HorseTrailDirectory.com
Trail Riders Helping Trail Riders
Home    Riding Trails    Review Camp    My Reviews    Add/Edit Location    Photo Album     Web Links

Reviews for Hickory Creek Wilderness Ranch  
(click on name for more information)

Tidioute, PA

Overall TRAIL RATING with 29 votes:
Overall CAMP RATING with 31 votes:

Enter your Trail and/or Campground Review 

Individual Reviews

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We try to come to this campground multiple times a year. Always a favorite! We used to tent and hi-line in the primitive area and now that we've upgraded to an LQ trailer, we stay in the electric/water sites in the area they call The Bowl and set up a portable corral. Love it! campground is so beautiful, with lots of shade, and you're pretty much left to yourselves unless you need something then they are very accommodating. Trails cover pretty much all levels. Some mud when it's wet, but that's like most places. Some rocky trails, but I always keep shoes on my horses anyways. We have gotten lost, but it's usually fairly easy to follow the color coded ribbons. They've been working on adding new trails and maintaining current ones. Also, their events are always top notch and well run. I would recommend this campground to anyone.
Reviewed by: tammymiles on 6/28/2016 4:39:06 PM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 6/23/2016 Hometown: Cabot, PA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Hickory Creek is a nice family campground. You can get an electric/water hookup spot in the bowl, or a primitive spot out in the field or parked in the trees, there are LOTS of places to choose from. Some areas have a water buffalo, but you should come prepared with water tanks and picket lines. They aren't provided for you (as they shouldn't be). There is also a horse barn that you can rent a stall in. Every year we go to the trail challenge, which is an all day ride with obstacles, challenges and a dinner afterwards. The staff is very friendly and helpful. If you need firewood, a tractor load of one (pine) will be delivered to you. You can get ice at the bunkhouse. The showers are four separate spacious bathroom/showers, which are very clean and private. You don't have to worry about communal showering. Town is close if you need anything else, but don't blink or you'll miss it- my kind of town ;) The trails tend to be quite easy, there can be some road traveling, but for the most part, the trails are well tended, with no overhanging branches or large obstacles. There are trails that lead directly into the state forest from the campground, where there are miles of trails. Maps aren't really necessary, all you need to do is keep turning left, or right. If you go on a week or weekend that there is an event, you need to call in advance. They fill up quickly for a reason.
Reviewed by: janice on 9/22/2014 12:14:18 PM
More reviews by janice
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/20/2014 Hometown: gratz, pa

