailriders
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 7/1/2016 Hometown: Nashville, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Very nice camp, reasonably priced, great value. Shady sites, close to your stalls. Water & electric sites (30 or 50amp). Fire ring and picnic table at each site. No wifi. Fee for dump station, clean bath house, common area and covered deck that can accommodate large groups. Full kitchen available in common area. Centrally located barn with safe 10 x 10 stalls, bedded on your arrival. Corrals also. Water connection close to stalls, good ventilation in barn. Wash racks. Several trailheads out of camp that take you to BSF as well as private trails. Improved maps of the well maintained private trails, very well marked and easy to follow. Obstacle course and pond for fishing. Camp also has 3 cabins for those that don't have LQ, one has bath and kitchen, the others have sleeping quarters and are close to the bath house and common area kitchen. Big rig friendly. Dog friendly camp; leash rule. Sadly, leash rule is ignored by many campers. I wish people would give camp owners a break and just follow simple rules. Places like this are a privilege! Gets very busy on weekends and holidays, spring and fall.
Reviewed by: Anne Breen on 6/3/2016 11:30:29 AM
More reviews by Anne Breen
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/16/2016 Hometown: Macon, NC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Outstanding customer service even cleaned out my trailer stalls upon arrival and assisted hosing it out. Barn in center with campsites surrounding making easy access for horse care. Bathhouse clean and decorated. Kitchen and dining area available for use. Campsites shady. Even rental cabin available. Trails well maintained and unusually scenic with creeks, waterfalls, caves, cliffs and overlook all close to camp. Campground Manager Ronnie is always around for help or questions. Best horse camp yet seen in 20 years and will be my choice for Big South Fork area.
Reviewed by: Judy Wade on 4/17/2016 10:43:27 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 4/14/2016 Hometown: Paris, Ky

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We called at the last minute to see if there was an empty spot. They owners made room for us. The southern hospitality and the pampering we got was unlike any other horse campground we had ever been to.
Reviewed by: Russell B on 9/7/2015 9:57:02 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 9/5/2015 Hometown: Manchester, Tn

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Camping at Timber Ridge this weekend and having a great time. The trails are great, the campground is clean and comfortable. We called at the last minute and they had room for us so here we are. So happy to be able to get away a few days. Lee and Judy are here and everything is up and running. Yes, water, electric, everything is as it should be. If you have ever camped at Timber Ridge or have ever wanted to, please give Lee a call and make your plans to come. You may even be able to come this weekend still if you call today, I think there are a few sites still available? Not sure, but give a call to 931-879-7433 and check. Looking forward to coming again even though we haven't left yet. Ha ha.
Reviewed by: Donna B on 9/4/2015 2:37:36 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 9/4/2015 Hometown: Walling, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Heard the new owners are gone already they were very nice people , Web site is off and no one is answering the phone was told new management is taking over on 9/1/15
Reviewed by: ale on 9/2/2015 6:47:34 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 9/2/2015 Hometown: butler, ky

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Glad to see so many improvements!! My second trip back, and my first under new ownership was great. Will & Lisa are working hard to make the much needed improvements. They were personable and accommodating. There were 5 rigs in our groups, so Lisa put us in the front of the campground. There was plenty of room for us to "circle the wagons" and the shade was nice. Sites were fairly level, with a few picnic tables and fire rings provided. They also had splitters and electric adapters in the event we didn't. Nice touch! The bath house and kitchen were clean, which was a first time experience for me at this camp. We used the kitchen daily to prepare breakfast and found skillets, utensils and other needful things.. in the event you forgot yours or needed larger cookware. My trailer was cleaned out upon arrival, with stall cleaning services available daily for an additional fee. I took advantage of the stall stripping on my last day. As a lone woman it is so nice to have that service offered as it allows me to get packed out earlier and on the road home. T-shirts are offered and Lisa's been creative with them... several designs, styles and colors are available and priced right. Maps are good, they seem to be knowledgeable of their trail system, and if you want a trial guide, they can hook you up with locals who will show you around. The one change I'd like to see made, and I am sure it is in the works, is that the ice be made accessible 24/7. Currently the ice is in the office. Overall, I had a great experience and will return. My last visit there was in 8/2013 and I had said I'd NEVER be back... SO glad that I tried it again under Will and Lisa's ownership.... it was a great weekend!
Reviewed by: Vanessa Downey on 8/13/2015 3:44:54 AM
More reviews by Vanessa Downey
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 8/7/2015 Hometown: richmond, ky

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

The new owners have really been working on this place. Loved everything about our stay there. The bath house is very nice, love having our site right beside the barn and they are very helpful if you have any questions. We did miss them cleaning out our trailer upon arrival-just a little thing but it was such a nice extra. They had a dinner on Saturday night and local band came to sing and play-very nice and relaxing evening. Mostly rode the trails behind the campground and they are very nice with a nicely marked map too. The trails are always excellent in BSF. Can't wait to come back next year. Keep up the good work.
Reviewed by: kimmy on 7/29/2015 10:18:49 AM
More reviews by kimmy
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 6/24/2015 Hometown: Princeton, WV

