HorseTrailDirectory.com
Trail Riders Helping Trail Riders
Home    Riding Trails    Review Camp    My Reviews    Add/Edit Location    Photo Album     Web Links

Alert!! This Web address may be compromised
If you receive an email from horsetraildirectory.com, DO NOT open any attachment. The email WAS NOT sent by us.
However, this website is SAFE TO USE.


Reviews for Elkins Creek Horsecamp & Tack Shop, LLC  
(click on name for more information)

Ironton, Oh

Overall TRAIL RATING with 146 votes:
Overall CAMP RATING with 148 votes:

Enter your Trail and/or Campground Review 

Individual Reviews

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Elkins Creek now has over 100 electric sites!!! Another GREAT weekend at Elkins Creek Horse Camp! This was the Women, Horses and Chocolate event weekend! So much fun! Trails were in amazing condition! Great food and the BEST hospitality! Wish I could go here every weekend!
Reviewed by: Tamara on 10/15/2017 7:46:26 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 9/16/2017 Hometown: Ashland, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I have been to many campgrounds in many states and Elkins Creek is one my very favorites. The trails are challenging and beautiful. I have been there four times and still haven't seen it all. Jill and Rick make you feel like you are part of their family. On special weekends, they have meal packages, bonfires and great musicians. Electric sites, stalls, tackshop, outdoor arena. You dont ever have to unhitch to go into town, it's all there. Wish I lived closer to visit more often!
Reviewed by: Chris Bacin on 10/13/2017 7:10:18 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/21/2017 Hometown: Galion, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

My husband & I stayed in the cabin, our 1st time at Elkins Creek We will for sure go back. We loved everything about it. Rick & Jill treat you like family & are very helpful with anything you need. everything was clean & very warm & inviting. Trails were clean & in great shape, perfect place to ride & enjoy a little get away very relaxing, everyone including the campers were very friendly. The tack shop has anything you would need if you had forgot something at home from riding supplies to shampoo. Elkins Creek is absolutely Awesome Love Love Love it cant waiy to go back hopefully we can stay longer next time !!
Reviewed by: michelle sharp on 10/12/2017 1:32:23 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 9/30/2017 Hometown: wurtland, ky

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I have stayed with Rick and Jill many times it is like going home. MY DOG GETS EXCITED WHEN I PULL IN THE DRIVEWAY
Reviewed by: Don yeATer on 10/12/2017 12:20:59 PM
More reviews by Don yeATer
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/22/2017 Hometown: Upper Sandusky, oh

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I have stayed with Rick and Jill many times it is like going home. MY DOG GETS EXCITED WHEN I PULL IN THE DRIVEWAY
Reviewed by: Don yeATer on 10/12/2017 12:20:56 PM
More reviews by Don yeATer
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/22/2017 Hometown: Upper Sandusky, oh

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Awesome variety in trails and terrain! Very well maintained!
Reviewed by: Bonnie Logan on 10/12/2017 12:02:48 PM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: Hometown: Milton , WV

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Just an amazing place to ride and camp!!!! Don't know how anyone could ask for more!
Reviewed by: Tamara on 10/12/2017 11:05:12 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 9/23/2017 Hometown: Ashland, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I always enjoy my stay at Elkins Creek. Love Jill & Rick. You couldn't ask for better hosts. Whether there are 3 people , or 30 in the camp, they always make you feel at home. I look forward to my next visit.
Reviewed by: Tina Tackett on 10/12/2017 9:28:44 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/7/2017 Hometown: Berry, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

The trails are very well maintained, and the campground is very very nice, but best of all are the owners, Rick and Jill!! They treat you like family and take you in like your their own. They make sure you have everything you need and won't let you go without. We've been camping here couple years and we love them and there campground !! Everyone should give it a try you will love it!!
Reviewed by: Tommy on 10/11/2017 10:51:24 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: Hometown: sissonville wv, wv

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Beautiful trails with great scenery, campground very clean and all the people friendly we stayed in the cabin and rented stalls for all our horses and enjoyed the Halloween Festivities. Great weekend at a Great Campground!!! Jill and Rick are the Best!
Reviewed by: ElektraHarleyGirl2008 on 10/11/2017 10:42:35 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/7/2017 Hometown: Poca, WV

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Reviewed by: Crystel Harter on 10/11/2017 9:57:12 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/6/2017 Hometown: Minford, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We just came back from elkins creek, our first time going and we had a blast! Rick and jill are wonderful hosts, the trails are great! Very well maintained and beautiful scenery. We will go back next year.
Reviewed by: Tabitha worley on 10/10/2017 7:51:54 PM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 9/28/2017 Hometown: Turners station , Ky

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

First I would like to tell you that Rick and Jill are the most pleasant, and accommodating people that I have ever met. The campgrounds have an old west look and is nice and open to accommodate any size rig,(We are 56 feet long). There are electric hook ups but bring an extension cord of the amp you intend to use because on a busy week you may be further away than your cord will reach. The trails are INCREDIBLE! Rick has done a fantastic job and the 8 miles of new trails he put in this year are breathtaking! The Kimble Loop is a must ride! This was our second time there and planning our third trip next fall.
Reviewed by: michaelcarano on 10/7/2017 10:07:38 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/1/2017 Hometown: Lordstown, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Absolutely wonderful experience. Jill and Rick are exceptional hosts. The campground is very neat and clean and the trails were some of the best maintained we have seen in a long time. Our group is already planning next years trip. Highly recommend.
Reviewed by: Leah Mackey on 10/4/2017 10:05:40 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/26/2017 Hometown: Williamsburg, IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Great place to ride and meet new people. Jill and Rick work hard to take care of everyone. The trails are good for beginners or challenging for experienced riders. The scenery is great . We had a mixed group and had something for everyone. Best of America by Horseback was there so we had a lot of people from different places. Food was great and the music was fantastic. I have reservations for next month !!!
Reviewed by: Julier606 on 9/28/2017 6:48:30 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/22/2017 Hometown: ,

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

The Trails were in great shape, challenging and beautiful. Had a wonderful time. This was my first trip and will be returning again. Jill and Ric were great and helpful.
Reviewed by: Janet Roop on 9/19/2017 3:33:40 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 9/15/2017 Hometown: Springfield, Oh

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Facilities were pretty good compared to some camps. Trails were we'll maintained, if it's been wet they do get pretty muddy.
Reviewed by: wvgoatgirl on 9/18/2017 4:28:03 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/15/2017 Hometown: New Martinsville, WV

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Don't know where to begin. The place is just a cowboy/cowgirl dream...Rustic, beautiful and great places to ride or just to relax. Easy to get in, easy to get out, even with a big rig. The food was just wonderful! Everything is rustic in design but clean and well kept. The owners never slow down in checking on everything and everyone to make sure you have what you need. The trails are WIDE and well kept - soo much nicer than so many trails I've ridden. A Beautiful Place, a peaceful place, cowboy decor which i just love. The Front facade of the main building is even made like an old west town. The tack shop is wonderful. It carries essentials and the fun stuff we women love to spend our money on. GO! STAY! You will want to return again and again. Well worth my 6 hour drive~
Reviewed by: Linda Moore on 9/9/2017 7:25:54 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/7/2017 Hometown: Darlington, PA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Been there twice this year.. great people.. great trails..great campsites. Great stalls..this place is a must go to.. will go again.first time just went for the ride.. second time rode and watch rumble in thunder.. racking and pacing race.. could use more shade in camp ground
Reviewed by: Carla Weatherspoon on 8/22/2017 10:57:50 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 8/17/2017 Hometown: Ripley, Oh

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

My daughter and I have visited many horse camps over the years in multiple states. Elkins Creek by far has the cleanest, well marked and maintained trails we have ever had the joy of riding. The scenery is beautiful as well as historical. Rick and Jill are wonderful hosts and went out of their way to make us feel like family. They personally care for and maintain the trails themselves as a main priority. We will be back!
Reviewed by: Billie Carter on 7/30/2017 11:08:26 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 7/23/2017 Hometown: Williamstown, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

The personal touch of Rick and Jill is everywhere from the stalls to the sites to the bathroom to the common area to the hellos and goodbyes! The hard work and passion have resulted in a super place to visit and ride. The beauty of Wayne National Forest was made all the sweeter by tidbits of local history and a enthusiastic encouragement for us to have a good time. Can't wait to go back!
Reviewed by: CalGal on 7/28/2017 8:10:34 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 7/26/2017 Hometown: Xenia, Oh

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

1st visit as part of St Jude's charity ride- had a fantastic time- great trails, wonderful people- Plan to return and put this event on my calendar- Loved the bluegrass music Saturday night!!!
Reviewed by: Marilyn Zimmerman on 6/12/2017 3:56:05 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/10/2017 Hometown: Charleston, WV

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

st jude benefit ride weekend. awesome event. we will be back. nice place and people.
Reviewed by: Brenda Stone on 6/12/2017 6:54:25 AM
More reviews by Brenda Stone
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/3/2017 Hometown: Leon, WV