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I have been to this site several times over the past few years. And since I have now been to other campgrounds, I am ranking this one lower. The sites have electric and water but the bath house is a long way a way if walking, easier to unhook truck and drive. We asked if a porta john could be moved closer to our site but the answer was no, no reason given. There were not any other campers that i could see that would need it. The prices are also higher for sites and stalls than other nice campgrounds in Northwest PA. The barn...dark stalls, poor door latches, only a hay twine to hang a bucket, no where to tie a horse to clean stall. Trails - very muddy, very few marked, too much road riding and no trail maps. The only reason i go is because it is close to home.
Reviewed by: Erin on 7/27/2014 3:34:37 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 7/26/2014 Hometown: Pittsburgh, PA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Had a great time, even saw 4 bear cubs n the trail. Camps clean, bathrooms are clean. I would have given it both 5 stars but the 1st trail we were on sucked. It was very rocky, the horses were having a lot of trouble, a lot of trees down so we turned around and found another trail. The rest of the trails were great, some trees down, a little rocky in spots but nothing like the 1st trail. The campground would have also had a 5 star but for 2 reasons. Which both I can understand being the start of the season, the 1st, if it wasn't golf carts, it was the 4 wheeler or the tractor running around. My horses didn't really care for that, most of the time the shut it down when they saw we were waiting for the to move and the 2nd was the maps. They didn't have any current maps and the printer was out of ink, he gave us 2 old maps and drew out a map for us, which was nice and better then nothing. But with the start of the season, they should have had tons of copies made. But we made do with what we had and only got lost twice. They were very nice, but busy working on the grounds. The only thing I don't like about it, is the hot wires on the trails around the grounds. Once you get away from the camp, theres no wires. Our 1st time there last fall, the horse my husband was riding got her leg wrapped around the wire (its pretty close to the trail)and freaked out, he ended up getting bucked off and hurt pretty bad. This time, my 95% bomb proof horse spooked on the back side close to the campgrounds when one of their horses ran out of the lien too. He did a 180 and took of in a canter, he turned so hard it took the stir ups right out of my feet. Cantered so hard my sunglasses fell off my head. I hung on and got him stopped but a few more feet I most likely would have been on the ground. When I got him stopped, he was about 6 inches from the hot wire. But all in all, we had a great time, we were very close to the barn, weather was great. We will be back again.
Reviewed by: TEABYRDZ on 6/4/2014 10:48:54 AM
More reviews by TEABYRDZ
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/28/2014 Hometown: FREEDOM, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Disappointed in the trails. There was too much road riding. I thought being in a wilderness area we would be riding on wooded trails, not roads with tri-axle trucks. Followed trails given by camp host. No map provided, just instructions as to which ribbons to follow. We were given 4 trails to ride. We rode 3 1/2 of them, and 2 were way shorter than indicated. The camp sites are nice, and shower house was very nice and clean. The down side of the camp was the "dump site". It was just a pipe sticking up and was higher than the road, so it is very messy to use. You have to keep lifting your hose to get the stuff into the pipe. You also have to turn around to use the dumpsite on your way out. After driving a long way to get there, we were ready to ride, but did not get checked in for hours. By the time we got checked in and given directions as to where the trails were it was too late to ride the first day, so we lost a day of riding. I think a map would be helpful, and trails without road riding. I don't mind crossing a road or a short distance to pick up a trail, but I don't want to spend half my time on the road.
Reviewed by: LM on 9/18/2012 5:09:10 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/9/2012 Hometown: SWPA, PA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

we went to HCWC for our first horse camping experience. WOW. It was a great, big, huge campground with well maintained trails, and the weekend we were there, they had an obstacle event that my daughter rode in and had a blast in. THe service is excellent, clean bathrooms and showers. If you need firewood, someone brings you a tractor bucket load. I can't recommend it more highly. THere were so many nice people, there, all willing to smile and say hi, or give you a hand if you need one, setting up.
Reviewed by: Janice on 7/24/2012 4:14:31 AM
More reviews by Janice
Experience: Beginner Ride Date: 7/21/2012 Hometown: Gratz, PA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

When it comes to camping in Pennsylvania, HCWR is the place to be. The owners and campers are fun and kind, they made us and our horses feel very at home.
Reviewed by: Cate on 7/23/2012 11:33:52 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 7/21/2012 Hometown: Gratz, PA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

When it comes to camping in Pennsylvania, HCWR is the place to be. The owners and campers are fun and kind, they made us and our horses feel very at home.
Reviewed by: Cate on 7/23/2012 11:33:46 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 7/21/2012 Hometown: Gratz, PA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