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Loved the new "Timber Ridge". The owners have done a lot of work and are friendly and helpful. They have been working hard on restoring the campground to how it was. Had a great time-the only thing we missed was having our trailer cleaned out upon arrival-just a small thing but it was something that others (besides True West) didn't do. Our horses loved their stalls and loved riding behind the campground. Nice not to have ride down the same trail daily to get to other trails-they are right there!
Reviewed by: khaynes on 7/15/2015 3:27:37 PM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 6/24/2015 Hometown: Princeton, WV

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Private Trails were very scenic with water crossings, waterfalls, place to tie horses and picnic, or take a short walk to a waterfall. Even after a rainstorm, the trails were excellent, not muddy. Having direct access to Big South Fork trails from the campground was another huge plus. Obstacle course on site was alot of fun. New owners are great! RV sites have shade with easy pull through. Stalls are close to your site w/ water available at stall. Loved that! Bath house very clean. Enjoyed the BBQ and music. Will be back soon. The new owners are great!
Reviewed by: mitzi1294 on 7/1/2015 9:39:36 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/27/2015 Hometown: Crossville , TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Had a wonderful extended weekend at Timber Ridge Campground! Facilities were super clean, stalls had lots of bedding, trails were in great shape and Will and Lisa were wonderful hosts, couldn't ask for a more relaxing time!
Reviewed by: Mark Fitzner on 6/19/2015 11:53:14 AM
More reviews by Mark Fitzner
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 6/13/2015 Hometown: Livingston, tn

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Timber ridge campground is great barn and bath house centrally located safe big clean stalls. Great private trails and big south fork trails right from campground. Cabins are awesome. new owners will and Lisa are awesome very nice and campground family and friendly oriented. They make you feel like you have been friends forever. Hope to be going back in sept and oct. Vicky Campbell
Reviewed by: Princejava1 on 6/17/2015 4:57:02 PM
More reviews by Princejava1
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/9/2015 Hometown: knox, tn

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Decided to try out Timber Ridge again after some time of not going there. VERY PLEASED! Many trails right out of camp that are well marked. Direct access to Big South Fork trails right across the road. New owners, Will & Lisa are great folks and working hard to get everything going this season! Going back for July 4th weekend and hopefully again in August. Great family atmosphere, clean & neat bathhouse & kitchen. Barn & stalls are well kept and safe size for your horse. Water is convenient too
Reviewed by: TennTrailrider on 6/15/2015 10:05:40 AM
More reviews by TennTrailrider
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 6/5/2015 Hometown: Norene, tn

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We stayed at Timber Ridge Memorial day weekend. The new owners Lisa and Will were so great. They have already made improvements. If you haven't been here in a while it is a totally new experience. We are looking forward to our Labor day trip there
Reviewed by: David Lovain on 6/1/2015 12:40:03 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/20/2015 Hometown: Knoxville, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Will and Lisa were great hosts. The campground was nice and clean, and the trails were still awesome for either a short or a long ride. The stalls were very comfortable for our horses and close to the campsites. The rates were still very reasonable. We had a fun and relaxing time at Timber Ridge. We can't wait to return.
Reviewed by: Cynthia on 5/29/2015 8:47:42 PM
More reviews by Cynthia
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/6/2015 Hometown: Glasgow, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

So glad that Timber Ridge has new owners! Will & Lisa have great energy and will have the campground standing tall again in no time! TR is one of our favorite places to camp and ride. big rig friendly, 30 & 50 amp service, dump station, clean bath house, common area and covered deck that can accommodate large groups. Full kitchen available in common area. Centrally located barn with safe 10 x 10 stalls, bedded on your arrival. Corrals also. Water connection close to stalls, good ventilation in barn. Several trailheads out of camp that take you to BSF as well as private trails. New, improved map this year of the well maintained private trails, very well marked and easy to follow. Camp also has 3 cabins for those that don't have LQ, one has bath and kitchen, the others have sleeping quarters and are close to the bath house and common area kitchen. Dog friendly camp; leash rule.
Reviewed by: Anne Glaser Breen on 5/20/2015 7:34:48 AM
More reviews by Anne Glaser Breen
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/9/2015 Hometown: Macon, NC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Welcome to the new owners, Lisa and Will! They haven't been at the campground long but their hard work is already showing. The bathhouse was immaculate! The reason I did not give a 5 star rating to the campground is because they are working on improvements and cleaning up what needed attention before they bought the campground. Give them time to work out their routines and this will once again be the #1 5 start campground.
Reviewed by: trailriders on 4/14/2015 10:18:29 AM
More reviews by trailriders
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 4/10/2015 Hometown: Nashville, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We were there during the "off" season. We fell in love with the campground and area. Cabins were clean and shower house was great...(I hate nasty shower houses) . We did not get a chance to see all of the trails, but the scenery was amazing and trails behind the camp were very well marked. We spoke with another couple who was getting a lot of ride time in, and they were very pleased with the camp also. I would definatley recommend this camp. I have seen other reviews concerning dogs running loose. That was not a problem when we were there.
Reviewed by: Lisa Lynn on 1/23/2015 7:34:33 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 1/1/2015 Hometown: Fayette, Oh

