HorseTrailDirectory.com
Trail Riders Helping Trail Riders
Home    Riding Trails    Review Camp    My Reviews    Add/Edit Location    Photo Album     Web Links

Recent Horse Trail and Campground Reviews

Elkins Creek Horsecamp & Tack Shop, LLC  -  Ironton, Oh

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Reviewed by: Paula P Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 7/1/2016 Hometown: Georgetown , Pa    (Reviewed on 9/20/2018 7:53:54 AM)

Elkins Creek Horsecamp & Tack Shop, LLC  -  Ironton, Oh

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Trails have a combination of difficulty. Some are rocky, hilly, and muddy with others dry, wide and gravel. Some steep hill climbs but nothing dangerous or overly challenging. I took an inexperienced horse, Elkins camp & trails offered a perfect mixture of challenges for her. The camp owners are very nice and give you privacy but are very responsive & helpful when or if needed. They are working very hard on trail maintenance in areas that are frequently used or low lying. It is a 7 hour drive for me, have been there twice this past summer and will be planning a trip again in future.

Reviewed by: Orion Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/15/2018 Hometown: Cochranton, PA    (Reviewed on 9/18/2018 8:47:05 AM)

Shawnee National Forest - High Knob Camp  -  Equality, IL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Went to High Knob in late March 2018 again in April 2018 and going back again this Oct 2018. Does that say enough!! Omg this place is amazing! If your a 'real' trail lover and rider this is a bucket list campground and trail riders dream.

Reviewed by: Tali S Sorenson Experience: Expert Ride Date: 4/10/2018 Hometown: Bangor, MI    (Reviewed on 9/11/2018 9:23:35 PM)

Elkins Creek Horsecamp & Tack Shop, LLC  -  Ironton, Oh

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Reviewed by: Roger Mason Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 9/8/2018 Hometown: Grayson, Ky    (Reviewed on 9/10/2018 6:14:45 AM)

Elkins Creek Horsecamp & Tack Shop, LLC  -  Ironton, Oh

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Camped at Elkins Creek for 4 days in late August 2018. While we found the road in to be a bit dicey, narrow, low visibility curves, once we got there we were in heaven. Large campground, plenty of space to maneuver. He has put in new space across the road that looks like a really nice area to camp. We camped behind the main building on a little creek. The stalls were clean and ready when we unloaded. A camp host was there as Rick was working on trails and he was very helpful in finding stalls and sites. The camp was not busy this particular weekend. Everything was clean and tidy. The trails have really improved, you can really tell they have been busy improving existing trails and laying new ones. Wish we could have stayed longer! We will definitely be back!!

Reviewed by: RachelV Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 8/22/2018 Hometown: Chardon, OH    (Reviewed on 9/9/2018 9:25:00 AM)

_Mammoth Cave Horse Camp #1 5 Star Rated in 2015  -  Mammoth Cave, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

First time camping here and we are already plannng on coming back. Check-in was fast and smooth even though they were busy and it was late. Stall are great, clean and ready at your arrival. Campsites were shaded and easy to find. Shower house was clean and no issues. Everyone was friendly and the trails were great. The longer McCoy trail was a harder level of trail. Make sure your horse is comfortable with a bit of rock navigation. We thoroufhly enjoyed it! Id recommend MCHC to anyone wanting a great trail experience, even if its more than just your easy hack. There were easier trails also. Overall, no matter what type of trails you wanted they had it!

Reviewed by: Erin Waters Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/1/2018 Hometown: Eddyville, KY    (Reviewed on 9/2/2018 9:51:44 PM)

True West Campground, Stables and Mercantile in BSF  -  Jamestown, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Great hosts, great trails, great accommodations! Shawn and Donna are wonderful hosts. From meeting your trailer with a fork and a cart to clean out the back and haul your tack and hay to your stalls, to providing detailed maps and directions to the trails, they are there to help make your stay enjoyable. Shawn was able to help us out with a rider who got overheated and met us out on the trails with a trailer to take her and her horse back to the barn. Our sites were close to the barn and the restroom/shower house and the stalls were airy and comfortable for our horses. They do have some large stalls for big horses (which I used to have and would have appreciated for them). The regular stalls are plenty big for our (now) more normal sized steeds! We just scratched the surface of trails available from the campground and will be back to explore some more. Nice deck and covered room where we got to watch the Belmont stakes!

Reviewed by: Marti C Experience: Expert Ride Date: 6/4/2018 Hometown: Milton, IN    (Reviewed on 9/2/2018 12:19:11 PM)

Shore-to-Shore - Gerry Lake Camp  -  Empire, MI

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I went with a friend and we loved the campground and the area. However, the hand pump in the day camp did not have a handle and the well in the big group camp requires a very large generator. We were lucky and the shore to shore riders came in on about day 4 of our stay with a huge generator and were generous and let us fill our water. So, be prepared for no water unless you have a very large generator.

Reviewed by: Ledoux16 Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/15/2017 Hometown: Pleasant Lake, MI    (Reviewed on 8/26/2018 8:20:47 PM)

True West Campground, Stables and Mercantile in BSF  -  Jamestown, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We went for a Trail Riding weekend had a wonderful weekend at True West Campground. Hospitality was beyond excellent, clean stalls, campsite was level and well drained, nice trails leading out of camp, well descriptive maps of all the trails. We will most definitely return, hopefully for a longer stay.

Reviewed by: SherryG Experience: Expert Ride Date: 6/1/2018 Hometown: Candler, NC    (Reviewed on 8/18/2018 3:00:45 PM)

True West Campground, Stables and Mercantile in BSF  -  Jamestown, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Very nice and well run campground. Clean and friendly. Owners do more the necessary to help campers get in and set up. Barn was very safe and roomy. Camp and store very clean. Owners strive to make sure every guest is cared for and needs are taken care of. Camp is just off the trail heads so no need to ride long distance to vet to trails. Cowboy Wayne from Broken J Farms

Reviewed by: cowboywayne Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/25/2018 Hometown: Boonville, IN    (Reviewed on 8/15/2018 7:59:40 PM)