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Super Clean Campground and Trails is very well kept. Host Rick and Jill treat you as family. When you come here God's beauty is all around you. Wonderful place. Will be back.
Reviewed by: JuneBug on 6/5/2017 11:11:06 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/30/2017 Hometown: Marion, IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Elkins Creek Horsecamp is great You could not ask for better campground hosts than Rick and Jill! We love the stalls and the campground itself, and the trails are well marked, mapped, and maintained. This was our second visit and we will definitely be back. Give this place a try and you won't be disappointed!
Reviewed by: ranger402m on 6/2/2017 6:52:35 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/23/2017 Hometown: Bastian, VA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Elkins Creek Horsecamp is great You could not ask for better campground hosts than Rick and Jill! We love the stalls and the campground itself, and the trails are well marked, mapped, and maintained. This was our second visit and we will definitely be back. Give this place a try and you won't be disappointed!
Reviewed by: ranger402m on 6/2/2017 6:52:22 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/23/2017 Hometown: Bastian, VA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Elkins Creek Horsecamp is great You could not ask for better campground hosts than Rick and Jill! We love the stalls and the campground itself, and the trails are well marked, mapped, and maintained. This was our second visit and we will definitely be back. Give this place a try and you won't be disappointed!
Reviewed by: ranger402m on 6/2/2017 6:52:09 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/23/2017 Hometown: Bastian, VA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This was our second stay at Elkins Creek, Rick and Jill go out of their way to make you feel welcomed. If you enjoy lots of trail riding this his the place to be. Rick an Jill not only give you a great camping experience they are also very involved in maintaining and creating new trails in the Wayne National Forest. They are truly great stewards for the equine recreation industry.
Reviewed by: bob and ellen phillips on 5/19/2017 9:43:30 AM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 5/1/2017 Hometown: Doylestown, PA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This is a wonderful place to ride. The owners Rick & Jill pay attention to all the details and make sure your stay is outstanding. I love this place. The trails are well maintained and beautiful. You can ride a different trail everyday for a week if you want.
Reviewed by: Sue Flynn on 4/16/2017 11:04:00 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 4/15/2017 Hometown: Ashland, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Hospitality there is outstanding! Enjoyable trails to ride!
Reviewed by: Patti Gragg on 12/5/2016 8:48:49 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/29/2016 Hometown: Greenfield, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Incredible hospitality. Jill and Rick waited on us hand and foot. The lay out of the trails is very nice, with a trailer available to get you to the furthest loops. Tack shop had a wonderful assortment of equipment, t-shirts and sweatshirts, all very reasonably priced.
Reviewed by: Tbird on 10/28/2016 1:46:53 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/20/2016 Hometown: Buffalo , Ny

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Just spent 3 days and nights at a Special, Private Weekend, for the HTCAA, and can't say enough about the great time I had! Rained two days prior, and the trails were still in great shape. Something for everyone in the Wayne National Forest, or Lake Vesuvius Recreation Area, where it be rolling countryside, rock formations, hills, riding thru big timber, and creeks! Trails also connect to Dean State Forest, so you can camp here for days on end and ride! Any level of rider should enjoy the diverse trails. Great Rock formations behind camp on the Wildcat trail, or within 8 or 9 miles from camp, make riding here, not only for the gaited folks, a real trail destination! Cowboy Rick also offers to drop you off, so any level of rider can also enjoy the famous and unique Rock formations in this area, and ride back to camp with only a 12 mile ride, or trailer over to one of the trail heads for a 17 mile ride, or ride the whole thing for a amazing 24 mile ride! You don't want to miss the Spring Wildflowers, or the Redbuds in Bloom, or the Fall Foliage either! This camp is in an out of the way place that when you sit by the campfire, you can see the stars instead of blaring camp lights. Covered stalls, water is handy, and you can even purchase bedding. 4 bathrooms with showers too! And lets not forget the GREAT BLING in the tack shop either! But one of the best things I've found about this campground is the people who come here. Once you meet them, they become friends! It's just the friendly atmosphere that Cowboy Rick & Jill put forth that makes everyone feel at home. Southern Ohio's, BEST KEPT SECRET and #MyFavorateSpot to ride!!!!
Reviewed by: Tamara on 10/24/2016 2:46:40 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/23/2016 Hometown: Ashland, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Trails are very nice, campgrounds was nice and clean, owners were very nice and helpful
Reviewed by: Theresa Brandt on 10/22/2016 4:22:46 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/1/2016 Hometown: Saint Paris, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Trails all very well marked and kept up very well. Owners and very nice people and treat you very good during your stay. Campgrounds and stalls very good.
Reviewed by: Tim Gabbard on 10/16/2016 6:37:38 PM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 10/15/2016 Hometown: Waynesville, Oh

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This camp is not located close to the Lake Vesuvius horse trails however the Elkins Creek owner does offer trailer rides to Lake Vesuvius trail. The trails close to camp are well marked and offer a variety of terrain with woods, creek crossings and rock formations. For camp, make sure you bring supplies for the duration of your stay as there are no stores nearby. You may consider bringing your own long water hose, lights or flashlights for night use around the corrals as well a longer 30A cord for electrical hookup depending on your site. We enjoyed our stay. Jill made us feel welcome and arranged for our group of six to camp together.
Reviewed by: Desertrose on 10/9/2016 1:09:58 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/7/2016 Hometown: Oxford, Mi

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

These people are living the DREAM & willing to share it with you! My first time there was a great experience, felt welcome but still had as much alone time & privacy as needed. Good People both Rick & Jill. Reserved a small room ahead of time & it was clean & comfortable. Bathroom & shower was two doors away. Horses can be stalled in spacious stalls for only five dollars a night. Trails & map are great, if you want to know something, just ask Rick or Jill are both willing to explain. I could go on & on! Had a great time, looking forward to returning again & again.
Reviewed by: DeannaRollyson on 10/7/2016 8:37:01 AM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 9/30/2016 Hometown: Frametown, WV

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

What a great place! Rick and Jill are the hostess' with the mostess :) Nice campground, clean facilities, great trailsm with a excellent map for the trail system. Rick will haul to different trail heads at no charge (although we hid some money in his truck HeHe) and Jill will get you what ever you need or have forgotten. Had a couple days of rain, but trails dried up quickly. Jill provided evening entertainment with Chocolate, Women and Horses, local vet came in and talked on several subjects, and art lessons from a darling gal from Killbuck area. Tack shop has everything you could need! New covered shelter with grill and coming soon full kitchen. Highly recommend to all, and can't wait to go back! Thank you Jill and Rick!
Reviewed by: PattiDee on 10/3/2016 3:03:19 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 9/28/2016 Hometown: W Farmington, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Four of us ladies went here in September and we rented a wonderful cabin with porch looking out on a little creek. We had great stalls right next to the cabin (no bathroom) and had a fantastic time. I would recommend this place with wonderful people who own it and a great little tack shop with cool stuff. The trails from camp are a bit limestoney so you will need boots or shoes or like my horse, he just kept going to the side in the pickers! But we trailered over 15 minutes to absolutely beautiful trails with rock ledges and a lake to ride around. Hook-ups for trailers and well maintained campground. Bathrooms and showers by the tack shop. I would highly recommend visiting this place, you will love Jill and Richard!
Reviewed by: Judy Moyer on 10/3/2016 2:03:01 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 9/23/2016 Hometown: Cambridge, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Elkins Creek is definitely one of my favorite places to camp. Every time I go there I see something new! The trails are great; Rick stays on top of the trails keeping them clean and safe for us. Gorgeous views! Camp is set up nice with super clean showers and restrooms. Electric availavle and also primitive where you can use generators. Stalls for the horses. Rick has sawdust and ice on site. And Jill is the nicest gal you could ever meet; so much fun! Always a smile on her face. They do a great job running this camp; keep it up guys!! We love the trails and your camp!!!
Reviewed by: lura lentz on 9/26/2016 9:42:25 PM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 6/20/2016 Hometown: coshocton , oh

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Great, clean campground with many electrical hook ups. Rick was very helpful with the trail system and to offer advice on which trials would be best suited for what you were wanting to take. Jill was super friendly with helpful directions on getting there and making sure your stay was as enjoyable. Would recommend getting a trail map from the park office or downloading the map on their website and enlarging it. Trails are marked and not hard to follow if you have a map. We will be going back for sure!
Reviewed by: SashaW on 9/25/2016 1:12:07 PM
More reviews by SashaW
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/20/2016 Hometown: Mansfield, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I can't say enough how much I LOVED my first trip to Elkins Creek! Rick and Jill make you feel so welcome. And what a darling Jill is, such a sweetie! It was very laid back, relaxing and quiet, as well as a clean neat facility. The trails were terrific, tidy and very well marked. A lot of the trails are big enough to be ridden side by side. In my opinion, probably 75% of the trails are dirt. There is some gravel, but in most spots you can ride in grass beside it. You're able to hit the trails right from camp too. I am definitely hooked on this place, I just wish I knew of it sooner! Looking forward to many more visits there!
Reviewed by: Ami Miller-Smith on 9/20/2016 10:08:52 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/17/2016 Hometown: Griffithsville , WV

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I couldn't have had a better experience! The trails are wonderful and the owners are very helpful and friendly. Tack shop has LOTS of very nice things!
Reviewed by: Janet Ingram on 9/19/2016 8:04:10 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/17/2016 Hometown: Sod, WV

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Best place ever to ride, and camp. Rick and Jill are the best hosts. We relaxed, and enjoyed our visit. Trails are well maintained, and new trails every time we go. Looking forward to our next trip, and many more there after!
Reviewed by: Jay Tackett on 9/15/2016 3:28:02 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/11/2016 Hometown: Berry, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Love to visit this campground, trails, and Rick and Jill. Best people ever! We stayed 3 nights and 3 days. It was relaxing and comforting being there. Rick and Jill keep the trails cleaned and managed, as well as the camp. Looking forward to going back many times.
Reviewed by: Tina Tackett on 9/15/2016 3:21:21 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/11/2016 Hometown: Berry, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Love this campground, trails, Rick and Jill. Always smiling, always accommodating, always available and always improving camp and trails. We always have a fun, relaxing time.
Reviewed by: Lou Whitaker on 9/14/2016 9:44:02 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/13/2016 Hometown: Berry, ky