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We camped at Timber Ridge and it was a joyful experience we got to see some beautiful scenery as we hiked to Wildcat Den and Hippy Cave the bathrooms were warm and very clean plenty of hot water the common area was clean with everything you need to cook your meals while enjoying the warmth of the heat from the wood stove. We cant wait to return in the summer for another wonderful weekend.
Reviewed by: Logan Stevens on 1/17/2015 11:57:43 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 1/9/2015 Hometown: Lafollette, Tn

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Cabins were nice and clean and well kept. Common area was clean bath houses are nice and clean and heated. We hiked to Wildcat Den and Hippy Cave and they were awesome. Next time we come we are gonna ride horses and enjoy more of the beautiful Big South Fork scenery.
Reviewed by: mathew stevens on 1/17/2015 11:47:29 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 1/9/2015 Hometown: Washburn, Tn

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This is our favorite campground and we go year round. Trails are well kept, varity of scenery and difficulty levels from nice easy relaxing to "let's go for a RIDE!" Wonderful layout of campground, campsites surround the barn and common area, each campsite has a fire ring. Lots of shade in the summer, but plenty of room to get rigs in. Clean, heated and cooled bath houses. There are a couple small sleeping only type cabins that are available. Never stayed in one but they are cute! A full kitchen for campers use in the common area (but please remember, this is a 5 star campground not a 5 star hotel..lol). Large covered deck area for socializing. I am sorry to see the small tack store go tho. There are trail heads that leave from the edge of the campground with varying length trails. We can't wait to go back.......which weather permitting we have the first weekend in JANUARY 2015 booked.....lol.
Reviewed by: Diane Kennon1966 on 11/25/2014 6:24:50 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/18/2014 Hometown: Cookeville, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I had a great time at Timber Ridge. The amenities are nice, the trails are great, Lee and Judy were helpful. The only negative I could find was the state of the kitchen; it could use some updating. I would definitely go back.
Reviewed by: Thistle_ink on 9/30/2014 8:30:59 PM
Experience: Beginner Ride Date: 9/25/2014 Hometown: Mcminnville, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Reviewed by: kaadams on 9/22/2014 6:52:18 PM
More reviews by kaadams
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 9/20/2014 Hometown: Snellville,GA, GA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I cannot say enough about the level of hospitality at Timber Ridge. I have never had any campground host/owner help me unload my gear/hay/feed, but Lee and Judy did just that upon our arrival. The campground itself is clean, shaded, well laid out. Stalls are very nice with free sawdust or shavings for sale if you prefer. The on site trails are great - I loved the yellow and purple trails. The BSF trails were also great, but not as well maintained as on site trails. We rode to the Sunday brunch at Bacarra's and it was AWESOME! While I was there on my own, my horse got away from me - I called the campground and Lee and Judy intercepted my horse on his way back to the barn and brought him back to me on the trail .... naughty pony! I shared a campfire with Lee, Judy and family twice while I was there. Lee's future daughter-in-law rode with me one day as well! Clean bath house, great cabins, corrals for some outside time for the horses. Timber Ridge is on my favorites list!
Reviewed by: kaadams on 9/21/2014 10:22:13 PM
More reviews by kaadams
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 9/20/2014 Hometown: Snellville,GA, GA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Life gets in the way sometimes and we get too busy but I'm glad I took a break & went to Timber Ridge. It has always been my "go to campground" & it was great to be back. As usual, Lee & Judy did a very good job. Lee cooked a great pork roast for the Labor Day celebration. In spite of the rain, the trails were not too muddy. I am looking forward to going back in October. A Big Thanks to Judy & Lee.
Reviewed by: N D Ave on 9/21/2014 9:31:14 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 8/30/2014 Hometown: Crossville, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I really enjoy camping and riding the trails at Timber Ridge Campground. The trails to several overlooks, dens and caves are very close to the campground and easy to get to. I can't wait to go again! Saddle up on Sunday morning and head to Bacaras for lunch, once you arrive - just hitch your horse and go in for lunch!
Reviewed by: TammySelvidge on 9/11/2014 10:52:08 AM
More reviews by TammySelvidge
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/1/2014 Hometown: Cleveland, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

love this place. Very friendly great hosts. trails are varied and fun. lots of room for gaited horses to walk on.lots of water also.
Reviewed by: Lynn Adcock on 9/3/2014 12:01:05 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/21/2014 Hometown: smithville, tn