My husband and I camp here every year. Its one of our favorite places. We camp primitive and love how secluded the sites are. You are pretty much left alone, but the owners are always easy to find if you need something and eager to help, very accomadating. They've even let us stay early in the year before they officially opened. When the weather turned on us (hail and wind) the owners stopped in several times to check on us and see if we needed anything. Trails aren't marked very well, but we take our GPS so have no trouble finding our way around. Love this place! I'm very troubled by the innaccurate, bad reviews. Dont believe everything you read, give it a try.
Reviewed by: Tammy & Joe Miles on 4/18/2012 9:29:07 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 4/15/2011 Hometown: Cabot,, PA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Campground was neat and clean. Camping sites were level and well shaded where we camped. Bathhouses were a trek away from camping area but they brought a port-a-potty to our area which helped. Trails were nice and well marked. We only got to ride part of the trails as the weather turned bad on us. We look forward to going back soon.
Reviewed by: RachelV on 9/18/2011 6:35:15 PM
More reviews by RachelV
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 8/6/2011 Hometown: Chardon, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Use to like camping here but the owners have rented out the nicest spots and now weekenders end up camping out near the primitive area - to far away from the bath house - for these prices. The bathhouse appear to be in disrepair, no toilet paper in several. No other services available. One of the barns was so muddy it was over our boots to get to the horses. The trails were well marked but no trail maps offered. We won't be camping here again.
Reviewed by: Erin on 6/26/2011 6:39:54 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/24/2011 Hometown: Pittsburgh, PA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We spent a fun week at Hickory Creek -- our first time there. The owners are awesome; they make sure everyone has a great time. Nice facilities and friendly staff. Trails were well maintained & varied from easy to more difficult. Enough trails for us to ride a week. Hope to return next year & have recommended Hickory Creek to my friends.
Reviewed by: John on 6/25/2011 8:54:15 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/28/2011 Hometown: Northeast, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We ride all over the North Eastern USA. We were looking forward to this campground and came up a little short. Found the campground a tad overpriced compared to similar facilites. We would like to see firewood available and maybe high-lines? We were in the back of the property and not enough trees for high lines. Might give at another try, depending on other reviews.
Reviewed by: avid rider on 5/30/2011 6:49:25 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/1/2011 Hometown: PA, PA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I love Hickory Creek. It is my second most favorite place to ride ( the other place is just a few miles down the road ) we always have a great time and the staff is so awesome. When we went last fall some bad weather moved through that left our horses out in the freezing rain. We typically just tie to a picket line, although we did not reserve a stall the owner approached us and let us put our horses in the stall so noone ended up sick. Love Love Love this place!!
Reviewed by: Lacey on 3/28/2011 10:33:08 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/1/2010 Hometown: Georgetown, PA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Tom update website making plans fpr 2011 riding .
Reviewed by: old friends on 1/30/2011 2:26:32 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/7/2010 Hometown: , Select State

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Hikory Creek is a great place to ride. People are helpful, friendly and sites are plentiful. Primitive and electric w/water are availat competitive prices. Trails range from moderate to challenging. Its a great place to meet horse people and condition your animal.
Reviewed by: Jan & Shennandoah on 11/19/2010 3:07:44 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 7/4/2010 Hometown: Cambridge Springs, PA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

The campground has improved a great deal since the start in 2003. Clean facilities and manicured grounds. There are more hot showers, flushing toilets, fire wood and ice available. The barn is away from the hook up sites, but you can tie your horse at the site also. The trails are scenic and the difficulty level varies. The owners are very friendly, when they are not available, a helper is there to supply wood, ice, maps, assistance,or information. A place where your arrive as a guest and leave as a friend. I think the bad reviews are trying to send business to Cooks Forest Scenic Ride. So don't believe them. This is a very nice campground to visit indeed. Please don't listen to the bad reviews, check it out for yourself.
Reviewed by: Karen on 7/24/2010 12:17:54 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 7/4/2010 Hometown: Pittsburgh, PA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

My family's first time..Trail map on line still not avaliable been looking for update since may. Rodeo was Great! but had alot of friends thought tickets were too exspensive. Port-A-Potty seem to be a big shortage in campground HUGE inconvience especially when you have alot of young ones. But weather was awsome, bugs weren't bad, great trails.
Reviewed by: Lisa on 7/24/2010 8:17:47 AM
Experience: Beginner Ride Date: 7/3/2010 Hometown: Pittsburgh, PA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