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Everyone is so NICE!! They look out for each other and this makes the experience of even just visiting and volunteering much more delightful. Thank you for letting the OUS Equine team come out and set up the trail challenge for everyone!
Reviewed by: CassieGrimes on 9/4/2016 4:06:45 PM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 9/3/2016 Hometown: Ironton, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Jill and Rick are truly dedicated to keeping the trails in great shape. I have noticed in my trail rides this year that a lot of the trails are not in as good as shape as they could be. But Jill and Rick are keeping Elkins Creek in great shape in this heat. ;)
Reviewed by: Bonnie L Klump on 8/28/2016 9:46:45 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 8/23/2016 Hometown: Russellville, Oh

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I rode and stayed at Elkins Creek Campground during the Black Sheep Boogie endurance race. The trails are tough, but beautiful. The owners of the camp are absolutely wonderful. I had some major trailer problems and they went out of their way to accommodate me and help me. I plan to make visiting hear a yearly occurrence.
Reviewed by: Sonja Knecht-Hoshi on 8/8/2016 1:54:07 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 6/26/2016 Hometown: Nokesville, VA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

These folks run a family friendly camp. The hospitality is outstanding. I can't wait to go back.
Reviewed by: Brenda K Durham on 8/8/2016 1:18:52 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 8/7/2016 Hometown: Williamsburg, Oh

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Secure stalls for the horses and flat level sites for your trailer. Water & electric available. Great owners. Go out of their way to help in any way possible.
Reviewed by: Maryz on 8/5/2016 3:07:46 PM
More reviews by Maryz
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 8/3/2016 Hometown: jackson, tn

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Elkins Creek is an amazing facility! The trails are endless and provide many opportunities for all levels of experienced riders. Jill and Rick provide a quiet, family-friendly atmosphere, that make everyone feel at home. The seasons make each time riding here something new.
Reviewed by: Shelly Kulich on 7/29/2016 8:02:14 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 7/29/2016 Hometown: Blacklick, Oh

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I have been twice. There is usually something going on. This past weekend there was a training section, which was very fun. Also live bluegrass music. the food offered was tasty. and the hospitality is wonderful. I look forward to returning next month for traders day.
Reviewed by: Polly Borris on 6/21/2016 12:35:20 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/18/2016 Hometown: Frame, wv

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

had a great time. Such a relaxing peaceful place. Rick and Jill were amazing hosts! Hope to visit again real soon
Reviewed by: TAMMY MILLER on 6/20/2016 2:46:30 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/15/2016 Hometown: Killbuck, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Rick and Jill make this a very good place to camp..
Reviewed by: Brenda Stone on 6/16/2016 8:52:04 PM
More reviews by Brenda Stone
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/14/2016 Hometown: Leon, WV

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Best trails and campground in the state of Ohio. Rick and Jill are the best. Been going to this place since it opened. Love it there!!!
Reviewed by: Gayle on 6/2/2016 2:40:09 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/31/2016 Hometown: Yellow Springs, Oh

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

The owners are great - treat you like family. Campground is wonderful, we camped next to the creek. Stalls were good. Trails were in good shape, we had some rain on Friday night but the trails drained really well so no problems. We had a great time and will go back again.
Reviewed by: beth&mark on 5/26/2016 7:59:49 AM
More reviews by beth%26mark
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/19/2016 Hometown: Tiger, GA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Rick and Jill really cater to their guests and treat them like family. They are both very involved what the activities and check on their guests daily. Your concern is their concern. The trails are great with wonderful rock formations and beautiful views. Your horses need shoes for some of the trails can be rocky. Beautiful riding with great accommodations! I highly recommend Elkins Creek as a vacation destination.
Reviewed by: R.McDannell on 5/21/2016 6:36:51 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/15/2016 Hometown: Clearville , PA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Jill and Rick are the best camp hosts ever, make you feel like family. Level sites and nice horse stalls. New trails have been added since our last visit and older trails have been very well maintained. This is a wonderful place to ride and relax.
Reviewed by: Linda and Charlie on 4/30/2016 8:01:30 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 4/27/2016 Hometown: Selinsgrove, PA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Had a great time.Rick and Jill were wonderful hosts.lots of trils and they are adding more later this year.looking forwRd to going back
Reviewed by: Phillip on 4/30/2016 7:56:15 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 4/20/2016 Hometown: Sparta, Mi

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We had a great stay. Jill and Rick are amazing! We stayed in the cabin and it was very and charming. The facilities are very nice and trails are amazing.We saw deer and turkey in the trails. The scenery is beautiful. The stalls were conveniently located to the cabin. We will be heading back in October!
Reviewed by: Sunflowerpony on 4/29/2016 9:46:43 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 4/25/2016 Hometown: Glenford, Oh

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Just as relaxing as it is beautiful! Could not ask for a better place. I leave feeling so revived! Gorgeous trails will transport you to another world.
Reviewed by: GuntownSpirit on 4/28/2016 1:16:26 PM
More reviews by GuntownSpirit
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 4/23/2016 Hometown: McDermott, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Traveled once again to southeastern Ohio to Elkins Creek horse camp and once again had a great time! The weather was perfect this year, only an hour or so of rain all week. The weather was warm and sunny. Rick and Jill are the best camp hosts, very friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable about the area. They work very hard to keep, maintain, and build new trails in their area, the Wayne National Forest (hope this is right). They were working on building a new trail while we were there. Their trails are so nice to ride. The terrain varies. They are well marked. If you like to gait, there are numerous sections to do so. Some beautiful scenery. I could go on and on. Needless to say, it is a great place to go and we will go back.
Reviewed by: Jean Thomsen on 11/1/2015 10:48:08 AM
More reviews by Jean Thomsen
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/3/2015 Hometown: Rockford, MI

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This was our first time to Elkins Creek Ranch, and won't be our last. Rick/Jill, the owners were great! Jill met us as we pulled in, helped us park and get settled. The campground was clean and comfortable stalls for horses. There are many miles of well marked & maintained trails. Rick has truly has put a lot of work into keeping the trails in good condition. It was fun to explore the large growth forest, rock outcroppings, rock walls, & caves big enough to ride your horse in. Had a great time and enjoyed riding with friends. Looking forward to going back. Southern Ohio, (Wayne Forest) truly has a horse rider's paradise Mike/Helen
Reviewed by: Mike/Helen Makowiecki on 10/30/2015 7:08:17 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/18/2015 Hometown: Franklin, PA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Rick and Jill are gracious hosts and the trails are gorgeous! Facility is well maintained and offers everything needed for a relaxing stay for you and your horse.
Reviewed by: Jwestler on 10/19/2015 4:06:51 PM
Experience: Beginner Ride Date: 10/18/2015 Hometown: Waldo, Oh

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

The staff were very helpful and knew their trail system well. The campground and buildings were clean and inviting. The trails were well maintained. They treated my group as if we were family!
Reviewed by: alice swartz on 9/30/2015 10:44:40 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/26/2015 Hometown: pataskala, oh

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Wonderful place, wonderful trails, and even more wonderful people! This is one of the best kept trail riding secrets I have ever discovered!
Reviewed by: GuntownSpirit on 9/23/2015 11:43:07 AM
More reviews by GuntownSpirit
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/23/2015 Hometown: McDermott, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I am planning a trip for 2015, but the last time I was there was in 2014 and it was a great trip with great friends. Fantastic place to camp.
Reviewed by: TTackeTT on 9/17/2015 8:12:00 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 4/1/2014 Hometown: Berry, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Rick and Jill are wonderful hosts, and the campground and trails are awesome!!
Reviewed by: Luke Gingerich on 9/16/2015 9:49:36 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/11/2015 Hometown: Plain City, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

The trails were well marked and very well maintained. The camp was well maintained, my room was more than comfortable. I can't wait to go back. Rich and Jill were gracious hosts. I can't say enough about my stay!
Reviewed by: jill steele on 9/15/2015 12:03:00 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/10/2015 Hometown: bellville, oh

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Rick and Jill were the.most wonderful and helpful hosts for the HTCAA 9/11 ride. I would highly recommend there campground to anyone wishing.to ride in some beautiful country. Rick does an excellent job of maintaining the trails and his campground. Jill will give you her expert advice on picking out that new hat or T-shirt to wear. I am definitely going back. We rode from 09/10/15 until 09/13/15.
Reviewed by: Dennis M. Johnston on 9/14/2015 8:08:29 PM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 9/11/2015 Hometown: ASHTABULA, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

MY FAMILY STAYED 10 DAYS WITH RICK AND JILL AND IT WAS AWESOME THE TRAILS WERE MAINTAINED AND BEAUTIFUL. THE HORSES WHERE CONTENT AND THE STALLS WHERE GREAT. WE HAD AN ELECTRICAL SITE BY THE CREEK WHICH WAS RELAXING. WE NEVER HAD A CHANCE TO GET BORED BECAUSE THERE WAS PLENTY TO DO. HIKING PARKS CANOEING AND A SHOOTING RANGE. I WILL BE VISITING THIS HORSECAMP AS OFTEN AS I CAN IT WAS WELL WORTH THE TRAVEL TIME. THANKS TO THE OWNERS FOR A GREAT TIME AND MAKING US FEEL WELCOME AND ANSWERING ALL OF OUR HORSE QUESTIONS THERE IS ALSO FARRIER SERVICES FOR WHENEVER NEEDED.
Reviewed by: kathy johnson on 8/20/2015 2:13:29 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 8/9/2015 Hometown: wakeman , oh