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This is a dog friendly camp. This is one of the perks for us. We have dogs that live with us and are not kept on a chain, so we love that we have found a place where we don't have to keep them tied all weekend. There are plenty of camps that are not as dog friendly, this was a nice place for us to go and let our dogs enjoy the weekend as much as we did. Love LEE!!!
Reviewed by: monakygirl on 8/27/2014 10:59:02 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 8/27/2014 Hometown: Lancaster, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Timber Ridge is our favorite campground. We go once a month from May thru Oct. and November if it's warm enough..lol. The trails are THE BEST. We enjoy the wonderfully shaded campsites, clean barn, and nice large covered porch and common area. I love the creativity of the obstacle course and events the put on. Can't wait to actually make one of the cast iron cookoff weekends! The owners, Lee and Judy, go out of their way to make you feel welcome. I am heartbroken that they are selling, but look forward to new owners continuing their exceptional atmosphere and service.
Reviewed by: Diane Kennon on 8/27/2014 8:08:05 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 8/23/2014 Hometown: Cookeville, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Our little piece of heaven and family here! Some campground you they are your friends here it's like see your family! Love the camping and trails always making improvement! As a group of about 30 Lee took great care of us.. This time our 2&3 year old grand daughters when with they loved it. If your looking for a investment and want to meet new people you should buy Timber ridge, health reasons Lee is going to sell the campground. You couldn't go wrong! Can't wait to go back! Clean friendly campground and beautiful trails!!
Reviewed by: Carolyn Wooldridge on 8/25/2014 1:10:17 PM
More reviews by Carolyn Wooldridge
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 8/15/2014 Hometown: Finley, ky

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Timber Ridge is my favorite campground in the Jamestown area. The owners always make me feel like I've come home to family. The bath house was clean as was the common area where there is a full kitchen with plenty of seating and a pool table. The campground was clean and well maintained. The stalls were clean and in good repair with plenty of sawdust provided at no charge. (Shavings are available for a minimal charge). Another thing that I like about Timber Ridge is that when I leave, for only $5.00, they will strip my stall - something that I very much appreciate when I am trying to get packed up to go home after a Sunday morning ride. The trails are very well maintained and offer different levels of difficulty, but what I like best is that there are so many things to see. I go to so many campgrounds and ride for miles before I see anything, but at Timber Ridge, I can ride as few as 2 miles and see caves and lovely creeks. I've stayed at TR many times and have never been disappointed.
Reviewed by: Leesa Fisher on 8/22/2014 6:04:52 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 8/15/2014 Hometown: Knoxville, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Great location with good riding right out of camp, or there is a trailer available to get you to other more remote trailheads. I love the common room with wood burning stove and kitchen for our big group dinners. It's great on a cool fall night meal.
Reviewed by: deanna on 8/22/2014 5:57:27 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/20/2013 Hometown: Marlette, Mi

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Timber Ridge Campground is by far the best place I have had the pleasure of staying Lee and Judy go out of there way to make your stay as pleasant as possible they are very helpful in making sure you are comfortable. They have the finest trail maps around. The bath house and common area are always clean and well kept. The stalls are located close to the campsites. I just wish I could come back in a few days for Lee and Judys wedding but I am sad to say that I can not. But for sure I will be back in October. Love this campground.
Reviewed by: Pat/Larry on 8/6/2014 5:42:59 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 8/4/2014 Hometown: Bugtussele, AL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Always enjoy camping and riding at Timber Ridge and what great weather we had too! Thanks Lee
Reviewed by: LuvMyBucky on 8/5/2014 1:01:43 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 8/1/2014 Hometown: Tellico Plains, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Loved the campground! The stalls where great! I could look over and make sure my horse was ok. The water was very convenient had bucket brackets in the stall to hold your water bucket and even had hay manger/wall feeders in the stall. Very nice! Lee and Denise where very accommodating to our group and made us feel right at home. They also gave us lots of info on the lay of the land. Bath house was clean and nice. Loved the trails. Had everything from easy to extreme. Lee even has a trailer you can use to go to other trails if you would like to trailer somewhere else. I will go back in a heart beat! Thanks Lee and Denise!
Reviewed by: Tracey on 8/5/2014 6:56:50 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 7/28/2014 Hometown: Liberty, IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Searched for a campground that had more than just horse-related stuff since my husband & daughter were not riding & I was. Timber Ridge's campground was CLEAN, shaded, & comfortable for all of us! The stocked pond with dock was fun fishing & wildlife watching. The obstacle course & trails for me & my horse were great. The views were beautiful. Lee & Judy were SO welcoming & respectful. Love their dogs (Pete, Jake, Lakota, Haas, Eli, & Gizmo), too. Lee & Judy brought an ice cream cake & Pete & Jake serenaded my husband for his birthday! One of the many highlights of the trip! We will be back to Timber Ridge sooner than later! Highly recommend this campground. :)
Reviewed by: Jenny C on 7/15/2014 9:41:15 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 7/12/2014 Hometown: Mount Juliet, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Lee and Dee are always very welcoming and helpful. Camping and riding at Timber Ridge has always been very enjoyable.
Reviewed by: Cynthia on 6/30/2014 10:11:12 PM
More reviews by Cynthia
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/6/2013 Hometown: Glasgow, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Very clean and well run campground. Lee and Judy went out of their way to make sure our stay was perfect. Enjoyed the Saturday night carry in and smoked chicken. Had a great stay and look forward to visiting soon
Reviewed by: Glenn Martin on 6/26/2014 10:38:01 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 6/11/2014 Hometown: Valparaiso, IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I want to add that there are 3 large, very well behaved dogs belonging to the owners that follow them around the campground. They are not a problem to other dogs or horses. Very nice dogs.
Reviewed by: Ramonette Dugan on 6/25/2014 11:12:12 AM
More reviews by Ramonette Dugan
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 6/11/2014 Hometown: Pittsboro, IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Campground well kept and clean. including barns/stalls. Very nice, accommodating owners and help. Beautiful trails that were also well kept and marked. Trails were also rideable after several rains while we were there the second week in June. Many of the trails are wide enough to ride 2 side by side. Plan to camp/ride there next spring when the mountain laurel is in bloom. It will be gorgeous!
Reviewed by: Ramonette Dugan on 6/25/2014 11:00:40 AM
More reviews by Ramonette Dugan
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/11/2014 Hometown: Pittsboro, IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Very nice campground. Excellent Customer Service and great trails. Would definitely return to Timber Ridge.
Reviewed by: Stacy Hickman on 6/24/2014 8:20:01 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/8/2014 Hometown: Frankfort, IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I enjoyed going to timber ridge, that I plan on going back this October. My campsite was great with my stall just across the drive. The trails were well maintained and marked well. Can't wait to see how pretty it will be in the fall. Lee was very friendly and helpful.... Thanks!
Reviewed by: Donna Anderson on 6/24/2014 7:58:35 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/10/2014 Hometown: Carmel, IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I have been to BSF twice now but first time to Timber Ridge. It is quite a drive for me (8 1/2 hours), but it was so nice getting there and having my trailer cleaned out, fresh stalls, nice campsites and friendly owners. The barn is close to the campsites and very clean. They take care of taking away your manure from the barn and that was very nice. Lee fixed chicken Saturday night and everyone brought in a dish. Nice to get to meet everyone there. The trails are well maintained and well marked. We had several in our group come to the campground and they were all pleased with it and look forward to coming back. As a matter of fact, some of us have already made reservations for October of this year. Now one of my favorite places to go.
Reviewed by: DustyBritchesGal on 6/22/2014 9:12:48 AM
More reviews by DustyBritchesGal
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 6/9/2014 Hometown: Clinton, in

