HorseTrailDirectory.com
Trail Riders Helping Trail Riders
Home    Riding Trails    Review Camp    My Reviews    Add/Edit Location    Photo Album     Web Links

Reviews for Dupont Forest - Cedar Mountain Horse Camp  
(click on name for more information)

Brevard, NC

Overall TRAIL RATING with 17 votes:
Overall CAMP RATING with 17 votes:

Enter your Trail and/or Campground Review 

Individual Reviews

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Fantastic, clean facilities. Nice green grassy paddocks for horses.
Reviewed by: Spann Cathcart on 6/12/2017 9:42:16 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 6/9/2017 Hometown: Lexington, SC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Very well maintained campground the owners are very nice, and check on you to see if everything is ok. This was my first stay. You have to trailer to trail heads (they do have trailers available) but well worth it because there are different trail heads so you can ride different trails everyday. The Falls, covered bridge and trails are excellent and a must see. Again a very nice campground very quiet I will be back.
Reviewed by: Nicole bruce on 6/5/2017 5:39:48 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/26/2017 Hometown: Fort Mill, SC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Very nice and well maintained campground, Owners very accommodating to insure we had a great trip. Campground is as advertised on web site. Power and water terminals are located between campsites, we camped on #8, terminal was 40 feet away between #8 , so depending on the site you may need longer power cord and water hose. Dupont trails were very well maintained and marked. Beautiful place.
Reviewed by: Rick Holston on 11/14/2016 9:11:26 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/28/2016 Hometown: Prosperity, SC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Not only was riding Dupont with Chris and Vanessa a great experience, we loved the camp. Organized, clean, well equipped and friendly for people and horse - what more can you ask for? Will definitely return.
Reviewed by: DebbieCroft on 11/2/2016 3:52:20 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/30/2016 Hometown: Anderson, SC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Very well maintained campground the owners are very nice. This is my second year in a row staying there. You have to trailer to trail heads (they do have trailers available) but well worth it. The Falls and trails are excellent and a must see. Again a very nice campground very quiet I will be back.
Reviewed by: Greg Sanford on 6/5/2016 3:04:03 PM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 5/31/2016 Hometown: Cynthiana, Ky

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This is my second year staying at Cedar Mountain Horse Camp and I'll definitely be back next year! The horse pastures are beautiful with lush grass. The campsites are all shaded and nicely spaced. They temps at night were in the 70's and the days in the 80's with nice cool breezes. Perfect riding weather! The trails are shaded by enormous hardwoods and lush vegetation. They're well maintained with beautiful scenery everywhere you look. We met a lot of hikers and bike riders and each one was considerate of the horses. The bikers would dismount and stand to the side as we passed. Our camp hostess this time was Vanessa, she's wonderful and we enjoyed her company so much. She and Chris know the trails extremely well and made sure we enjoyed trails suited to our group's skill level. Loved it!
Reviewed by: Melinda Dederick on 8/14/2015 1:58:19 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 8/7/2015 Hometown: Elgin, SC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

There were 7 of us ladies and we had an awesome weekend at Cedar Mountain Horse Camp! The camp was kept clean and well-maintained. The pasture was nice and had plenty of beautiful green grass for our horses. The cabin was adorable and comfortable and the bath house was very cozy and great for relaxing. We had excellent rides with beautiful scenery, esp at the water falls but some trails were rockier than we were used to but we managed to have lots of fun. We look forward to going back again and riding more trails with Vanessa!
Reviewed by: Debbie Holton on 8/14/2015 10:07:46 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 8/7/2015 Hometown: Columbia, SC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

My friends and I had a wonderful weekend at Cedar Mountain Horse Camp!! Everything is so clean and well-maintained, and the camp hostess goes above and beyond to make sure the guests are comfortable. I loved the screened in living room area as part of the bath house building - very cozy. The horses enjoyed their lovely pastures as well. We had excellent rides with beautiful scenery, although some of our horses got a little sore from the mountain trails being rockier than they were used to. We all look forward to going back again soon and riding more trails with Vanessa!
Reviewed by: B. Hankinson on 8/13/2015 10:28:41 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 8/7/2015 Hometown: Blythewood, sc