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Great time, trails were wet but were drying (What can you expect after 10+inches of rain) quickly. Hospitality was great, Rick & Jill are warm and friendly and very helpful. Great place to ride, 2nd visit and better than 1st, just keeps getting better. Looking forward to another visit!
Reviewed by: JLynnS on 8/19/2015 1:03:04 PM
More reviews by JLynnS
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 7/29/2015 Hometown: VanBuren, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

i rode a lot of trails been to a camps but elkins creek is the best good people who own it good people who comes there if I was retired I would just live there lol that's how good every thing is
Reviewed by: steve duty on 7/11/2015 10:42:13 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 6/5/2015 Hometown: raceland, ky

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

My first time to Elkins Creek. Wonderful folks, beautiful campground and stunning, gorgeous trails. I will be back again and again. Thanks Rick for your hospitality.
Reviewed by: ksmateef on 6/29/2015 9:09:54 AM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 6/27/2015 Hometown: Canfield, Ohio, Oh

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I have never had such a wonderful time! Miss jill is the hostess with the mostess! The rooms are very reasonable and the cabins amazing. Great care seems to go into every detail there. The trails cannot all be ridden in a weekend. They are clean and Cover every experience level. You can't go wrong here! I feel God's presence and see his beauty n kindness everywhere I turn when I'm there!
Reviewed by: amy ward on 6/23/2015 3:55:46 PM
More reviews by amy ward
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 6/20/2015 Hometown: ona , wv

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I love this Horse Camp...Great trails..great place to camp ...and Jill and Rick are wonderful camp hosts....very close to my home and visit often with my horse friends..love it!
Reviewed by: DAWN MCCOMAS on 6/23/2015 11:24:03 AM
More reviews by DAWN MCCOMAS
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 6/5/2015 Hometown: Kenova, WV

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

My Husband and I frequent Elkins Creek quite often. Trails and camping are awesome. We recently had our western wedding on the grounds of Elkins Creek Horsecsmp and the hospitality was phenomenal. The owners are some of the nicest and sweetest people I know and I feel like family when we are there!!! Highly recommend this facility!!
Reviewed by: Tammy Gill on 6/22/2015 8:20:35 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 6/20/2015 Hometown: Glenwood , WV

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Elkins Creek Horse Camp is an amazing facility. Jill and Rick are like family and get to know everyone who comes into the facility. The trail are well kept and maintained. The campgrounds is clean and well kept. There are stalls to keep the horses in and a cabin and rooms that can be rented out to stay in that are rustic and well kept. They have a tack shop on the grounds so if you forget anything at home you won't have to worry. I would suggest if you have not been to this facility that you pack up the trailer and hit the trails. There are also various shows and clinics held at the facility, including fund shows, arena trail challenges, ACTHA rides, straight away races and much more.
Reviewed by: Bradie chapman on 6/22/2015 4:52:01 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/13/2015 Hometown: greenup, ky

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

AWESOME 5 STAR CAMPGROUND!!!! My favorite campground and hosts, Rick & Jill! Make you feel like your family! 3rd trip this year already, and have camped there 10 days out of the last 3 weeks. Great trails and campground. Cool down in the creek, or stop for lunch at the Big Rock, Rock and rock house formations and hollers full of ferns and wildflowers. Miles and miles of trails. In July the trails are full of sweet wild raspberries, ready to pick and take back to camp for cobblers. Black Raspberries were ripe this weekend. Down time you can ride in the ring or shop in the tack shop for bling, saddles, bridles, halters, hats and more! Set on the big front porch and visit or upload some pictures to the internet! Southern OH's Best Kept Secret!!!!
Reviewed by: Tamara Hicks on 6/22/2015 10:55:53 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 6/19/2015 Hometown: Ashland, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Elkins Creek Horse Camp is the best place I've ever camped and trail ridden at. Rick and Jill are the best host and hostess around. They do anything to help you out. The Wayne National Forest Horse Trails that adjoin the camp are kept in great shape due to the tireless efforts of Rick and Jill and the volunteers who donate their time to work on them and keep them clear. The trails are beautiful. I really appreciate all their efforts because available horse trails are disappearing. The camp is always neat and clean. They have many fun events through out the year. Check out their website for events. I would recommend this camp for anyone and can't wait to go back.
Reviewed by: Missy Walker on 6/21/2015 11:30:03 PM
More reviews by Missy Walker
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 6/20/2015 Hometown: East Lynn, WV

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Elkins Creek Horse Camp is a one in a million place to go! The Folks there are awesome! If you want a place to go that's top of the line GO!!! The calm and tranquility you will experience is awesome!!!! Trails are Great!!!!
Reviewed by: ljm on 6/14/2015 6:37:35 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 6/14/2015 Hometown: Columbus, oh

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We stayed at Elkins Creek for the first time during the first week of October 2014. The campground is nice and open, easy to maneuver large rigs. The trails were beautiful and very well maintained. If you ride gaited horses, there were many great places to move along. Had quite a bit of rain while we were there (and double rainbows, too!), but we got in some very nice rides even on some of the rainy days. We didn't even get to ride all of the trails so will definitely go back. Rick and Jill are very friendly and helpful. My husband really liked the massage, too. They are doing a great job with the trails and working to make more.
Reviewed by: Jean Thomsen on 12/2/2014 1:06:29 PM
More reviews by Jean Thomsen
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: Hometown: Rockford, MI

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

rained while were there but had a great time. are upgrading campground. trails are beautiful. owners are so helpful and friendly. certainly will go back.
Reviewed by: helen kimpel on 10/20/2014 7:38:03 AM
More reviews by helen kimpel
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/17/2014 Hometown: mt. vernon, oh

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This was an organized ride for the appaloosa club. We rode 5 days and the landscape of the trails was beautiful. The campground was neat, clean, and the host and hostess were so accommodating. I will definitely be back. They have it all, stalls, cabins, tack shop, and quiet. We had a wonderful time.
Reviewed by: Kelmonoh on 10/8/2014 12:12:11 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/27/2014 Hometown: Stonelick Township, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I found the camp to be one of the best I've been to. The stalls were safe and that's the most important thing. Sites were level, tack shop well stocked with necessities and bling. Jill & Rick were most gracious hosts. The riding was very nice and I'm sure we did not get to see all of it. Kudos to Rick & Jill for a most enjoyable stay!
Reviewed by: Aleta Seifert on 10/7/2014 7:46:12 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/1/2014 Hometown: Felton, PA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

The camp is clean and well laid out, the trails are beautiful and well marked, and the owners are helpful and knowledgeable. They will do what it takes to make your stay perfect. The on-site tack store is an added bonus.
Reviewed by: Nan Miller on 10/6/2014 3:51:37 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/1/2014 Hometown: Batavia, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Elkins Creek Horse Camp is a FIVE STAR destination! The trails are beautiful, scenic, and very well-maintained. The campground is very clean and accommodating. Rick and Jill are outstanding hosts! They will go above and beyond the normal duty in order to make you and your horse's stay a memorable and wonderful experience! Don't forget to check out the great tack shop, and do sign up for one of Jill's famous massages! This is my favorite horse camping destination!
Reviewed by: Mary Fairbanks on 10/6/2014 2:18:05 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 9/27/2014 Hometown: Cincinnati, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Rick and Jill go out of their way to make your stay excellent the trails are in great shape the campground couldn't be better
Reviewed by: Don yeater on 10/6/2014 8:18:14 AM
More reviews by Don yeater
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/4/2014 Hometown: Upper Sandusky, oh

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Nice fall weather,easy trail access, great trails, horses stalled where we could see from our camping site, friendliness of owners, made this four-day stay a wonderful experience, riding the ridges of Wayne National Forest in southeastern Ohio.
Reviewed by: Sam bruster on 9/29/2014 5:53:02 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/23/2014 Hometown: Spencer, WV

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Very nice campground and trails. Stalls available, fairly level campsites with electric. Can get crowded during events.
Reviewed by: EMoo on 9/21/2014 4:28:55 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/7/2014 Hometown: Pittsburgh, PA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Cleanest facility I have ever been at. Nice trails and wonderful people Great tack shop, Every thing you need, good prices.
Reviewed by: Janice Martz on 9/9/2014 8:33:19 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 8/5/2014 Hometown: MAYPORT, PA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Spent the weekend with my two granddaughters. Our first time there and we loved it. Beautiful trails. We only rode a small portion but fell in love with the place. Rick and Jill have a very special camp making you feel at home. A place to relax and find yourself away from our busy lives. We can not wait to go back. They have everything you need, electric hookups, level parking, nice stalls for the horses, along with a riding ring. The granddaughters enjoyed riding in the creek also. They had no problem staying occupied.
Reviewed by: Stephanie stover on 9/8/2014 2:19:34 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/5/2014 Hometown: Gallipolis, oh

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Had a good week at Elkins, Great people, ahd a good time. will go back. thanks for the good time
Reviewed by: shazzyear on 9/7/2014 9:50:23 AM
More reviews by shazzyear
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 7/5/2014 Hometown: strasburg, oh