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

All around great campground. Love having trailer cleaned and hay delivered to a ready stall after a full day of driving.Beautiful trails that drained well after rain,safe stalls, clean bathrooms. Never been to a place that provided smoked chicken for the Saturday pitch-in before. Nice porch and meeting room for getting together .Will return
Reviewed by: Lynne on 6/20/2014 3:23:21 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/9/2014 Hometown: Pittsboro, IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This was a great weekend trip, the hospitality was wonderful, you could tell from when you first met Lee that he wanted you to have the best time you could possibly have, the campground was very well kept, the barn was wonderful,good set up, and stalls were clean and ready for the horses when we got there, and as a added bonus there was a obstable course on site to use and test your horse's skills, the trails were well maintained and marked, this was the first time we have been to timberridge but will definitly go back. would reccommend to anyone for a great get a way and relaxation trip
Reviewed by: dsnyder on 6/20/2014 5:29:12 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 4/26/2014 Hometown: Woodbury, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This was my second trip to BSF and my first to Timber Ridge. Lee and Judy add a special touch to the camping experience and our group of 15 plus felt right at home. Campsites are shaded. The barn is centrally located, clean, neat and tidy. Bathrooms are clean with plenty of hot water. Trails are beautiful and vary in difficulty. Overall a great week!
Reviewed by: Helen G on 6/18/2014 1:42:46 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 6/9/2014 Hometown: Vincennes, IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

The staff at Timber Ridge were great from the moment we arrived! They took us to the stalls, helped us unload and Cleaned my trailer while I settled my horses in!!! Dinner was a potluck that included wonderfully smoked chicken provided by TR! Many wonderful campers from all over gathered in the common area. The guides for the moonshine ride were absolutely wonderful as well! Everyone was made to feel welcome whether they are a camper or a local that hauled in just to enjoy the fun! No extra fee! Just a great time for all! The barn is centrally located and your can bring your horses to the site to tack up unlike other local sites here!!! No carrying saddles around at TR! yeah! If you wanna stay and enjoy more riding after checkout and your site is not reserved there is no up charge like other local campgrounds!!! Now the trails are absolutely beautiful as well and really on the border of Big South Fork and not just near BSF! I will be back for sure!!!
Reviewed by: wishduncometru on 6/18/2014 1:36:50 AM
More reviews by wishduncometru
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 6/15/2014 Hometown: Knoxville, tn

