HorseTrailDirectory.com
Trail Riders Helping Trail Riders

Reviews for EJ's Cottages
(click on name for more information)
Dunmore, WV

Overall TRAIL RATING with 13 votes:
Overall CAMP RATING with 13 votes:

Enter your Trail and/or Campground Review 

Individual Reviews

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We have been to EJ's at least 7 to 8 times with plans to go again this fall. It is one of the safest places we've stayed with our horses. He has a farm house that's not listed on here yet for rent. 6 bedrooms 3 full baths. Super nice place. Safe paddocks & stalls for the horses. Plenty of trails and things to do close to his camp. Cass railroad is about 4 1/2 miles away on the Greenbrier trail. There are several river crossings to take. Depending on how many miles you like to ride, there is a tunnel to ride through. EJ is one of the kindest people you'll ever met. He rides with us when time allows. Plus he has wagon rides with his team you can take. It's worth the drive. The mountains are beautiful. Not hard to find his place. If you like the mountains this is the place to go. For non horse people or for a change of pace you can bike ride, hike & fish also. Top 10 in my book for place to vacation.
Reviewed by: crownmax on 7/12/2017 3:00:49 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 7/4/2017 Hometown: Charleston, WV

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I have been to EJ's twice this year, & it is definitely a favorite! The Pocahontas County Mountains are some of the prettiest you will find....EJ is a gracious host, always looking out for his campers needs & interests. Although the trails can be a bit difficult to read, he will give you directions in addition to the map, and most of the time he will take you. The camp is small but has all the basic amenities trail riders are looking for. It is a relaxing retreat! It will be a regular destination for me.
Reviewed by: Sherri on 9/13/2016 6:26:11 PM
More reviews by Sherri
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 8/28/2016 Hometown: Winfield, WV

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This was my first visit and the group I camped with their second visit. The gentleman that owns this campground was not there at our visit due to health issues in the family. A friend has been taking care of it in his absence. Our group really enjoyed talking with him last year and he was working on the campground all the time. This year however the campground needs a little work done. The barn had latches that were broken and kept falling off the doors; there was moldy hay left in the aisle of the barn from previous guests and there was a huge hornet's nest that we tore down one evening. They have had some rain and several of the stalls were wet and messy when we got there. There was also some trouble with the septic system in the bathroom which we think was due to the rain at the time. One gentleman came into camp the 2nd day we were there and the lady acted like she didn't know he was coming. This also happened with another camper too on our last day. Hopefully the owner will come back soon and correct some of these issues. The camp is located at a great spot, right next to the Greenbrier Trail so the location is outstanding. Would love to go back. It is a great place to camp and a smaller campground so it's really nice place to relax and unwind.
Reviewed by: kimmy on 7/29/2015 10:12:38 AM
More reviews by kimmy
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 7/11/2015 Hometown: Princeton, WV

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

The Greenbriar River Trail offers scenic views, cleared trails, and fabulous opportunities for sightseeing. We stayed at E.J.'s White House Cabin and it was well appointed and rustic at the same time, with plenty of space to house the 10 people with us. E.J., the owner, is a wonderful combination of good old cowboy and classic southern gentleman. This was my third trip to his campground, and every time he has made me and my horses comfortable and safe. He has information and handouts regarding the trails, and is a treasure-trove of local lore. Don't miss this opportunity! I plan to go back year after year!!!
Reviewed by: Darlene Kemper on 9/2/2014 12:01:35 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 8/15/2014 Hometown: McGaheysville, VA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

1st time at EJ's with the Blue Ridge Carriage Club, 9 ladies & 11 ponies & 9 carriages. EJ's accommodated all comfortably. The trails for driving were smooth, flat & very scenic. We did 11 miles the first day & 6 the second. A wonderful place to stay very clean & everyone is very friendly . Can't wait to go back
Reviewed by: jcladee on 9/1/2014 10:26:46 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 8/14/2014 Hometown: New Market, VA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This is the second time I have visited EJ's Cottages and drove my horse and carriage on the beautiful trails there. I can not wait till my next visit. To experience nature there is beyond words. The trails, accommodations, and EJ himself are outstanding.
Reviewed by: Judylh on 9/1/2014 8:35:56 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 8/15/2014 Hometown: Hagerstown, MD

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

just recently my friend and I had a long weekend stay at EJ's Campground and Stabling never having been there before but before leaving we knew we wanted to return and make it a regular get away with our friends and horses...the stabling and campground proved more than adequate also with turn out paddocks and the trails spoke invitation not just along the river and there are many to choose from...more importantly to any of the above mentioned so far I cannot over emphasize the graciousness of out host EJ himself...we felt welcome there and if there was a need it was taken care of immediately.. A fun weekend with great anticipation of returning there again.
Reviewed by: Hazel on 8/31/2014 2:11:48 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 8/14/2014 Hometown: Burlington, wv