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I cant say enough about how wonderful out visit was at Elkins Creek Campground. Jill and Rick have done a great job with their facilities. Everything you need in one place. I also loved the trails. The camp was very peaceful and quiet. Jill and Rick are right there working for you. They stop by for a few minutes each night and talk with the campers and ask if we need anything. Trails are in good shape and I believe it is because Rick works hard to keep them open and cleared for the riders. I will be going back and I hope it will be soon.
Reviewed by: Tonya on 8/11/2014 1:45:04 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 8/8/2014 Hometown: Cynthiana, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I cannot say enough good things about Jill and Ricky at Elkin’s Creek Horse Camp! Camp that includes, electric sites, stalls, outdoor riding arena, tack shop (for the things you may have forgot to bring, need to replace if broken, or just to shop around), cabins, showers and bathrooms, ice, shelter pavilion . . . what more could you ask for? Ricky and Jill are the most accommodating owners you will ever meet. They are so friendly and helpful, you’d think you’ve known them for years and this is what makes Elkin’s Creek such a wonderful place. The trails are amazing, beautiful and there are loops for every level of rider whether your are a beginner or an expert. The scenery, caves, rocks, iron furnace, etc. are gorgeous. I Brought my other half for his first time camping with our group and their horses, and even though he didn’t ride, he even had a fantastic time!! I’ve been to quite a few horse camps and Elkin’s Creek is by far, my all-time favorite! Cannot wait to come back in September/October for a week-long stay for the Sheltowee Ride! I wish we lived closer! Call them, make reservations, I promise you will not be disappointed!
Reviewed by: Janet Lee on 8/5/2014 7:40:38 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 8/2/2014 Hometown: Loveland, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Elkin's Creek Horse camp is a great place to get away for the weekend and enjoy nature and your horse. The trails are very well maintained. The campground is always filled with inviting people to share an evening campfire or share riding stories. I consider this place to be my sanity sanctuary and can't wait to get back each month.
Reviewed by: SEbright on 8/2/2014 12:15:22 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 7/23/2014 Hometown: Sunbury, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

The trails are clean and well maintained. Rick and Jill do a great job with the campground. They have stalls for your horses and a well stocked tack shop. They go out of their way to make sure your stay is pleasant. This is one of the best maintained places I have stayed at. Can't wait to go back Labor Day weekend.
Reviewed by: Jeff Gilkerson on 7/28/2014 9:15:01 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 7/2/2014 Hometown: Flemingsburg, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Great place to camp! Great facilities, great and challenging trails, beautiful scenery. Camp owners are so nice and accommodating, make everyone feel right at home.
Reviewed by: Jess Shiepe on 7/23/2014 11:30:30 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 7/13/2014 Hometown: Batavia, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

The weather called for cool weather in the 70's so I started looking for new campground within couple hours from Lexington spend a few days, at the spur of the moment. And boy did I pick a winner. We have been riding for over 20 years from Mt. Rogers Virginia, to Big South Fork to Shawnee National Forests, and many campgrounds in between . I have to say that Rick maintains his trails better than any I have ridden. Bar none. No trees to go around or unexpected surprises. They have trails for all levels, you can pull cart on lots, and you are riding in the forest, not the woods. The campground and bathrooms were very clean and organized. Stalls and barns clean, and close to where you camp. I have never had a personal welcome and a feeling of owners who love what they are doing for a living, and they want you to enjoy yourself as much as possible. The scenery is rock bluffs, caves, mountain top overlooks. It is a short drive from Lexington, and we plan to go back as soon as possible because we rode 4 days and couldn't begin to see all the sights. Don't miss this jewel of a campground and wonderful host.
Reviewed by: The Wood family on 7/22/2014 12:30:40 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 7/14/2014 Hometown: Midway, ky

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This was a great find for us! It is located just 20 minutes from Ashland, Kentucky. On our first trip we were a bit concerned with the distance we needed to travel to get to this place. The owners were very informative with directions and easiest passage for trailers. The camp had nice stalls, water and ample room for our trailer with electric. We enjoyed sitting by the camp fire with other riders and the owners campfire popcorn sharing experiences on the trails in the evenings. The trails.. The trails are easy in places and also a challenge for those looking for that experience. Every trail has a different view and different terrain. The owners Rick and Jill are wonderful people.
Reviewed by: mj on 7/22/2014 12:25:13 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 7/15/2014 Hometown: St. Paris, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Just returned from another wonderful weekend with our Grandkids at Elkins Creek, The kids love it there, it is their favorite camp ground, Jill and Rick and wonderful hosts. if you are looking for a well run campground with owners who will do just about anything to make your time there great, and enjoy good varied trails and beautiful views, Elkins Creek is the place for you and your horses.
Reviewed by: Jane Wheaton on 7/13/2014 8:11:39 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 7/12/2014 Hometown: Williamsburg, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Love Elkins creek. Rick and Jill are great hosts they truly are great people who love the outdoors and it shows from how they keep the campground and well maintained trails. trails are great from beginner on the first ride or challenging the best riders . This is a must visit.
Reviewed by: Kendra stewart on 7/1/2014 7:34:08 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 6/19/2014 Hometown: mcarthur, oh

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Rick and Jill are wonderful people... you are welcomed with warm hearts and open arms....I have been to many horse camps and this one was buy far my favorite... I cant wait to return..the camp grounds were clean and well maintained...the trails were mowed and free of under growth...dont miss your chance to have an awesome exsperiance...
Reviewed by: connie cavendish snyder on 7/1/2014 8:58:40 AM
Experience: Beginner Ride Date: 6/26/2014 Hometown: norwich, oh

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We camped with our mules for the first time at Elkins Creek this past weekend and plan to return lots! The campground was nice, the owners the friendliest and most accommodating ever, clean camp, nice covered stalls, great tack shop, farrier service, fun trail challenge course in the arena, and more. The adjacent trails in the Wayne National Forest were so well maintained and there were a variety of terrain choices: cave areas, hills under nice tree cover, and a great rest area with high lines on the Paddle Creek Loop. We didn't feel shoes were needed for our mules. Friendly folks and very reasonable cost.
Reviewed by: Beth Bell on 7/1/2014 8:53:37 AM
More reviews by Beth Bell
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/28/2014 Hometown: Winchester, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I was just welcomed with open arms to Elkins Creek Horse Camp. Rick and Jill are Gods earthly angels, to say the very least! They go over and above to make sure that every guest on the ground feels welcome and has what they need. The grounds are kept up very well and I believe they would do even more if the money was there to do it because they are such giving people!! The trails are well kept, and you can find a trail for all levels of riding. My horse and I will be returning to Elkins Creek as often as we can!!
Reviewed by: Danyeil Reed on 7/1/2014 8:36:01 AM
Experience: Beginner Ride Date: 6/28/2014 Hometown: Zanesville , oh

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Elkins was my first experience in 15 years to camp over with my horses...I loved every minute of Jill and Ricks hospitality and laid back personalities. At any given time either one of them would immediately take to my needs and or my horses...they were amazing and I will return again and again...very compforted to know there is a friendly trail and owners waiting on my next adventure to Elkins...
Reviewed by: Terri Slack on 7/1/2014 8:05:42 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/30/2014 Hometown: New Concord, Oh

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Elkins Creek has spoiled me when compared to a lot of other campgrounds. The hosts, Rick and Jill, are second to none and treat you like family. The facilities are clean and well-maintained. The trails are beautiful and Rick puts in a ton of effort keeping them clear as well as coming up with ideas for new trails to see awesome scenery. Elkins Creek is easily one of my favorite places to camp and it's a great place for me to make an easy getaway to. Having a farrier and a massage therapist on-site sure doesn't hurt either!
Reviewed by: Karen Wappelhorst on 7/1/2014 7:36:17 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/3/2014 Hometown: Wilmington, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I just got back from a wonderful long weekend at Elkins Creek. The trails were well maintained - especially in the light of the bad wind storms that blew in a few weeks ago. The trails are rocky - and hilly - -you should have shoes on your horse - Me and my mares really enjoyed the trails - - some beautiful sights. The campground was well maintained - more could be done if the funding was there - but it was clean and well kept up. We drove into Aid for Pizza one night and found the local residents very nice. When we go trail riding at a new place - we like to spend our money in the local area as well. I cant say enough good about Elkins Creek and Wayne National Forest - IN THE LAKE VESUVIUS AREA (The Athens branch of WNF leaves a lot to be desired)
Reviewed by: Foundationqtrpony on 7/1/2014 6:19:08 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/25/2014 Hometown: Baltimore, oh

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Just got back from a 5 day stay at Elkins Creek Horse camp. What an awesome experience. The trails were well kept and beautiful. Rick and Jill are the most warm and welcoming people with only your comfort in mind. It felt like we were family. The accomodations were top notch. Can't wait to go back. Farrier, Massage, available, fully equipped tack room. Bathrooms with showers, Prices are very reasonable. You won't be sorry if you go there. I'll be going back next year. Thanks Rick and Jill for a wonderful place for horse lovers!!!
Reviewed by: Vivian Courtney on 6/30/2014 9:10:19 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/28/2014 Hometown: Mount Perry, Ohio, Oh

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Love to camp at Elkins Creek Campground and Tack. Been there several times and have never been disappointed. Rick and Jill go out of their way to make sure everyone enjoys the stay. Will be back again soon.
Reviewed by: Valerie Toban on 6/30/2014 3:20:46 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 6/28/2014 Hometown: Pomeroy, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Excellent campground facilities and love the stalls for the horses. Trails are well maintained by Rick and Jill's hospitality makes it a fun place to ride and camp.
Reviewed by: Jean Zaebst on 6/30/2014 10:21:24 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 6/27/2014 Hometown: Bucyrus, Oh

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Rick and Jill are great host they try to be sure everyone has everything they need. Camp is clean and stalls are nice easy to get big rigs around camp. The trails are well maintained. highly recommend this horse camp.
Reviewed by: fbrimstein on 6/30/2014 5:21:22 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 6/29/2014 Hometown: chillicothe, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Jill and Rick are wonderful, the trails are well maintained and the campgrounds and facilities are clean. The horses are stalled. The trails and views are outstanding, can't wait to go back!!!
Reviewed by: Linda4376 on 6/29/2014 6:46:43 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/25/2014 Hometown: Pickerington, oh