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This was my first time visiting Timber Ridge and let me tell you it was wonderful. Everything was clean and well kept the bathrooms were always clean and smelled nice. Lee and Judy met us at check in and cleaned our trailor and got our hay out and placed it in front of each stall. I have been to several campgrounds and never have I ever been treated with such hospitality. Timber Ride is by far my favorite place to camp. The trails are excellent with a direct access to the Big South Fork Park. A big thumbs up.
Reviewed by: Becky Shafer on 6/16/2014 5:56:03 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/14/2014 Hometown: Mayfield, Ky

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This was our 4th year camping at Timber Ridge. The trail access cannot be beat. You can access BSF as well as the private trails right from camp. There were some trail improvements from last year, the trails are very well maintained on the private side. The campground is showing some wear, but anything that we noticed was addressed quickly. After visiting most of the other campgrounds around the TN side of the park, we feel that Timber Ridge still has the most to offer. Campsites close to your horses, fire rings, picnic tables. Bathhouse is spacious, common area is large and has plenty of covered area for rainy days. The leash rule is not enforced, loose dogs are a pet peeve. Stalls are roomy and safe, water close to stalls. We look forward to returning, as always.
Reviewed by: Anne Glaser Breen on 6/15/2014 5:56:41 PM
More reviews by Anne Glaser Breen
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 6/7/2014 Hometown: Macon, NC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Camp was kept very clean, easy access to water for stalls and able to camp close to horse. Shaded campsites. My husband does not ride but loved the WIFI and the comfortable furniture in the common area. Favorite trails were those along the OW Railroad bed - water rushing through rocks next to trail very relaxing and pretty. Camp has miles of their own trails which were well maintained; Big South Fork Trails were just across the road. Easy access to other trailheads from camp.
Reviewed by: Morning Mist Acres on 6/7/2014 3:10:12 AM
More reviews by Morning Mist Acres
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/18/2014 Hometown: Central City, IA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Cast Iron Cookoff was a great time and DELICIOUS food!! Thanks Lee, Josh and Judy... it was a fun time as always :) Trails are great here.... some of our favorites :)
Reviewed by: nora miller on 6/2/2014 6:17:26 PM
More reviews by nora miller
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 4/19/2014 Hometown: Monterey, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

First let me say we had a wonderful stay at Timber Ridge. When we first checked in, there was some confusion as to sites and stalls, but Lee got everything worked out. He provided the Meat for a potluck for the camp on Saturday Night, and all was delicious. The trails were all pretty easy, except for one, Wildcat Den Horse Trail. If you are not an experienced rider, I would avoid till the trail is re-routed. All trails seem to be marked well. With one of the maps from Timber Ridge, we were able to get ourselves around on our first trip there. The only thing we did not like, were all the dogs. The dogs only on leash policy is not enforced. But, this was Memorial Day weekend/week that we were there and the campground was full. I would recommend very much visiting Timber Ridge Horse Camp. Camping and riding are worth it.
Reviewed by: tlsullenger on 6/2/2014 12:54:58 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/24/2014 Hometown: Kevil, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Lee and Josh are great, love my trailer being cleaned out and all the help,clean bathrooms
Reviewed by: Jackie Allen on 5/28/2014 2:15:41 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/25/2014 Hometown: Murfreesboro, Tn

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Timber ridge is one of my favorite places. The trails are awesome. The owners are awesome. Everybody should go there. Barn is close to your trailer. Bathrooms are nice and clean and have hot water. Live that your did can be . Just a great place all around. Thanks Lee and Josh.
Reviewed by: tonibeckelman on 5/27/2014 4:45:57 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/25/2014 Hometown: Louisville, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We really enjoy going to timber ridge each year. The staff are very courteous. The trails are great. Trails range from easy to moderate. Rates are very reasonable. Our only dislike is the owners let their dogs roam freely. We even noticed them in the community kitchen. Big turn off.
Reviewed by: lane2009 on 5/27/2014 1:59:46 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/24/2014 Hometown: Atlanta, ga

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Campground hosts are very accommodating. The campground is nicely shaded and there is sufficient space between the sites. The trails are easy to moderate, with many rock formations to enjoy. We will definitely go back.
Reviewed by: John Bates on 5/22/2014 1:11:45 PM
More reviews by John Bates
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 4/25/2014 Hometown: Harrodsburg, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This was my first stay at the Timber Ridge Camp and I have to say it was most enjoyable. Everyone that we met while our stay here was very nice and helpful. Lee gave us a map and marked some very beautiful trails to ride and we were very pleased. The trail head was located just across from the entrance from the camp. Almost all of the sites are shady. The common area and bath house were very clean and well kept. It was awesome just sittingby our campfire and being able to see our horses. The barn is so close to the camp sites. This place is amazing. I will definitely visit again soon. Thanks Lee and Josh for making my first visit to the Big South Fork and Timber Ridge so Pleasant.
Reviewed by: Alice Mckenzie on 5/21/2014 7:20:45 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 4/20/2014 Hometown: Cartersville, Ga

