HorseTrailDirectory.com
Trail Riders Helping Trail Riders
Home    Riding Trails    Review Camp    My Reviews    Add/Edit Location    Photo Album     Web Links

Reviews for Rock Bridge Canyon Equestrian Park  
(click on name for more information)

Hodges, AL

Overall TRAIL RATING with 26 votes:
Overall CAMP RATING with 26 votes:

Enter your Trail and/or Campground Review 

Individual Reviews

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We stayed a week and absolutely loved it! The trails were awesome. A bit of everything from easy to very challenging. Our Florida horses are in good shape and handled them very well. Don't let the mileage listed on the website fool you into thinking there wouldn't be enough riding. 8 miles took about 3.5 - 4 hours with a break for lunch. We started out with hoof boots on our horses and ended up calling Dennis (an awesome ferrier) to come and put shoes all around for both of both of our horses. Only because it was a slow process to put them on every single day. He is very good and very reasonable. AND since Mike the manager and Dennis are mounted shooters, when they found out we were, they arranged a little practice and we got to play! Dennis was nice enough to bring an extra horse for my husband and I to ride. Stalls are just across from the campsites and are large, I'd say at least 12 x 12 which is unusual for a campground and they come every day and empty the muck buckets, which are provided. There are water spigots and hoses provided spaced every few stalls. Ask for more shavings and they deliver and put them in the stalls at no extra charge. The campsites are large pull through and level. Mike and staff are very friendly. Don't miss a trip to Rattlesnake Saloon, the food was your typical bar food, but the place itself was very cool!
Reviewed by: Patti Hynds on 10/30/2016 4:37:35 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/26/2016 Hometown: Summerfield, FL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I loved this place. This campground is owned by the town of Hodges.They have right of ways across private property.The campground had all pull thru spots. Clean showerhouse, they haul off your manure each morning after you fill their muck bucket in front of your stall. The trails are well marked, some are challenging in spots around the rock formations with some alternate routes around tough spots. They have a horse taxi service to take you out so you can ride the trails farther from camp. Lots of waterfalls and areas with huge rock formations. One trail follows a river for a long way. There are also some hiking trails. I loved it there and want to return soon.
Reviewed by: Sue Crouch on 9/30/2016 4:55:31 PM
More reviews by Sue Crouch
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/20/2016 Hometown: Shelbyville, In

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

EXCEPTIONAL!!! Store camp personnel (Tina, Jenny, & Justin) were very helpful, personable, and customer oriented. Couldn't get the GPS to recognize the camp address on our way there so I called for the correct info & had no problems reaching our destination. We were very fortunate to reserve a canyon campsite (there's only 4 hookups there), bathhouse was sufficient, 12x12 clean stalls w/fresh wood chips awaiting our horses arrival, hitching posts provided near campsite, wheelbarrow available for picking stalls as needed, and water hose nearby for use. Gave canyon campground 4stars since there was no picnic table or designated fire pit but got by fine without provision. RBC Staff member Tina was very helpful to relay our need for ice to RBC Staff member Justin who came to pick us up for shuttle 2 mornings. Justin was very informative to warn us of a partial trail closure and how to still double back in order to see sights that we would have missed. Trails are VERY WELL marked and map provided seemed accurate, can't believe anyone ever getting lost. We were very excited to learn they are cutting more trails and can't wait to visit again...sooner than later.
Reviewed by: Garrett on 11/11/2015 10:13:06 PM
More reviews by Garrett
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 11/3/2015 Hometown: Lynchburg, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This is by far one of the best trails I have ridden. Campground was great Very clean and everyone was friendly I will definitely go back
Reviewed by: Pam Moran on 10/27/2015 9:06:48 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/22/2015 Hometown: Gonzales, La

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Awesome place to ride. Trails are easy to difficult, just enough to keep you from being bored. Friendliest staff I have ever dealt with. Spring and fall scenery is unbelievable. If you haven't been here schedule a trip, you won't regret it. Facilities are excellent and well maintained. Stalls for the horses are covered and safe with easy access to water. Bathhouse is always clean and trails are very well maintained.
Reviewed by: Stampede777 on 9/16/2015 12:07:29 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 8/29/2015 Hometown: somerville, al