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I LOVE when our club goes to EJs cottages! It is our second year to stay there, but our first time renting "The White House"! Fantastic!! It had everything that you could possibly want. Rooms are spacious and comfy!! We drive miniature ponies on well maintained trails. The scenery and peacefulness of the rolling river right down the drive is awesome!! EJ is an awesome host and will do anything for you. I love the fire pit outside the wrap around porch for late night denotes and visiting with old and new friends!! All in all our visit was spectacular!! We got to ride the railroad at Cass this time, too
Reviewed by: Leslie Oates on 8/25/2014 8:08:04 PM
Experience: Beginner Ride Date: 8/15/2014 Hometown: Harrisonburg, VA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This is my 2nd visit to EJ's with my carriage club (BRCC). We rented the White House & enjoyed our stay very much. The House was clean and well equipped. The new stable is great. Stalls were bedded with clean sawdust and have automatic water. We had plenty of room for our carts & miniature horses. He also has paddocks that can be rented. Pricing for the house and stabling is quite reasonable. The trails are great nice and flat for carriage driving. Beautiful scenery along the river. You can ride as short or as long as you wish. Cannot say enough about the our 4 day stay. EJ is always so helpful and can fix anything or give you the right answer to a problem. The road in is a bit tricky, but if you just take your time it is fine. I am so looking forward to going back next year with the club. Thank You EJ!
Reviewed by: Bonnie Mauk on 8/19/2014 2:51:26 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 8/14/2014 Hometown: Hagerstown, Md

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

EJ's is a great setup. Its right off the Greenbriar River Trail. EJ could not have been more accommodating. Shenandoah Valley Driving Club drove both directions on the trail - very scenic. It was a treat to be "off the grid" awhile (even though they have wifi). We plan to return next year.
Reviewed by: HT Brown on 8/18/2014 6:56:25 PM
Experience: Beginner Ride Date: 8/13/2014 Hometown: Massies Mill, VA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

we recently stayed at ejs cottages,here are some great things about ejs campground and stables, there is a laundry facility on site, free wifi and phone. ej is always available and very accomadating. The stalls and paddocks have automatic waterers and he also provides shavings for the stalls. His trails are very well maintained , you can ride through the woods, cross through the rivers, and ride through the mountains. its a great place to vacation and I highly recommend families to visits ejs
Reviewed by: angela caldwell on 8/18/2014 6:47:33 PM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 7/19/2014 Hometown: kenova, wv

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I wasn't home more than 24 hours and I felt the need to extend my gratitude for EJ's overwhelming hospitality this past weekend, it's hard to find anymore. EJ's Cottages is filled with crazy F.U.N. and he and his staff strive hard to make it that way. They supplied me with memories that will last a life time and God willing, I can share with my grandson expected in December. I will be back........... and sooner than they think... :) Anyone..... Anyone with a horse looking for great camping, RVing, or room renting, clean stalls, paddocks, astounding trails (at any riding level) with the option to either ride or cart accompanied with down home warming hospitality... Don't overlook this place. I was absolutely pulled from my saddle to go home.
Reviewed by: Darlene Rose on 8/18/2014 5:30:46 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 8/14/2014 Hometown: Queenstown, MD

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Note we were Driving carriages but is best known for mounted riding, and riders can do more difficult trails if desired. great trail right along the river, no chance to get lost, easy to pass.. safe, beautiful scenic river, woods and wildlife. One of our folks drove her team 24 miles and thru tunnels and over the bridge across the river, I feel like beginners can easily do the shorter 10 mile trail or 6 miles total to Cass Railroad and back. We stayed at EJS in the White House, six bedrooms, well furnished..clean, GREAT screened porch, EJ is always available to help in every way, will take you on a drive with his stagecoach or give you a guided tour on horseback..and you can find any level trail you are comfortable with, our group has gone back 3 years in a row and look forward to next year. some members camped and were happy with the facility. Blue Ridge Carriage Club
Reviewed by: susanj11 on 8/18/2014 1:57:20 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 8/16/2014 Hometown: harrisonburg, va

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

E.J'S Cottages is a true hidden gem in West Virginia. Great camp that E.J. is constantly upgrading to make it better. Showers, laundry, stalls, turnout paddocks. Trails are easy to very challenging. Ride the Greenbriar Rail Trail to Cass and get ice cream. Trails are well marked. Had a great time and plan on going back.
Reviewed by: Rose on 8/3/2013 8:08:29 PM
More reviews by Rose
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 7/15/2013 Hometown: New Martinsville, WV