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We were a group of 4, with varying levels of riding experience. This was our first visit to this particular campground & was very pleased, not only with the campground, but the trails as well. You have direct access to BSF & private trails, & both were well maintained. The location was back off the main road, which allowed for a very peaceful camping experience (minimal traffic). There were plenty of tress for shade, your horses were very near to you & you had the option of a stall or paddock, & you could bring your horse up to your camper for tacking if you chose. The bath house was nice, hot water, good water pressure, clean. No complaints from anyone in our group. We stayed in our trailer, but our friends rented a cabin & it was very nice, clean, smelled good, well equipped, & they loved it. Will go back for sure.
Reviewed by: Paula Tully on 5/12/2014 3:48:14 AM
More reviews by Paula Tully
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/10/2014 Hometown: Mayslick, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I was very impressed with pretty much everything. First thing that was nice to see, the owners cell phone number was on the office door just incase they weren't there. (They are typically going around checking on the horses, emptying wheel barrows, that we filled, or cleaning out someones trailer upon arrival. Once we checked in, we were given a map (that also included their cell phone number) and Lee marked out a great 12 mile ride for us. On Saturday morning, we headed out but took a wrong turn, so we gave Lee a call and he quickly answered his cell phone and told us where we needed to go back to. The barn is in the center of the campsites which make it very easy to keep an eye on your horse. We could sit by the campfire and see our horses looking back at us. The trails were great and Timber Ridge is only a few miles to some beautiful scenery and they are directly across the street from Big South Forks beautiful scenery. We were also lucky enough to be there for the Dutch Oven Cook off! It was wonderful getting to eat what everyone else cooked! My husband and I were already discussing when we would be able to return this summer before we even checked out. We will be returning and letting everyone we know what a great place this is to camp and ride - oh - and the bathrooms, very clean and cute decorations! Can't wait to go back!
Reviewed by: TammySelvidge on 4/21/2014 11:42:34 AM
More reviews by TammySelvidge
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 4/19/2014 Hometown: Cleveland, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Great owners! From the reservation to pulling out of camp they were attentive and accomodating. The bathrooms and common areas were very well maintained, clean and always looked after. Stalls were safe and a good size and easily accessible from your camp spot. The trails were spectacular and easily accessible from the camp grounds. We will definetely be back!! If you are there on a Sunday take advantage of the all you can eat brunch at Bacaras. Great food and very neat environment.
Reviewed by: greta mosley on 4/19/2014 6:38:36 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 4/14/2014 Hometown: Felton, pa

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

My family and I made our first trip to Timber Ridge Horse Camp this past weekend and I must say it was one of, if not THE best horse camping experiences I have ever had. Everything about the whole experience was delightful! Honestly, I could write a small book on why and how much I loved Timber Ridge, but will try to sum it up here. As soon as we arrived we were made to feel at home. The camp hosts were super friendly from the very beginning and were always there to answer any questions we had. The cabins were awesome! They were clean, had plenty of beds & room for a family of 4, and even have a refrigerator and heaters in them! SUPER nice and super cute! Not only do they have wonderful accommadations for you, they have an extremely nice barn with roomy stalls that are already bedded with shavings when you arrive. During your stay, all you do is muck your stalls into a wheel barrow and they come by with a cart and empty them for you. I have never been anywhere where that has been done for me. I was spoiled by this! Mucking tools were available, water hoses were readily available, and if you needed shavings they had plenty of those too! The bath house was amazing! It was very clean and decorated cuter than any I've ever been in. There was a large commons room with a pool table and lots of room to hang out in. There was a kitchen available for preparing meals if needed as well. In addition, there was a large, covered area outside with tables and grills. If you didn't go to ride horses, you could spend your entire time there at the camp with all they have to offer! Speaking of riding, the trails are BEAUTIFUL!!! We were provided with a map of all the trails as soon as we got there and that was very helpful. I was so impressed by the beauty of ALL of the trails we rode. The trails were well marked and easy to follow which means a lot when you are riding in a brand new area. And if you got done trail riding and wanted to practice your trail obstacles, they even have a trail obstacle course set up! So neat! Again, this was a first for me in all the horse camps I've visited. I really cannot say enough about my weekend at Timber Ridge Horse Camp. I told everyone that has asked about it that it honestly is a slice of Heaven for you and your horse. My only regret was that I had to leave! I am already looking foward to my next trip and cannot wait! I am so glad that we discovered such a wonderful place to horse camp. I will be making many return trips! Thanks to all who have made Timber Ridge what it is...AWESOME!!!!!!
Reviewed by: Michelle Sidwell on 4/9/2014 7:18:17 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 4/5/2014 Hometown: Winchester, Kentucky, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I really enjoyed my stay at Timber Ridge. I love the obstacle course. The trails are nice and very well kept. The campground neat and clean as well as the bath houses. The hosts were very kind and helpful.
Reviewed by: will/dana on 4/9/2014 5:05:44 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 3/25/2014 Hometown: Florence , Ky

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I have camped all over Kentucky and Tennessee and Timber Ridge Campground is by far my favorite place. The trails are beautiful and have an easy access right from the campground. The hosts are are always nice and ready to help in any way they can. They worked very hard to make my stay as pleasant as possible. Stalls are close to the campsites. Bath houses are always clean ad well kept. Its a beautiful place.
Reviewed by: Jack on 4/3/2014 10:31:19 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 4/1/2014 Hometown: Bowling Green, Ky