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Excellent campground! Rick/Jill (owners) were most gracious hosts. We enjoyed a mother/son weekend in their spacious cabin on the creek. What a BEAUTIFUL, relaxing setting! Bathrooms/showers were clean and nicely decorated, plus our horses had covered stalls. Thoroughly enjoyed my massage with Jill (a licensed massage therapist) after a day of riding! Trails were wide and well maintained by Rick. Had a great weekend and plan on going back!
Reviewed by: TD on 6/17/2014 1:37:18 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 6/13/2014 Hometown: Paris, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

wonderful hosts. Fantastic campground and trails. If you have not been there make it a must they have beginner to expert trails.
Reviewed by: calamityjane on 6/15/2014 7:44:14 PM
More reviews by calamityjane
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 6/12/2014 Hometown: Londonderry, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Rick and Jill have one of the besthorse camps we have used in ohio and surounding states.The trails are in great shape and Rick and Jill make you feel like part of there family.
Reviewed by: don yeater on 6/3/2014 6:34:41 PM
More reviews by don yeater
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/22/2014 Hometown: Upper Sandusky, oh

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Trails are awesome. And if you've never been to Elkins Creek Horsecamp you should really give it a try. Rick & Jill are great people. We've been several times and plan to go back again
Reviewed by: Barb Tindle on 6/1/2014 9:57:02 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/23/2014 Hometown: Fayetteville, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Rick and Jill (camp owners) are as accommodating and nice as we have met at any campground. We have traveled and camped in many states and found this campground to be outstanding and the trails were wonderful. We will certainly be back to camp again!
Reviewed by: Shirley sales on 5/28/2014 2:27:25 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/21/2014 Hometown: Seville, oh

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Great place very clean. Jill and Rick do a great job.
Reviewed by: copper on 5/28/2014 6:10:46 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/23/2014 Hometown: Marysville, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We have stayed at Elkins Creek Horsecamp twice. Rick and Jill are wonderful hosts and they make everyone feel welcome! We felt like part of the family! Stalls were perfect for our needs, and the trails are awesome!!! We will definitely be back again before long!
Reviewed by: clearviewranch on 5/27/2014 4:28:48 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/25/2014 Hometown: Greenville, PA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

If you want a wonderful place to ride in Ohio this is the place.Great owners so helpful and we loved the trails.We will have to go back we didn't have time to ride them all.They have a great tack shop right there and if you need a shoe replaced they do that to just about anything you need. WE loved it. Thanks Jil& Rick
Reviewed by: Pauline Mozena on 5/27/2014 10:07:16 AM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 5/23/2014 Hometown: Martinsville, Oh

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Owners are super nice and accommodating. Good size covered stalls. Nice shower/bathhouses, tack shop and you can get a massage! Good variety of trails that are well maintained. Beautiful and remote country location.
Reviewed by: Kathy Burns Rittwage on 5/23/2014 2:34:29 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/23/2014 Hometown: Scotch Plains, New Jersey,

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

The trails are VERY well maintained and in excellent condition, with a variety of options for both short and long rides. Trail maps are provided, and the trails are well marked. The footing was very good for the most part, with mud being a problem on only one section of one trail. The scenery was very enjoyable too...my favorite trail followed a long section of ridge on the top of a large hill. On a clear day you can see all the way into the state of Virginia from this ridge. The campground was well maintained too...bathrooms, showers and the cabin we stayed in were all very clean. Campsites are all level, and the campground has nice wide driveways to make maneuvering larger rigs easier. I can't say enough nice things about the owners, Rick and Jill. They were so helpful and accomadating, and really made us feel like family!
Reviewed by: emwhite on 5/23/2014 5:01:24 AM
More reviews by emwhite
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/20/2014 Hometown: Kirtland, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I love riding at Elkins Creek! The trails are in excellent condition and there are miles of them. I also like the family atmosphere in the camp grounds. Rick & Jill are always willing to go that extra mile to make everyone feel welcome. They have also let the 4H kids come out and work in the arena, use the country kitchen, and just in general lend a helping hand to anything they can help with. Elkins Creek is a great family oriented riding and camping grounds!
Reviewed by: Gwebb on 5/20/2014 2:04:14 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/17/2014 Hometown: South Point, oh

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Elkins Creek is one of our favorite places to ride. We camp and ride their as often as we can - which is often thanks to their reasonably prices rates. The couple that owns and operates the camp (Rick and Jill) treat everyone who visits like family. They work nonstop to keep everything clean and comfortable, including the trails. Every single season Rick spends many long hours maintaining the surrounding trails with his mule and tractor. We never have to worry about mud thanks to his efforts. Jill is the best hostess that anyone could ask for - she really goes the extra mile to make everyone have a nice visit. They have some really fun events throughout the year and they are group-friendly. The trails are beautiful, as is the camp. They really watch out for their riders, too. As everyone knows, accidents happen when you are dealing with horses, and it's nice to know that in a place that you may not be familiar with you will always have someone looking out for your safety and overall happiness. We LOVE Elkins Creek!!!
Reviewed by: Samantha on 5/15/2014 7:02:16 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 7/13/2013 Hometown: Greenup, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Love the trails for the variety! And the owners here work hard on keeping them in good shape and marked. The campground has become my favorite place to relax with my horse. It's beautiful. Hope you can be lucky enough to go during the week, Rick and Jill are great to visit with. Of all the places I have been, this place is the homiest, and great trails. Who could ask for anything more?
Reviewed by: Tammi P on 5/11/2014 12:34:27 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 4/23/2014 Hometown: New Martinsville, wv

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Spent a week at Elkin's Creek Horse Camp. Owners, Rick and Jill, are very nice people and it was fun getting to know them. Campground is clean with stalls close to your camping spot. Trails are well maintained and range from easy to challenging with beautiful rock formations. Rick is working with the forest system to add more trails. Will definitely be back!!!!
Reviewed by: Michelle Smith on 5/10/2014 11:43:37 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/5/2014 Hometown: Shelbyville, IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Had an Absolutely AWESOME time camping 4 nights. Rode close to 70 miles. Trails were Great! Redbuds in bloom, and while we were there the Dogwoods started blooming too. Wildflowers everywhere! Rode the Wild Cat Trail at least 6 times! Rick & Jill are the Hosts with the Most! Make you feel like your special! Shopped in the Tack Store, Hank had a great stall. Nice Bathrooms and Hot Shower! Camping spot was perfect. Ride right out of camp into Wayne National Forest. All the fallen trees had been cut out, someone, Rick & Jill, and friends, have been working hard! Can't say enough about this place, I keep coming back!!! See you guys in June!
Reviewed by: Tami Hicks on 4/21/2014 8:13:49 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 4/16/2014 Hometown: Ashland, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Just finishing up a return trip. All of my comments from last year are still true. This is absolutely my favorite place to camp and ride. Rick and Jill have done a tremendous job clearing trails after the horrible winter we've had. They are continuously adding on and making improvements to the camp. I've never had more hospitable or helpful hosts anywhere I've camped. They have great events throughout the year. Will keep coming back time after time.
Reviewed by: Missy Walker on 4/19/2014 7:41:39 PM
More reviews by Missy Walker
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 4/18/2014 Hometown: East Lynn, WV

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We absolutely cant say enough about how much we loved our time at Elkins Creek Horse Camp. The owners Rick and Jill are the best hosts you could ask for. They accommodated any need we had. The campsite and the cabin were perfect for our trip. The trails were first class and beautiful. We cant wait to go back. The trip is being planned.
Reviewed by: scott mcsweeney on 10/14/2013 5:58:14 AM
More reviews by scott mcsweeney
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/1/2013 Hometown: Ona, WV

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We absolutely cant say enough about how much we loved our time at Elkins Creek Horse Camp. The owners Rick and Jill are the best hosts you could ask for. They accommodated any need we had. The campsite and the cabin were perfect for our trip. The trails were first class and beautiful. We cant wait to go back. The trip is being planned.
Reviewed by: Scott McSweeney on 10/14/2013 5:52:26 AM
More reviews by Scott McSweeney
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/1/2013 Hometown: Ona, WV

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Elkins Creek Horse Camp is my favorite place to camp and ride. Saturday they hosted a cowpoke challenge that was fun and entertaining. The band, Poverty String, played from dark until midnight, and they were awesome. Owners, Jill and Rick, are so hospitable and fun to be around. Don't miss out on the experience of riding in the beautiful Wayne National forest!
Reviewed by: Missy Jackson on 10/14/2013 5:38:29 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/12/2013 Hometown: Ashland, Kentucky, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Trails well maintained, owners knowledgeable, helpful & friendly. Beautiful area; had a great time & will definitely go back again. Thanks Rick $ Jill!
Reviewed by: pvhf1 on 10/1/2013 4:30:37 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/29/2013 Hometown: milton, wv