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

The campground is perfect for horse and rider. Camp sites are in the shady woods with water and electricity and fire rings. A friend and I stayed in cabin #7. Great bath house. Nice grass pastures and paddocks for horses. Dupont forest should be on every horse back riders bucket list. The trails range from easy to moderate. Every trail was well marked and the maps for the trail system are great. The only note I have is that a few trails marked easy were challenging and some marked difficult were very easy. The waterfalls are a must see on horseback. You will encounter many bicyclists. Every person we encountered on a bike was a dream. They stopped and many even asked if they needed to dismount and walk by. I'm sure every now and then if a bike comes zipping up from behind your horse will startle, mine did a few times but small startles because the bikers would stop or slow way down as soon as they spot you. I merely turned my horse to face them and she was fine. Also you will encounter many hikers especially around the falls. My horse thought every hiker wanted to stop and give her a treat or at least pet her and tell her how beautiful she was. I would not let the hikers and bikers (both are supposed to yield to horses) keep you away from Dupont.
Reviewed by: Cyana on 5/22/2015 8:13:42 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/17/2015 Hometown: Trinity, NC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We just came back from an awesome weekend at Cedar Mountain Horse Camp. I can not wait to go back. From the moment we arrived (late of course)it was like meeting up with old friends. Chris and Vanessa are great I can not say enough good things about them and the campground is a very nice setup. My horses loved they could stretch, roll and eat some grass. We lucked out because they went riding with us. The trails by the falls need to go on your bucket list of places to ride, they are just awesome! If you want to get out of the crowd they can direct you for a great ride too. I may not make it back this year but it will be high on the list for next year. I wish it was closer I would go every month! I can not say a bad thing about the weekend, they both made it perfect!
Reviewed by: hdorshimer on 9/29/2014 10:24:51 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/27/2014 Hometown: Rougemont, NC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

My husband, daughter and I spent a wonderfully relaxing weekend at Cedar Mountain Horse Camp A beautiful green pasture greets you as you drive into the campground You relax as soon as your truck and trailer stop. Our horses eagerly left the trailer and looked expectantly at the lush grass waiting for them. This was the beginning of a great family weekend. My husband doesn't ride much, but he was thoroughly entertained in the small towns around Cedar Moutain and nearby Brevard. Chris and Vanessa planned a great ride for my daughter and me on Saturday and again on Sunday. The Dupont Forest is a beautiful place to ride, where waterfalls abound. My daughter leaves for college in two weeks and this was a great trip for us to be together doing our favorite thing - riding! At night we played games,talked and just enjoyed our time together with Chris, Vanessa and the other camper. we stayed in the cottage that sleeps six. Plenty of room for the three of us. It was outfitted with a microwave, coffee pot and refrigerator. You couldn't ask for more. Chris has thought of everything that "horse people" and their horses need for a great getaway. If I could rate Cedar Mountain Horse Camp any higher, it would be a "10", hands down. Go and experience it for yourself. We will DEFINITELY be going back. Thanks Chris and Vanessa -
Reviewed by: Cathy Hungiville on 8/10/2014 4:47:19 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 8/10/2014 Hometown: Leesville, SC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We just got back from an amazing trip to Cedar Mountain Camp Ground and Dupont Forest. I am 47 years old and have ridden most of my life but had not checked riding in the mountains off of my bucket list...well now I can after riding with Chris and Vanessa. From the time I contacted Chris about reservations to getting detailed directions from Vanessa, these ladies communicate promptly and well. Throughout the weekend they continued to check in to make sure we and our horses were comfortable. Their kindness, knowledge and clean, QUIET camp ground made our vacation absolutely fantastic. I have so many great memories from our rides together and feel as though we have made new friends. Chris and Vanessa even helped my non-horse riding hubby find the right mountain bike trails to ride! My husband and I look forward to returning next year for a longer stay!
Reviewed by: Kimberly Rushton on 7/29/2014 5:32:50 PM
Experience: Beginner Ride Date: 7/24/2014 Hometown: Castle Hayne, NC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

My expectations for Cedar Mountain Horse Camp and the trails at DuPont State Forest were fully realized on a recent overnight to this beautiful area. Chris, the owner of Cedar Mountain Horse camp is more than accommodating to her visitors. Her campground is a lovely place both for equines and people alike. My friend and I stayed in the small cabin , inviting and very comfortable . We were the only visitors on this particular weekend but enjoyed an evening with Chris and Vanessa, a co-owner and designer of the campground and another friend, Shelby , sharing a delicious homemade pie and our common love of horses. The next day , all three of these ladies accompanied my friend , Linda and I on the trails. It was great to have our own personal guides . The trails winding through this lovely forest offered great footing , even after heavy rains and the waterfalls were spectacular. The entire experience is one I wish to repeat again very soon. Many thanks to Chris and Vanessa and Shelby for making this a memorable ride. It was the best!
Reviewed by: Patti Fleming on 6/2/2014 7:41:44 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/30/2014 Hometown: Huntersville, NC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I can't say enough about how beautiful the campground is and how helpful and knowledgeable the owners (Chris and Vanessa) were. I especially enjoyed the privacy of each site nestled in the woods. The bathhouse is a big screened building with sofas, cots, chairs, tables, gas heater and games. It was a great area to gather and read ghost stories when the weather turned nasty. The trails in DuPont forest offer spectacular waterfalls and solitude with nature. If you want to truly experience the mountains, this is where you should come. Purposely small, so I hesitate to publicize but so nice that I have to share. Just hope that I can continue to make reservations!
Reviewed by: Donna Crocker on 5/27/2014 3:51:19 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/25/2014 Hometown: Chapin, SC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Cedar Mt. Campground provided us with a very good camping experience. Chris and Vanessa treated us the very best and were kind enough to ride with us and show us the best trails and scenic areas. Highly recommend to others. Plan to return ASAP.
Reviewed by: Dennis Mckenzie on 5/22/2014 1:09:57 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/16/2014 Hometown: Olympia, Ky