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

My riding group are not campers, so 4 of us stayed in the cabin. It was comfortable and clean and so nice to have our 4 horses right there with us. We had awesome rides covering most all the trails in 3 full days enjoying the beautiful topography of North Alabama. I love the rock formations and caves the best and there is plenty of water along the ride for cooling off and watering the horses. At night we'd build a fire in the pit outside the cabin and relax by the barn with our horses nearby as we recalled the day. The trails have good footing yet with grades making it challenging and fun with the some of the most beautiful scenery I have ever ridden…Our horses did great and our total party of 8, as always, were in perfect balance with each other for the ride. You want to be sure your horses are in shape for these trails if you are in it for the long ride…We loved it so much we are coming back in October! RBCEP gets a 5 star #1 rating from us :-)
Reviewed by: Laura Kendrick on 9/15/2015 10:57:00 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 6/1/2015 Hometown: Statham, GA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Just spent the weekend at this wonderful park and hated having to go home, the husband is already planning our next trip back here! We are from Florida so our horses were not use to the more challenging trails, the blue trail is over 12 miles long, it would have been impossible for us to ride that back and forth on the terrain . but the great staff trailered us out free of charge, we only did the 8 miles of the trail and we still did not see half of everything this place has to offer. The trail was marked clearly and along the way there were tie lines for the horses so you could go hike.The campground was clean and the stalls had shavings which was a pleasant surprise. We really enjoyed the small rock fire pits that was next to each campsite . It is our favorite, I urge you to try it and it will exceed all expectations. I do recommend calling ahead so that you can reserve a spot.
Reviewed by: marymasterson on 9/15/2015 6:01:13 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/13/2015 Hometown: crestview , fl

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I rode here twice when the park was still fairly new. The trails were out of this world! Horse accommodations at the campground we stayed at were great (large stalls, shavings included and water nearby!), the bath house was clean and heated, and the location was good. My only complaint is that there were no tent sites (that is the only way I like to camp). That may have changed since, I don't know. Everyone who works there was extremely helpful and friendly. I wish I could go every weekend in the fall and spring!!
Reviewed by: Audrey Sheridan on 9/15/2015 3:49:04 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 11/15/2014 Hometown: Starkville, MS

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Our Family and Friends enjoy staying and riding at Rock Bridge Canyon. I would highly recommend this place To everybody!!!
Reviewed by: Lisa Bales on 9/15/2015 2:49:10 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 7/4/2015 Hometown: Haleyville, Al

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

The campground is very nice with roomy pull through spots,most are shaded. Stalls are nice and secure, and each one has a muck bucket. .you fill it, they empty it. The staff is very friendly and helpful. And the trails are beautiful!
Reviewed by: Kari Witham on 9/15/2015 2:43:05 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/25/2015 Hometown: morris, al

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Not only are their trails and facilities first class the host are the absolute best around !!! this is my most favorite place and I plan to keep going back time after time.
Reviewed by: Jackie Sims on 9/15/2015 2:12:02 PM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 5/27/2015 Hometown: MC CALLA, AL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We went during the week, had the place to ourselves which was nice. Jenny is most helpful, offering to get whatever I even happened to mention. I had to dissuade her from getting these mentioned items for me! Stalls are awesome, no 'holes' dug in the middle, 12x12, large enough for a weary horse to lie down in w/out getting cast. Stalls were near our site which was great for us to easily keep an eye on the horses. Bathhouse - it is adequate, I can see the need for a second one down where there's no electricity, where people like me that set up a cot in the back of their trailer would go during a full site time. Trails are as noted, easy and more difficult. One suggestion, take plenty of water for yourself and a snack. We utilized the shuttle (GREAT IDEA!!) to get dropped off at Overton Farm Road to ride the 8mile loop and spent a bit of time taking pictures at the gorgeous scenery. My horse wasn't in good shape due to a hot summer, she made it, but it wasn't nice of me to do that to her, a fit horse would be a good suggestion. You'll be happy for it, so will they! Shoes or boots for tender-footed horses, there's rock to negotiate. Trails are well-marked, campsite was beautiful, bath house was clean, stalls were clean, it was a fantastic trip. People that ride mostly groomed trails won't be happy with the Overton Farm to Sand Canyon portion but they'll like the purple trail out of camp.
Reviewed by: Casey on 8/30/2015 1:58:53 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 8/27/2015 Hometown: Madison, AL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We're not really experts, but we have ridden a lot of places and this has become our favorite place. Mike and all of the staff are first class! The campground is excellent and the trails are beautiful They have more exciting things to come. If you haven't been there yet, it's a must for your next camping and riding trip.
Reviewed by: Lisa and Rick on 8/7/2015 12:10:03 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 7/10/2015 Hometown: college grove, tn

