HorseTrailDirectory.com
Trail Riders Helping Trail Riders
Home    Riding Trails    Review Camp    My Reviews    Add/Edit Location    Photo Album     Web Links

Reviews for Cherokee Trails Campground  
(click on name for more information)

Bristol, TN

Overall TRAIL RATING with 5 votes:
Overall CAMP RATING with 5 votes:

Enter your Trail and/or Campground Review 

Individual Reviews

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Loved the campground. Nice barn and sites. Trails can be a little tough in places. But we will be back.
Reviewed by: Penny Royal on 6/13/2016 11:10:19 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 6/10/2016 Hometown: Winston Salem, nc

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Cherokee Trails Campground provided a great base camp for our group of 7 to enjoy a full week of horseback riding the trails of Holston Mountain and service roads to Holston Lake, both part of the Cherokee National Forest. We also rode the Virginia Creeper Trail 2 days which was only 45 minutes from this campground. The campground host (Steve) was very friendly and went out of his way to accomodate the needs of our group. We rented both cabins and two full service campsites for those who had living quarter trailers. A full service bathhouse was located directly beside the cabins and across from the campsites. The barn and paddocks were in close proximity to the campground. Most of the stalls were 10x10 with only a couple being slightly larger. My preference would have been 12x12 stalls but our horses did fine. The trails were a mix of service roads which were great since we all had gaited horses. The mountain trail provided very beautiful views of the mountains, lake and you could even see the Bristol Motor Speedway in the distance. Holston Lake is breathtaking as the water is as blue as the Carribean. The mountain trails are not for novice riders on green horses as they are narrow in some places and require a surefooted, confident trail horse. Overall, I would recommend Cherokee Trails Campground for all who are interested in an affordable vacation with their favorite horse.
Reviewed by: Sharon on 11/3/2012 7:14:51 PM
More reviews by Sharon
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/22/2012 Hometown: Hickory, NC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Great time. Service roads were nice to ride if you didn't want a challenge yet you could go on the trails to the top of the mountain for a more difficult ride. Beautiful Lake access from the service road and great views from the top. Barn and Paddocks where good. Bathhouse was very nice. Owner had a homegrown map which was nice but you could also order a National Geographic map of the Holston Mountain area also. Owner does not own horses but they are very helpful. The cabins are nice if you don't want to stay in your trailer. Will deffinitely go back.
Reviewed by: Pamela on 10/23/2012 8:29:19 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/1/2012 Hometown: Charlotte, NC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

If you enjoy riding on mostly service roads, this is your place. The barn is nice, but you have to walk up a short steep hill to get to it. They do have 2 small paddocks. THEY ARE NOT HORSE PEOPLE. They really do not know any info on the trails. Our last day there, the spetic clogged so we had to go home with 2 full tanks. You are mixed in with non horse campers. They either need to split the campground with horse people on one side and the others on the other, make it a horse campground only or just make it a regular campground with no horses at all.
Reviewed by: Teresa on 5/20/2012 7:46:58 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/16/2012 Hometown: Freedom, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I gave this campground a 2 star, not bc of the owner--she was very nice--but bc they are NOT horse people. She did not know anything about the trails, the trail map sucked. The trails are not marked and very easy to get lost. The horse people are mixed in with regular campers (loud kids/4 wheelers/golf carts). They have 2 paddocks, 1 is a little bigger but the smaller one has a run in shed. The stalls are fine, some a little small. The campground is on a quite road, you can get to 1 trail by going across the street. The lots are not as big as most places. No trees in between sites. It has a long way to go to become a horse campground.
Reviewed by: Tesa on 5/15/2012 5:55:31 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/14/2012 Hometown: , NC