HorseTrailDirectory.com
Trail Riders Helping Trail Riders
Home    Riding Trails    Review Camp    My Reviews    Add/Edit Location    Photo Album     Web Links

Reviews for Forestville Mystery Cave State Park  
(click on name for more information)

Preston, MN

Overall TRAIL RATING with 7 votes:
Overall CAMP RATING with 7 votes:

Enter your Trail and/or Campground Review 

Individual Reviews

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This is a beautiful place to camp and ride! We made reservations and then I needed to move sites and they helped me with that. The trails are gorgeous and there is a little bit of everything here. Water crossings, wonderful wooded trails, interesting sites to stop and see, prairie grass fields that are gorgeous, bluff views and more.
Reviewed by: Caroline Anderson on 11/7/2016 1:49:40 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/20/2016 Hometown: Afton, MN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Forestville is a fun location to ride if you're looking for more family oriented trails. I thought the fees were a little steep for camping, but that's the way it is in MN. We had the entire campground to ourselves basically because we were there Sunday - Tuesday. I've heard it gets packed on nice weekends though. As far as the camping, it was pretty good, though we had a problem with bees in the tree above our site - they got annoyed with the fires and kept getting into our tent. Also, dumb of us, but we left a small pile of Cheetos on the ground overnight and the raccoons were fighting over them. As for the trails, they're good. This is not my favorite place to ride, but it is good. I highly recommend shoes because the trails are paved with crushed limestone. If you go out one way on the trails, you'll do a bunch of simple trails in nature. If you go out another way, you'll do more challenging trails with many, many water crossings. Those are fun! Bugs weren't bad this time of year, either.
Reviewed by: CorazonLock on 11/10/2014 2:35:04 PM
More reviews by CorazonLock
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/20/2014 Hometown: Garner , IA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I love this Park! It is my favorite park so far. I went twice last year! I am looking forwards to the next time. The trails are limestone and granite like so they're sharp and hard on your horses feet. I recommend easy boots or shoes. I lost my boot one year and my horse was sore the third day riding. Bring backup boots :) Great park to run in! Though some people are a bit loud at night.
Reviewed by: Light on 1/19/2013 8:40:41 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/1/2012 Hometown: Cambridge, MN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

A few more miles of trail has been added to the horse trails. New gravel has also been added to some of the other trails so shoes or boots is a must for horses.
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 8/17/2012 7:41:32 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 8/1/2012 Hometown: , Select State

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Well maintained campground sites and trails. Good trail map. Mostly shady with some gravel rock trails. Scenic lookouts and historic village is interesting and a good picnic area. Big Spring has a nice picnic area. Water hydrants available in campground. Manure pits with wheelbarrows and fork available. Electric sites available. Good weekend place to ride.
Reviewed by: Linda and Pat on 6/12/2012 4:31:15 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/14/2012 Hometown: Waterloo, IA & Ft. Wayne, IN, IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Trails are very wide and all gravel / rock. Shoes a must have on your horses. Park is well kept and quite. No bugs. We go several times a year and for many years. Reservations needed for elec sites most of the time.
Reviewed by: Jake on 2/2/2012 12:26:10 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/14/2011 Hometown: Rochester, MN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Arriving during the week was great with few people present and no noise. This changed on Friday with some people arriving late at night making as much noise as they could. The electric sites are the first to go and there are several to chose from. Our non-electric site was clean and roomy with lots of shade. No bugs! Few people chose the non-electic side of the campground. The trails were in good shape. Horses do need shoes of some sort unless their hooves are quite hard. The trout fishing is great. The streams are a short drive away by the ranger's station. We make this our annual trip now. The road to the park that was under construction is gravel but 90% better than the previous year.
Reviewed by: Lynn on 11/7/2011 12:09:35 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 8/25/2011 Hometown: Scandia, MN