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Awesome relaxing area. Rick and Jill are the best camp hosts ever. They make the extra effort to treat their visitors like extended family and forever friends. We had a slight colic issue with an older mare. Steve Walker, DVM was called and immediatly responded. Wonderful care. Turned the situation around so that we were able to compete our vacation without additional worry. Great people and trails in that area. You won't be disappointed.
Reviewed by: Denise Wilson on 9/27/2013 6:21:43 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/23/2013 Hometown: Beaver , PA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We have been there several times over the past few years and you couldn't ask for a better place to go. They have 3 different barns with stalls, tack store and many miles of trails. They are currently building even more trails. The place is clean, the owners go out of their way to make sure you have a great time and will help you with whatever you need. They have electric hook ups and you can fill up your water tank when needed but they do not have water at the sites. They don't have a dump station either, but the state park is right down the road, they have one, but we use the one on Rt 77 (I think) in West Virginia at the rest spot, both are free. I just can't say enough..Its a really nice place & the owners are great. They have events thoughout the year also, I have never been to any but I'm sure there fun.
Reviewed by: Teresa Jacobs White on 9/20/2013 1:49:09 PM
More reviews by Teresa Jacobs White
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 9/6/2013 Hometown: Freedom, Ohio, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Great place-Rick & Jill are so helpful & always around & available for anything. We loved the trails & wanted to stay longer. The bathroom was small but clean & there was another one on the other side of the campground so never had to wait. We're looking forward to returning ASAP!
Reviewed by: Cheri Roy on 9/6/2013 6:18:06 PM
More reviews by Cheri Roy
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 8/29/2013 Hometown: Marysville, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Jill & Rick were most accommodating to us even shimming our trailer tire up so that the trailer would sit level. We arrived before the Labor Day rush so had our choice of sites. We chose one by the creek & next to a nostalgic covered bridge...loved it! The trails were beautiful & in good shape. The bathrooms were clean & modest but sufficient. The stalls were fairly small but worked out ok for our horses. Larger stalls were available but we wanted the horses close by. We were treated like family & will be returning.
Reviewed by: Cheri Roy on 9/6/2013 6:12:26 PM
More reviews by Cheri Roy
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 8/29/2013 Hometown: Marysville, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Great place to camp and trail ride. Trails are awesome. Rick and Jill were very helpful getting us settled in. They stopped by to see if we needed anything and shared stories. When our horse got sick on the trail Rick came out and got me and the horse and brought us back to camp. Everyone at campground was extremely nice and friendly. We will be going back.
Reviewed by: Elizabeth DeBorde and Max Traven on 8/27/2013 3:54:28 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 8/25/2013 Hometown: Arcanum, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

rick and Jill best hosts ever. They asked every day where vou will going map it for you. Trails are the best we ever rode on. Rick is working on them all the time.Camp is very clean. I would highly recommend this place you will love it. We are going back again.
Reviewed by: ClairePeteya on 8/3/2013 6:49:19 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 8/3/2013 Hometown: Bethel Park, Pa

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

didnt get to all trails because we didnt have time. rick and jill are super folks and have a very nice campground.
Reviewed by: walkers on 7/28/2013 8:24:39 AM
More reviews by walkers
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 7/26/2013 Hometown: sunbury, oh

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Spent 4 days at Elkins Creek. We had a great time. Rick and Jill were great hosts. Great trails and well maintained. Nice stalls, electric, water and showers a real plus. We will definitely be back. Also enjoyed our canoe trip down the Syms River.
Reviewed by: Rick and Letha on 7/8/2013 5:40:52 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 6/21/2013 Hometown: Bradford, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Spent 4 days at Elkins Creek. We had a great time. Rick and Jill were great hosts. Great trails and well maintained. Nice stalls, electric, water and showers a real plus. We will definitely be back. Also enjoyed our canoe trip down the Syms River.
Reviewed by: Rick and Letha on 7/8/2013 5:40:44 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 6/21/2013 Hometown: Bradford, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We just returned from our first visit to Elkins Creek Horse Camp. Rick & Jill are great hosts and do a wonderful job at the campground! The trails are well-maintained and very scenic. We picked a hot weekend and after several days of riding in the heat, we gave our horses a break and went canoeing with Rick and had a great time. With the nice stalls, we didn't have to worry about our horses. We will definitely go back!
Reviewed by: M & J Ruchty on 6/29/2013 10:34:00 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 6/23/2013 Hometown: Versailles, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Rick and Jill are the best camp host/hostess I have encountered. They help out with anything you request and even come to check on you to make sure everything is great. The camp is very well maintained; clean bathrooms and showers. They are continually improving the campground. They have a great ring to ride in and practice those show ring moves. :) Easy to park the big rigs and if you are like me and can't back one up, Rick will do it for you - even with a truck full of 4 yipping chihauhaus and a basset hound. They have a great cabin if you want more room. They have a covered pavillion to have larger dinners, fundraisers, etc. Stalls are nice. They also have a nice, well stocked tack shop. My horse threw a shoe on one of my trips and Rick put it right back on for me. Rick keeps the trails mowed and well maintained. There are miles and miles of trails so you don't have to ride the same ones. Trailheads are right at the camp. If you come back in aching, Jill will give you a massage that will take the pain away! Some people are concerned about ticks. I used human "OFF" with deet on my horses legs and then sprayed with horse fly spray. I only saw one or two ticks on him when I came back, so that wasn't a big concern for me. I have been to Elkins Creek Campground four or five times and can't wait to go back! Love you, Rick and Jill!
Reviewed by: Missy Walker on 6/25/2013 11:10:55 AM
More reviews by Missy Walker
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/18/2013 Hometown: East Lynn, WV

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

A lot of trail miles. Very scenic. Trail heads at or near campsite. Owners VERY accommodating. We've been there several times and plan to go back.
Reviewed by: Chris Perrino on 6/1/2013 6:23:31 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/24/2013 Hometown: Cincinnati, Ohio, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Rick and Jill are the greatest hosts you could ever ask for. We have been there twice now and will be going back when we get a chance. Wish it was a whole lot closer to us in PA because it is now one of our favorite places to camp. Still tons of riding for us to explore and learn.
Reviewed by: Jeanne Root on 5/30/2013 3:43:38 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 4/29/2013 Hometown: ,

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This was our second visit to Elkins Creek and we will be going back again. The camping & riding is great, lots of points of interest & beautiful views along the trail. Jill & Rick are the best,will do whatever they can so that you enjoy your time at Elkins Creek. They are very knowledgeable about the trails & tell you where all the interesting sites are.
Reviewed by: Charlie & Linda on 5/29/2013 5:40:38 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 4/27/2013 Hometown: Selinsgrove, PA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This was my second time here, and I have to reiterate exactly what I commented after my ride last year!! Gorgeous trails, well maintained, and very scenic! Rick and Jill ARE THE MOST incredible hosts! Clean bathrooms/showers, decent sized stalls, friendly, accomodating, laid-back atmosphere. The roads to Elkins Creek are narrow and windy, but slowing down, made one appreciate the beautiful foothills and fall foliage! I would highly recommend Elkins Creek as a trail riding destination!
Reviewed by: Mary F. on 10/24/2012 6:43:09 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/19/2012 Hometown: Cincinnati, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Had a beautiful week with Rick & Jill. They are so friendly & accommodating. Electric & water at campground plentiful. Trails very scenic. I recommend shoes for horses. Will definitely go back. A short drive to Kentucky & stores & restaurant were plentiful. No cell service at camp, but Rick & Jill had a free phone for your use.
Reviewed by: Ralph & Chris on 10/7/2012 9:10:53 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 9/30/2012 Hometown: Butler, PA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Trails are awesome plenty to see for several days. As in most other trail areas trees are down and must reroute around, they will mark your map and let you know this and the great spots to check out. Riding on some roads paved and gravel to complete the loops. recommend shoes. Campground has best hostess. some stalls 8x8 most a few larger. No cell phone service at camp. Internet slow and limited to back camping area. Landline used for free when not used by others frequently busy. Basically not gadget friendly for those needing service to continue work or other responsibilities. Heard a lot of complaints of Shower looses volume pressure to a trickle when others using water to water horses or other bathroom gets used. I was the guy watering horses while waiting in line to fill bucket. No dump station to mt campers. Bring your on pitchfork not plastic. Great place to camp big rig friendly. Yes we will be back!
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 10/6/2012 3:52:48 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/4/2012 Hometown: Gypsy review, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