The owners and staff are genuinely great people. We camped there about 3 times this past summer and had nothing but great experiences. My family plans on getting a seasonal site this summer to enhance our experience even more. There are scheduled trail rides or you can go out on your own. The trails are BEAUTIFUL and the sites are clean. You can picket your horse or there are box stalls that can be rented. What a great place to spend riding and to enjoy the company of family and friends. Don't just take my word, come out and enjoy the experience. The owners make you feel right at home and are very helpful to explain the trails and the addition site around. There are even rodeos and extra planned events during the season. Come on out and ride! Hope to see you there!
Reviewed by: Dona Lane on 2/13/2009 7:16:19 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 8/16/2008 Hometown: Panama, NY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Tom, Cooks forest scenic ride has their 2009 rides on the web site. We are making plans for the summer. update your web site soon or we will have to bypass you again this year. Please do not rent all the prime campsites out again this year. This causes people to go there and seeing they are not here anything to leave. At least rent the prime sites out when they are not being use. Put on the web site the open dates.
Reviewed by: old friend on 1/10/2009 1:18:49 PM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 1/1/2004 Hometown: , PA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Tom you must pay people to say nice things about ypu horsecamp
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 12/26/2008 5:04:42 PM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 1/1/2004 Hometown: , Select State

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This was my first time there, we had a group of 7 campers and riders, we like to camp in the primative areas which were nice,dry and level. We were welcomed by the owner as soon as we got there, he brought us a port-a-potti and a load of wood. He also gave us maps and directions for the trails. We had no problems finding them and getting back. Nice country, Nice trails, Nice campground and Nice people. I would highly recommend this to anyone who loves to Trail ride.
Reviewed by: Michelle on 12/13/2008 6:32:09 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 9/12/2008 Hometown: Emlenton, PA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Since the best places are rented out for the season. The only thing to do was to leave. had a good week at Cooks Forest SCenic Ride. Tom wake up.
Reviewed by: Old friend. on 11/6/2008 5:34:09 PM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 1/1/2004 Hometown: , PA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

THe thing is I went on their website to see when the rides where and no dates . So I went on Cooks Forest Scenic Rides site and book a week. Tom update the website. Old friend of yours.
Reviewed by: old friend on 9/13/2008 10:12:42 AM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 1/1/2004 Hometown: , PA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I thought the facilities were filthy and having ONE shower stall for men & ONE for women and ONE TOILET TOTAL unacceptable! The "hidden fee" for trail maintenance was not appreciated either, especially since we had to go off the trail to go around downed trees. Having horses in stalls was nice but we had to drive to get to them because they were so far away from where we camped. I would NOT recommend this place. It was a huge disappointment.
Reviewed by: Cindy on 8/3/2008 7:01:02 AM
More reviews by Cindy
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 8/15/2007 Hometown: New Castle, PA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This is a great campground. Whomever wrote the bad reviews must be a troll on sites who gets their jollies by submitting inaccurate and non-factual information--in other words---lies. This is a beautiful campground. The sites have everything you would want: water, electric, shade, etc. The barn offers large safe stalls with free sawdust. Tom and his wife were extremely friendly and helpful. Tom even upgraded his Direct TV service in the ranch house so that we and other campers could watch the Penguins in the Stanley Cup playoffs. The trails are well maintained--I heard by Tom--and marked moderately well. This was our second visit to Hickory Creek (both 4 day holiday weekends) and I am certain that we will go there at least once more this season.
Reviewed by: Debbie and Mike Sulkowski on 6/21/2008 8:28:27 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/23/2008 Hometown: Ohioville, PA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

i can see how this campground is STILL on this site. Tom must pay BIG money to stay on?????????.
Reviewed by: Bob on 4/4/2008 1:57:05 PM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 1/1/2004 Hometown: Usa, PA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

It is hard to believe that this so call camp is on this site. Ihave wrote how I feel about this DUMP . SO anyone who goes there that is their promblen.
Reviewed by: Sam on 3/13/2008 1:34:00 PM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 1/1/2004 Hometown: , OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