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Love love love this campground...great people, fun trail course..trails are all types from easy to rough...what ever you want. Lee really works to make your stay a good stay. Thanks Lee, can't wait to get back there
Reviewed by: Elaine63 on 3/25/2014 3:41:31 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 3/21/2014 Hometown: Harrison, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Just found some of Timber Ridge's reviews under Station Camp
Reviewed by: jenorris on 3/24/2014 1:42:39 AM
More reviews by jenorris
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 3/21/2014 Hometown: ,

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We have been to Timber Ridge several times, and as always enjoyed our stay there. Campground and trails are great. Lee fixed a wonderful spaghetti supper for Sat. night, compliments of the campground. Lee is a very accommodating host.
Reviewed by: jenorris on 3/24/2014 1:37:15 AM
More reviews by jenorris
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 3/21/2014 Hometown: ,

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I have visited Timber Ridge multiple times thru the past years. And each and every time me and my family have been very well pleased with the accommodations here.They meet you when you arrive and clean your trailor and help you get settled in. Ive always been made feel so welcome here. Its a nice clean place to relax and the trails are awesome.
Reviewed by: Angela Morris on 3/22/2014 5:12:28 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 3/15/2014 Hometown: London, Ky

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

First trip this year and I am so pleased with where I chose to go. This is my first tome at Timber Ridge but it won't be my last, there is no place better that I can think of that I have been to and what a way to open my camping season. Lee, the owner was wonderful and he even smoked chicken for us. I definitely will spread the word about this place and have already made more reservations!
Reviewed by: denise mills on 3/22/2014 11:47:07 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 3/15/2014 Hometown: Monterey, tn

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Another great weekend at Timber Ridge. Great trails, great riding, great host. I really enjoyed the obstacle course. Everytime we come they are doing things to improve the facilities. This place is awesome.
Reviewed by: Sheila Moore on 3/17/2014 1:26:01 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 3/15/2014 Hometown: Mobile Alabama, Al

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I had a very good time here. The staff was very nice to everybody who went with me. Trails where great. I recommend this place to anyone who would like to see some good country, and a great camping experience.
Reviewed by: Josh Tucker on 3/4/2014 8:14:55 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 3/1/2014 Hometown: Monticello, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I have been coming to timber ridge for 4 years now this weekend has been the best time yet! As always we we're greeted by lee first thing. Every need was met. Stalls were prepared waiting on our horses. Truly one of the most enjoyable times.
Reviewed by: derick stephenson on 3/2/2014 7:45:18 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 3/2/2014 Hometown: monticello, ky

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I wanted to leave feedback because I see that all of the great reviews for Timberridge are gone. We have camping and riding at Timberridge now for about 3 years. We love Dee and Lee. They have set the bar high for how we now rate other campgrounds when we travel outside of Tennessee. They both offer unbelievable service from the minute that you arrive they clean out your horse trailer. They are always available to help when we had a flat tire to needing an adaptor for our electricity. The campsite is beautiful and the shaded sites are awesome. We learned the hard way about campsites without trees makes it hard for out air to keep our trailer cool in the hot summer. The trails that are located on Timberridges' own property are fabulous. We could spend all of our time just riding their own trails but the Parks trails are just across the road. The bathhouses are super nice and clean. They also have a great common area and kitchen. When it rained one day it was a great place to watch movies and play pool. They have every type of grills you might need. You are welcome to use any of the kitchen and grills you may need anytime. They often have potlucks too. All of the campers come together and bring dishes and Lee usually cooks up some meat too. Lee has recently added a stocked fishing pond and an awesome obstacle course that you can work with your horse on. I just wanted to express my sincere review to encourage any campers to experience the wonderful hospitality that Dee and Lee offer. Timberridge deserves all of their old 5 star reviews back. I hope this helps prove to all new campers to go stay at Timberridge.
Reviewed by: STEPHVICWHITE on 2/2/2014 3:55:29 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 3/17/2013 Hometown: Portland, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

So glad to see Timber Ridge back on Horse Trail Directory. We have had many wonderful stays at Timber Ridge and always look forward to going back. Great trails, great hospitality and great repeat campers that we have made friends with. Can't wait for the 2014 Dee's Cowgirl Weekend! Yeehaw!
Reviewed by: Nemo on 1/2/2014 2:47:52 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 8/16/2013 Hometown: ,

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Not sure why TimberRidge is now showing no reviews, but we have stayed there for 3 years now and love it. Stalls, campsites, bath house, common area are all first rate. Rustic, but clean and neat. The trails around the campground are very nice, and there is direct access to miles and miles of BSF trails, enough for days of riding. Any level or rider will be pleased with the trails.
Reviewed by: Anne Glaser Breen on 12/22/2013 4:27:27 PM
More reviews by Anne Glaser Breen
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/19/2013 Hometown: Macon, NC