The trails at Elkins Creek/ Wayne National forest were very clean and well marked with some of the best scenery in Ohio! Rick and Jill were very accommodating! The camp ground is clean with hot showers! We will defiantly be back!
Reviewed by: Nicole on 9/27/2012 7:12:02 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/22/2012 Hometown: New Vienna, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Was evry pleased with the hospotality that we received at the campground. The trails were the best we have rode in ohio. I highly recommend staying and riding at Elkins Creek. The owners Rick and Jill are supper people.
Reviewed by: Dave & Karla Clark ( the scooter people) on 9/16/2012 5:48:08 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 8/27/2012 Hometown: Dover, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Absolutely Beautiful countryside. The sights are never ending. Trails are very well maintained. No complaints at all about anything. Camp owners are there for you and very accommodating. I had the best massage ever, by Jill after my ride. This is a camp that I am definitely going back to!
Reviewed by: Pam on 9/3/2012 11:56:55 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/2/2012 Hometown: Marysville, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Rode Wayne National Forest out of Elkins Creek for 3 days over the Labor Day weekend. This was our second trip to Elkins Creek and found it just keeps getting better. THe campground is neat, tidy, organized. The bathrooms clean. The stalls are plentiful and clean. Bedded on arrival. The trails are well marked and there are maps that are available are easy to follow. New trails this year were quite nice. Rick had done alot of work on the trails himself. The brambles were cut back and there were no wet areas (although it has been quite dry). But you could tell the wet areas had been graded and filled with stone. The trail are scenic. Winding through the forest. The high areas provide quite a vista. Rick and Jill are wonderful host/hostess. They let us put the horses in an arena so they could stretch their legs after the long drive. They were constantly coming around making sure we had everything we needed. There is a nice little grocery store in the town of Aid that cuts its own meats. Next time we are just going to shop when we get there!! I would recommend Elkins Creek as a destination or a stop over on your way further south. It is east to get to off of I - 64 and could be a great place to stop, ride a few days and break up a longer trip!
Reviewed by: RachelV on 9/2/2012 5:44:19 PM
More reviews by RachelV
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 8/31/2012 Hometown: Chardon, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Elkins Creek campground is awesome. No matter what you needed Rick or Jill was there to get it for you. I loved how they mingled with everyone. I could come back there to just camp even without horses. Just enjoying the fellowship and all the campers makes it worth while. I cant wait to go back and canoe with Rick.
Reviewed by: Kristi Luschek on 6/22/2012 7:09:04 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 6/16/2012 Hometown: Hillsboro, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Trails at Elkins Creek are very well maintained. Owners Rick and Jill McCleese obviously work very diligently to make sure their camp is clean and their campers are happy. This was our first visit and we plan to return more than once. Enjoyed our stay and the riding immensely.
Reviewed by: Jeff and Nancy on 6/17/2012 2:10:57 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 6/16/2012 Hometown: Millfield, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This is one of the best places we have been. Rick and Jill make you feel at home and part of the family. And the amenaties are the best of any. And the prices are out of this world. You will pay alot more at a state run park with nothing more than primitative camping. We felt like we should of paid alot more for everything they have to offer there. Great trails.
Reviewed by: Darlene Duffield on 6/4/2012 7:46:04 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/31/2012 Hometown: Burbank, , OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Amazing Weekend! Rick and Jill were so hospitable. The campground was out of this world! WE had so much fun. Got a mini massage from Jill right before we left. Rick took a whole crew of us out canoeing and it was a blast. The trails were amazing. Definately taking the High Point trail to the Furnace was a must ride for anyone that visits. Can not wait to come back again and bring more friends. Thanks Rick and Jill.
Reviewed by: Jolene Holbrook on 5/29/2012 11:36:55 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/26/2012 Hometown: Felicity, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Just finished a wonderful 3 day experience of beautiful trails and the best southern hospitality anyone could ask for!! The work that the owner Rick has put in on the trails such as mowing and cleaning the trails to keep you and your horse safe is amazing. Mowing the sides of the trails to widen them is wonderful and also is helping greatly to fight ticks, which is a huge problem all over for us trail riders!! But it is so nice to have someone like Rick who cares about his trails and us as riders. Elkins Creek is a great overall experience you are family by the time you leave. Rick and Jill are awesome hosts. Their home is your home, always a fresh pot of coffee is there for you, a hot tub, and a wonderful massage. This is the place to experience awesome trails !!! Thank you so much Rick and Jill for a wonderful 3 days.
Reviewed by: Robin Caron on 5/27/2012 8:14:34 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/25/2012 Hometown: Piketon, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Had a group of 18 riders there for six days and there was not one complaint from anyone about the campground or the trails. Rick was so accommodating - even took a group canoeing one afternoon. Rode with us everyday and showed us some beautiful sites. We rode a total of about 88 miles for the 5 days we rode and did not hit all the trails so we will be going back probably once or twice a year from now on. Sites were level and stalls were good. Trails were mostly easy grades and some were very wide with lots of beautiful views. We absolutely loved Elkins Creek - one of the best kept secrets in Ohio. You need to try this camp. You can even get a massage from Jill if you get sore - now how many camps can say that??? This is a great destination. Rick is doing a great job.
Reviewed by: S. Shamblin on 5/21/2012 12:45:45 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/14/2012 Hometown: Big Springs, WV

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Rick and Jill at Elkins creek are the nicest people you could ever meet. I am generally a shy person and hard to warm up to and I felt like home by the end of our weekend stay. Rick did a great job putting shoes on my boy and at a great price in my opinion. I only gave this 3 stars because of the ticks. I really enjoyed the trails except for the ticks. We came back from our sunday ride with 30-40 ticks on my one horse and 20 or so on the other. We also had 2-3 ticks crawling on us also. I do want to go back to Elkins but NOT during tick season. I am still picking ticks of my horse. Also beware if you are going to get to the camp through 141 through Cadmus. This area FLOODS the road bad. Even if it rained 2 days prior the road will get flooded. We about got stuck trying to get home.. Make sure to ask Elkins which roads to avoid. The ticks and flooding are not Elkins Creek fault. If there wasn't the tick issue we would be going back a lot. Make sure to ask Jill or Rick where to go on the map. Tell them how long you want to ride and they will tell you where to go with great detail. If I didn't have that detail we would have got lost.
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 5/7/2012 6:24:07 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/6/2012 Hometown: , OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

New facilities,perfect accomadations,great stay. Hope to stay longer next time.
Reviewed by: Ron Paeker on 5/4/2012 7:32:11 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/3/2012 Hometown: Minford, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Just spent 4 days at Elkins Creek, this place is the best. The trails are great, well maintained and beautiful. Rick and Jill are the greatest, they invite you in and treat you better than family. If you need something or have a problem, they do their best to help. My friend's horse lost a shoe, Rick came to the rescue, he's a blacksmith, he put the shoe back on and we were back on the trail that evening. I will be going back soon, and sure hope he has that new pizza oven up and baking. Would recommend Elkins Creek for anyone who loves to ride and camp with their horses and have the ammenities of home.
Reviewed by: Rose on 4/26/2012 9:43:58 AM
More reviews by Rose
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 4/22/2012 Hometown: New Martinsville, WV

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

NEW camp /tackshop 60 elect./50 stalls heated bath/showers city water hot tub,cabins/room ice,propane,ties/pens outdoor arena day parking free ride from camp right to the trails newly renovated trails/connector trail to the beautiful DEN STATE FOREST TRAILS elkinscreek got it ALL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Reviewed by: no on 12/21/2011 6:44:42 PM
Experience: Beginner Ride Date: 12/22/2011 Hometown: no, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Best trails in Ohio and Jill and Ricky are great host. I would say that you owe it to yourself to experience The Wayne.
Reviewed by: Dave on 11/28/2011 8:15:20 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 11/25/2011 Hometown: Lorain, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Beautiful country...trails were clearly marked and well maintained and the scenery was awesome. Rick and Jill were like family from the minute we arrived. Very nice tack shop, bathrooms and showers. Will go back as often as I can
Reviewed by: rhonda on 10/31/2011 2:18:07 PM
More reviews by rhonda
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/29/2011 Hometown: springboro, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Gorgeous trails, well maintained, and very scenic! Rick and Jill were incredible hosts! Clean bathrooms/showers, decent sized stalls, friendly, accomodating, laid-back atmosphere. The roads to Elkins Creek are narrow and windy, but slowing down, made one appreciate the beautiful foothills and fall foliage! I would highly recommend Elkins Creek as a trail riding destination!
Reviewed by: Mary on 10/24/2011 9:49:32 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/21/2011 Hometown: Cincinnati area, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Spent 4 days at Elkins Creek and rode the trails in the southern unit of the Wayne National Forest. Rick and Jill were extremely accommodating, despite us arriving late to a campground full of campers, they found us 2 spots side by side for our large rigs. The campground is tidy and sits in the center of the forest. The roads coming in were narrow but passable. There are many electric sites and Rick and Jill continue to improve the facilities. They have a tack store on site and can provide meals if needed. While we were there some campers left and went on to another campground and had to turn around and come back as their sites were given away. When they got back late at night Rick had a meal waiting for them. When you come to Elkins Creek you are family. The trails were muddy in spots but for the most part were very scenic. We rode 13 hours over 4 days and there were still at least 20 miles of trails we did not get to see. The forest service is working with horsemen in the area to improve and expand equestrian trails in the nit so watch for new trails here. The trails wind through the forest and have nice switchbacks for the steeper sections. Scenic high points were scattered throughout the system. There is a primitive public horsemen's camp that was really nicely laid out but would be difficult for big rigs to access or turn around at. I highly recommend both Elkins Creek and the Wayne National Forest as excellent riding destinations.
Reviewed by: RachelV on 10/19/2011 5:22:32 PM
More reviews by RachelV
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/15/2011 Hometown: Chardon, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We spent 4 days at Elkins Creek and had a wonderful experience. We are definately going back. The owners are great people and go above and beyond to make sure you enjoy your stay. Trails are well maintained and clearly marked. Great place to go and camp.
Reviewed by: Janet on 7/5/2011 7:49:19 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 7/1/2011 Hometown: , KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Trails were real nice, they were easy rolling hills. We stayed four days and did not ride all of the trails. The hosts live on the property, and did their best to help in any way. The campground and stalls are nice and Rick is still working to improve them. We will go back, and stay a little longer the next time.
Reviewed by: S. Pearson on 11/15/2010 1:07:29 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 9/7/2010 Hometown: Kingsport, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

6 of us spent 5 days there (not near long enough)camp was great,rick and Jill were the best camp host we know always ready to help,the trail are awesome,will-be going back as-soon as we can!
Reviewed by: janice brandenburg on 10/25/2010 9:52:46 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/15/2010 Hometown: Cynthiana, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

My fmily and I just spent a week there and it was great! Great location with easy access to all the trails. Rick and Jill are super nice hosts. Really helpful and we even enjoyed a day of riding with Jill. The campground is clean and has everything you could need. They even had a tack shop with all the trail riding basics. We really enjoyed our stay and plan to go back soon.
Reviewed by: Jenneane Lowe on 10/14/2010 11:40:52 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/5/2010 Hometown: Chillicothe, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Elkins creek campground was awesome. Rick and Jill the oweners were incredibly nice and helpful. The facilities were clean and well taken care of. The shower was great, the tack store had a little bit of anything you could need. They had an outdoor arena and stalls available. The trails were fabulous. Well maintained some easy some challenging. Nothing to hard that you couldn't enjoy the gorgeous scenery. We have gone alot of places. Hocking Hills, Mohican, Smoke Rise, Tar Hollow. This is by far our favorite. Even had a Lake with canoeing and Hiking. Awesome trip!!!!
Reviewed by: Lisa Sudol on 9/29/2010 10:23:39 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 9/4/2010 Hometown: Granville, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Rick and Jill do a fine job in trying to please their customers. Nice campground - could use some trees for shade.
Reviewed by: Kay Fultz on 9/29/2010 4:42:14 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 7/2/2010 Hometown: Camden, OH