HorseTrailDirectory.com
Trail Riders Helping Trail Riders

Recent Horse Trail and Campground Reviews

True West Campground, Stables and Mercantile in BSF  -  Jamestown, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

First time there, lovely place and wonderful trails.

Reviewed by: lbernert Experience: Expert Ride Date: 11/8/2018 Hometown: Cincinnati, OH    (Reviewed on 12/6/2018 10:29:59 AM)

True West Campground, Stables and Mercantile in BSF  -  Jamestown, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Donna Martin and Shawn Martin and Brittany with True West Campground. We had such a wonderful Thanksgiving week for the 7th year in a row with you all. TW is the best campground with the best campground hostesses and the most accommodating campground we have stayed at. Thank you all three for being who you are. We are definitely lifers. This is our goto place.

Reviewed by: Pepsigirl12 Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 11/22/2018 Hometown: Corinth, KY    (Reviewed on 11/27/2018 8:41:36 PM)

Sawtooth Trailhead  -  Crystal River, FL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This campground was great at one time we got there and was no camping sites paid for water hook up and electric were the put us there was none had to run 80 ft electric cord just to have electric thank we didnt need 30 amp had to bucket water in when we needed it the bath room was a mess all the camp sites are taken up by people that live there trailers dump raw sauge in holes the dug these place is a degrace it was nice at one time

Reviewed by: Jace Totton Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 11/22/2018 Hometown: Morriston, fl    (Reviewed on 11/25/2018 5:43:24 PM)

True West Campground, Stables and Mercantile in BSF  -  Jamestown, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Absolutely wonderful campground & owners!! I would recommend True West to anyone looking to visit the Big South Fork! Amazing hospitality right from the moment I arrived and throughout my entire stay!! I arrived late on a Sunday evening, and yet the owners Donna & Shawn we waiting for my arrival. They checked me in quickly, helped me unload my trailer (Shawn even mucked it out for me - SO NICE after a long drive!), then helped me back it in to my campsite in the dark, etc. The owners were always around the campground, always greeting you with a smile and hello and do you need anything my entire stay. I really like the central set up of the campground too with the office/store, patio/rec room, washrooms/showers & barns in the middle and close from any site. And I loved that the barns were clean, open & airy (my horse gets allergies), with lots of wheelbarrows/forks at hand, several horse wash areas, etc. I stayed there over Thanksgiving, and on Thanksgiving the owners made a wonderful dinner for the entire campground in their lovely covered patio room! November 18th-23rd 2018

Reviewed by: jessica_P Experience: Expert Ride Date: 11/18/2018 Hometown: King, ON    (Reviewed on 11/25/2018 12:30:51 PM)

Elkins Creek Horsecamp & Tack Shop, LLC  -  Ironton, Oh

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Not one single complaint. We rode the entire main loop, stayed overnight on the trail and had a blast. I like challenging trails and we found some. The weather was horrible; rained, rained and rained. The information the camp hosts provided us was spot on, good trail maps that are accurate. We rode trails less traveled and some that are well traveled, no complaints. I think we rode about 16 miles in each of the two day loop and it was great. If it was not for the rain, none of the trails were bad; days and days of rain made them a little muddy and slick. Experienced horses and decent riders have no worries. I was there before and I had my 10 year old daughter with me, she loved it. The prices are good and the hosts are nut bothersome at all, they give you your space and help you in any way they can. The stalls are good, easy to keep clean, water is close and if you run out of hay, as I did they offered good hay at a decent price. We will be back for sure to finish up some trials we have not seen yet. Oh, ask them were the sights are, they know them all and the scenery is beautiful. Its big country for the east and if you like not having your hand held and good honest riding, this place is perfect. Elkins Creek, see you in the spring.

Reviewed by: Doug Wade Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/12/2018 Hometown: Newell, wv    (Reviewed on 11/4/2018 4:57:36 PM)

True West Campground, Stables and Mercantile in BSF  -  Jamestown, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Horse Trip of the Year! Spent 8 days at True West Campground’s. With the first four days being rainy we entertained ourselves by going to different Westrrn Stores within driving distance. We also watched a movie at night in the community room. The owners joined us when they weren’t busy and were very helpful in making sure we enjoyed our stay. Even though it had rained nonstop the trails are so well taken care of that they were very safe to ride. When riding from True West there we never ran out of new trails to ride. I loved it and would definitely go back many times.

Reviewed by: Renee A Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/22/2018 Hometown: Scottown, OH    (Reviewed on 11/2/2018 11:09:58 PM)

True West Campground, Stables and Mercantile in BSF  -  Jamestown, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Awesome Horse Camp!!! Beautiful horse camp with an amazing barn! Everything was clean and ready for our stay and the owners were very helpful with directions to other area attractions as well. We enjoyed every minute of our stay and hope to go back again next year.

Reviewed by: arabianlady65 Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/10/2018 Hometown: Chandlersville, OH    (Reviewed on 10/28/2018 10:30:57 AM)

True West Campground, Stables and Mercantile in BSF  -  Jamestown, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

such friendly, welcoming hosts! I have stayed at a lot of campgrounds, but the owners of True West have gone to a lot of trouble to make this horse camp truly a great experience. The barn is clean and well stocked with equipment, the stalls are well maintained , the campsite is cozy, clean has anything you could need for a stay. travelling alone with a rig, Shawn was helpful with hookups and dumping as well as checking on all the horses before bed. I felt totally comfortable leaving my horse there and of course the riding was spectacular. Would definitely go back.

Reviewed by: otis5047 Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 8/31/2018 Hometown: Stroudsburg, PA    (Reviewed on 10/25/2018 1:26:38 PM)

_Mammoth Cave Horse Camp #1 5 Star Rated in 2015  -  Mammoth Cave, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

As always Mammoth Cave Horse camp is great. Kevin and his staff never disappoint. When you arrive at Mammoth Cave horse camp you will always get great service, clean stalls and clean campground. The trails were in great shape. The Mammoth Cave Back Country Horsemen and the National parks service has done great work fixing trouble spots on the trails.

Reviewed by: Gregg Experience: Expert Ride Date: 4/14/2018 Hometown: Harrodsburg, Ky    (Reviewed on 10/24/2018 12:03:36 PM)

True West Campground, Stables and Mercantile in BSF  -  Jamestown, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Loved our stay!! We had a wonderful time with True West! They were very accommodating and always so helpful! We also saw a bear while out riding the trails! Beautiful riding! Definitely will be going back! Thank you True West for everything!

Reviewed by: jackie_g Experience: Expert Ride Date: 8/20/2018 Hometown: Scotts Hill, TN    (Reviewed on 10/21/2018 9:31:35 PM)