READERS BEWARE--There's the appearance of some 'funny business' going on with the reviews of camps in PA. On specific dates within minutes of each other are posted (under different alias's) horrible reviews on Flying W, Summers Alleghany, and Hickory Creek camps. On those same dates are posted good reviews of Cook Scenic camp. For example, check 11/12/06, 2/26/07, 12/5/07, and 12/5/07. I've never been to any of these camps, in fact never been to PA. Be aware that ANYONE can post reviews anonymously on this board. Negative reviews can be from competing campground owners, crazy neighbors, or ex-girlfriends. Positive reviews can be from the campground owner, family, or friends. Don't believe everything you read.
Reviewed by: reader beware on 12/12/2007 8:04:35 PM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 12/12/2007 Hometown: , Select State

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This place is not a nice campground facility. For the same amount of money you can go to Cook Forest Scenic Ride and get first class treatment and a top notch facility with rec room, marked trails and maps, jacuzzi and swimming pool at camp, level shaded campground, water and electric hookups, arena, dumping station, wash bay, horse shoe tourny, horse games, great food, friendly people etc... This place needs to upgrade or lower their prices for all they offer which unfortuneately is not much at all....I was extremely disappointed with this camp.
Reviewed by: Disappointed Tom on 12/5/2007 1:13:00 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 6/5/2007 Hometown: , Select State

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Hickorycreek is about 1 of the best campgrounds around to camp and ride really good trails.There is about 10 sites that people have rented for the whole season.You tell me that it is not a good place to camp,My husband and I will tell you different.When there is a problem the owners try to please everyone somehow someway. The campsites are well groomed all summer. yes the barn is far away for some but you also are wellcome to tie to a pecket line also.Everyyear,Tommy is doing more and more to the campground it takes time and money as in any business.So I guess you willhave to give it a try sometime for yourself. Every campground has some faults, you learn and listen, and improve as you go!
Reviewed by: Tami and Rodney on 11/7/2007 8:21:18 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 11/7/2007 Hometown: SHEFFIELD, PA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I DO NOT KNOW WHAT THE PROBLEM IS WITH THIS CAMP .TRAILS ARE WELL MAINTAIN ONLY THING IS LACK OF PEOPLE WHO KNOW ABOUT THIS PLACE. LITTLE ADS WOULD HELP.
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 5/3/2007 4:00:52 PM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 5/3/2007 Hometown: , PA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

IT IS HARD TO BELIEVE THAT THIS CAMP IS ON THIS SITE. THE ONLY THING I CAN THINK IS THE TOM PAYS BIG BUCKS TO HAVE IT ON THIS SITE. MY RATING IS A MINUS 10. THE ONLY REASON THAT IS AS LOW AS I CAN GO.
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 4/12/2007 5:40:53 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 4/12/2007 Hometown: , OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

There should a law that acamp as bad as this one should ever on the page to be rated. Any one who has rode up there would not waste their time to write a review. Please take this so called horse camp off of this site.
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 3/9/2007 12:41:28 PM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 3/9/2007 Hometown: , Select State

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I am shocked that this camp is still on this site. If you want to put this on a site. I would put in on a PIG farms site. The pigs farms would still have a better rating.
Reviewed by: none on 2/11/2007 12:19:47 PM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 2/11/2007 Hometown: , OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Reviewed by: Anonymous on 2/11/2007 12:15:11 PM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 2/11/2007 Hometown: , Select State

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

any one who rides up here would to be nuts.
Reviewed by: Ghosts on 12/23/2006 7:26:06 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 12/23/2006 Hometown: , PA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This place should not charge you to camp cause they don't give you anything for your money. Facility and trails are not worth seeing.
Reviewed by: Sorry Sally on 11/12/2006 1:57:21 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 8/12/2006 Hometown: Disappointment Alley, PA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

campgrounds were dirt,bathrooms dirty,barn was to small,costs to high for camping
Reviewed by: bob on 11/26/2005 1:00:04 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/13/2005 Hometown: salem, OH