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Our group had a wonderful riding experience at Cedar Mountain Horse Camp. We were originally destined to go to a National Park but the parks were closed and we selected Cedar Mountain Horse Camp based on the information from your website. How fortunate for us! We were met by a gracious and knowledgable host that directed us on well groomed, well marked, beautiful scenic trails. The campground has wooded sites and beautiful pastures for the horses. This is a fairly new camp and it's apparent that alot of thought has gone into the accomodations for both horse and rider. Our experience at Cedar Mountain Horse Camp and riding in the Dupont forest couldn't have been better.
Reviewed by: Carol Swick on 10/16/2013 7:06:30 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 9/4/2013 Hometown: Allentown, Pa

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We stayed 5 nights at Cedar Mountain Horse Camp. It was a great place to stay and Vanessa & Chris were awesome hosts. The sites have electric/water hookups, there's pasture or paddocks for the horses, a bathhouse, plenty of firewood for campfires. The trails in the Dupont Forest were well marked & maintained. The forest is extremely beautiful and provided miles & miles of scenic trail riding. The campground has 2 horse trailers for campers use so you don't have to break camp to go to the trails. The forest is only 10-15 minutes away according to which trailhead you choose and this enables you to choose different trails & a different area each day if you like. Vanessa & Chris have put together cards that give trail directions & length of each ride that were tremendously helpful. They've rated them short, medium & long for length of the ride. I HIGHLY recommend Cedar Mountain Horse Camp! We will most assuredly be going back again.
Reviewed by: Margaret Macy on 9/29/2013 6:13:52 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 9/23/2013 Hometown: Archer, FL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We stayed a week with our two Appaloosas. Chris, owner and hostess, was gracious and helpful. She took us to several trail heads and we went on a couple rides with her. The trails are awesome, a little rocky but very well maintained. DuPont forest is beautiful and a well kept secret with more trails and options than I have ever seen. The trails are shared with hikers and bikers, but everyone yields to the horse. Everyone we encountered was polite and pulled off the trail and waited until we passed. I eas nervous about the bikes, but they were no problem. The camp is new with a screened room for mingling and has a nice bathroom and shower. There are also water and electric at all campsites. Horses can have a large pen or tie out at the trailer. We were allowed to rent the small turnout pasture which was nice. Hoses, water, and buckets are available for use. There are also two stock trailers free to use so that you can visit the trails without tearing down your camp site. Two cabins are also available. We hope to get back to this area again. Chris and her friend Vanessa were the nicest camp hosts we have encountered. Don't miss this opportunity to stay at Cedar Mountain Horse Camp and ride the Dupont Forest!
Reviewed by: Evelyn Kluzek Rusciolelli on 6/25/2013 9:43:06 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/23/2013 Hometown: Springfield, Illinois, FL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Cedar Mountain Horse Camp was a wonderful get away! The camp sites were all shaded. It was great to make new friends from NC & SC. While offloading on Friday one or our horses cut his leg pretty bad. Chris immediately got on the phone and found us a vet. She also let us borrow one of their stock trailers to take the injured horse home and get another horse. We rode for about 6-7 hours on Saturday. Vanessa had the ride planned out so we saw some magnificent waterfalls. Since it was a holiday weekend, a group supper of hamburgers and fixings was enjoyed at the "Outhouse" which is a covered porch. Sunday we rode for about 3 hours lead by Vanessa again. It was so helpful to have someone plan the ride around the best trails and scenery. I would definitely recommend Cedar Mountain Horse Camp to everyone!
Reviewed by: Pam Griffin on 5/29/2013 4:51:51 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/24/2013 Hometown: Winston-Salem, North Carolina, NC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I had a great weekend here. Great hosts. I stayed in the bunkhouse which was nice and cozy. The trailer sites looked clean and would be easy to back into. I only went to one trail head but it was great. I had a horse with no shoes and she was fine. I don't know about other trails but the one I rode did have challenges to it.I would go again with no shoes. Might not work though for those tender footed ones. After a long ride I hit the shower which was handicapped accesible, sait in the shower and gave my knees and back a good warming up.Felt good. They have corrals or tie line but they also have something I've not seen before. A good sized pasture that the different groups can rotate the horses on so they don't have to stay coralled all the time. This was great for my horse. I'm looking forward to this years riding season to start up. I'm also looking forward to making it back to Cedar Mountain Horse Camp again.
Reviewed by: Jackie on 1/18/2013 3:52:56 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/8/2012 Hometown: Pelion, SC