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

BEST KEPT LITTLE SECRET OF ALABAMA! Not anymore as I have told everybody about this awesome place. Glad we got the recommendation from nice Mississippi riders last year. Beautiful place and the "NICEST" people. Thank you Jenny for your hospitality! Hope to be back.
Reviewed by: Sherry Teal on 5/31/2015 2:18:34 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/20/2015 Hometown: Manchester, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Trails and campground are well maintained. Staff is very friendly and accommodating. Gorgeous views! Stalls are open, clean, and right next to campsites to keep an eye on your horse. Right outside of a small town. Both my horse and I loved our stay. Cannot wait to return!
Reviewed by: StephanieNicole on 5/18/2015 12:23:08 PM
Experience: Beginner Ride Date: 5/15/2015 Hometown: Amite, LA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Can choose between easy and more difficult trails. Really enjoyed the beautiful rock formations and waterfalls. Excellent RV sites and excellent stalls. Good rates and very friendly staff.
Reviewed by: lucille carpenter on 11/18/2014 9:04:45 PM
More reviews by lucille carpenter
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 11/4/2014 Hometown: demopolis, al

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Great campground, trails are well maintained and for any discipline. The canyon trails are the most beautiful of all, with gigantic rock formations and waterfalls. The river trail is mostly flat and shaded. The hiking trails are awesome, with waterfalls, and other attractions. My grand children love the water falls. We go there often and see something new on each visit.
Reviewed by: VnJ Williams on 9/29/2014 2:49:02 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/27/2014 Hometown: Hamilton,, AL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This is a awesome place to ride. The people are fantastic. Nice stalls,bathhouse, campsite and trails for all stages of riders. The canyons makes you think you are in Tennessee. Cool in the summer. One of my favorites.
Reviewed by: trenafry1958 on 8/19/2014 7:39:46 AM
More reviews by trenafry1958
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 8/15/2014 Hometown: Oak Grove, Al

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This is an awesome place to ride,hike or just camp, we have ridden and camped here many times great place to come. The scenery is beautiful and comparable to Eask Fork and Big South fork. There are rock formations, hang over bluffs, waterfalls,indian shelter and much more..The camp ground is very nice with pull through sites , great stalls and they are cleaned and even sanitized after every use. The staff there are super nice and helpful!!Can't wait untill the next trip!!
Reviewed by: Marilyn D Taylor on 8/18/2014 12:12:48 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 8/16/2014 Hometown: Russellville, Al

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Great trails, challenging terrain and beautiful scenery. We had a wonderful time and are planning to go back in the fall!
Reviewed by: JenFost11 on 6/30/2014 10:58:31 AM
More reviews by JenFost11
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/14/2014 Hometown: Lapine, AL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We really enjoyed our first visit to Rock Bridge Canyon! Trails are beautiful! Especially liked the blue loop through the canyon. This is a rugged trail and lots of fun. The purple loop takes you by the river on easy, shaded trails and is also a nice ride. We visited on the weekend when they had their annual rodeo, and that added to the fun. Staff members are very nice and accomodating. This would especially be a nice ride in spring or fall since you must ride on a gravel road for a short distance to reach the trails. We will definitely plan another trip to Rock Bridge!
Reviewed by: Jackie Akins on 6/27/2014 5:35:04 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 6/20/2014 Hometown: Graham, AL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We spent six weeks touring the south with our horses and Rock Bridge Canyon was our favorite! The trails were absolutely beautiful! The waterfalls, the canyons, worth seeing again and again. Sand Canyon is a must! The staff bends over backwards to make your stay exceptional. The stalls are large and the bathrooms clean. Sites 7 thru 12 are the most level for large rigs. We will definitely be back!
Reviewed by: Ozark Mountain Gal on 4/6/2014 7:31:28 PM
More reviews by Ozark Mountain Gal
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 3/11/2014 Hometown: Ozark Mountains, mo

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Our 1st trip there.We had the best time. Trails are awesome and we will be going back.The trails are well marked and we where given a map that was accurate. Beautiful area and nice staff.
Reviewed by: s. bonnecarrere on 2/22/2014 5:59:53 PM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 2/17/2014 Hometown: carriere, ms

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I absolutely love RockBridge, the riding is so beautiful comparable to Big South Fork, waterfalls , rock bluffs, awesome racking trail along the Bear Creek.The camp ground is wonderful and the staff at Rockbridge go out of their way to make you feel welcome and your stay pleasant..Will definitley camp and ride there often....And excited to see new trails that will be opening up and the arena soon.
Reviewed by: Marilyn Taylor on 12/14/2013 2:10:38 PM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 11/30/2013 Hometown: Shoals , Al

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Second time to ride here this month. We love it!!!! Office and grounds staff are great ! Campground is spacious and all are pull thru sites to accommodate even the biggest rigs. Stalls are all 12x12 and they provide shavings! Trails range from easy to challenging . Beautiful scenery in the canyons , and lots of caves and picture opportunities. Really have to say this is the best place Ive been to and ive been to alot of places .
Reviewed by: Catherine Coker on 11/12/2013 4:46:43 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 11/8/2013 Hometown: San Antonio, Texas, AL